Kid A

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 3, 2000
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 818 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 31 out of 818

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 22, 2011
    10
    Upon first listen I can see why old school Radiohead fans won't like this album, I didn't either. After a few listens though the album grew on me. Radiohead took a leap of faith here by making an album totally opposite of their past masterpieces (The Bends & OK Computer). This transition kind of reminds me of Dylan going acoustic. His loyal folk fan base was horrified and didn't wantUpon first listen I can see why old school Radiohead fans won't like this album, I didn't either. After a few listens though the album grew on me. Radiohead took a leap of faith here by making an album totally opposite of their past masterpieces (The Bends & OK Computer). This transition kind of reminds me of Dylan going acoustic. His loyal folk fan base was horrified and didn't want anything to do with him after that. Thankfully artists make music for themselves and what that is and what the fans want may be two different things. If artists just stuck to their roots we they would never be able to grow intellectually and musically. Kid A is a fantastic album and is well worthy of all the praise it has and continues to receive and "Everything In It's Right Place" is one of the best songs of all time. Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    10
    When I first listened to this album, I thought it was entirely a pile of garbage. How could the greatest rock band in the world make such a horrendous processed electronic earwreck? A month later, I gave it another chance. Then I thought, "huh, this is alright. Wonder why I thought it was so bad." Then I listened to it for a third time. That's when my mind was blown. Radiohead had struckWhen I first listened to this album, I thought it was entirely a pile of garbage. How could the greatest rock band in the world make such a horrendous processed electronic earwreck? A month later, I gave it another chance. Then I thought, "huh, this is alright. Wonder why I thought it was so bad." Then I listened to it for a third time. That's when my mind was blown. Radiohead had struck gold again. Only this time, they found diamond. This album is absolutely flawless, even if at first glance it's completely flawed. Just keep polishing the diamond, and only then will it sparkle. Expand
  3. Uhhuhhim
    May 30, 2005
    10
    Resonance - A magazine that might've been amazing if the writers had only bothered to write some actual reviews.
  4. JordanS
    Jun 29, 2009
    10
    Words fail me. A pioneering, post-genre masterpiece. Easily the best album of the 21st century. Period.
  5. ChrisH
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    undeniably beautiful, and after 50 listens, it seems even better
  6. MHarris
    Oct 16, 2005
    10
    This album is more than just music. It is a visceral experience.
  7. LilianP
    Dec 30, 2005
    10
    you'd have to like free jazz and modern classical music to like what radiohead did with rock music. it's music not for a commercial audience, but for real lovers of music.
  8. EkC
    Aug 27, 2006
    10
    Everything radiohead does is unbelievable (besides pablo honey)... i think the band peaked at ok computer, but this album is still unbelievable.
  9. SteveO
    Aug 26, 2009
    10
    Quite simply one of the greatest albums ever recorded. Not to everyone's tastes, but certainly to mine.
  10. chris
    Jul 25, 2003
    10
    I would give this album an 11 if i could. If you do not understand kid A you might as well stop listening to music altogether. you lameoids who gave this album a bad rating sholuld perish in one of Dante's concentric circles of hell that Thome Yorke so emotionally transends to us in his flawless and dominating voice. Why don't you invalids go off on an island somewhere with your I would give this album an 11 if i could. If you do not understand kid A you might as well stop listening to music altogether. you lameoids who gave this album a bad rating sholuld perish in one of Dante's concentric circles of hell that Thome Yorke so emotionally transends to us in his flawless and dominating voice. Why don't you invalids go off on an island somewhere with your Ben Kweller and O.A.R. cd's and leave the rest of us alone. Be sure to bring a t.v. because i know you can't miss American Idol. Expand
  11. Aaron
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    it's my favorite album ever
  12. DaveG
    Jul 14, 2006
    10
    I hated this record when I first heard it. However, I now consider it to be the greatest record that I've ever heard.
  13. TKOFOX
    May 22, 2009
    10
    This album tells a story of simple men/women enduring complex ideas with johnny greenwood (etc.) composing the sound scape. Its brilliant. I wish more albums like this would come along. Until then.
  14. GauravG
    Dec 24, 2002
    10
    A masterpiece. The only album I still listen to constantly 2 years later in 2002. Radiohead has taken the otherworldly sounds of Aphex Twin & Autechre and made it slightly more accessible. And what other major band has taken a risk like this? U2? The Beatles? That's good company if you ask me.
