• Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 3, 2000
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 988 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 65 out of 988

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. eatitfatboy
    Mar 9, 2005
    10
    Radioheads best album
  2. Éamann
    Apr 19, 2005
    9
    Stunningly beautiful. They have an incredible ability to come up with lovely tunes. Their best album.
  3. AlbertoM
    Aug 16, 2005
    8
    Great record, though I prefer Bends, Computer and Hail first...
  4. JimC
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    This is the most important album of our generation, hands down. Radiohead, moving from a mostly unremarkable alt. rock band on Pablo Honey to a positive force in a hackneyed genre with The Bends and OK Computer, have singlehandedly redefined the landscape of marketable, and even remarkable music. This is an undeniably amazing album from a band who deserves every accolade that's been This is the most important album of our generation, hands down. Radiohead, moving from a mostly unremarkable alt. rock band on Pablo Honey to a positive force in a hackneyed genre with The Bends and OK Computer, have singlehandedly redefined the landscape of marketable, and even remarkable music. This is an undeniably amazing album from a band who deserves every accolade that's been heaped on them. Expand
  5. GraemeC
    Nov 1, 2006
    10
    This is the best album in the history of mankind. Every song on this album deserves it's own 500 word essay, but I believe "Motion Picture Soundtrack" stands out the most of all the songs. Its minimalist silece in the middle is so amazing to listen to. Radiohead is genius.
  6. GreggS
    Jan 17, 2006
    10
    Takes my breath away every time I listen to it. How do you even begin to make an album this spectacular?
  7. JR
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    Giving this...this erm...this 'experience' (i suppose thats a fairly accurate term) a 10 out of 10 is a bit of an insult...it is more like an 11 or even (maybe) a 12. There are a million different things i could say about why this is such a masterpiece, but each one would just taint it in it's infinite majesty and awe. Said in a different way, words can't descibe Giving this...this erm...this 'experience' (i suppose thats a fairly accurate term) a 10 out of 10 is a bit of an insult...it is more like an 11 or even (maybe) a 12. There are a million different things i could say about why this is such a masterpiece, but each one would just taint it in it's infinite majesty and awe. Said in a different way, words can't descibe it's beauty...so don't get me started. Expand
  8. FletcherB
    Jan 5, 2006
    10
    Why did Primal Scream win by a long shot?
  9. Ben
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    79?!?! what a disgrace this may be possibly one of my favourite albums of all time. Its albilty to communicate wiht me than no other albums if this album gets 79 then that is like giving revolver or dark side of the moon 79.
  10. krakensid
    Mar 13, 2006
    10
    i didn't think they could go any further. i was proved very wrong.
  11. Mr.Beast
    Mar 15, 2006
    10
    You can't 'Rate' this thing. It is insane. It makes other stuff sound shallow and unsophisticated. It takes 'The Top 100 Albums Of All Time' and thrusts it to one side, maybe entering it at an easy Rank 0.
  12. Poppy
    Mar 2, 2006
    10
    The best
  13. -Blank-
    Mar 24, 2006
    10
    10 doesnt even seem to give this album a sufficient rating. !
  14. LachlanW
    Apr 5, 2006
    10
    One of the best CDs of all time. Not as good as OK Computer, but nothing is.
  15. MacarionMacarion
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    The reviewers who gave this less than a 10 do not understand the point of music. I have no idea why this is rated lower than Hail to the Thief, although both are great.
  16. SteveF
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Amazing record, nothing short of genious
  17. Drew
    Jul 10, 2006
    10
    Amazing how this release polarizes Radiohead fans. I "liked" OK Computer, but Kid A wasn't something that you can compare to other releases...even by Radiohead. It is something that is in it's own space and time. If you are looking for these guys to "rock", don't bother. Listen to this with open ears, and you will be amazed. For those who like to be challenged by music.
  18. MorrisL
    Jul 23, 2006
    9
    Buying this album is like making an investment. I got it on its release, and listened to it twice before putting it away in repulsion. Then, about three YEARS later, I pick it up and play it through, and found three or four gems amidst a lot of truly terrible songs. But, all the same, when it shimmers, the beauty leaves you breathless, and there's enough shimmer to make it worth your Buying this album is like making an investment. I got it on its release, and listened to it twice before putting it away in repulsion. Then, about three YEARS later, I pick it up and play it through, and found three or four gems amidst a lot of truly terrible songs. But, all the same, when it shimmers, the beauty leaves you breathless, and there's enough shimmer to make it worth your money. But remember, you're buying future enjoyment, and present hatred. Expand
  19. Andy
    Aug 22, 2006
    7
    Some memorable tracks but not as important as OK Computer or the Bends.
  20. Poppy
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    The best
  21. Capu
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    dont even try to think about ok computer when listening to this album.... just sit back and listen to a band who know they're making something amazing, without sticking to anyone's boundaries... not absolutely fantastic, a couple of tracks stretch the avant-gardeness a lil too far (treefingers, kid a and the last three minutes of motion picture soundtrack im looking at you...) dont even try to think about ok computer when listening to this album.... just sit back and listen to a band who know they're making something amazing, without sticking to anyone's boundaries... not absolutely fantastic, a couple of tracks stretch the avant-gardeness a lil too far (treefingers, kid a and the last three minutes of motion picture soundtrack im looking at you...) but this is made up in spades by other tracks. this is not what the industry would have wanted from one of the worlds biggest bands... but who cares??? cos radiohead certainly dont... Expand
  22. DaveN
    Sep 22, 2006
    10
    Radiohead's first electronica CD is absolutely brilliant. Spawned by their discovery of Sigur Ros, Radiohead decided to become even more unique than they already were. This isn't as good as The Bends or Ok Computer, but any fan of electronica music or Radiohead in general should check this out.
