Kid A - Radiohead
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 525 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 525

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Upon first listen I can see why old school Radiohead fans won't like this album, I didn't either. After a few listens though the album grew on me. Radiohead took a leap of faith here by making an album totally opposite of their past masterpieces (The Bends & OK Computer). This transition kind of reminds me of Dylan going acoustic. His loyal folk fan base was horrified and didn't want anything to do with him after that. Thankfully artists make music for themselves and what that is and what the fans want may be two different things. If artists just stuck to their roots we they would never be able to grow intellectually and musically. Kid A is a fantastic album and is well worthy of all the praise it has and continues to receive and "Everything In It's Right Place" is one of the best songs of all time. Expand
  2. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    To call Kid A a good album is an understatement, while not as diverse and as good song by song as its predecesor Ok Computer, Kid A may be better as a full collective album. Its one of those albums that it is almost required of you to listen from start to finish. While it is an album that definetely has a recurring musical theme, each song takes you to a different place, whether it be the chilling "Everything in its Right Place" to the near tear jerking "How to Disappear completely, to the anything but "Optimistic", to "In Limbo" which most certainly lives up to its name being confusing and without real direction (in a good way). Kid A while not Radioheads magnum opus, may be their most obscure, challenging, and most thought provoking piece of art, which it is nothing less than a piece of art. Expand
  3. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    I am a massive radiohead fan. and this is there greatest album. Radiohead is my favourette band and this does not dissapoint. Kid A and Optimistic are my favourette tracs from this album.
  4. Apr 5, 2011
    5
    I don't doubt the time and effort put into this album, wonderful technique, and ability. From an objective stand point though, if you're not shuffling through the gray streets of london, you need to put on something else. This album is to Radiohead as Something in the Way was to Nirvana. Not terrible, but I'd rather hear Dive. Get me?
  5. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    When I first listened to this album, I thought it was entirely a pile of garbage. How could the greatest rock band in the world make such a horrendous processed electronic earwreck? A month later, I gave it another chance. Then I thought, "huh, this is alright. Wonder why I thought it was so bad." Then I listened to it for a third time. That's when my mind was blown. Radiohead had struck gold again. Only this time, they found diamond. This album is absolutely flawless, even if at first glance it's completely flawed. Just keep polishing the diamond, and only then will it sparkle. Expand
  6. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    When you ask people about the best 90's album, the most common answer is: "OK Computer". And they go beyond in asserting that also is the best Radiohead album. I'm not in agreement with the last affirmation. "Kid A" is a huge album that overcomes their previous recording. Since I first heard it, 6 years ago, I was impressed by it's peculiar sound, the experimentation, the quality, the elegance. It's a masterpiece! (for me, of course). Since these High School days it has becomes one of my favorites recordings of ever!! Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    The best Radiohead's album of the last twelve years. Nothing more, nothing less. It's absolutely worth listening to it, but if you never liked them this album is not gonna make you change your mind. Haters are warned!
  8. Apr 12, 2011
    8
    I really don't know what to say about this one.
    Ok... so I can hear the creativity and effort that's been put into this record, and it is a cool mix of atmospheric sounds.. but that's all it is really - there are no recognizable words or any normal song structures. It's just sounds. But interesting sounds. You can listen to meditation/electronic music and hear almost the same thing. I
    think people are rating it "best album of the decade" because it's so different that you don't really know where to put it. Well... it can't be 'perfect' really.. there are a handful of not so good tracks. But the rest are interesting listens. I'll give it props for being so different... Expand
  9. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Beautiful from Track 1 - Track 10 (Yes, even Treefingers) Just as good as OK Computer musically. But it's the album, the order of the songs, that make it so amazing.
    Calming, Dark, Haunting and Beautiful all in 40 minutes.
    You can lay in a dark room and just get lost in its experimental, electronic beauty. IN-CREDI-BLE Please....
    Please..... Listen. Expand
  10. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    Everything truly is in its right place.
