User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 99
  2. Negative: 16 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasJefferson
    Feb 25, 2007
    0
    This album puts me to sleep. It is such a disappointment after the CLASSIC black album.
  2. Spongeee
    Dec 5, 2006
    1
    ZzzzZZzzzZZzzZzzz....huh? what? Did some say something?
  3. AlexH
    Jan 13, 2007
    0
    Typical garbage from the most overrated rapper of all time. This album seems so rushed it aint even funny
  4. RamzeezeBlujay
    Jan 15, 2007
    0
    garbage. pure garbage. band instruments in rap is horrible and a disaster. i can stand to listen to it. i listened to it for 10 seconds and my ears were about to bleed. horrible.
  5. johnb
    Jan 3, 2007
    0
    purely sucked the toe jam from between my toes. i cant believe how bad he got. i never liked him that much but i did respect his music, but now the whole package is missing.
  6. MahmoudR
    Feb 25, 2007
    0
    More of the usual overrated garbage from Jay. The track with Beyonce just might be the worst track in the history of hip hop
  7. kevin
    Nov 22, 2006
    3
    This album is a mess. Jay tried to do some different things here but they just fell flat. He sounds weak and old.
  8. ToddW
    Nov 27, 2006
    3
    If this guy is supposed to be some sort of savant to rappers, I'd rather listen to Dustin Hoffman's rain man mumble at me. The beats are always interesting on these offerings, but most of these guys just don't have much to say. His choice of arm candy is commendable; I mean, who wouldn't want to be seen with Beyonce? But Cristal cocktails means he's a long way If this guy is supposed to be some sort of savant to rappers, I'd rather listen to Dustin Hoffman's rain man mumble at me. The beats are always interesting on these offerings, but most of these guys just don't have much to say. His choice of arm candy is commendable; I mean, who wouldn't want to be seen with Beyonce? But Cristal cocktails means he's a long way from the street and the cred that he's wasting, along with his brain cells. The askew Yankee cap also bothers me. Say what you want about Steinbrenner, but the Yankee symbol represents class and distinction. These wardrobe challenged town criers have spawned a whole generation of bad dressers, to say nothing of the pathetic sight of suburban sports swells and rural rednecks with no conception of where this music comes from somehow thinking it speaks to and for them. It alternately makes me laugh and gives me the creeps. Expand
  9. JohnB
    Nov 21, 2006
    3
    I tried so hard to like this album. It just falls flat. Boring, uninspired raps about nothing. If this is all you've got you should have left us with The Black Album as a final thought. I've got 99 reasons why I don't like Kingdom Come.
  10. Zedd
    Nov 22, 2006
    1
    Garbage.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. While many will no doubt have set the bar of their expectations too high, Jay-Z has pulled out all of the stops on Kingdom Come.
  2. Jay proves that, yes, he really has nothing more to say except to state the fact that he's back.
  3. At 37, he's still at the top of his game.