  23. DavidH
    Sep 5, 2006
    9
    firstly, this album is not ok computer. Was never going to be and nothing ever will be. What it is is an album that given a few listens will have you realising is very very good indeed. That is its main problem, some people will have given this one listen and disliked it, however after a few times it becomes deep, intriguing and essential. It is not mainstream and it is not radio . Each firstly, this album is not ok computer. Was never going to be and nothing ever will be. What it is is an album that given a few listens will have you realising is very very good indeed. That is its main problem, some people will have given this one listen and disliked it, however after a few times it becomes deep, intriguing and essential. It is not mainstream and it is not radio . Each song on its own is a masterpiece however and the only reason it doesnt get a 10 is that i think ok computer is better. Given more time tho this might even overtake that classic... Expand
  24. Jimbo
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    Absolutely stunning I think resonance might need to give it another listen! WANKERS.
  25. trojanpony
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Simply the best album I've ever had the privilege of hearing. Re-defined my idea of music.
  26. RobbieC
    Dec 9, 2007
    10
    An historic and seminal piece of work.
  27. nsmith
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    yeah, it may be like 6 or so years since this album was releases. i just want to stick my middle finger up to every one who dissed this album. not experimental?!?! preschool?!?! jesus christ you people need to quit listening to k fed and fall out boy and understand true greatness when it punches you in the face.
  28. NeilR
    Mar 18, 2007
    10
    I've listen to this album in its entirety at leat 150 times. This album is truly a great work of art. It is not for everyone but neither is caviar and/or Dali.
  29. BrianB
    Mar 26, 2007
    10
    In what universe is The Moon and Antarctica better than this album?
  30. DeezlP
    Apr 23, 2007
    7
    Hits more often than it misses. The ultimate problem is that it seems to be behind the times- it would have been faintly radical in 1997, quite radical in 1987, and bleedin' amazin' in 1977. On a technological front, the likes of Autechre would destroy them; on the other hand, Autechre don't have a sense of songcraft. Quite often, the lyrics needn't mean anything, Hits more often than it misses. The ultimate problem is that it seems to be behind the times- it would have been faintly radical in 1997, quite radical in 1987, and bleedin' amazin' in 1977. On a technological front, the likes of Autechre would destroy them; on the other hand, Autechre don't have a sense of songcraft. Quite often, the lyrics needn't mean anything, because they connect to the music so well, and vise versa. All the same, certain songs- especially "Treefingers"- are clever, but only really drift along on that. Expand
  31. JasonB
    Apr 29, 2007
    10
    A modern classic. Original and thought provoking with loads of depth. Not to be judged until after two or three listens at minimum.
  32. ErikH
    Sep 9, 2007
    10
    Is this album as good as the decade-defining OK Computer? No, but it's a lot closer than people think. I honestly listen to this album substantially more than either OKC or The Bends.
  33. GrantC.
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    Without a doubt, the single best record of the millennium, and one of the best of all time. Radiohead could have easily followed up with "OK Computer" II, but they did what impresses me more than anything a band could do. They completely destroyed their already phenomenal (and at one time superior, only on "OK Computer") sound, and completely reinvented it. The guts to do that is Without a doubt, the single best record of the millennium, and one of the best of all time. Radiohead could have easily followed up with "OK Computer" II, but they did what impresses me more than anything a band could do. They completely destroyed their already phenomenal (and at one time superior, only on "OK Computer") sound, and completely reinvented it. The guts to do that is unbelievable. It's not like Red Hot Chili Peppers' backwards movement from funk-rock rapping to melodic pop-rock, it was a risky movement, in contrast to their very safe move to more popularity. Radiohead could easily have ruined their careers with this album. It was a bold move. However, they did nothing near destroy their careers. Sure, they lost some fans to this abrupt change in course, but out with the old in with the new (and more intelligent in this case, haha) I always say. Through all Jonny Greenwood's magnificent guitar work, which is all incredibly impressive, I really think his mostly electronic synth work on "Kid A" is where he draws the fine line between being a great guitarist, and a genius. The whole album is a 21st century masterpiece. It honestly got me into liking electronic music (the electro-rock eased me into more pure electronic quickly). SImply, it's a must-have. Expand
  34. BenF
    Jan 28, 2008
    10
    To the anonymous poster whose post is a few posts below mine.....please try to be intelligent about your argument. What a stupid point you're making. You think Thom York is a pretentious pussy but you don't even know him. Are you easily influenced by the media or are you just guessing about how he really is? They do nothing original in Kid A? Haha...you can't be serious. To the anonymous poster whose post is a few posts below mine.....please try to be intelligent about your argument. What a stupid point you're making. You think Thom York is a pretentious pussy but you don't even know him. Are you easily influenced by the media or are you just guessing about how he really is? They do nothing original in Kid A? Haha...you can't be serious. Now I know this post must be a joke. You stereotype and say radiohead fans are pretentious. Please...try to at least act intelligent. Expand
