• Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 28, 2006
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 45
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 45
  3. Negative: 4 out of 45

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrisB
    May 23, 2006
    2
    This is stragiht garage!!! Get off the southern ban wagon. Buy Mobb Deep's Blood Mney
  2. DonnieF
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    T.I. is on top of his game. He is runnin the show. This album is hands down the best of T.I. and it's gotta be the best i heard from anyone this year.
  3. SandraM
    Jan 6, 2007
    10
    I absolutly love this Cd and all he other ones T.I. has produced. Also everyone head out to see ATL the movie, its awesome, my favorite movie.
  4. rapsux
    Oct 20, 2006
    0
    ti sux and need to quit in fact rap should no longer be around AFI is so much better
  5. ErinW
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    I loved it
  6. verbalk
    Apr 8, 2006
    6
    Had to comment as I couldn't believe Bubba is rated lower than this. The production is top notch, but what is Tip really saying? He' sno doubt better than Jeezy, but I can listen to this and not rember one poignant lyric. The Charm is like Next Generation in depth to this Captian Kirk-ish take on the trap. Only traps ya'll seen is racoon huntin.
  7. KyleT
    May 27, 2006
    10
    yo dis is rated by a black nigga. dis is da best cd out now and anyone who thinks ghostface killa album was hot yo's a muthafuckin lie and you are a disgrace to the black society. stop playin yoself and buy da best rapper alive cd.
  8. KevinW
    May 27, 2006
    0
    This cd is a little too hyped because it is so whack t hat when I heard it I took a dump on it, cause it was the worst rap cd I had ever heard in my entire life. T.I. needs to get a real job instead of clucking too much and having 30 kids with this one girl from Atlanta who has been clucked so many times that her clussy is 8 inches wide...anyway this cd is NOT AS GOOD AS GHOSTFACE'S This cd is a little too hyped because it is so whack t hat when I heard it I took a dump on it, cause it was the worst rap cd I had ever heard in my entire life. T.I. needs to get a real job instead of clucking too much and having 30 kids with this one girl from Atlanta who has been clucked so many times that her clussy is 8 inches wide...anyway this cd is NOT AS GOOD AS GHOSTFACE'S BECAUSE his raps arent as good as ghostface's but his productions is better than his. T.I. is too mainstream and white people are gonna be all over his nallots abd he is going to end up like 50 cent and be the wackest rapper ever once whittee starts liking him. Th Expand
  9. JimmyP
    May 7, 2006
    9
    It's not as good as Trap Musik, but it's better than Urban Legend, Urban Legend isn't a bad album, and neither is this one, but I really thing that Trap Musik is his best cd. This is his best produced cd, and there are some songs destined to be hits, and to stay a top of the charts. Goodlife is my favorite track...
  10. BrittanyF
    Jun 16, 2006
    10
    sexy.
  11. hussshous
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    my man!!! u r the best!!!
  12. aL.ckbe
    Mar 5, 2007
    9
    First thing first, what has T.I. gotta do with AFI?Yes. this album is better than most rap album out there even though the contents of the album are almost the same as those standard rap album. The beats are on fire, songs like what you know, why you wanna etc. T.I. got a soft flow. Yeah... lastly, i think that the dude below called rap sux didnt even listen to the album at all. damn he First thing first, what has T.I. gotta do with AFI?Yes. this album is better than most rap album out there even though the contents of the album are almost the same as those standard rap album. The beats are on fire, songs like what you know, why you wanna etc. T.I. got a soft flow. Yeah... lastly, i think that the dude below called rap sux didnt even listen to the album at all. damn he should get a life instead of bashing othwer people's music. Expand
  13. FrancisT
    Apr 13, 2006
    9
    This album I would say is one of the best out there in 06. Great production.
  14. Jezebel
    Apr 17, 2006
    6
    king didnt fill the hype it was givin before the release.
  15. matta
    Apr 25, 2006
    9
    The best mainstream rap release of the year thus far. Isn't quite up to par with Ghostface Killah, but still really impressive and totally caught me off guard. Even if you usually aren't a fan of alot of mainstream rap, this is worth checking out.
  16. DFreeman
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    This album is off the chain. hands down the best T.I. yet....