  15. RG
    Jul 28, 2006
    10
    tired of everyone saying you have to listen to it more than once to get it. The first feeling that you get after the first listen ... cannot put my words together. every listen something new rises up. every listen some part of your brain or heart gives out. i will stop now, but it is one of the best records ever made, still dont know how it reached #1 when it came out, myabe because of ok tired of everyone saying you have to listen to it more than once to get it. The first feeling that you get after the first listen ... cannot put my words together. every listen something new rises up. every listen some part of your brain or heart gives out. i will stop now, but it is one of the best records ever made, still dont know how it reached #1 when it came out, myabe because of ok computer buzz. Expand
  16. Aug 19, 2010
    10
    To call Kid A a good album is an understatement, while not as diverse and as good song by song as its predecesor Ok Computer, Kid A may be better as a full collective album. Its one of those albums that it is almost required of you to listen from start to finish. While it is an album that definetely has a recurring musical theme, each song takes you to a different place, whether it beTo call Kid A a good album is an understatement, while not as diverse and as good song by song as its predecesor Ok Computer, Kid A may be better as a full collective album. Its one of those albums that it is almost required of you to listen from start to finish. While it is an album that definetely has a recurring musical theme, each song takes you to a different place, whether it be the chilling "Everything in its Right Place" to the near tear jerking "How to Disappear completely, to the anything but "Optimistic", to "In Limbo" which most certainly lives up to its name being confusing and without real direction (in a good way). Kid A while not Radioheads magnum opus, may be their most obscure, challenging, and most thought provoking piece of art, which it is nothing less than a piece of art. Expand
  17. Aug 25, 2010
    10
    Everything truly is in its right place.
  18. Mar 2, 2012
    10
    When you ask people about the best 90's album, the most common answer is: "OK Computer". And they go beyond in asserting that also is the best Radiohead album. I'm not in agreement with the last affirmation. "Kid A" is a huge album that overcomes their previous recording. Since I first heard it, 6 years ago, I was impressed by it's peculiar sound, the experimentation, the quality, theWhen you ask people about the best 90's album, the most common answer is: "OK Computer". And they go beyond in asserting that also is the best Radiohead album. I'm not in agreement with the last affirmation. "Kid A" is a huge album that overcomes their previous recording. Since I first heard it, 6 years ago, I was impressed by it's peculiar sound, the experimentation, the quality, the elegance. It's a masterpiece! (for me, of course). Since these High School days it has becomes one of my favorites recordings of ever!! Expand
  19. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    The best Radiohead's album of the last twelve years. Nothing more, nothing less. It's absolutely worth listening to it, but if you never liked them this album is not gonna make you change your mind. Haters are warned!
  20. Feb 20, 2014
    10
    An album that both alienates listeners yet draws them back in for more. Kid A is quite possibly the most unique sounding albums and constructed ideas of the last several decades. The stripped down sound of the "new era" Radiohead of the 21st century does more than cement their place as one of the most influential bands of all time and without question, one the best bands of all time.
  21. Oct 21, 2014
    10
    Kid A is indubitably one of the best albums of the past decade, and Radiohead's crowning achievement. Rarely have I listened to an album so cohesive and unified. Every song paints a beautiful picture and the songs flow from one to each other so naturally. Listening to this album, I experienced the sensation one has while watching a good plot twist in a movie. I felt my previous notions ofKid A is indubitably one of the best albums of the past decade, and Radiohead's crowning achievement. Rarely have I listened to an album so cohesive and unified. Every song paints a beautiful picture and the songs flow from one to each other so naturally. Listening to this album, I experienced the sensation one has while watching a good plot twist in a movie. I felt my previous notions of the world disassembled. It was an ethereal but otherworldly experience. It's like if "Everything in its Right Place" sets the stage for the events of the album, "Kid A" shows the unbridled innocence of the world we see, and then something really, really bad happens on "The National Anthem". The rest is survival. The lyrics, bizarre and arbitrary as they might seem on first glance, really have a distinct purpose serving the atmosphere of the song. Could you imagine "Everything in its Right Place" without the now iconic "I woke up sucking on lemon" line?

    The musicianship here is impeccable. "Everything in its Right Place" is an almost hypnotic trance in 10/4 time that leaves you simultaneously disturbed and intrigued. "The National Anthem" features blistering horns and brass that slowly metamorphoses into hectic hysteria, which the bass line still serving as an undercurrent of survival and hustle and bustle beneath. Brilliant. "How to Disappear Completely" is an acoustic ballad, but not in the traditional sense, and feature's Greenwood's Penderecki-esque string arrangements. "Idioteque" sees the band exploring some bleak territory in its lyrics hidden beneath the veneer of a dance song, while songs like "Optimistic" and "In Limbo" defy genre classification.

    This is a really magnificent piece of work. The only drawback is that it's not very accessible for a casual listener. But for those willing to take on this accomplishment, you will be heavily rewarded. It's a fantastic album and work of art and I highly recommend you listen to it altogether.

    Must tracks – All of them. But since I restrict myself to three I'll say Idioteque, Everything in its Right Place, and How to Disappear Completely.
    Expand
  22. Dec 2, 2010
    10
    I am a massive radiohead fan. and this is there greatest album. Radiohead is my favourette band and this does not dissapoint. Kid A and Optimistic are my favourette tracs from this album.
  23. ChrisR.
    Oct 6, 2007
    0
    Ha ha! Just kidding! 10/10 If you don't get Radiohead you don't get music.