  35. JuLM-
    Jan 6, 2008
    10
    One of the best albums of the history
  36. NoahH.
    Mar 2, 2008
    10
    This album . . . wow. Like so many great albums, it took me a while to get it. I remember visiting my dad in Iowa and taking all day to download leaked tracks on dial-up. WTF was my first response. 6 hours later I have treefingers and hunting bears and I'm really, really scared. I get the album the day it comes out regardless and give it time, because I'm patient and respect the This album . . . wow. Like so many great albums, it took me a while to get it. I remember visiting my dad in Iowa and taking all day to download leaked tracks on dial-up. WTF was my first response. 6 hours later I have treefingers and hunting bears and I'm really, really scared. I get the album the day it comes out regardless and give it time, because I'm patient and respect the bands previous work. I went through the same process with OK Computer. Boy did patience and faith in the band payoff. Best album they've ever done (consequently one of the best albums ever). And man, the context of when it came out, how it related to the music landscape as a whole and specifically the way it fit into my life at the time is just inimitable. Oh, and I wonder what people who don't like the band are so afraid of? Such seething hate and disdain can only be propelled by immense fear. Of what I'm not sure. Expand
  37. LeeteF.
    Apr 18, 2008
    9
    A very nice album, but please. Admit it. It is NOT awesome when you've heard it like 40 times. First 5 times are random (except for opening track of course), the next 30 listens are incredibly entertaining and breathtaking. But then the album loses it's quality or whatever. Just like any electronic album does. The sounds don't last as long as proper instruments. Sry guys. A very nice album, but please. Admit it. It is NOT awesome when you've heard it like 40 times. First 5 times are random (except for opening track of course), the next 30 listens are incredibly entertaining and breathtaking. But then the album loses it's quality or whatever. Just like any electronic album does. The sounds don't last as long as proper instruments. Sry guys. Give this a listen, and then put on something like David Bowie's Hunky Dory, and you'll know what i mean. Good point about this being a headphones album in a dark room late at night. It is right now. Expand
  38. mikec
    Jun 9, 2008
    10
    To give this album anything less than a ten begs the question, "Did you even listen to it?" This album is unbelievable, one of the best records ever released.
  39. NiallM
    Sep 10, 2008
    10
    With OK Computer Radiohead managed to break into the mainstream with intelligent and magnificent alternative rock. With Kid A they spectacularly broke out of it, seemingly much to the confusion of the mainstream press who in the two days they had to review it, really didn't get it. Anyway listen to it for two months and you'll realise how great it is.
  40. SamerM
    Sep 30, 2008
    9
    This album starts with one of the greatest opening tracks of all time, Everything in Its Right Place, which sets the scene for a new, different Radiohead. Radiohead made something new, but it's also something as good as before, if not better. Idioteque is an amazing song, and the same goes with Optimistic. The only problem is that the lyrics seem like they were pulled out of a hat This album starts with one of the greatest opening tracks of all time, Everything in Its Right Place, which sets the scene for a new, different Radiohead. Radiohead made something new, but it's also something as good as before, if not better. Idioteque is an amazing song, and the same goes with Optimistic. The only problem is that the lyrics seem like they were pulled out of a hat (which is actually how they were picked). Everything in Its Right Place seems a lot less epic when you realise Thom's saying "Yesterday I woke up sucking on lemons" while the electric stuff in the background makes sure everyone knows of this fact. Expand
  41. fcof
    Oct 15, 2009
    10
    After universal acclaimed "OK Computer" Radiohead turned out with a genius follow up... Of course they changed the formula, for better. Kid A is a representation of a worl-wide arena filler band, that turns out with their most groundbreaking still natural album to date.
  42. JohnR
    Apr 20, 2009
    8
    A very good album by Radiohead but sparse in some parts which works for some songs and not for others. A great follow up to OK COMPUTER.
  43. FionnK
    Apr 27, 2009
    10
    this is an album that any one who plays music should be proud of they didn't only push them selfs but music as a whole its just a shame more don't fallow DON'T DO WHAT YOU THINK EVERYONE WANTS YOU TO DO DO WHAT YOU WANT TO.
  44. leighm
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    The timing, the tone, and the music are perfect. one of the best records ever.
  45. TannerC.
    Jul 17, 2009
    10
    The greatest album ever made.
  46. GaryT.
    Aug 27, 2001
    10
    This is an absolutely fantastic album, from the synthesizer/electronically-filtered voicings of 'Everything in its Right Place' to 'Motion Picture Soundtrack'- this album is such a deviation from the norm pop culture crap, and it is the best album ive heard in years. The way the songs flow into one another as 'Idioteque' does to 'Morning Bell' (my This is an absolutely fantastic album, from the synthesizer/electronically-filtered voicings of 'Everything in its Right Place' to 'Motion Picture Soundtrack'- this album is such a deviation from the norm pop culture crap, and it is the best album ive heard in years. The way the songs flow into one another as 'Idioteque' does to 'Morning Bell' (my favorite song on the album), makes it an unforgettable, immersing experience. They should have an 11 rating just for this. Expand
  47. J.Knox
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    I am not a writer but this album is brilliant....see Pitchfork's review
  48. ZohaibA
    Jan 24, 2004
    10
    This CD is good to listen in the car loud.
  49. alfonsof
    Feb 12, 2004
    10
    they remind me of the beatles...
