Junip - Junip
Junip Image
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the second full-length release for the Swedish indie rock trio.
  • Record Label: Mute
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Alternative Pop/Rock, Indie Pop, Alternative Singer/Songwriter
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Apr 25, 2013
    80
    Gonzalez's intricate, mellifluous guitar playing is not front and center, but committed followers of this side of his artistry will certainly be satisfied.
  2. It can be plodding and takes a while to get going, but also occasionally reaches soaring, festival-fields-at-dusk heights.
  3. Apr 22, 2013
    80
    A fuller, more focused version of the sound they introduced on Fields, this set of songs is worthy of being Junip's namesake album.
  4. Apr 23, 2013
    70
    Ultimately, Junip keep their distance, offering a comforting hand on your shoulder rather than a full and unreserved embrace.
  5. 70
    More often than not, Junip can essentially be heard as an instrumental pop album with the music feeding and building off itself. After seeing parts of three separate decades together, Junip have finally worked up to what they can be at their best.
  6. Oct 4, 2013
    67
    The band pulls its emotional punches with all the opaque atmospherics, but ultimately, Junip takes the listener where they want to go as long as they surrender to the ride.
  7. May 2, 2013
    40
    The second half of the album finds the foursome relenting and mostly mellowing out.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Apr 24, 2013
    9
    Fields was a defining debut, but in this self-titled they build off of that sound and introduce things like catchy hooks like "Your Life,Fields was a defining debut, but in this self-titled they build off of that sound and introduce things like catchy hooks like "Your Life, Your Call", or subtle yet intriguing aspects such as the bass line on "Baton". Junip manages to keep you listening while they soothe you with their mellow but badass sound Collapse
  2. Apr 24, 2013
    8
    It's my first time to listen Junip and simply love this. It's not a rock at all and not an indie thing. They combined everything that theyIt's my first time to listen Junip and simply love this. It's not a rock at all and not an indie thing. They combined everything that they need to combine. Tune, voice and lyrics... I really love this album. Expand
  3. May 28, 2013
    8
    Junip a three piece psychedelic indie rock band that released their debut EP "Black Refuge" back in 2005 later releasing their debut fullJunip a three piece psychedelic indie rock band that released their debut EP "Black Refuge" back in 2005 later releasing their debut full length "Fields" in 2010. On April 23, 2013 their self titled sophomore album was released. Junip is known for their lovely acoustic patterns their laid back but still very cool synthesized effects and their soothing vocals. Well if you like all of that you will not be disappointed. Junip manages to release beautiful music and has yet to release something i don't like. After listening to the new album from start to finish about a hundred times i can say that i really enjoy this record it's great and i suggest it to anyone who simply likes music because Junip is a band that almost anyone can enjoy. However after listening to the new album i took some time to go back and listen to "Fields" i realized how much i liked their previous album more then the new self titled. Please don't get me wrong i love the new album i just think the debut album was better.I give this album a solid 8 out of 10 Expand