  24. SmithV
    Apr 27, 2006
    4
    Experimental? Not really... The breakthrough sound that many publications have communicated to the public is hardly breakthrough at all. What we have is a recording joke....seriously! Radiohead has pulled the hoodwink of the 21st. century. They have put almost no thought into writing the music, they have written lyrics comparable to a seventh grader's english, and, they have somehow Experimental? Not really... The breakthrough sound that many publications have communicated to the public is hardly breakthrough at all. What we have is a recording joke....seriously! Radiohead has pulled the hoodwink of the 21st. century. They have put almost no thought into writing the music, they have written lyrics comparable to a seventh grader's english, and, they have somehow convinced the so-called experts that this is a masterful accomplishment! It is more of reflection on those emotionally disturbed listener individuals that are drawn 'in' to this music than it is on any musical accomplishment. "OK Computer" was magnificent, a work of art, full of melody, capable of taking the listener to places rarely reached previously - this, however, is the 'sting' of the century. Expand
  25. Apr 5, 2011
    5
    I don't doubt the time and effort put into this album, wonderful technique, and ability. From an objective stand point though, if you're not shuffling through the gray streets of london, you need to put on something else. This album is to Radiohead as Something in the Way was to Nirvana. Not terrible, but I'd rather hear Dive. Get me?
  26. J.Shak
    Jul 28, 2006
    0
    This is the worst album I've ever heard. Saying that it was play school music would be an insult to play school.
  27. Melíza
    May 3, 2003
    6
    I feel guilty about giving this album the score that I did, but I think a 6 seems fair. I will continue to maintain the opinion that Thom Yorke has one of the worst voices in popular music today, and in addition I sometimes feel as though the ambient lyrics reflect an equally ambient style. I can see how some listeners got the impression that in an attempt to sound original, Radiohead I feel guilty about giving this album the score that I did, but I think a 6 seems fair. I will continue to maintain the opinion that Thom Yorke has one of the worst voices in popular music today, and in addition I sometimes feel as though the ambient lyrics reflect an equally ambient style. I can see how some listeners got the impression that in an attempt to sound original, Radiohead went off the deep end and into the "weird" catagory. With that said and out of the way, I love most of the tracks on this cd; each song gives off a distinct feel which I think is much more defined by the song-writing than by the somewhat etherreal sound of keyboards, drum kits, effects, and other electronic equipment. I said "guilty" in the first line of this review because to this day, Idioteque is still my favorite song of all time. The song-writing has always been there. I think once they settle on a style that suits them, Radiohead will truly shine. Expand
  28. adols
    Feb 5, 2006
    2
    horrible shit
  29. lewist
    May 12, 2006
    0
    this album is fucking awful.
  30. AdamVV
    Jul 11, 2001
    4
    I think this album would have been amazing if the band had spent 2 seconds writing meaningful lyrics.
  31. Dan
    Aug 31, 2002
    3
    among the most overrated albums of all time, kid a is rife with some interesting songs sabotaged by thom yorke's distored, incomprehensible vocals and the bands' new "keyboard wizardry" (my ass) if this is the direction brit pop is heading, i think i'd much rather stay on my side of the atlantic. radiohead's recent outpouring are FAR outclassed by their American among the most overrated albums of all time, kid a is rife with some interesting songs sabotaged by thom yorke's distored, incomprehensible vocals and the bands' new "keyboard wizardry" (my ass) if this is the direction brit pop is heading, i think i'd much rather stay on my side of the atlantic. radiohead's recent outpouring are FAR outclassed by their American semi-counterparts Modest Mouse, Sparklehorse, and Mercury Rev, all three of which have put out consistently great albums in a similar vein, three of which (modest mouse's the moon and antarctica, sparklehorse's good morning spider, and mercury rev's deserter's songs) are destined for the future fame and influence that so many critics were so quick to attribute to this half half-rate bucket of pretentious slop. thumbs down. saved from the very bottom of the scale by the tracks idioteque and how to disappear completely. Expand
  32. HamishI
    Nov 4, 2003
    1
    This album bites! I really liked Radiohead until they released this utter piece of crap which should be cast way to the compost heap from whence it came. I chucked the CD into the bin after listening to it. They are trying to be somewhat experimental but come off sounding like a bunch of no-talent, tone deaf fools. The sad thing is, I KNOW they can do better, much, much better.
  33. KiwiJ
    Jan 21, 2004
    3
    Oh dear! The sound of a band which has received far more critical adulation that was necessary. Attempting to stretch the boundaries of rock is one thing but at the end of the day, we all prefer melodies and meaningful lyrics, things which are sadly absent on Kid A. This is the sort of album that everybody raves about in order to appear cool and relevant, but honestly, when was the last Oh dear! The sound of a band which has received far more critical adulation that was necessary. Attempting to stretch the boundaries of rock is one thing but at the end of the day, we all prefer melodies and meaningful lyrics, things which are sadly absent on Kid A. This is the sort of album that everybody raves about in order to appear cool and relevant, but honestly, when was the last time anyone actually sat down and listened to it. The case for the prosecution rests. Expand
  34. [Anonymous]
    Oct 9, 2005
    2
    this is some bullshit. radiohead is a pretentious, overrated band, and thom yorke is a class A douche.