  50. NathanU
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    Radiohead is the only band I know of playing on a completely different realm than everyone else. KID A is like something out of a dream. You are taken to corners of your mind you never knew existed. I want to say this is the "Sgt Pepper" of modern times, but Ifeel this band has it in them to make something even better that will stomp on the heart of what we perceive as music. If you like Radiohead is the only band I know of playing on a completely different realm than everyone else. KID A is like something out of a dream. You are taken to corners of your mind you never knew existed. I want to say this is the "Sgt Pepper" of modern times, but Ifeel this band has it in them to make something even better that will stomp on the heart of what we perceive as music. If you like "DAVE", you are not worthy of listening to KID A. Expand
  51. noiseboy
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    this is simply the greatest album i have ever heard and not by a small margin. it is epic in conception, heartbreaking in intensity and groundbreaking in style. i cant quite believe that anyone hearing this could fail to be moved. it is as perfect as it is possible for chaotic music to be. buy this record. buy this record. it is the one record that makes me scared of making music for the this is simply the greatest album i have ever heard and not by a small margin. it is epic in conception, heartbreaking in intensity and groundbreaking in style. i cant quite believe that anyone hearing this could fail to be moved. it is as perfect as it is possible for chaotic music to be. buy this record. buy this record. it is the one record that makes me scared of making music for the fear that nothing i ever do will be as good. Expand
  52. jdg
    Mar 31, 2006
    10
    A f*cking masterpiece.
  53. PatrickO
    May 14, 2006
    10
    When you sit down and digest this album, you say- where's the experimentation? It's not so easy to find. The experiment lies in the fact that this sound is clearly stripped down from OK Computer. The album is also a symbol- the death of "stadium rock" and the rebirth into their recent electronic sound. Notice the space at the end of "Motion Picture Soundtrack"? The album When you sit down and digest this album, you say- where's the experimentation? It's not so easy to find. The experiment lies in the fact that this sound is clearly stripped down from OK Computer. The album is also a symbol- the death of "stadium rock" and the rebirth into their recent electronic sound. Notice the space at the end of "Motion Picture Soundtrack"? The album purposely drags on to 49:59. 4959 is the Mayan Number of Rebirth. This metaphoric and symbolic theme appears all over the album. This is why Kid A is held in such high regards, with me and with thousands of other people... the art transcends describable beauty. Expand
  54. SAVAGETOAST
    Jun 13, 2006
    10
    Radiohead is CAH(cool). This CD is great if you listen to it a lot. It is a classic Radiohead album with its own individual eerie feel to it. Idioteque and Optimistic own and all in all...so does this album.
  55. GeoffS
    Aug 14, 2006
    9
    This album reminds me of floating on a cloud... a cloud of EXTREME PARANOIA!! ABAHABALALH!!!
  56. shaung
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    This is Radioheads pinnacle music expression, portraying one of the most sonically altering changes last seen from the Beatles with sgt.Pepper. Never has a mainstream album been so challenging yet in contrast, through careful listening, rewarding. From the opening keyboard descending of electronicly accentuated vocals ,"everything in its right place" sets the futuristic snowscapes of This is Radioheads pinnacle music expression, portraying one of the most sonically altering changes last seen from the Beatles with sgt.Pepper. Never has a mainstream album been so challenging yet in contrast, through careful listening, rewarding. From the opening keyboard descending of electronicly accentuated vocals ,"everything in its right place" sets the futuristic snowscapes of Radioheads premonitions of art. As the album takes its coarse. its evident they are unconcerned by anyones opinionated veiws of progression, as the fickle public yearn for change, then ridicule and scruntinize artists for leaping to other heights. "How to disappear completely" is Yorke at his most longing, searching for a means of emancipation of the emptiness of existence. As jonnys electronic blending, echoes through his void. "idioteque" is a societal premonition of self eradication, are immenant demise is ultimately self concieved. Yorkes desperate howls of agony concoct some of musics catchiest depressions. The finality of this bleak landscape is most vividly conveyed in the closing,"motion picture soundtrack" Ascending organs captivate some of the most profond imagery of human emotions. Every thought of existence coalesced into the shooting of stars in the harp section. Conjuring onyx night white planes of the distant mountains layed out of the cover. The part" i will see you in the next life" is a self assurance of the continuity thats the cause of this dirge. All in all, this record is beyond the judgement of self appointed judges that are so subjegated to the praising of Kaka, its beauty is lamented on its own merits. Expand
  57. sethisawesome
    Nov 5, 2007
    10
    This is one of those rare things that divides people like the little debbie pastry line. people seem to either love it or hate it. i happen to love it. a lot. i literally FELT the music here, the strange and unexpected sonic intricacies seemed to coarse through my very soul upon first listen, and they still do today.
  58. Timr
    Oct 18, 2007
    10
    If i could, i would if it an 11. there is a beauty one cannot discribe. morning bell chimes to me every time i hear of radiohead.
  59. poophead
    Jan 25, 2007
    10
    resonance? yeah, so this is one of the most groundbreaking albums of the 21st century.
  60. AyrtonL.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    The best record of the century. (This is non-negotiable boyos).
  61. Filly
    Mar 21, 2007
    10
    7 years and the cd keeps getting better.
  62. SeanP.
    May 22, 2007
    10
    The apotheosis of "grower" and "before-its-time." I'm still in the process of "getting" this album, and their other albums, for that matter.
