User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 35 out of 38
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 38
  3. Negative: 3 out of 38

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Undoubtedly one of the best (if not the best) electronic/alternative projects that came to light in 2012, it's full of curiosity both the music and visuals of the album.
  2. May 7, 2014
    10
    Are you asking me if this was good? If you plan to ask such an obvious question, then don't. I don't need it in my life, because I have iamamiwhoami. Simplicity itself.
  3. Jan 9, 2015
    9
    Just as good, if not sonically better than Bounty, kin is a masterpiece - as is every album iamamiwhoami puts out. It's simple, it's catchy, it's dark... it's near perfection. The videos that accompany this aren't nearly as good as the Bounty videos, but I'm not reviewing that... this is on the audio alone. It's fantastic.
    Standout tracks: good worker, play, idle talk, kill
  4. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    A dreamy electronic masterpiece, filled with a video experience rarely seen by any artist. Jonna Lee and her crew bring the weird into fantastic proportion.
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    80
    Mostly Kin is a deeply rewarding immersive experience. [Oct 2012, p.81]
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    70
    While kin is solidly crafted throughout, there's nothing to justify the lofty artistic conceits surrounding it.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    60
    Their peppy, sensual synth-pop has merit. [Oct 2012, p.95]