Killswitch Engage [2009]

User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 39
  2. Negative: 4 out of 39

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    9
    Track Rating Contribution
    Never Again 3 243
    Starting Over 5 3125
    The Forgotten 4 1024
    Reckoning 3 243
    The Return 5 3125
    A Light In A Darkened World 3 243
    Save Me 3 243
    Lost 4 1024

    TOTAL SCORE=9270
    10 THRESHOLD=10000
    FINAL=9.27
  2. Nov 12, 2013
    10
    Spectacular lyrics, amazing riffs, and lots of things separates this band from the other cookie-cutter metalcore bands. Killswitch has always inspired me to do greater things.
  3. May 17, 2013
    10
    Usually I am the guy who is really strict on writing reviews, about games, movies, music, ext...

    This album was an inspiration on me, mainly because when I wasn't feeling depressed, this album helped e out, and cheered me up.

    Even though I was never really a fan of Jesse, this album makes me remember the times that I've been through.
  4. Mar 14, 2013
    8
    Killswitch Engage is still hard, progressive and melodic, but honestly was not all that good.
    The guitars and bass are still clean, but I notice when it changes and not very flattering are the sound of the drums and the voice very different from Howard Jones, is very weak in comparison to their earlier work, also suggest that KSE began emporear, hopefully not the case then.
    But the album
    Killswitch Engage is still hard, progressive and melodic, but honestly was not all that good.
    The guitars and bass are still clean, but I notice when it changes and not very flattering are the sound of the drums and the voice very different from Howard Jones, is very weak in comparison to their earlier work, also suggest that KSE began emporear, hopefully not the case then.
    But the album overall the album is good and still has the drive and melodic style that everyone loves from KSE.
    You can not miss this work, especially the big fans of Killswitch Engage.
    Expand
  5. Jun 29, 2012
    9
    Having never really listened to Killswitch Engage previously, and not ever really being a metal fan - I found the album immensely enjoyable - the music itself is intrinsic and catchy, the melodies and the vocals work like melted butter on a piece of toast in the morning: Lush. And the singer's voice is SO good, that when singing along - I sound so off key I may as well be singing aHaving never really listened to Killswitch Engage previously, and not ever really being a metal fan - I found the album immensely enjoyable - the music itself is intrinsic and catchy, the melodies and the vocals work like melted butter on a piece of toast in the morning: Lush. And the singer's voice is SO good, that when singing along - I sound so off key I may as well be singing a lullaby. There isn't a single song in the album I dislike, each one is unique and powerful.... making this the Best Thing I've listened to all year. Yet I think other reviewers are harsh to judge the album on previous releases by the band, just because it's not as good - doesn't make it rubbish, treat it as something new - not an addition to 'as daylight dies'. (which, to be fair, I haven't even listened to!) Expand
  6. Dec 8, 2011
    8
    A great album, but not fantastic like their last 2. It really just reassures us that Killswitch Engage can still write well (some of the songs I'd consider among their best). It's not as heavy as their last two albums (people may disagree with me there). You should listen to it more than twice though, as I was really disappointed upon first hearing. It can surprise, just not throughout.A great album, but not fantastic like their last 2. It really just reassures us that Killswitch Engage can still write well (some of the songs I'd consider among their best). It's not as heavy as their last two albums (people may disagree with me there). You should listen to it more than twice though, as I was really disappointed upon first hearing. It can surprise, just not throughout. Here's hoping their new album due next year will keep it up. Expand
  7. BrandonB
    Sep 10, 2009
    9
    Killswitch is my favorite band. I bought this cd twice just to meet them. Their new album is pretty sick. As a musician, I know all about the hard work that goes into creating music. Adam and Joels guitar skills are top notch with this album. They really brought the pain, with creative riffs and amazing harmonies whats not to like? Howards voice is incredible, the guy and really belt it. Killswitch is my favorite band. I bought this cd twice just to meet them. Their new album is pretty sick. As a musician, I know all about the hard work that goes into creating music. Adam and Joels guitar skills are top notch with this album. They really brought the pain, with creative riffs and amazing harmonies whats not to like? Howards voice is incredible, the guy and really belt it. He could sing anything and I would enjoy it. The bass lines are also great, thanks for delivering those Mike D. I always enjoy his grooving lines and the sick way he plays them on stage. Oh and I can't forget Justin even using a kit as simple as his, he never ceases to create a great beat. All in all an excellent album, if you enjoy metal and killswitch pick it up. Expand
  8. JoeE
    Aug 29, 2009
    7
    This album doesn't do much for me. There is just too much filler on this album. The higlights (Take Me Away, The Return, Light in darkened world) are the direction the band should focus on in the future. This is just not as good as the end of heartache, and they need to stop plagiarizing themselves. That said, I enjoyed some of the songs, but I dont think I'll listen to the in This album doesn't do much for me. There is just too much filler on this album. The higlights (Take Me Away, The Return, Light in darkened world) are the direction the band should focus on in the future. This is just not as good as the end of heartache, and they need to stop plagiarizing themselves. That said, I enjoyed some of the songs, but I dont think I'll listen to the in the future if they just keep doing the same old stuff. Expand
  9. PatrickD
    Aug 24, 2009
    7
    Good, but not at all comparable to End of Heartache of As Daylight Dies.
  10. Shawn
    Aug 16, 2009
    9
    Since I've picked it up, its been stuck in my head. if anything, its not all the same. new styles and tempos.. i listen to it everywhere i go.
  11. JoeY.
    Aug 11, 2009
    9
    Brilliant riffs, amazing catchy choruses, heavy breakdowns what more do you want? Check out their other albums too! They're the best metal band since Metallica!!
  12. Aria
    Aug 1, 2009
    9
    This may not change any of my opinions of music or metal, but what it does do is deliver an enjoyable if not amazing performance by Killswitch Engage, and it should be regarded as one of the best metal albums released so far this year.
Metascore
72

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Where 2006's "As Daylight Dies" hinted at an accelerated focus on the more melodic aspects of extreme metal, Killswitch Engage cements the notion.
  2. Alternative Press
    80
    This album isn't going to change the way you think about metal, but Killswitch Engange aren't Mastodon; they just want to get the pit going, and this album will surely acomplish that. [Aug 2009, p.108]
  3. Aside from a few unique moments ("The Return," "Take Me Away"), there's not much new to report here.