  35. BrianMcC
    Mar 5, 2006
    1
    They are lucky to get a '1' here....and I like Radiohead! "OK Computer" was a classic, the "Bends" is somewhat mainstream but full of melody and audio addiction. What can anyone with a mind and some kind of objectivity say positively about "Kid A"? I've tried....I can't find anything! This is the biggest bunch of trash on CD since Rick Springfield became a rock star! They are lucky to get a '1' here....and I like Radiohead! "OK Computer" was a classic, the "Bends" is somewhat mainstream but full of melody and audio addiction. What can anyone with a mind and some kind of objectivity say positively about "Kid A"? I've tried....I can't find anything! This is the biggest bunch of trash on CD since Rick Springfield became a rock star! It is full of noises that I could reproduce with a couple of college guys on a roadtrip to Las Vegas. Don't let any Radio fans seduce one into thinking otherwise, this is pure junk! Expand
  36. ARC
    Jul 16, 2003
    4
    Okay. Radiohead has admitted that this album was influenced by Faust, Can, and other gonzo `70s German bands but unfortunately they don't really bring anything new to this sound--even their noodling with the synthesizers could have been recorded thirty years ago. Radiohead is too serious for this kind of music, and as a result come off sounding pretentious and unspontaneous. They Okay. Radiohead has admitted that this album was influenced by Faust, Can, and other gonzo `70s German bands but unfortunately they don't really bring anything new to this sound--even their noodling with the synthesizers could have been recorded thirty years ago. Radiohead is too serious for this kind of music, and as a result come off sounding pretentious and unspontaneous. They sound more like they're trying to deliberately confuse everyone than experiment for the sake of experimenting. The results don't really break apart from what othes have done--several sections of this album even directly lift little tricks from old Faust songs. If you're looking for something strange and unnerving, skip this album and buy Tago Mago by Can, any of Faust's `70s albums, D.o.A. by Throbbing Gristle (a fellow British band), or a good Pere Ubu album instead. Expand
  37. billbob
    Mar 29, 2006
    3
    i lost all faith in radiohead after ok computer. the bends was ok, and pablo honey was great. how this mess happend is wut i demand 2 no!
  38. kieferh
    Jun 22, 2006
    1
    sorry savage toast(queer name...where did you get it?) i have to disagree with you, because this album is like a bake potatoe with no butter or sour creem....lacking spice and orginality
  39. Nov 6, 2012
    2
    There was commenter who said that "If you don't get Radiohead you don't get music". No, I get Radiohead... I just don't like this album in general. Now don't get me wrong, The Bends and OK Computer are some of the best alternative rock albums of the 90's. However people proclaimed this as the 2000's equivalent of Nevermind (by Nirvana) and that's just not accurate. There is nothing artfulThere was commenter who said that "If you don't get Radiohead you don't get music". No, I get Radiohead... I just don't like this album in general. Now don't get me wrong, The Bends and OK Computer are some of the best alternative rock albums of the 90's. However people proclaimed this as the 2000's equivalent of Nevermind (by Nirvana) and that's just not accurate. There is nothing artful about unstructured noise and lyrics that have no meaning. And the worse thing is that this album is more successful commercially than White Pony by Deftones. If this album has more success, critically and commercially, than an album that has structure, character, and has some kind of musical/lyrical progression in it then there is something wrong with musical listeners. Now, if you'd excuse me I'm going to go and listen to some progressive metal, a genre of music that has actual structure and requires playing instruments. Expand
  40. Oct 24, 2015
    10
    How did this album not get an 81? Who the hell are Resonance why did they give it only a 30? Wait a minute, I know. It's a review that might've been amazing if only the critic bothered to write it.
  41. AlexN
    Jan 19, 2006
    10
    Best. Album. Ever.
  42. JamieL.
    Jul 2, 2002
    10
    The title song "Kid A" has simply blown me away. The first time I heard it I got goosebumps and my imagination was captured. To learn later that it may have been written by a computer program shocked me but in some way makes sense. Would that more musicians would take risks like this.
  43. BillK.
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    I feel sorry for you if your brain isn't able to comprehend the beauty of this record.
  44. JamesM
    Jan 2, 2006
    10
    Radiohead's best, surpassing OK Computer and The Bends by miles.
  45. NamaarB
    Jun 20, 2009
    10
    Easily, one of the best albums of the last 25 years, hell EVER? Radiohead, Radiohead, Radiohead... this album is nearly flawless... One thing I must say though... Treefingers seems to get a lot of filler talk thrown at it... NOPE! great song.
