Keys To The World - Richard Ashcroft
Keys To The World Image
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 58 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the third solo album for the former Verve frontman.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
  1. 80
    The qualities that once made The Verve the nation's top anthemists are recognisably intact on this new effort, from its stately pace to its burnished sense of grandeur. [Feb 2006, p.70]
  2. For the most part, Keys To The World is a definite step forward and demonstrates that Ashcroft is finally hitting his stride as a solo artist.
  3. Keys to the World does have a few great moments, but it's not the definitive solo record he's been promising.
  4. What compensates for 'Keys To The World''s shortcomings... is that voice. [21 Jan 2006, p.33]
  5. Sure it’s full of unwavering confidence and some pretty songs, but the dull groove Richard Ashcroft seems to have settled into is striking.
  6. In trying to wrest profundity from simplicity, Keys to the World is only profoundly disappointing.
  7. [Ashcroft] possesses one of the definitive rock voices and has an undeniable gift for melody, but he pairs those talents here with truly insipid lyrics and uninspired MOR arrangements.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 48
  2. Negative: 11 out of 48
  1. davidc
    May 25, 2006
    10
    fantasic. brilliant laid back enjoyable music
  2. dimec
    Feb 12, 2006
    10
    the fact that the user ratings are at either end shows that there is something about this album. personally speaking...'75 degrees' - is it not a creative success at all levels? listen without prejudice. i am not a crazy fan; but i love this album. iti s highly recommended. PS: he is arrogant... so what? cant he be good? Expand
  3. DavidW
    Mar 8, 2006
    9
    Excellent, good to have another dose - and good to take Human Condition out of my CD player for a change...
  4. matta
    Feb 1, 2006
    8
    This is definitely not nearly as bad as the critics are saying it is. The Human Condition was pretty shit, but this has some solid songs on it, including Music is Power, Break the Night With Colour, and Why Do Lovers. Not quite as good as his solo debut, but still good. The only God-awful song on this thing is the title track and that is pretty bad. If I was just rating that song I would give Pitchfork's rating, but c'mon, a 20!!?? And this coming from the same site that said The Rapture's Echoes was the best album of 2003. Expand
  5. bruces
    Mar 13, 2006
    5
    oh how the mighty have fallen...
  6. Carlos
    Feb 1, 2006
    4
    Not the worst I have listened to, but certainly a word defines it: boring! Agree that Ashcroft´s carrer is quite disappointing, especially after the superb last Verve´s album. Expand
  7. Mr.T
    Feb 1, 2006
    0
    What a gigantic turd of a record! Time for this guy to hang it up. I cannot believe this is the same man who used to shout "THIS IS ROCK N ROLL!". It is rock n roll anymore, and it's clearly not any good. Expand

See all 48 User Reviews