• Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Aug 22, 2006
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 36 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 36
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 36
  3. Negative: 3 out of 36

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TravisH
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    *****One of her best albums so far... hot beats and great dance music... makes you want to strip and give someone a lapdance Best songs- Bossy Blindfold me Handful Awww S$#%! F$^&%# them B&^ches
  2. kr
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    The album was great!!! I'll roll with my man until "The wheels fall off!"
  3. MattC
    Aug 27, 2006
    7
    The album is certainly varied, but it seems like she's trying to pander to too large a crowd. While she has club hits (Bossy, Blindfold Me, Aww S***) and a couple great ballads (Living Proof, Goodbyes) there's far too much stuff here. Plus, she's relying a little too much on "in-the-moment" producers. If she really wants this "to be her mark" (it ain't, by the way) she The album is certainly varied, but it seems like she's trying to pander to too large a crowd. While she has club hits (Bossy, Blindfold Me, Aww S***) and a couple great ballads (Living Proof, Goodbyes) there's far too much stuff here. Plus, she's relying a little too much on "in-the-moment" producers. If she really wants this "to be her mark" (it ain't, by the way) she might want to try sticking to one producer for a cohesive album, or take a hand at producing herself. Nas must know how to, he could teach her, right? In essense, it seems like Circus, a song I quite like, sums up this album quite well. Kelis apologizes to her fans for pandering to the label execs so she can try to be number one. All too noticeable Kelis. Expand
  4. TanyaH
    Sep 6, 2006
    8
    This is an execellent CD for Kelis. She's not putting herself in the cookie cutter mold mold of a "Beyonce" and other like her. She's team with some talented producer and came out with a sound of her own, for the grown & sexy people that like to party and not to bubble gum. Great beats!!
  5. BrittanyA
    Sep 7, 2006
    10
    I love this album I love all kelis' songs she rocks I would do anything to see one of her concerts but me and my girl never could get a hold of tickets plus she never comes to Kansas city adn there is no way we couls ever afford plan tickets!
  6. shavon
    Sep 8, 2006
    10
    Hot albul
  7. Ryan
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    I have all her albums and this is definitely my favourite. It's young fresh 'n new. So many good songs and it really brings it in all the genres Kelis rocks on this album.
  8. Keisha
    Oct 5, 2006
    10
    This is by far the best album that I have heard all year. This album is filled with pure talent, creativity, uniqueness and more. I give this album an A+. This is definitely a must have.
  9. JamalB
    Aug 23, 2006
    10
    This CD is AMAZING! This is by far her best CD. Her lyrics, beats, and live band sounds make me look forward to seeing her live. Put this CD in your player and push the repeat button. You'll find another treasure after each liston like I did...
  10. emmanuelj
    Aug 30, 2006
    10
    her best work yet
  11. angiebe
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    love this album not as good as tasty but absolutly worth buying and listening to.
  12. girlfan
    Sep 5, 2006
    9
    Kelis is HOT! This CD showcases all of her different sounds. She's evolved: soulful, funky, crunk-y, brash, sultry and eclectic. The production is top-notch; the best of all her albums. She's unique and very comfortable in her difference.
  13. Lisa
    Nov 26, 2006
    10
    This is one of the best albums that I have bought in a long time. This album may not be pure genius, but her hooks are captivating and so are her beats. But what I really like is Kelis' smooth voice. It's just so smooth and easy over whatever she sings. I can't get her songs out of my head. I find myself listening to the album over and over again. My Favorites: Like You, This is one of the best albums that I have bought in a long time. This album may not be pure genius, but her hooks are captivating and so are her beats. But what I really like is Kelis' smooth voice. It's just so smooth and easy over whatever she sings. I can't get her songs out of my head. I find myself listening to the album over and over again. My Favorites: Like You, Awww $hit, Living Proof, Till the Wheels Fall Off, Handful, Lil Star, Handful, I Don't Think So, Circus, Trilogy, Goodbyes, Blindfold Me, & What's That Right There. & no you guys I did not just name the whole album. Expand
  14. [Anonymous]
    Aug 23, 2006
    9
    This is her best album. Tasty was her most consistent before this, while Wanderland and Kaleidoscope, while they boasted several highlights, were very spotty. Kelis was Here finds the singer proving she can sing (as on the intro) rap (Circus), and can write songs like no one's business. The production is great on every track. Admittedly, this release could've been more stronger This is her best album. Tasty was her most consistent before this, while Wanderland and Kaleidoscope, while they boasted several highlights, were very spotty. Kelis was Here finds the singer proving she can sing (as on the intro) rap (Circus), and can write songs like no one's business. The production is great on every track. Admittedly, this release could've been more stronger (a 10) had the album been cut a few songs. Nonetheless, this is a great R&B, hip-hop, and soul CD. Expand
  15. Gonzalo
    Nov 18, 2006
    10
    Believe it or not this album shows that she can do whatever she wants. the problem: lack of promotion. it´s even better than other girls like beyonce, fergie.... the problem is that she do it as really artist and she says what the others wished to but are ofraid of...
  16. Aug 15, 2013
    9
    This is Kelis' best album yet! Kelis will always be the best R&B singer. The best tracks are "I Don't Think So", "Circus", "What's That Right There", and, of course, "Bossy".
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. The results are eclectic, erratic, and lacking anything likely to repeat the success of "Milkshake." [25 Aug 2006, p.85]
  2. It's typically garish and glorious.
  3. Few artists could line up an ode to bondage right next to a love song so sweet that it could be played at a wedding or invoke Joan Jett right after sharing a cosmic trip with Cee-Lo. That's what Kelis does here. [20 Aug 2006]