King - T.I.
King Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Atlanta rapper Tip Harris (who also stars in the current theatrical release "ATL") returns with a fourth album, which finds him joined by Young Jeezy, Jamie Foxx, Pharrell, and Common.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. T.I. is the whole package: gritty, smooth, smart, dangerous, introspective, and wise.
  2. From the thumping energy of the Just Blaze beats and fiery rap rhetorhic of "I'm Talkin' to You" to the smoothed soulful Khao Cates beats on the "miss you girl" narrative of "Hello," Atlanta's self-proclaimed king wears many different crowns and they all seem to fit him well.
  3. Though long at 18 tracks, King's still got plenty of heavyweight hits. [31 Mar 2006, p.64]
  4. 80
    Sure, King's occasional lack of originality and sometimes sluggish wordplay could be cited. But that, of course, would only amount to throwing rocks at the throne. [May 2006, p.136]
  5. 80
    King as album title is ambitious and King as album finds T.I. firm-footed in his role as such. [May 2006, p.95]
  6. When T.I. is on, he’s really, really on, and, at several points, King lives up to its own hyperbole. It’s just that those points correspond precisely to the places where T.I. is actually talking about how great he is.
  7. An absence of memorable narratives, punch lines and wordplay makes the songs pass without distinction.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 28
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 28
  3. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Jul 8, 2013
    10
    King is something that hip hop has never heard before. It's never been attempted by any other artist, yet T.I. has perfected it and has hitKing is something that hip hop has never heard before. It's never been attempted by any other artist, yet T.I. has perfected it and has hit the game with an instant classic. The all time great artist is at the top of his game in the all time great album King. His unmatched lyrical ability and wordplay is on full display in this one. The sound and production in this album is a big contribution to what makes this an all time great and is the biggest stand out element in it. The features fit right in with the sound and theme of each individual song throughout. I didn't detect a single weak point in the entire album. The only ones that hate on this album, are people who know that they can't deny his proclomation of being King, in this album and throughout the course of his career. King is one of the greatest classics in the history of hip hop and will remain that way as long as it shall live. Expand
  2. hussshous
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    my man!!! u r the best!!!
  3. ErinW
    Apr 21, 2006
    10
    I loved it
  4. lesliec
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    I think dis cd is the greatest ones u guys r just jealous cuz ur man or u guys aint hot like him. He knows how 2 sing if u guys dont have I think dis cd is the greatest ones u guys r just jealous cuz ur man or u guys aint hot like him. He knows how 2 sing if u guys dont have nothin good 2 say than dont say anythin!!!!!!:) Expand
  5. [Anonymous]
    Apr 6, 2006
    9
    This is a great disc the whole way through. Really clean rhymes and production, without losing that Southern flow and charm.
  6. JimmyP
    May 7, 2006
    9
    It's not as good as Trap Musik, but it's better than Urban Legend, Urban Legend isn't a bad album, and neither is this one, It's not as good as Trap Musik, but it's better than Urban Legend, Urban Legend isn't a bad album, and neither is this one, but I really thing that Trap Musik is his best cd. This is his best produced cd, and there are some songs destined to be hits, and to stay a top of the charts. Goodlife is my favorite track... Collapse
  7. KevinW
    May 27, 2006
    0
    This cd is a little too hyped because it is so whack t hat when I heard it I took a dump on it, cause it was the worst rap cd I had ever This cd is a little too hyped because it is so whack t hat when I heard it I took a dump on it, cause it was the worst rap cd I had ever heard in my entire life. T.I. needs to get a real job instead of clucking too much and having 30 kids with this one girl from Atlanta who has been clucked so many times that her clussy is 8 inches wide...anyway this cd is NOT AS GOOD AS GHOSTFACE'S BECAUSE his raps arent as good as ghostface's but his productions is better than his. T.I. is too mainstream and white people are gonna be all over his nallots abd he is going to end up like 50 cent and be the wackest rapper ever once whittee starts liking him. Th Expand

See all 28 User Reviews