User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 99
  2. Negative: 16 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. matthewl
    Jan 30, 2007
    7
    not his best work, but atleast it's jay-z
  2. J-MAN
    May 4, 2007
    9
    Rap album of the year! Not the Black Album, but definitely tighter than ANYTHING else ANYONE else is doing in hip hop. Great Album.
  3. Ek-oD
    Nov 22, 2006
    7
    He has alot of wack beats on this album. I don't understand how he can goto "Blueprint" beats, to settling for the junk beats on this album.
  4. lizzies
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    HOVA has done it again, with a more mature, adult, feel. I agree with some of the critics, but honestly he does carry a strong message, including a powerful song about hurricane katrina.
  5. Jimmy
    Nov 15, 2006
    8
    While the album is great, it's not the classic that I hoped to hear...three songs i didn't like total, but overall i still jam the majority of the album..Welcome back Jay...
  6. TiffanyP
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I thought this was a great album. From beginning to end I love it. I a song just has to have a great beat then I reccommend that you listen to Lil Jon all day. He music is not always about the beat you have to listen to the words, which is what most people don't do.
  7. NikaO
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I really enjoyed Jay's new album. It shows how much he has grown and matured. I like the fact how he brought back the past when he used to be like those "young thugs" in the streets, but he is on a whole other level, doing big things. People need to respect that and stop hating becase he's not reapping about sex, money, and drugs!!
  8. MusicLover
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Jay-Z definitely gets a little more experimental on this album. He's got those casino-type beats & a cool collaboration with Chris Martin. Lyrically, he ranges from topics like Hurricane Katrina & his nephew to Hollywood & getting older. This album really brings Jay-Z back into the game after his "retirement". I don't know if American Gangster will be this good, but I hope so.
  9. TUNES
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    it was a great album loved it
  10. [Anonymous]
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    This album is hot....i loved it....for all you haters...you guys dont know that this is the new beginning for jay....and all these wack ass new rappers are going down...cause the king is BACK!
  11. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    I Think this is an awesome album.Yeah, he's done better ie The Black Album but this is still a great album. Best Tracks: Lost One, Hollywood, Anything, Dig A Hole
  12. jorgem
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    i think at this time, hip-hop isn't in his best moment, so i gotta enjoy this album, yeah is not a classic...but still
  13. diayc
    Nov 21, 2006
    8
    i damn love it
  14. eric
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    this is so different from jay yet really cool... it hits u as kinda off during your first listen but after a couple u really grrove to it
  15. ZackD
    Nov 22, 2006
    8
    It isn't Reasonable Doubt or Blueprint but who really expected that anyway. What it is though is a good CD especially given today's current state of Hip Hop. The four Dr.Dre produced tracks are highlights. Dre and Hova? For that alone it's worth the $10.
  16. TamekiaM
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    I love Jay Z he cant do anything wrong!!! I read that his collaboration with Beyonce was the worst...I love it...What is wrong with the critics. (Jay Z haters) I love you HOV!!
  17. AntonN
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    Another excepitonal album provided by Hov. Just slightly off the mark from being a classic. But yet it is still a noteworthy Album. The king is definately back. Jay Z really shows growth and stands out above all of the repetitive mucic hitting the airwaves on the regular. From addressing the enemies and naysayers, to speaking about his relationships with fake friends, and even speaking on Another excepitonal album provided by Hov. Just slightly off the mark from being a classic. But yet it is still a noteworthy Album. The king is definately back. Jay Z really shows growth and stands out above all of the repetitive mucic hitting the airwaves on the regular. From addressing the enemies and naysayers, to speaking about his relationships with fake friends, and even speaking on personal relationships( girlfriend Beyonce), Hov stays interesting. A must buy! Expand
  18. TinoM
    Nov 26, 2006
    9
    This is a grown up Jay-Z. No talkin bout hoes, guns. Just the future. Kids, money and being the best rapper alive next to Nas. I liked it. No_loved it.
  19. ariek
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    i love hova aka jay aka shawn carter he is the best that hip-hop has to offer us right now.
  20. TiffanyC
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    I bet it takes alot of energy to be a hater!
  21. VeeL
    Dec 21, 2006
    8
    The Bomb!
  22. 305Dade
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    This album was ahead of his time. I agree that he didn't use much energy but the overall skill on this album was amazing. I was tired of everyone sounding the same. This album wasn't all about drugs, snapping fingers, and/or being gangsta. It was what we needed.
  23. CDH
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    FiRE!!!
  24. Mike
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    If you asked me to give it a grade after the first listen i would agree with the low scores, however i have been listening to the album for 2 weeks now nonstop and it truly grows on you. In typical Jay fashion his slick and clever wordplay takes a while to undersatand. the more you listen to the album the more you will pick up on things. As far as being boring and having nothing left to If you asked me to give it a grade after the first listen i would agree with the low scores, however i have been listening to the album for 2 weeks now nonstop and it truly grows on you. In typical Jay fashion his slick and clever wordplay takes a while to undersatand. the more you listen to the album the more you will pick up on things. As far as being boring and having nothing left to say, Jay is rapping about very personal issues on the cd inclusing his relationship with beyonce, his nephew that died, his incarcerated friend, and his ups and downs in this life. The album has by far more good track s than bad. Any fan of rap music should buy this cd asap. Expand
  25. JasonC
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    this is a great album...honeslty if you bump this in your car and dont listen to it off your laptop or sumthin you will realize just how maginificently simple and beatiful dres production on this album is. 30 something is an amazing track. tracks like the prelude are just lyrical fire, vintage jayz. people seem to have a problem with him not raping about drugs. i think its a sign ofhis this is a great album...honeslty if you bump this in your car and dont listen to it off your laptop or sumthin you will realize just how maginificently simple and beatiful dres production on this album is. 30 something is an amazing track. tracks like the prelude are just lyrical fire, vintage jayz. people seem to have a problem with him not raping about drugs. i think its a sign ofhis maturity and his realness and it should be appreciated. i love the album. only two mistakes were having beyonces horrible chorus on hollywood and pharrells weak production on anything Expand
  26. PeterM.p
    Nov 27, 2006
    8
    I dont understand why people don't like this album! Except for one or tor minor flops I LOVED IT! My favorite songs are SMWYG, Anything, 30 Something, and Lost One.
  27. PassionA
    Dec 11, 2006
    8
    I like the album. It's grown and mature. I never really listen to Jay Z before but I diggin this album.
  28. StephenP.
    Dec 17, 2006
    8
    Great return for Jigga. Beach Chair is one of the best songs of 2006.
  29. Aug 22, 2011
    8
    When i first heard the album i was not impressed but going back to it years later makes this album good. jay Z was ahead of the pack with this album. Classic club songs like "hollywood" and lyrically great songs like "lost ones" and "beach chair" make this album.
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. While many will no doubt have set the bar of their expectations too high, Jay-Z has pulled out all of the stops on Kingdom Come.
  2. Jay proves that, yes, he really has nothing more to say except to state the fact that he's back.
  3. At 37, he's still at the top of his game.