  46. HenryH.
    May 25, 2002
    10
    Let's see how long this album will affect the whole music scene from this moment on.
  47. IgorC.
    Sep 2, 2002
    10
    one of the best alternative album. very experimental.
  48. Kid
    Sep 15, 2003
    8
    Kid A is not a msterpiece, for it is far too many flaws and several poor songs. But it is extremely innovative; I never had heard anything like it when I picked it up and haven't heard anyting similar since. Impatient listeners beware: you need to listen to this at least twice befote you start enjoying it. An album that seems to get better with each play.
  49. pierram
    Jun 14, 2004
    10
    One of the most intricately beutiful and shocking albums your ever likely to hear. Its better then just music, it makes music seem silly and childish, the masterpeice of the best band who have ever recorded a sound
  50. RameezA
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    Very nice album, one of the reviews summed it up perfectly: you have to listen to it all the way through, and you will find something beautiful. For those of you complaining about no actual songs, what would you call number 1, 6, 8, 4, 9, and 10. All have melodies (although ten almost has no beat, but still is my favorite song). As for the remark Kiwi made about no one listening to the Very nice album, one of the reviews summed it up perfectly: you have to listen to it all the way through, and you will find something beautiful. For those of you complaining about no actual songs, what would you call number 1, 6, 8, 4, 9, and 10. All have melodies (although ten almost has no beat, but still is my favorite song). As for the remark Kiwi made about no one listening to the album I'm sure is very accurate, since I'm sure she's talked to all of the millions of Radiohead fans. Expand
  51. KellyW
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    Radiohead's best album to date and my favorite album ever.
  52. PaulW
    Jun 7, 2005
    10
    Great Album from a truly great band
  53. TimS
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    It's 2am and you're laying in bed alone. You surrounded by complete darkness: no street lights, no moonlight. You press play on your CD player and the first notes of 'Everything In The Right Place' begins. It's ethereal; it's beguiling; it's frightening. An album of contradictions: it perfectly captures the mood of the turn of the century. You can not do It's 2am and you're laying in bed alone. You surrounded by complete darkness: no street lights, no moonlight. You press play on your CD player and the first notes of 'Everything In The Right Place' begins. It's ethereal; it's beguiling; it's frightening. An album of contradictions: it perfectly captures the mood of the turn of the century. You can not do without it. Collapse
  54. DylanP
    Jul 8, 2005
    10
    Like many people have mentioned, it takes multiple listens to fully appreciate the brilliance of this album. In my opinion it's Radioheads best and most daring album to date.
  55. BrianL
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    Extroardinary. Impossibly beautiful and immensely moving. Reminds me less of rock music then the world's greatest composers: J.S. Bach, Mozart, Beethoven--oh yea--Miles Davis and Charles Mingus as well. One of the greatest albums ever made.
  56. RonG
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    Wonderful in places (Optimistic, In Limbo, Idioteque), occasionally shocking (Treefingers - was someone leaning on a keyboard?) but very pleasantly surprising - I never thought I'd have an album with the line "Yesterday I woke up sucking a lemon" in it, let alone to have it repeated a few times . Generally excellent
  57. EricM
    Jan 3, 2007
    9
    The famous lyricist Yip Harburg once said, "Words make you thing, music makes you feel, songs make you feel thoughts." This is exactly what I get from Radiohead's Kid A. To say that this album or any abum for that matter is pretentious just doesn't make sense to me. How can anyone advocate for change without those against that very change saying they're pretentious. The famous lyricist Yip Harburg once said, "Words make you thing, music makes you feel, songs make you feel thoughts." This is exactly what I get from Radiohead's Kid A. To say that this album or any abum for that matter is pretentious just doesn't make sense to me. How can anyone advocate for change without those against that very change saying they're pretentious. Radiohead clearly makes music for the sake of making music. They refuse to sell their albums on iTunes because they don't want to sell their songs by themselves for they feel each album is its own entity and the songs only make sense in the context of the album. This band pushes the boundaries of music. They are the only widely known band to do so not necessarily the best at it but still they are doing it. This album requires an open mind when it comes to music. While I believe that there is an abundance of melody on this album I stand by the fact that nowhere is it set in stone that melody needs to be in music. Sure we all like a melody but why create a cheap melody for the masses if its not in the songwriters mind? Songwriting is an expression of what someone is feeling and this is what Radiohead wanted to make at this time. Personally I think Hail to the Thief is their greatest triumph but Kid A must be respected as part of the miraculous journey of Radiohead. Expand
  58. CB
    Jul 10, 2007
    10
    No album is more important to me than this one. 7 years in and 100s if not 1000s of listens to later, it still blows me away. A true masterpiece.
  59. HC
    Feb 23, 2008
    10
    It's just so intense.
  60. Joe
    Aug 11, 2001
    9
    They actually take the time to allow the music (as a medium) to attempt to explain their messages. Artwork.
  61. brody
    Dec 19, 2002
    10
    mind blowing. perfect headphone album for listening late at night in a dark room.
