Kill My Blues

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 0 out of 21
Buy On
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    80
    Best of all, Tucker and crew rock out a lot, and in a lot of different ways, on Kill My Blues.
  2. Oct 5, 2012
    70
    At its best, Kill My Blues makes the stuff of Tucker's everyday life feel as compelling in the here and now as Sleater-Kinney's idealism did in another place and time.
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    65
    The album starts strong, but is uneven, dragging toward the end.
  4. Uncut
    Sep 28, 2012
    70
    The pram is in the hall, perhaps, but the art remains in the right place. [Nov 2012, p.85]
  5. Q Magazine
    Oct 23, 2012
    80
    Tucker's inimitable vocals are savage and exhilarating throughout. [Nov 2012, p.108]
  6. Mojo
    Nov 29, 2012
    80
    It's good to hear that force-of-nature voice again. [Dec 2012, p.96]
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    75
    Tucker doesn't shy away from this supposedly taboo sentiment throughout the corrosively brilliant Kill My Blues.
  8. Sep 20, 2012
    75
    It took Tucker a couple albums to find her footing as a solo artist, but on Kill My Blues she finally achieves equilibrium.
  9. Sep 20, 2012
    70
    At its worst, Kill My Blues indulges in too much Townshend-esque noodling, but at its best, it proves that one of alt-rock's greatest howlers can operate at full power even without pushing herself to detonation.
  10. Alternative Press
    Sep 20, 2012
    80
    This is a record that cuts deep, but rushes right over to tend to your wounds. [Oct 2012, p.88]
  11. Sep 20, 2012
    70
    The arrangements are organic and lived in, and the distinct influences of each member of the band figure prominently in the album's overall style, making it far more than just a showcase for Tucker.
  12. Sep 26, 2012
    80
    It's an album that makes the most of its contradictions--the gulf between its most rhapsodic elements and its contemplative ones provides its share of thrilling moments along the way.
  13. Oct 9, 2012
    75
    Corin Tucker went back to her roots on Kill My Blues and shows why her brand of lo-fi indie punk had such a strong following in the first place.
  14. Magnet
    Oct 4, 2012
    70
    For Kill My Blues, Tucker has made the kind of music she did when first inspired to pick up the guitar: riot rock with restless, pent-up frustration that buzzes with nerve. [No.91 p.60]
  15. Sep 21, 2012
    76
    When she puts that voice in the service of songs about motherhood and feminist progress, as she frequently does here, it's enough to shake anyone's blood awake.
  16. Sep 20, 2012
    90
    This follow-up is even better & louder, on par with the dizzying heights of her old band.
  17. She's slightly slower and considerably more melodramatic, as is only appropriate. Other times the melodrama appears merely the organic outcome of a larger-than-life voice.

There are no user reviews yet.