Kaleidoscope Dream Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second full-length release for the R&B singer includes six songs from two EPs released earlier in the year and features guest appearances from Alicia Keys and Wiz Khalifa.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. He's major now, and musically, this locks in top to bottom.
  2. Oct 4, 2012
    90
    Miguel has impeccable songwriting chops and a deceptively supple voice, not to mention total command of both.
  3. Dec 21, 2012
    90
    He, like his album, works best in its woozier, hushed moments.
  4. Oct 4, 2012
    80
    Miguel's second album delivers on the L.A.-based musician's early promise, taking the best ideas from the debut--slow, lilting grooves, layered electric guitars, darkly squelching bass lines, meandering falsetto--into a more expansive, emotionally varied and personal sound.
  5. Oct 19, 2012
    80
    Even with a weaker Side B collection of songs, Kaleidoscope Dream is a thrilling listen that draws comparisons to D'Angelo's Voodoo or Erykah Badu's New Amerykah Part One on first listen.
  6. 80
    The success owes a good deal to the production, sparse and specific, and always in tune with Miguel's tenor.
  7. Oct 4, 2012
    70
    He's at his best when he slips into his expressive falsetto, but Miguel frequently comes off too remote for a true soul singer.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    This is really unlike anything you ever listened to, even if you are not a fan of R&B (like me) you are probably going to enjoy this just from an artistic and interesting point of view. Check it out! Expand
  2. N10
    Nov 22, 2012
    10
    Maybe the year's most pleasurable album. The songwriting is really good and vocally Miguel is amazing, and as a producer he works very well. Have heard about this guy for some months, and you can't deny that Miguel has talent, as an artist he's amazing and really creative. Have played this all day long since it's release, it's still as good as it were the first time, or even better. Entertained from beginning to end, the production fits Miguel's very dreamy voice perfectly.
    One of the best releases this year, it's truely a strong year for R&B. Miguel has a wonderful voice that few has, and from a artistic view you better check this dude out. Unlike everything that's released this year.
    Recommend this strongly!
    Expand
  3. Oct 5, 2012
    10
    Oh my!!! What a beautiful album. This will definitely compete with Frank Ocean's - Channel Orange for best R&B album of the year. Production is awesome and songs are well written and sang. I feel R&B could be making an amazing come back! Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    Smooth cuts, laying it down for more upcoming R&B artists to follow! I would rate "Adorn" as my favorite on the album, feeling the beats from the start and finishing it off wanting to hear what else this album had in store. Expand
  5. Jan 4, 2013
    8
    Kaleidoscope Dream is a delightful turn of events after the low-key debut All I Want Is You. Instead of pursuing his efforts as a modern R&B star, Miguel pursued a more indie path channeling classic R&B and alternative rock on his sophomore. Despite there being some poor songwriting moments, Miguel manages to craft one of 2012's best releases of the year along with Frank Ocean's channel ORANGE. There is much replay value, and nearly every song has replay value. Even How Many Drinks, which reeks suspiciously of The-Dream's brand of contemporary R&B, is extremely catchy and enjoyable. Overall, Kaleidoscope Dream is one of the must-have records of 2012 and should be purchased if you are a fan of good music. Expand
  6. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    I thoroughly enjoyed listening to the entire album. It really captivates his artistic intention and participation in R&B music to the extent where we are audibly stimulated by trance like harmonies, sultry beats and lyrics. The title song, kaleidoscopic dream, is one of my favourites from his sophomore album because of the marriage with the instruments, lyrics and vocals. 'Body limb like piano keys, allow me to evoke' is just an example of his clever metaphors that is shown throughout. I urge you guys to listen to this album, though I'm not a great fan of the 'radio friendly' term, I do think this album fits nicely on the border of that which I think is good. If I had to choose between Kaleidoscope Dream or Channel Orange, I would definitely pick the former hands down. Favourite song: Kaleidoscope Dream Best Instrumentation: Adorn Most played: Adorn
    Most fun: is mine
    Collapse
  7. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    All of these new R&B artists don't have the same soul feeling like early Stevie Wonder or Anita Baker. None of them have any stand out hits . I feel a certain weakness in their R&B where there should be solid hits. I have a yearning to want to like this music, but they are coming up just a bit short. Sorry... Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.