  63. NE
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    Classic. The best album of the 21st century. The first question you should ask when you hear the initial seconds of "Everything in Its Right Place" should be "Is this the same band that released Pablo Honey and The Bends?". Of course, those albums are great (and OK Computer being for me another 10), but this is one of the most satisfying and inventive albums ever. I'll never get Classic. The best album of the 21st century. The first question you should ask when you hear the initial seconds of "Everything in Its Right Place" should be "Is this the same band that released Pablo Honey and The Bends?". Of course, those albums are great (and OK Computer being for me another 10), but this is one of the most satisfying and inventive albums ever. I'll never get tired of listening to it, from "Everything..." to the silence of "Motion Picture Soundtrack". OK Computer is a classic. But I love this more. Expand
  64. MaxM
    Jun 21, 2007
    10
    This is my favorite album next to Amnesiac. It's hard to believe Radiohead can create two great albums within two years.
  65. ChadM.
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    I find it annoyingly funny (if that makes any sense) that anyone who dislikes Radiohead, and "Kid A" in particular, gives a reason that always sounds like this: "I hate Radiohead, their fans, and Kid A because they are sooo PRETENTIOUS." Really? Pretentious? If you think Radiohead is Pretentious, then you clearly do not understand the meaning of the word (See the review a couple of slots I find it annoyingly funny (if that makes any sense) that anyone who dislikes Radiohead, and "Kid A" in particular, gives a reason that always sounds like this: "I hate Radiohead, their fans, and Kid A because they are sooo PRETENTIOUS." Really? Pretentious? If you think Radiohead is Pretentious, then you clearly do not understand the meaning of the word (See the review a couple of slots below); Radiohead is the total opposite of the word pretentious. Not only does Radiohead shy away from the spotlight, but they hate it. And they deserve every accolade they get. Somebody describes "Kid A" by saying: "Comparing this to other albums is like comparing an aquarium to blue construction paper", which I think is a perfect way to put it. "Kid A" is truly in a galaxy of it's own; it's another world with no limitations, rules, or boundaries. The moment you start the record with "Everything In It's Right Place", those first synth notes roll over you like a mammoth wave of clouds and you are completely submerged into a new world. "Everything" then flows perfectly into the dreamlike title track. "The National Anthem" follows and bludgeons you upside the head like a sledgehammer with it's heavy bass line, horns, and saxophone fusing into some weird hybrid world. The calm "How to Disappear Completely" becomes one with the ambient "TreeFingers", which by itself it a preposterous track, but in the context of the album as a whole, it fits and makes perfect sense; and it's the calm before the climactic storm of "Optimistic". "In Limbo" feels like a nightmarish purgatory, with the final minute of the song sending you spiraling down the rabbit hole. Next is the apocalyptic "Idioteque", which uses electronica, drum machines, and eerie chords to create one of the more impressive Radiohead songs to date. "Idioteque" morphs perfectly into the gloomy "Morning Bell". But the very last track is where "Kid A" seals the deal; "Motion Picture Soundtrack" is staggeringly gorgeous, with Tom Yorke ending it with the words "I think you're crazy" and "I'll see you in the next life". Well...."Kid A", in one word, is a: Masterpiece. Expand
  66. DanH
    Jun 23, 2008
    9
    The aural equivalent of a James Joyce novel. "Treefingers" is weak for me, as is "In Limbo"; everything else is stunning. Hence the 9. If you liked this, get "Neon Golden" by the Notwist - its actually better than Kid A.
  67. TheConglomerate*
    Mar 16, 2009
    10
    Music from another realm. Highlight: The eerie penderecki-like strings and thom's falsetto on 'how to disappear completely'. Stunning. Listening to the Kid A transports you to another place when listened to closely. I agree though, if you aren't interested in either modern electronica, jazz, or classical music then you wont really find much to like here. You need to Music from another realm. Highlight: The eerie penderecki-like strings and thom's falsetto on 'how to disappear completely'. Stunning. Listening to the Kid A transports you to another place when listened to closely. I agree though, if you aren't interested in either modern electronica, jazz, or classical music then you wont really find much to like here. You need to have your head outside a 'hits' mentality to appreciate this. Stunningly beautiful album. 5 stars Expand
  68. chrisn
    May 25, 2009
    10
    For everyone who's criticising this album, i would love to see you do better with the help of 5 other people. chances are you will never, ever accomplish anything close to kid a. that is why radiohead have the recognition and you don't. i'd rather it stayed that way.
  69. LeahT
    Jul 28, 2009
    10
    Radiohead's third straight masterpiece after The Bends and OKC. Simply stunning - a grower for some. But can anyone here claim to have ever heard a song more beautiful than "how to Disappear Completely"? I challenge it. Radiohead takes risks and consistently redefines genres. No one's ever written anythinglike The National Anthem. Yorke is a genius.
  70. ChaiseW
    Sep 14, 2009
    10
    Yes, Thom Yorke may be pretentious; yes, this album may be a tremendous departure from the anthem rock of OK Computer and The Bends; yes, it may be difficult to swallow the first few listens, but no, this album is not shit. Kid A redefined modern music, it created a genre of it's own by combining other genres from past decades. This album is essential, it is pivotal to all musicians Yes, Thom Yorke may be pretentious; yes, this album may be a tremendous departure from the anthem rock of OK Computer and The Bends; yes, it may be difficult to swallow the first few listens, but no, this album is not shit. Kid A redefined modern music, it created a genre of it's own by combining other genres from past decades. This album is essential, it is pivotal to all musicians who even think of creating a masterpiece of their own. Kid A destroyed the CD, but conceived the Mp3. Expand