  17. [Anonymous]
    Apr 6, 2006
    9
    This is a great disc the whole way through. Really clean rhymes and production, without losing that Southern flow and charm.
  18. BriBri
    May 14, 2006
    10
    I thought this album was da bomb. I love everything T.I. does. All the haters can kick rocks...:):) kisses
  19. rawaltythafeature
    May 25, 2006
    9
    Since J gone T.I. holds and own the crown of king getting better every album so he is going to be on top of the game for a long while.
  20. JalesaD
    Jun 29, 2006
    10
    all yall some haters and yall must not listen to his song cuz he say dont tlk about me dog or i will knock yo block off so yall hatin yall must wanna get hurt but what rapper you know who light skinnd rap the best out of erbody and sexy come on now his CD was a hit im listenin to it now
  21. MusicLover
    Oct 21, 2007
    8
    This album was amazing. It wasn't perfect. He could've touched on different subjects. However, in an era of copycats rapping about the same stuff over & over, nobody does it like TI. Him & Lil Wayne have that quality. I can't really explain it, but it ends up producing a great album. Maybe not Grammy-worthy, but it deserved to be nominated.
  22. lilangel4ever
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    I think hes great and who ever is trippin they dont know wat music really is cuz T.I is a good rapper and he is sooo cute If who ever dont like T.I then y u vote hes is the best!!!!
  23. constances
    Jul 31, 2006
    10
    for the gurl who said t.i. needs to stop cluking don't hate cause he ain't cluking u so don't do t.i. cas u will get hurt.n why you talking t.i. 4 kids learn how to count you stupid as brawds.
  24. TimL
    Feb 28, 2007
    8
    When will people learn to accept different musical genres and quit buying into stereo types. Honestly, you're just a tool of the machine you are trying to promote if you state something like " Rap Sux, AFI RULE!" So quit trying to be cool, and just enjoy whatever you like. Now onto the album, honestly one of the better albums of the past year. Rapper's like T.I. give me hope of When will people learn to accept different musical genres and quit buying into stereo types. Honestly, you're just a tool of the machine you are trying to promote if you state something like " Rap Sux, AFI RULE!" So quit trying to be cool, and just enjoy whatever you like. Now onto the album, honestly one of the better albums of the past year. Rapper's like T.I. give me hope of a less drug and violence obsessed industry, let's hope artists like T.I. will become an industry standard. Absolutely unique lyrics. Expand
  25. lesliec
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    I think dis cd is the greatest ones u guys r just jealous cuz ur man or u guys aint hot like him. He knows how 2 sing if u guys dont have nothin good 2 say than dont say anythin!!!!!!:)
  26. VeronicaL.
    Aug 27, 2007
    10
    i think his album was good and i think T.I. is so fukin sexy
  27. Ghettostyle
    Aug 12, 2008
    10
    Album is nasty. Intro is sick.
  28. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    King is something that hip hop has never heard before. It's never been attempted by any other artist, yet T.I. has perfected it and has hit the game with an instant classic. The all time great artist is at the top of his game in the all time great album King. His unmatched lyrical ability and wordplay is on full display in this one. The sound and production in this album is a bigKing is something that hip hop has never heard before. It's never been attempted by any other artist, yet T.I. has perfected it and has hit the game with an instant classic. The all time great artist is at the top of his game in the all time great album King. His unmatched lyrical ability and wordplay is on full display in this one. The sound and production in this album is a big contribution to what makes this an all time great and is the biggest stand out element in it. The features fit right in with the sound and theme of each individual song throughout. I didn't detect a single weak point in the entire album. The only ones that hate on this album, are people who know that they can't deny his proclomation of being King, in this album and throughout the course of his career. King is one of the greatest classics in the history of hip hop and will remain that way as long as it shall live. Expand
  29. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    8.9/10..............................................................................................................................really dope album.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. T.I.'s fourth album isn't the leap forward he's been threatening to make, but it does carry the best set of productions he has been given to work with, and it guarantees that he won't be leaving the singles charts any time soon.
  2. Here, T.I. shows he can still dominate a song given quality production (Just Blaze, DJ Toomp), but the album does little to build on what we have heard before. [1 Apr 2006]
  3. The disc is all over the map, moving from booming dance cuts to gangsta fare, but it satisfies with crunk-tacular gems like "What You Know."