Kids in the Street - The All-American Rejects
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 30, 2012
    8
    This album is pretty good and worthy of your purchase. It is no where near as good as Move along or gives your Hell but its still pretty good. Overall, you know, I'd say it was Pretty Good.
  2. Nov 28, 2012
    10
    "Kids in the Street" is... interesting. We were teased when Someday's Gone was released into thinking it would be a very rock oriented album like "Move Along". Then Beekeeper's Daughter was released and many of us thought "Wait....Pop?" Finally the actual album was released and the results were quite surprising. Some people may say that they pine for their older works such as what was"Kids in the Street" is... interesting. We were teased when Someday's Gone was released into thinking it would be a very rock oriented album like "Move Along". Then Beekeeper's Daughter was released and many of us thought "Wait....Pop?" Finally the actual album was released and the results were quite surprising. Some people may say that they pine for their older works such as what was found on "When the World Comes Down" and "The All-American Rejects", and even I hold on a little bit to my favorite "Move Along", but "Kids in the Street" is admittedly the Rejects' most dynamic album to date. The band has really broken through a lot of the teenage feelings and problems that many of us have faced, delivering a story to us through this album. When the Rejects said they wanted to focus on the ENTIRE album rather than a single, it really shows. It may take some time to grow on you, but it is truly their most finely crafted and ambitious work, providing a comparatively deeper insight into life itself. Expand
  3. May 10, 2013
    9
    Firstly I agree that this is an ''80s laced rock album'', however I do not find it dull or uninspired (partly due to the production of Greg Wells who is something of an expert at what he does). The album works as both a collection of songs and as a whole, although many different styles are tested on the album from 50s style rock to 80s synthpop and even some folk music, the album flowsFirstly I agree that this is an ''80s laced rock album'', however I do not find it dull or uninspired (partly due to the production of Greg Wells who is something of an expert at what he does). The album works as both a collection of songs and as a whole, although many different styles are tested on the album from 50s style rock to 80s synthpop and even some folk music, the album flows perfectly. The songs deals mainly with the themes of nostalgia (Kids in the Street) and broken hearts (every other song). AAR may have sung about these topics 10 years ago, but they have matured both as musicians and songwriters. This is an album that has something for everyone. Expand
  4. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    I think this release shows how talented AAR is as a band. They keep the quality while displaying that they really enjoy making music and can have a lot of fun doing it. You need to listen to it a few times and take it all in, but then you realize just how catchy the lyrics are and they are just as good as all the other releases to date. Beekeepers daughter and Somedays gone are just two ofI think this release shows how talented AAR is as a band. They keep the quality while displaying that they really enjoy making music and can have a lot of fun doing it. You need to listen to it a few times and take it all in, but then you realize just how catchy the lyrics are and they are just as good as all the other releases to date. Beekeepers daughter and Somedays gone are just two of the best. Expand
  5. HMW
    Apr 19, 2012
    10
    This album is good, I love Beekeeper's Daughter, Fast & Slow, Kids In The Street... and all the rest. I like the new sound, they sound different then they do in their other albums. Anyways, buy this album, you won't regret it!
  6. May 13, 2012
    6
    The fourth studio album of The All-American Rejects is what you'd expect from one of the most recognizable pop rock bands. We can find here a decent set of haunting songs, such as brisk "Fast & Slow," developing steadily "Gonzo" and acoustic ballad "I For You". However, the disc lacks of any distinctive numbers. Even the title song - "Kids In The Street" vanish in a sea of â
  7. Mar 31, 2012
    10
    AAR's "Kids in the Street" might just be the best album I've heard since My Chemical Romance's "The Black Parade." Every song is pitch perfect and unfolds into a beautiful story. This is definitely the Rejects most mature effort to date with sweeping melodies, enchanting hooks, and a powerful concept (the lost art of childhood innocence) that truly unfolds into something quite magical, "IAAR's "Kids in the Street" might just be the best album I've heard since My Chemical Romance's "The Black Parade." Every song is pitch perfect and unfolds into a beautiful story. This is definitely the Rejects most mature effort to date with sweeping melodies, enchanting hooks, and a powerful concept (the lost art of childhood innocence) that truly unfolds into something quite magical, "I for You" and "Down Next to Me" might just be the two of the most beautifully created love songs ever written. The bittersweet "Fast & Slow" is a nice blend of fire & ice love mentality. There is not a single track that I don't like. I simply cannot say enough about this album. I love it.

    Favorite tracks: "Fast & Slow", "I For You", "Kids in the Street", "Gonzo", and "Drown Next to Me."
    Expand
  8. Apr 1, 2012
    8
    At first I thought that this album is really bad, but then I listened to it one more time and some of the songs like "Someday's Gone", "Beekeeper's daughter" and "Bleed into your mind" sounded much better. Three days later, I was sitting in my room and sang almost all the songs... But, in my opinion "When the world comes down" is still their best album.
  9. Apr 1, 2012
    10
    I liked AAR in the past and had all there records...but Kids in the Street just is knock-out there best work yet. It's a powerful story and it has beautiful lyrics. This is what Music need today! 10/10
  10. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    This album is not filled with "80s-laced" materials. This album is purely amazing. They've changed their style, where you can see the differences in "Affection", "Drown next to me" and "Fast and Slow". Less rock and more pop here. "Kids in the Street" is even better than "Move Along" (in my opinion). Very catchy. So if you'd like something new and exciting to keep your ears fresh, I wouldThis album is not filled with "80s-laced" materials. This album is purely amazing. They've changed their style, where you can see the differences in "Affection", "Drown next to me" and "Fast and Slow". Less rock and more pop here. "Kids in the Street" is even better than "Move Along" (in my opinion). Very catchy. So if you'd like something new and exciting to keep your ears fresh, I would definitely recommend this album to you. Expand
  11. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    This is by far the greatest album they have made. It looked as if AAR was going to go downhill, but with this album they pulled themselves up and out of the trap.
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Apr 13, 2012
    80
    Their richest and most varied album to date.
  2. Apr 11, 2012
    40
    The Rejects' return features too many reheated elements of their older sound, and often disastrous deviations when they stray from it.
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    70
    Producer Greg Wells (Katy Perry, OneRepublic, Adele) dresses all that [emotional complexity and angst] up with greater sonic sophistication, guiding the All-American Rejects toward a more bombastic brand of pop.