  71. PatrickK.
    Dec 22, 2001
    9
    This album is quite good, but it is nothing special. So a major-label band actually shows some originality and intelligence... big deal. There is plenty of music more "daring" and mind-fucking than Kid A; it just doesn't get played on MTV. Their lyrics are nothing groundbreaking either, basically just rehashed Marxism with an obscurantist twist. Capitalism and technology alienate This album is quite good, but it is nothing special. So a major-label band actually shows some originality and intelligence... big deal. There is plenty of music more "daring" and mind-fucking than Kid A; it just doesn't get played on MTV. Their lyrics are nothing groundbreaking either, basically just rehashed Marxism with an obscurantist twist. Capitalism and technology alienate us?? No shit.. So I must agree in part with the all the reviewers sucking Radioheads's collective dick.. Kid A shows some originality and intelligence, something all too rare in the wanker-filled world of rock'n'roll. But they do not deserve the fawning acclaim and cultish following they enjoy, which I venture is due more to EMI's advertising budget than anything else. Expand
  72. RobertP
    Dec 24, 2006
    10
    haha... Who the hell are "Resonance"?
  73. Apr 12, 2011
    8
    I really don't know what to say about this one.
    Ok... so I can hear the creativity and effort that's been put into this record, and it is a cool mix of atmospheric sounds.. but that's all it is really - there are no recognizable words or any normal song structures. It's just sounds. But interesting sounds. You can listen to meditation/electronic music and hear almost the same thing. I
    I really don't know what to say about this one.
    Ok... so I can hear the creativity and effort that's been put into this record, and it is a cool mix of atmospheric sounds.. but that's all it is really - there are no recognizable words or any normal song structures. It's just sounds. But interesting sounds. You can listen to meditation/electronic music and hear almost the same thing. I think people are rating it "best album of the decade" because it's so different that you don't really know where to put it. Well... it can't be 'perfect' really.. there are a handful of not so good tracks. But the rest are interesting listens. I'll give it props for being so different...
    Expand
  74. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    Beautiful from Track 1 - Track 10 (Yes, even Treefingers) Just as good as OK Computer musically. But it's the album, the order of the songs, that make it so amazing.
    Calming, Dark, Haunting and Beautiful all in 40 minutes.
    You can lay in a dark room and just get lost in its experimental, electronic beauty. IN-CREDI-BLE Please....
    Beautiful from Track 1 - Track 10 (Yes, even Treefingers) Just as good as OK Computer musically. But it's the album, the order of the songs, that make it so amazing.
    Calming, Dark, Haunting and Beautiful all in 40 minutes.
    You can lay in a dark room and just get lost in its experimental, electronic beauty. IN-CREDI-BLE Please.... Please..... Listen.
    Expand
  75. Oct 5, 2010
    9
    A truly wonderful album, with a few songs that probably experiment too far, and lose me a bit ("Kid A", "Treefingers"). A lot of these songs, though, still have a quintessential Radiohead sound, and the overall theme of the album is so different from "OK Computer". It feels like a natural extension to that albums feelings of being lost in the modern world of technology, with Yorke's voiceA truly wonderful album, with a few songs that probably experiment too far, and lose me a bit ("Kid A", "Treefingers"). A lot of these songs, though, still have a quintessential Radiohead sound, and the overall theme of the album is so different from "OK Computer". It feels like a natural extension to that albums feelings of being lost in the modern world of technology, with Yorke's voice now becoming part of that system of electronics, to great effect. For people stuck in the alt rock of "Pablo Honey", it will not be a very appealing sound. But those that loved the message of "OK Computer" will really get a lot out of this album, and it's among Radiohead's best. Expand
  76. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    It's ok if you don't like it. It's a piece of music you are either going to love or hate. It's not for everybody. This is my favorite album of all time. In fact, I think it's better than Abbey Road and Dark Side of the Moon. It is an album that truly lives up to the hype for me, unlike Arcade Fire's Funeral. Seriously, how can that album be in the same league as Kid A? It again shows thatIt's ok if you don't like it. It's a piece of music you are either going to love or hate. It's not for everybody. This is my favorite album of all time. In fact, I think it's better than Abbey Road and Dark Side of the Moon. It is an album that truly lives up to the hype for me, unlike Arcade Fire's Funeral. Seriously, how can that album be in the same league as Kid A? It again shows that we all hear things differently. Expand
  77. Sep 5, 2010
    10
    thus album moves you from start to finish. it tells a rich story. it is radioheads finest and no album will ever top this. Some like Sgt. peppers lonely hearts club band and ok computer got close, to name a few, but not this good. A+ job. the best album ever.
  78. Sep 7, 2010
    9
    An absolutely groundbreaking effort and quite a gutsy change of direction after the phenomenal success of OK Computer (1997). I actually think Amnesiac is a bit of an improvement, but let's be honest, with a Radiohead album, there usually isn't much room for that. A lovely record.
  79. Oct 30, 2010
    10
    An album at the forefront of its time & a complete work of art. The first time I heard it it was like nothing I had heard before. The influence of this album will resonate for generations...
  80. Nov 19, 2010
    10
    This album is quite literally perfect. I can't honestly think of anything bad to say about it, except that Treefingers should be a little bit shorter.
