• Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Mar 6, 2001
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 43
  3. Negative: 6 out of 43

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 4, 2014
    8
    I thought this was a very good rock album, much better than the stuff done by this band since their return to popularity way back in the late 1980's. It's funny, I think the band has one view of themselves (masters of rock) and listeners have another view (that they are sometimes masters of rock) but since they have done quite a few appearances in movies going back to the Wayne's World eraI thought this was a very good rock album, much better than the stuff done by this band since their return to popularity way back in the late 1980's. It's funny, I think the band has one view of themselves (masters of rock) and listeners have another view (that they are sometimes masters of rock) but since they have done quite a few appearances in movies going back to the Wayne's World era they are characterized by the media as kind of as a nerd band when I think they are capable of shaking the foundations of a place-if they are trying and they seem to be trying on this album. If ya haven't heard it you should give it a spin. Expand
  2. stevec
    Sep 28, 2006
    10
    loads of fun
  3. DavidC
    Sep 6, 2006
    10
    This is easily the greatest sounding Aerosmith recording. The mix is masterful. The songs are some of their very best, as well. I cannot understand how anyone could fault this disk. It's brilliant.
  4. EddieC
    Apr 3, 2006
    8
    This isn't their best album, but its great for a tiny change from their usual more rocking sound, though this can be considered a more "pop-ish" album, with all the balads, its still a great album..
  5. AllenB
    Nov 4, 2005
    3
    This cd is just down right horrible! It reminds me of a Brittney Spears record! Why they are selling out is beyond me!
  6. BM
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    totally bitchin!!!
  7. kartikk
    May 13, 2005
    10
    Definitely one of the best collection of Aerosmith i've ever heard to.
  8. FranzM
    Apr 15, 2005
    2
    At least on Nine Lives, they sounded anxious to make another record, something darker than they'd done in years. This one here is just an album for the sake of having a new product to go out and promote on tour. And it's embarrassing.
  9. NorvilleR
    Jun 26, 2004
    9
    This CD Rocks!!! If you like Aerosmith you will love it!
  10. malcolmitm
    Jan 20, 2004
    7
    i was rather repelled by the first look of the laverish pink cover at the hmv store. but upon puting on the headphones, the sound of aerosmith carried me to the cashier and it was an unexpected purchase (i had no prior knowledge of the band) songs like jaded and avant garden filled the air for many weeks to come, and the overall sellpoint i think is their care-free style with some slick i was rather repelled by the first look of the laverish pink cover at the hmv store. but upon puting on the headphones, the sound of aerosmith carried me to the cashier and it was an unexpected purchase (i had no prior knowledge of the band) songs like jaded and avant garden filled the air for many weeks to come, and the overall sellpoint i think is their care-free style with some slick licks on the guitars Expand
  11. JenniferC
    May 27, 2003
    10
    This band is the best band in the whole world. They are the heart and soal of rock and roll !! Joe Perry, Steven Tyler, Joey Kramer, Brad Whitford, And Tom Hamilton Are the BEST!!!!
  12. thisrocksyoustillsuckthought
    May 6, 2003
    10
    it was al right someb wat !
  13. youthis
    May 6, 2003
    0
    it sucked it sucked it really really sucked.
  14. Thissucked
    May 6, 2003
    0
    This is the worsed cd I have ever had the misfortune to listen to! "Just Push Play" how did they think of saying that. There just a buch of want a bes. I would of never of listen to it if I would of know it was tihis bad!!!!
  15. AshleyK.
    Aug 16, 2002
    10
    the boys from boston have done it again. although different from the vintage rock, it is a breath of fresh air. sunshine is a cant get enough of it song. i love the album.
  16. BeaS.
    Jun 22, 2002
    9
    It is not the best they have ever done but i did love it and was very proud of them once again.They are the best band of all time in my eyes so i doubt there is much i would not like.i can't wait for the next one.thanks you guys.
  17. Kyle
    May 16, 2002
    10
    Just because it's Aerosmith...
  18. ColeD.
    Feb 24, 2002
    7
    If you're an old Aerosmith fan, you're not going to like it. Compared to "Toys in the Attic" and "Rocks" it's way more eccentric. It's just proof of a band attempting to move with the times. Overall there is valuable material here but not much you could play in a bar, unless you are Aerosmith.