  11. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    A truly wonderful album, with a few songs that probably experiment too far, and lose me a bit ("Kid A", "Treefingers"). A lot of these songs, though, still have a quintessential Radiohead sound, and the overall theme of the album is so different from "OK Computer". It feels like a natural extension to that albums feelings of being lost in the modern world of technology, with Yorke's voice now becoming part of that system of electronics, to great effect. For people stuck in the alt rock of "Pablo Honey", it will not be a very appealing sound. But those that loved the message of "OK Computer" will really get a lot out of this album, and it's among Radiohead's best. Expand
  12. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    It's ok if you don't like it. It's a piece of music you are either going to love or hate. It's not for everybody. This is my favorite album of all time. In fact, I think it's better than Abbey Road and Dark Side of the Moon. It is an album that truly lives up to the hype for me, unlike Arcade Fire's Funeral. Seriously, how can that album be in the same league as Kid A? It again shows that we all hear things differently. Expand
  13. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    thus album moves you from start to finish. it tells a rich story. it is radioheads finest and no album will ever top this. Some like Sgt. peppers lonely hearts club band and ok computer got close, to name a few, but not this good. A+ job. the best album ever.
  14. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    An absolutely groundbreaking effort and quite a gutsy change of direction after the phenomenal success of OK Computer (1997). I actually think Amnesiac is a bit of an improvement, but let's be honest, with a Radiohead album, there usually isn't much room for that. A lovely record.
  15. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    An album at the forefront of its time & a complete work of art. The first time I heard it it was like nothing I had heard before. The influence of this album will resonate for generations...
  16. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This album is quite literally perfect. I can't honestly think of anything bad to say about it, except that Treefingers should be a little bit shorter.
  17. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    Kid A is a very playful album. all sorts of musical elements in this album. Thom Yorke's voice soars high in this album. "The National Anthem" sounds like a track that is spiralling out of control. The opener "Everything In It's Right Place" sounds distorted, and "Idioteque" is like an electronic funk song that sounds amazing. All In All, Kid A is a very good album. B+
  18. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    In contrast to what many mainstream critics said, Kid A is, without a doubt, one of the greatest albums of the previous decade. Kid A might or might not have been groundbreaking, but it is certainly one of the most challenging albums ever to have commercial success. Kid A had no official singles or music videos, yet it went to #1 upon initial release. Kid A is more of a piece of art rather than being just another commercially passable album. It challenges you to hear what's on the album. Expand
  19. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    There are many bands out there trying to create great albums, and there have been many great albums made. The 90's were full of these albums, OK Computer, Nevermind and the past decade was full of them as well, Funeral, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. All of these albums are classics, people will listen to them for years to come. However, there is really no dispute among music lovers that these can touch anything in the likes of Sgt. Pepper. It would seem that in the past twenty years, while a lot of the music was great, none of it could stand up to the effect that the brilliance and innovation of some of the all time greats had. Kid A however does stands out. Everything to do with the album is very unique, the music is very challenging and not influenced by anything mainstream, the lyrics are dark and abstract, and the most unique aspect of all, it was not anything anyone else was even thinking about making. WIth albums like Nirvana's Nevermind, there were multiple bands that were also trying to come up with the pinnacle album for Seattle grunge rock, but with Kid A, no one was even expecting anything like it to come into existence. This album truly is one of a kind, and whether or not you like it, its uniqueness cannot be taken away. No album had ever been made using all of these concepts from underground genres of music. It opened the doors for countless other artists thats music would have otherwise remained ignored and it created a new direction for more mainstream genres to aim at. This kind of album can only happen every so often, and Radiohead executed it perfectly. They took all of these ideas these other musicians had and created something beautiful. There is no other album in the last two decades that can be compared to this album, and for that reason Radiohead will go into history as one of the all-time greats. Expand
  20. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    What an amazing album. I'm a rather big Radiohead fan and this is easily their best work. The music is phenomenal and experimental, the bass is out of those world and The National Anthem is brilliant. Thom's vocals are solid and the drums are great. The album progresses very smoothly. If you think of it as a concept album (a terrorist attack or a dream are the two major options) it gets much more interesting. Truly great album. However, the last track is one of my lesser liked Radiohead songs, but the rest of them are some of my favorite. Expand
  21. May 6, 2011
    8
    If I had the choice, I would give up this album just so as to stop Amnesiac spawning, though I would miss great songs like Everything In Its Right Place, Optimistic, Idioteque and Morning Bell (which directly led to Morning Bell/Amnesiac, which was weak compared to the original, to say the least).