  62. MichaelE.
    Aug 3, 2002
    10
    One of the best ever "rock" albums. When I heard the first note of "Everything in its Right Place," my jaw fell a bit open and I could not summon the presence of mind to close it until halfway through the rest of the album.
  63. Elliott
    Apr 6, 2004
    10
    A masterpiece among masterpieces. This one is for the time capsule. Truly one of the best albums every crafted. The Pitchfork review is beautiful, and dead-on.
  64. boboJ
    Jul 7, 2004
    9
    i dont like the album as much as my review implies. when it comes to my enjoyment its a 7, but kid a is so impressive its a 9 and as time passes will probly end up as a 10. that being said, its much easier to repspect than love. much.
  65. KeilS
    Dec 7, 2005
    9
    As beautiful, jarring, ultimately comforting experience. Subdued revolution at its finest.
  66. MattJ
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    Some people didn't get this album simply because they weren't ready for it. This album is absolutely timeless; it did the same thing for music as stravinsky did with the rite of spring, or miles davis with bitches brew. This album is THAT significant. It's a great headphones album while lying in bed, check it out in a very comfortable, alone, place. =D
  67. jamesc
    Mar 15, 2005
    7
    this album is symptomatic of post 'ok computer' radiohead. the stuff thats good is fantastic (everything in its right place, optomistic) and whats bad is rubbish (kid a, treefingers). overall i would say its one half genius, one half muck but the genius half alone makes it worth the effort.
  68. RobertK
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    great, non-commercial album
  69. SpeedyD
    Jul 20, 2005
    10
    Kid A is one of the best albums of year 2000. My friend MCZ says: "This is best album of history." - I don´t think so, but it´s very good... magic.
  70. byrond
    Jan 28, 2006
    10
    Uhm. Do I even have to say anything at this point? If you don't like this record, you either A) Don't like music. B) Don't understand artists or C) Loved the last Puddle of Mudd Cd. Buy it. Love it. Have sex to it. Drive to it. Show it to everyone you know. And if they don't like it? Stop talking to them. Even if they are your father. He's just not cool enough.
  71. Broken
    Oct 28, 2006
    10
    Kid A is an absolute masterpiece of infinite depth and complexity. There are some really quite incredible albums out there, but i would have to say that this is probably the best. I know people who have written hundreds of pages of A4 on the analysis of this album and still failed to break the ice. Of course, to enjoy and appreciate it's beauty you have to remain open-minded. It is Kid A is an absolute masterpiece of infinite depth and complexity. There are some really quite incredible albums out there, but i would have to say that this is probably the best. I know people who have written hundreds of pages of A4 on the analysis of this album and still failed to break the ice. Of course, to enjoy and appreciate it's beauty you have to remain open-minded. It is not something you are bound to like upon the first hearing. As with all rewarding experiences, it takes time - but patience is a virtue. Expand
  72. ChrisF-T
    Feb 22, 2006
    10
    If these ratings were done again today, Kid A would be in the metacritic all time top 10, guarantee it. The most vital album of our generation :D
  73. PatN
    Feb 7, 2006
    10
    I had no choice but to like this album ; It took me on a ride. I couldnt form my feelings about it into words if I wanted to it just feels perfect from beginning to end. Its bewitching. With this album and Amnesiac, we were treated to a rare thing - something completely true and a real work of art that came out of popular music.
  74. RickP
    Mar 18, 2006
    10
    Excellent tracks throughout. As ever with Radiohead albums, a CD you can put on and listen to over and over and over again and love it every time. Idioteque is one of their best ever.
  75. MattS
    Apr 7, 2006
    10
    As a whole, "Kid A" is the best electronic rock album I've ever heard. However, "Packt like sardines in a crushd tin box," the opening track from "Amnisiac," is Radiohead's best song.
  76. MitchellF
    Sep 27, 2006
    10
    Intricate, Beautiful, divine and perfect. The sound grows on you over time, leaving you breathless and sobbing with joy.
  77. DavidB
    Dec 24, 2007
    10
    I'm drunk right now, but at the moment I feel like crucifying all of the critcswho gave this a bad rating. I wonder if they've ever experienced a wonderful day or a totally euphoric moment of any kind. The only conclusion I can draw from these negative reviews is that the people writing them are not human. It's true, androids--its the only answer. I'm drunk. Fuck this I'm drunk right now, but at the moment I feel like crucifying all of the critcswho gave this a bad rating. I wonder if they've ever experienced a wonderful day or a totally euphoric moment of any kind. The only conclusion I can draw from these negative reviews is that the people writing them are not human. It's true, androids--its the only answer. I'm drunk. Fuck this album with your pants off and live forever. Expand
  78. theduff
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    its genius. q magazine gave this 3 out of 5 and then it got vited the 10th best album ever last year in their own magazine, oh the irony. this album is a work of art, it leaves coldplay, snow patrol and keane other heart on sleeve bands trailing in their dust. absolute brilliance. then they follow it up with the unbelievable ammnesiac and the very underrated hail to the thief, i for one its genius. q magazine gave this 3 out of 5 and then it got vited the 10th best album ever last year in their own magazine, oh the irony. this album is a work of art, it leaves coldplay, snow patrol and keane other heart on sleeve bands trailing in their dust. absolute brilliance. then they follow it up with the unbelievable ammnesiac and the very underrated hail to the thief, i for one cannot wait for this years new album, which contains perhaps their greatest ever song nude. Expand
  79. RadioHead
    Apr 10, 2007
    10
    Could this band ever possible do any wrong? Theyre completely different... and no one could argue that. I can see if they dont quite understand why they are so brilliant... but you cant deny that this band isnt exactly that! This band truely has no comparisions.