  19. Jessica
    Jan 20, 2002
    6
    God, I really hate to do this!! But I wasn't to impressed upon first listening!! Sorry Boys!! It all seemed overly looped-- and computer programmed. The title track is a bit odd, but that's just like Aerosmith-- give 'em something they're not expeting! Light Inside is one of the few balls-to-the-wall rock songs on the album!! C'mon guys let's here why God, I really hate to do this!! But I wasn't to impressed upon first listening!! Sorry Boys!! It all seemed overly looped-- and computer programmed. The title track is a bit odd, but that's just like Aerosmith-- give 'em something they're not expeting! Light Inside is one of the few balls-to-the-wall rock songs on the album!! C'mon guys let's here why you're called "the Bad Boy's from Boston"!! In today's overly pop culture world of plastic Britneys and pre-fab O-Towns-- we need a salvation in music today-- please Aerosmith BE THAT FOR US!! Expand
  20. TaylorS.
    Nov 5, 2001
    8
    I love Areosmith and I love Jadded and this was a good album but not one off the all time greats to get and 9 or 10
  21. Polocek
    Oct 31, 2001
    8
    I am jamming to this album as we speak. It is typical Aerosmith, but that's why I like it...
  22. BrianG.
    Oct 20, 2001
    8
    I loved this album
  23. RollingStone
    Oct 8, 2001
    10
    The most solid RUSH album since Grace Under Pressure. To rate it anything below 6, the reviewer must be living in a dream world. The album has a great 'heavy sound' which gives today's bands a run for their money. Great drumming, an onslaught of guitars, a ranucy bass sound, and layers of vocals makes this album one of RUSHs best. The only knock is that it contains The most solid RUSH album since Grace Under Pressure. To rate it anything below 6, the reviewer must be living in a dream world. The album has a great 'heavy sound' which gives today's bands a run for their money. Great drumming, an onslaught of guitars, a ranucy bass sound, and layers of vocals makes this album one of RUSHs best. The only knock is that it contains sometimes too many layers of guitar and vocal tracks, which will be tough to reproduce live. All in all, RUSH still manages to keep fourth with 'todays' music, which is more than can be said for Aerosmith and other bands of their time. And they are still influential to bands of today, unlike the Eagles or Floyd who just aren't important for todays younger generation. Expand
  24. JohnA.
    Oct 3, 2001
    10
    Title track is the best song. Album is full of vintage guitars cranked to 11.
  25. JessicaF.
    Sep 3, 2001
    10
    Great album--I love it!! All of the songs have the special Aerosmith touch but old meets new....
  26. JessicaF.
    Sep 3, 2001
    10
    Great album--I love it!! All of the songs have the special Aerosmith touch but old meets new....
  27. RudyS.
    Aug 30, 2001
    10
    Great CD from America's best R&R band.. Steven Tyler & company just keep getting better.. "Just Push Play" is a great song... half rock... half ballads... good job fellas... looking forward to the next one.
  28. JennyJayneS.
    Aug 22, 2001
    10
    Pure Aerosmith sound... Cool!!!
  29. PamelaL.
    Aug 16, 2001
    9
    I like it
  30. ElinaB.
    Apr 29, 2001
    9
    Very original (except for Fly away from here). I love the beat, the solos and the overall feel of the album. Great mix of harder rock sounding songs (Outta Your Head, Just Push Play, Trip Hoppin'), and strong ballads (Luv Lies, Sunshine). It has a very fresh sound while staying true to the "Aerosmith formula". Awsome!!
  31. PanchoE.
    Apr 24, 2001
    7
    Straight ahead rock for the old reliable boys. Nothing incredible, but definitely one that should be picked up if you're a fan.
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 14
  2. Negative: 1 out of 14
  1. Sure, there's the occasional melodramatic interlude (despite its lyrical cliches, "Luv Lies" has the potency to be another "Angel"-size smash). But there's also more white-knuckled hard-rock intensity here than on the band's most recent efforts.
  2. Much of the 'Smith's music is reassuringly familiar, barely changed over their previous 12 albums, a mix of loose-jointed Stones raunch and vast power ballads impressive enough to bring out the 40-something in all of us.
  3. The band’s most energetic record since 1993’s Get A Grip.