  22. May 25, 2011
    10
    It's a beast for sure, but one that will reward you with time.
  23. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    By far the darkest-sounding, most artistically significant album to be released this millennium. Kid A will go on to inspire millions of people around the world. This was the follow up to Radiohead's break-out record, Ok Computer, and WHAT a follow up this is! It separated Radiohead from all other bands and has redefined what music is. It's an EXCRUCIATINGLY difficult record to get into, but once you start understanding the point of it all you will fall so deeply in love that you'll listen to it over and over again for weeks. Try to connect to the lyrics; read the pitchfork review it explains everything pretty much perfectly. This album is what it sounds like to be one of the best bands in the world, destroy yourself, and then slowly put yourself back together and take the top pillar in most people's music libraries (at least for new music). Expand
  24. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    Along with Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, this album defined the 2000s. Thom Yorke is an unnerving genius. Probably their best record. Perfect for losing your mind.
  25. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    The sheer ingenuity and depth of the album astounds. I think many of its more vehement critics on this site have failed to grasp the allusions to apocalypse - and indeed the comparisons of it with our own world. "Cheap sex and sad films" bemoans Thom on the final track, seeing where our own real lusts lie. The music complements this beautifully; too many have been expecting straightforward rock. The fact that Radiohead can experiment with dissonance, glitch and extended instrumental techniques shows thier vast versitility as musicians. Expand
  26. j30
    Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Radiohead's Kid A sucker punches you with it's marvelous production, intense lyrics, sweeping (even distorted) melodies, and beautiful artwork. Three years after the great OK Computer I don't think anyone could have seen this coming. For better or worse this album changed the way people look at alternative music.
  27. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    A beautiful and dark album. Well worth owning. This intricate album continuously gets better with each listen. Amazing cover art by Stanely Donwood. One of the best, if not THE best, album since the turn of the century. The timing couldn't have been better for the release of this masterpiece. A CD that captures the paranoia and electronic age of the 21st Century as well as incorporating relevant political and environmental issues. Solid all the way through. Perfect for late at night. Expand
  28. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Kid A, can't nobody top that. Better than Rush, better than Coldplay, and better than Soundgarden, Radiohead brings the mixture of alternative indie rock and UK grunge to another level. Quite possibly one of the greatest albums of all time.
  29. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Radiohead continues being a great band by changeing their sound and its for the best. Bands have to evolve or they will become stale and boring but thankfully that won't happen to radiohead. Also this is my favorite album by them.
  30. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. It may not be the most accessible album (It took me a few listens to get into it), but it certainly is one of the best. Not like their earlier albums, but then again, every Radiohead album is different.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. 100
    Comparing this to other albums is like comparing an aquarium to blue construction paper.... It's the sound of a band, and its leader, losing faith in themselves, destroying themselves, and subsequently rebuilding a perfect entity. In other words, Radiohead hated being Radiohead, but ended up with the most ideal, natural Radiohead record yet.
  2. 90
    Radiohead have completely immersed themselves in the studio-as-instrument--signal processing, radical stereo separation, and other antinaturalistic techniques. Even the precious Guitars--saturated with effects and gaseous with sustain--resemble natural phenomena rather than power chords or lead lines. Essentially, this is a post-rock record.... Kid A is not only Radiohead's bravest album but its best one as well. [Oct 2000, p.172]
  3. For an album that apparently grew out of the band trying to get away from melody, there's a lot of it here. They can't help themselves. They try to do a song with a robotic dance beat, load it up with bleak phrases like "laughing till my head comes off" and "take the money and run" and "this is really happening," call it "Idioteque" for chrissake, and what stands out are not the beat and not the phrases or the apparent concept of dance music being silly when horrible things are happening in the world, but the seven or eight different heartwrenching vocal lines and the amazing way they intertwine.