  80. mikeh
    Apr 26, 2007
    10
    Still an amazing record. It kind of feels that some of those that criticize the album do on the basis theres no 'creep,' or that because they've heard autechre and aphex twin they have license to completely trash the record. big fucking deal. regardless of total originality, the songwriting and structure is incredible.
  81. LK
    Apr 29, 2007
    10
    Brave and Brilliant. Kid A is as good as The Bends and OK Computer and sounds like a band that is capable of anything. Radiohead are truly the geniuses of our generation.
  82. EricC
    Apr 9, 2007
    10
    I don't know, Brian. The Moon and Antartica is an amazing cd. But Radiohead really can't be compared to anything. They're our generation's perfect band. Every cd they release is just about perfect. Nothing can match OK Computer, though.
  83. Oligami
    May 20, 2007
    8
    Feverish, ardent music that seems to be the antithesis of their previous masterpiece. As confusing as a subway map of Tokyo.
  84. markl
    May 27, 2007
    10
    A brillant and thought-provoking album. This is a radical departure from Radioheads past work but Kid A is actually a logical progression from OK Computer because of the increasing computer uses in OK Computer. What comesa out of Kid A is a beautiful and innovative album. Tracks such as Everything In Its Right Place and NAtional Anhthem simmer with genius.
  85. NickD
    Jul 19, 2007
    10
    Perfect.
  86. StjepanP.
    Jan 14, 2008
    10
    I registered only to say that "Kid A" is not only best album ever but the best parallel universe dimension. I listened to it stoned and I traveled everywhere. Thanks Radiohead! And all these shitty critic are only closed minded people. This record changed my life. And did anyone catch how great is on repeat? Because "main character" dies in last song, but when you put record in "repeat" I registered only to say that "Kid A" is not only best album ever but the best parallel universe dimension. I listened to it stoned and I traveled everywhere. Thanks Radiohead! And all these shitty critic are only closed minded people. This record changed my life. And did anyone catch how great is on repeat? Because "main character" dies in last song, but when you put record in "repeat" mode it doesn't he wakes up semi drunk from pills and red wine in last song sucking a lemon. Greatest album ever, and what to say about landscapes. OMG. I saw Rainbows, my head was on stick I was in bunker with lots of children and womans. Thank you Radiohead again. Sorry about bad English. Kiss to all fans from Croatia. Expand
  87. BobR
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    An album that will help you get into other great artists. Highly recommended
  88. RickB
    Jan 16, 2008
    10
    The album of our generation.
  89. finul
    Dec 20, 2008
    10
    Arguably the band's finest album yet, a follow-up to the already fantastic OK Computer. The album's electronica edge lost them some fans, but the eletronica tunes succeed ("Idioteque," "Morning Bell," "Everything in its Right Place"), as do more conventional rockers like "Optimistic." The best album of the new millennium thus far.
  90. RobertW.
    Aug 30, 2008
    9
    Although, this album may appear challenging, cold and at times distant, it is the intricate and lively percussion effects and generous use of the ondes martenot, that combine radiohead's avant garde electronica, with their more popular alternative rock.
  91. MoritzH
    Oct 13, 2009
    10
    Morning Bell, Everything In It´s Right Place, Idioteque three of the best radiohead tracks ever.
  92. OzzL
    Mar 6, 2009
    8
    A few great songs, and as a whole it's quite solid, but due to its lack of accessibility (took me a good few listens to get into it) I'd say it's one of their weaker albums. Although it's still really good.
  93. DominicB
    Jun 14, 2009
    9
    Stunning album from the world's finest. Not a single weak track on this album (Yes, even Treefingers). It starts with 2 electronic masterpieces which sets you up for the rest of the album. Quality in every department. "How to Disappear Completely" is a stunning song and one of Radiohead's best.
