• Record Label: Arista
  • Release Date: Mar 8, 2005
User Score
8.1

Universal acclaim- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 85
  2. Negative: 5 out of 85

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SlobodanS
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    Simply excellent
  2. JoseAntonioC
    Jan 14, 2007
    9
    Amazing!
  3. kits
    Jun 7, 2005
    9
    Amazing album even better seen live
  4. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    Awesome Album, awesome live band. what else can i say. Best Tracks: LSF, Cutt Off, ID, Club Foot, Processed Beats
  5. JimmyS
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    Excellent album, heard LSF on a free CD with a magazine and bought the album on the strength of that one song. Best decision I ever made. Keeps at a level of quality that no other album I've listened to in years has. Great music, great beats, gread band. Consistently brilliant!
  6. David
    Mar 3, 2006
    9
    Having had the privalege to see this band live on more than a few occaisions, I can attest that they are the real deal. Over the years, Kasabian have moved from 1st billing to last billing at festivals, and when you see them, you can see why. (There are many bands around that just don't cut it live, so it;s satisfying to see this band get some success.) You can definately hear their Having had the privalege to see this band live on more than a few occaisions, I can attest that they are the real deal. Over the years, Kasabian have moved from 1st billing to last billing at festivals, and when you see them, you can see why. (There are many bands around that just don't cut it live, so it;s satisfying to see this band get some success.) You can definately hear their influences, which is no bad thing. Upfront and proud of their sound, I give this album 9 out of 10. The genuine article. Collapse
  7. Kyle
    May 26, 2006
    9
    I throughly enjoy this album. "Butcher Blues" Is by far my favourite track off this album. But, "LSF" comes in at a close second. Both tracks excute That Classic British cool that makes walking with this playing on headphones a very enjoyable experience. The really neat instrumental "Ovary Stripe" is much fun to drive too. I would really like to see this band live... soon.
  8. AndyD
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    What an excellent album! At last something original has emerged with something to it as opposed to the recent mediocre samey rock. Well done Kasabian and its nice to see that a band from the midlands has made such an impact on the music industry.
  9. GraemeH
    Mar 8, 2005
    9
    An outstanding album. A mixture of Happy Mondays and Stone Roses at their best.
  10. RichR
    Apr 10, 2005
    9
    This band is BAD, meaning GOOD, and kind of scary. They're not afraid to throw a little bit of menace into the mix, and how many modern bands can make that claim? BLOODY FEW! HIstorically, a few come to mind: Stones, Velvets, Led Zep, Sex Pistols, Joy Division... (I'm not saying Kasabian sound like these bands, dork). But nowadays, not bloody many.
  11. NorthFreedomFighter
    Apr 5, 2005
    10
    It grips you, it thrusts you into its world, it makes you want more. Revolutionary it may not be, but damn is it gutsy and smooth, you know they feel what they play, even if few others do. Plus, you will not see a better live act this year. Pure quality entertainment that takes you away, what music should be.
  12. CiaranG
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    Quite simply the best album I've every heard. There are not many out there where all the tracks would get a 9 or 10!!
  13. slobodan
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    Excellent album, the name is weird though.
  14. PJZ
    Mar 27, 2008
    10
    10 to counter the ignorance of 0.
  15. JosephH
    Jun 18, 2010
    9
    This vote is to counter the ignorance of the fools who voted 1's and 0's. I actually rate the album, like much of Kasabian's work a 6. Brilliant blockbuster songs, let down by weak filler material.
  16. JonR
    Apr 2, 2005
    10
    an excellent album, they create a sound without making all the songs sound the same. the rock thing with a healthy splattering of break beats make it number one on my play list
  17. ClaireH
    May 9, 2005
    10
    This has to be the best album I have ever listened to. I have been captivated from start to finish with Kasabian's atmospheric anthems. Each song is a musical masterpiece, including so many different sounds and types of music. Utterly inspiring
  18. ChaunceyJ
    Jul 11, 2005
    10
    the future of music with actual soul. I love this album
  19. JotaP
    Jan 19, 2006
    9
    This is a very good album. No doubt that you can identify Kasabian's influencies, no doubt these influencies are not as fashionable as the early 80's ones, so in vogue these days. Nevertheless one must have the ability to separate what's fashionable from what is REALLY GOOD. And this album falls in this secont category. This album would be good if it was edited in 1997, is This is a very good album. No doubt that you can identify Kasabian's influencies, no doubt these influencies are not as fashionable as the early 80's ones, so in vogue these days. Nevertheless one must have the ability to separate what's fashionable from what is REALLY GOOD. And this album falls in this secont category. This album would be good if it was edited in 1997, is good now and will be good 10 years from now, by the time when these influences will be fashionble. Expand
  20. PScott
    Jul 19, 2006
    9
    A really good album. I love LSF, Pinch Roller and Cutt Off the most. I hope their second album lives up to this one.
  21. iainp
    Dec 27, 2004
    9
    Brilliant
  22. JeremyL
    Nov 18, 2005
    9
    I listen to tons and tons of music, even the bands that inspired this artist, and I am surprised to find that this album only recieved a 63. This is the best, most different album I have heard in a very long time. It's pure mastery.
  23. JonN
    Apr 21, 2005
    9
    This is a nice step back to the old Madchester days, brought up to day with thumping basslines and good use of electronic shenanigans. Not a single dull track to be found. Astonishing.
  24. Tom
    Jan 26, 2006
    9
    Usually an album that gets a middling score deserves it, and the fans who claim "don't listen to the critics" are just spouting off. But THIS album, I swear, is worthy of a 9 or 10. Does it sound like it could be from 1997? Perhaps - but it's the tunes which this album has in spades. A genuinely stellar debut, and I strongly encourage you to at least download it and see what you Usually an album that gets a middling score deserves it, and the fans who claim "don't listen to the critics" are just spouting off. But THIS album, I swear, is worthy of a 9 or 10. Does it sound like it could be from 1997? Perhaps - but it's the tunes which this album has in spades. A genuinely stellar debut, and I strongly encourage you to at least download it and see what you think for yourself. It's the best new band album I've heard since Interpol's first one. Expand
  25. Aug 25, 2010
    9
    Any album that starts with songs anywhere near the quality of "Club Foot" and "Processed Beats" should be considered one of the greats. This is a brilliant album by one hell of a band, and should be treated as such. Oasis: The new Beatles. Kasabian: The new Oasis. It goes to show, in times of great musical despair, times where the untalented but able to make a fashion statement types topAny album that starts with songs anywhere near the quality of "Club Foot" and "Processed Beats" should be considered one of the greats. This is a brilliant album by one hell of a band, and should be treated as such. Oasis: The new Beatles. Kasabian: The new Oasis. It goes to show, in times of great musical despair, times where the untalented but able to make a fashion statement types top the charts, there is still those of us out there who realise what's really good music when we hear it, and have since made Kasabian one of the U.K's biggest Alternative bands.
    9/10. Why? Because, although containing some of the greatest songs by this band (who are my favourite band, if anyone is wondering) there are some slightly lower quality songs. This wouldn't be a problem, but where the better songs are so great, the not-as-great songs seem to suffer.
    Expand
  26. Jan 14, 2012
    9
    The Primal Scream wannabe tried their at the debut, well.... it done darn good job
Metascore
65

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Such are the highs, the weaker material suffers by comparison. [Sep 2004, p.111]
  2. Sure this album may well sound awesome if you’ve just snorted a metre of charlie or recently breakfasted from a menu of ‘shrooms and LSD, but for sober ears it’s enough to drive anyone to drugs.
  3. This is how the Stone Roses' Second Coming could have - should have - sounded.