Kin Image
Metascore
74

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Universal acclaim- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: When the music videos first appeared in 2010, the identity of the person(s) who was iamamiwhoami was unknown. It has since been revealed Swedish singer Jonna Lee is the person behind the music.
  • Record Label: Cooperative Music / To Whom It May Concern
  • Genre(s): Pop/Rock, Alternative/Indie Rock, Indie Electronic
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Dec 5, 2012
    80
    Mostly Kin is a deeply rewarding immersive experience. [Oct 2012, p.81]
  2. Dec 5, 2012
    80
    Kin shows that there's more than just gimmickry to iamamiwhoami.
  3. Dec 5, 2012
    80
    Kin is a hypnotic album on its own merit and needs no elaborate campaign to stand out.
  4. 70
    Fans of electronic music take note: iamamiwhoami is a powerhouse, and they have the songs (and videos) to prove it.
  5. Dec 5, 2012
    70
    While kin is solidly crafted throughout, there's nothing to justify the lofty artistic conceits surrounding it.
  6. Dec 5, 2012
    70
    It's a shame that the sequencing and the overall flow isn't quite right, because in all other regards, this is a beautiful album to stick on and just drift away to--this is music of impressive texture and depth.
  7. Dec 5, 2012
    60
    It's a highly evolved, sometimes claustrophobic take on warm but angular Scandi-pop. [Oct 2012, p.103]

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jul 3, 2013
    10
    Undoubtedly one of the best (if not the best) electronic/alternative projects that came to light in 2012, it's full of curiosity both theUndoubtedly one of the best (if not the best) electronic/alternative projects that came to light in 2012, it's full of curiosity both the music and visuals of the album. Collapse
  2. May 7, 2014
    10
    Are you asking me if this was good? If you plan to ask such an obvious question, then don't. I don't need it in my life, because I haveAre you asking me if this was good? If you plan to ask such an obvious question, then don't. I don't need it in my life, because I have iamamiwhoami. Simplicity itself. Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2014
    9
    A dreamy electronic masterpiece, filled with a video experience rarely seen by any artist. Jonna Lee and her crew bring the weird intoA dreamy electronic masterpiece, filled with a video experience rarely seen by any artist. Jonna Lee and her crew bring the weird into fantastic proportion. Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2015
    9
    Just as good, if not sonically better than Bounty, kin is a masterpiece - as is every album iamamiwhoami puts out. It's simple, it's catchy,Just as good, if not sonically better than Bounty, kin is a masterpiece - as is every album iamamiwhoami puts out. It's simple, it's catchy, it's dark... it's near perfection. The videos that accompany this aren't nearly as good as the Bounty videos, but I'm not reviewing that... this is on the audio alone. It's fantastic.
    Standout tracks: good worker, play, idle talk, kill
    Expand