  94. JasonB.
    Oct 22, 2001
    10
    This, is in my opinion, one of the greatest cds of all time. The group gos through unconvential methods to create mood. Some say a lack of obvious lyrical intentions hurt the music but when is music just about lyrics. 95% of bands out there today have nothing new to say and if put in persective really dont make to much sense either
  95. calvini
    Dec 11, 2002
    10
    Strangley, an album of this caliber should have it's core brilliance apperent upon the first listening, and yet with it's subtle brilliance it took a long while for it to sink in. During my first listen i was very confused on wether i should like the album or not but then after listening to the album for the 10th time or so i came upon an epiphany: there were actually more Strangley, an album of this caliber should have it's core brilliance apperent upon the first listening, and yet with it's subtle brilliance it took a long while for it to sink in. During my first listen i was very confused on wether i should like the album or not but then after listening to the album for the 10th time or so i came upon an epiphany: there were actually more reasons for me to like the songs i didn't like than the one's i initially did like. I found that the songs have one thing in common: vulnerability. Every song may be lost in it's own self-contradicting message of "the future" but they all have such an essential link in the way they are presented (which is actually that all it is REALLY different, but creative, sad bastard music). But the thing that drew me to this album is that instead of it being purely accessable it took me quite a long while to truly appriciate it's hidden bueaty, like taking a long while to glance at a rose to really see how beautiful it can really be. So having said this you may realize that this album will take quite a few forced listens to start to understand what the album is all about, but you will be VERY gald that you did. I know i am. This is my all time favorite record for the sheer fact that (when i listen to it) it makes me look at my surroundings and situations in a new, and hopeful, perspective. Maybe i am just giving this album far too much praise for doing something it wasn't intending to do, but any album that that flukes so brilliantly is (at the very least) awe-inspiring. Even just listening to the range of sound effects in track one alone is purely spectacular. The only real compitition that radiohead has for experimental rock supremacy is sigur ros, but with this one album alone not only will it be used as ispiration for all sigur ros albums too come but it also makes them running scared. This is electronic post-rock space aria at it's best (not to say it is perfect) but it's as close as your gonna get during this lifetime. Expand
  96. DavidG.
    Oct 24, 2002
    10
    Eventually, time will tell all great skeptics that music that feels boundless, important and groundbreaking at first sitting, is, in fact, important and groundbreaking, and will continue to nag us until we either stop wanting to reflect on one artists idea, or until something better comes along. As far as modern goes as an art form, "Kid A" has become the most nagging little Eventually, time will tell all great skeptics that music that feels boundless, important and groundbreaking at first sitting, is, in fact, important and groundbreaking, and will continue to nag us until we either stop wanting to reflect on one artists idea, or until something better comes along. As far as modern goes as an art form, "Kid A" has become the most nagging little thorn-in-your-side since "Dark Side of the Moon." Lovers of important music in general could either worship this record now, or wait another 30 years for a Messiah. The world should opt for Radiohead, even if the band doesn't want us to. Expand
  97. RyanT.
    Jul 18, 2002
    9
    Though not as good as the masterpiece OK Computer. This album is innovative and very experimental. Most of the songs are mindblowing besides a few filler songs such as Treefingers. Listen to this album with a open mind.
  98. personhi
    Jun 10, 2003
    10
    Flawless. I've listened to it hundreds of times and it never gets old. Radioheads best album. Every song has beautiful vocals and perfectly anomous vocals. People need to grow up and accept music that isn't mainstream and guitar based. "How to Disappear Completely" is the "A Day in the Life" of today.
  99. Maxx
    Feb 3, 2004
    10
    Kid A is a masterpiece. I rank it high up alongside Dark Side of the Moon as one of the best albums I've ever heard.
  100. KeithE
    Apr 30, 2004
    10
    Kid A is a masterpiece that pushes the envelope of OK computer even further. Considering the fact that OK computer was an experimental album that received critical acclaim, some people are being overly harsh towards Radiohead for being creative. Go listen to your mainstream music, and let me bask in the glory that is originality. I love Radiohead, and will continue to support them. Good job boys.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. 100
    Comparing this to other albums is like comparing an aquarium to blue construction paper.... It's the sound of a band, and its leader, losing faith in themselves, destroying themselves, and subsequently rebuilding a perfect entity. In other words, Radiohead hated being Radiohead, but ended up with the most ideal, natural Radiohead record yet.
  2. Spin
    90
    Radiohead have completely immersed themselves in the studio-as-instrument--signal processing, radical stereo separation, and other antinaturalistic techniques. Even the precious Guitars--saturated with effects and gaseous with sustain--resemble natural phenomena rather than power chords or lead lines. Essentially, this is a post-rock record.... Kid A is not only Radiohead's bravest album but its best one as well. [Oct 2000, p.172]
  3. For an album that apparently grew out of the band trying to get away from melody, there's a lot of it here. They can't help themselves. They try to do a song with a robotic dance beat, load it up with bleak phrases like "laughing till my head comes off" and "take the money and run" and "this is really happening," call it "Idioteque" for chrissake, and what stands out are not the beat and not the phrases or the apparent concept of dance music being silly when horrible things are happening in the world, but the seven or eight different heartwrenching vocal lines and the amazing way they intertwine.