  81. Jan 7, 2011
    8
    Kid A is a very playful album. all sorts of musical elements in this album. Thom Yorke's voice soars high in this album. "The National Anthem" sounds like a track that is spiralling out of control. The opener "Everything In It's Right Place" sounds distorted, and "Idioteque" is like an electronic funk song that sounds amazing. All In All, Kid A is a very good album. B+
  82. Dec 29, 2010
    10
    In contrast to what many mainstream critics said, Kid A is, without a doubt, one of the greatest albums of the previous decade. Kid A might or might not have been groundbreaking, but it is certainly one of the most challenging albums ever to have commercial success. Kid A had no official singles or music videos, yet it went to #1 upon initial release. Kid A is more of a piece of art ratherIn contrast to what many mainstream critics said, Kid A is, without a doubt, one of the greatest albums of the previous decade. Kid A might or might not have been groundbreaking, but it is certainly one of the most challenging albums ever to have commercial success. Kid A had no official singles or music videos, yet it went to #1 upon initial release. Kid A is more of a piece of art rather than being just another commercially passable album. It challenges you to hear what's on the album. Expand
  83. Oct 26, 2011
    10
    There are many bands out there trying to create great albums, and there have been many great albums made. The 90's were full of these albums, OK Computer, Nevermind and the past decade was full of them as well, Funeral, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. All of these albums are classics, people will listen to them for years to come. However, there is really no dispute among music lovers that theseThere are many bands out there trying to create great albums, and there have been many great albums made. The 90's were full of these albums, OK Computer, Nevermind and the past decade was full of them as well, Funeral, Yankee Hotel Foxtrot. All of these albums are classics, people will listen to them for years to come. However, there is really no dispute among music lovers that these can touch anything in the likes of Sgt. Pepper. It would seem that in the past twenty years, while a lot of the music was great, none of it could stand up to the effect that the brilliance and innovation of some of the all time greats had. Kid A however does stands out. Everything to do with the album is very unique, the music is very challenging and not influenced by anything mainstream, the lyrics are dark and abstract, and the most unique aspect of all, it was not anything anyone else was even thinking about making. WIth albums like Nirvana's Nevermind, there were multiple bands that were also trying to come up with the pinnacle album for Seattle grunge rock, but with Kid A, no one was even expecting anything like it to come into existence. This album truly is one of a kind, and whether or not you like it, its uniqueness cannot be taken away. No album had ever been made using all of these concepts from underground genres of music. It opened the doors for countless other artists thats music would have otherwise remained ignored and it created a new direction for more mainstream genres to aim at. This kind of album can only happen every so often, and Radiohead executed it perfectly. They took all of these ideas these other musicians had and created something beautiful. There is no other album in the last two decades that can be compared to this album, and for that reason Radiohead will go into history as one of the all-time greats. Expand
  84. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    What an amazing album. I'm a rather big Radiohead fan and this is easily their best work. The music is phenomenal and experimental, the bass is out of those world and The National Anthem is brilliant. Thom's vocals are solid and the drums are great. The album progresses very smoothly. If you think of it as a concept album (a terrorist attack or a dream are the two major options) it getsWhat an amazing album. I'm a rather big Radiohead fan and this is easily their best work. The music is phenomenal and experimental, the bass is out of those world and The National Anthem is brilliant. Thom's vocals are solid and the drums are great. The album progresses very smoothly. If you think of it as a concept album (a terrorist attack or a dream are the two major options) it gets much more interesting. Truly great album. However, the last track is one of my lesser liked Radiohead songs, but the rest of them are some of my favorite. Expand
  85. May 6, 2011
    8
    If I had the choice, I would give up this album just so as to stop Amnesiac spawning, though I would miss great songs like Everything In Its Right Place, Optimistic, Idioteque and Morning Bell (which directly led to Morning Bell/Amnesiac, which was weak compared to the original, to say the least).
  86. Jul 21, 2017
    10
    Only scored an 80, yet it was the most popular pick for album of the decade. Obviously, it needed some hindsight, but I found it to be a classic the first time i heard it. I think this one is better than ok Computer.
  87. May 25, 2011
    10
    It's a beast for sure, but one that will reward you with time.
  88. Jun 2, 2011
    10
    By far the darkest-sounding, most artistically significant album to be released this millennium. Kid A will go on to inspire millions of people around the world. This was the follow up to Radiohead's break-out record, Ok Computer, and WHAT a follow up this is! It separated Radiohead from all other bands and has redefined what music is. It's an EXCRUCIATINGLY difficult record to get into,By far the darkest-sounding, most artistically significant album to be released this millennium. Kid A will go on to inspire millions of people around the world. This was the follow up to Radiohead's break-out record, Ok Computer, and WHAT a follow up this is! It separated Radiohead from all other bands and has redefined what music is. It's an EXCRUCIATINGLY difficult record to get into, but once you start understanding the point of it all you will fall so deeply in love that you'll listen to it over and over again for weeks. Try to connect to the lyrics; read the pitchfork review it explains everything pretty much perfectly. This album is what it sounds like to be one of the best bands in the world, destroy yourself, and then slowly put yourself back together and take the top pillar in most people's music libraries (at least for new music). Expand
  89. Aug 6, 2011
    10
    Along with Yankee Hotel Foxtrot, this album defined the 2000s. Thom Yorke is an unnerving genius. Probably their best record. Perfect for losing your mind.
  90. Jul 11, 2011
    10
    The sheer ingenuity and depth of the album astounds. I think many of its more vehement critics on this site have failed to grasp the allusions to apocalypse - and indeed the comparisons of it with our own world. "Cheap sex and sad films" bemoans Thom on the final track, seeing where our own real lusts lie. The music complements this beautifully; too many have been expecting straightforwardThe sheer ingenuity and depth of the album astounds. I think many of its more vehement critics on this site have failed to grasp the allusions to apocalypse - and indeed the comparisons of it with our own world. "Cheap sex and sad films" bemoans Thom on the final track, seeing where our own real lusts lie. The music complements this beautifully; too many have been expecting straightforward rock. The fact that Radiohead can experiment with dissonance, glitch and extended instrumental techniques shows thier vast versitility as musicians. Expand
  91. j30
    Feb 1, 2012
    10
    Radiohead's Kid A sucker punches you with it's marvelous production, intense lyrics, sweeping (even distorted) melodies, and beautiful artwork. Three years after the great OK Computer I don't think anyone could have seen this coming. For better or worse this album changed the way people look at alternative music.
  92. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    A beautiful and dark album. Well worth owning. This intricate album continuously gets better with each listen. Amazing cover art by Stanely Donwood. One of the best, if not THE best, album since the turn of the century. The timing couldn't have been better for the release of this masterpiece. A CD that captures the paranoia and electronic age of the 21st Century as well as incorporatingA beautiful and dark album. Well worth owning. This intricate album continuously gets better with each listen. Amazing cover art by Stanely Donwood. One of the best, if not THE best, album since the turn of the century. The timing couldn't have been better for the release of this masterpiece. A CD that captures the paranoia and electronic age of the 21st Century as well as incorporating relevant political and environmental issues. Solid all the way through. Perfect for late at night. Expand
  93. Oct 6, 2012
    10
    Kid A, can't nobody top that. Better than Rush, better than Coldplay, and better than Soundgarden, Radiohead brings the mixture of alternative indie rock and UK grunge to another level. Quite possibly one of the greatest albums of all time.
  94. Sep 14, 2011
    10
    Radiohead continues being a great band by changeing their sound and its for the best. Bands have to evolve or they will become stale and boring but thankfully that won't happen to radiohead. Also this is my favorite album by them.
  95. Oct 6, 2011
    10
    Amazing album. It may not be the most accessible album (It took me a few listens to get into it), but it certainly is one of the best. Not like their earlier albums, but then again, every Radiohead album is different.
  96. Sep 5, 2017
    9
    The follow up to the magnificient "OK Computer" marked the start of the next chapter of Radiohead where they moved from cutting edge rock to progressive/experimental music. Not as groundbreaking as many give it credit for but Radiohead definitely created one of the last great albums of the 20th century with this. 10 tracks long, each one seems to belong exactly where it is - as the openingThe follow up to the magnificient "OK Computer" marked the start of the next chapter of Radiohead where they moved from cutting edge rock to progressive/experimental music. Not as groundbreaking as many give it credit for but Radiohead definitely created one of the last great albums of the 20th century with this. 10 tracks long, each one seems to belong exactly where it is - as the opening song says "Every in its right place". The amount of work gone into the album is there for all to hear. It has a complexity that only comes when the artist is completely immersed in their work. The title track "Kid A" is the highlight for me and is as good a track as Radiohead have produced. I used to have favourite tracks from this album but over the years I've grown to love the record as a whole more than any specific tracks. "Kid A" really should be listened to as a whole piece. A mix of experimental touches but with good tunes driving it forward. It's a pity they didn't release it with "Amnesiac" as was once mooted as I think it would have been one of the truly great double albums. Expand
  97. Sep 28, 2012
    10
    Rather than silly club synths, their use of electronica is proper. It feels artistic and sophisticated. It's an intelligent record. It's a masterpiece. Perhaps this is the best album of the last decade.
  98. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    This is the greatest album of all time, in my opinion.
  99. Nov 15, 2011
    10
    Easily an album that helped shape the music scene as we know it now. With the leap from the critically and commercially successful sound of OK computer they made what in my opinion is the greatest album of the 00's. Absolute perfection.
  100. Jul 21, 2012
    8
    A strange blockbuster. Like getting a completely new yet intelligent perspective on the world you've come to sense in the same old light. I've always thought that the insecurities and pressure on the band was present beneath the perfect production, and it comes to draw focus from the sharp world-diagnoses Radiohead crafts so well.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. 100
    Comparing this to other albums is like comparing an aquarium to blue construction paper.... It's the sound of a band, and its leader, losing faith in themselves, destroying themselves, and subsequently rebuilding a perfect entity. In other words, Radiohead hated being Radiohead, but ended up with the most ideal, natural Radiohead record yet.
  2. Spin
    90
    Radiohead have completely immersed themselves in the studio-as-instrument--signal processing, radical stereo separation, and other antinaturalistic techniques. Even the precious Guitars--saturated with effects and gaseous with sustain--resemble natural phenomena rather than power chords or lead lines. Essentially, this is a post-rock record.... Kid A is not only Radiohead's bravest album but its best one as well. [Oct 2000, p.172]
  3. For an album that apparently grew out of the band trying to get away from melody, there's a lot of it here. They can't help themselves. They try to do a song with a robotic dance beat, load it up with bleak phrases like "laughing till my head comes off" and "take the money and run" and "this is really happening," call it "Idioteque" for chrissake, and what stands out are not the beat and not the phrases or the apparent concept of dance music being silly when horrible things are happening in the world, but the seven or eight different heartwrenching vocal lines and the amazing way they intertwine.