User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 99
  2. Negative: 16 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. matthewl
    Jan 30, 2007
    7
    not his best work, but atleast it's jay-z
  2. J-MAN
    May 4, 2007
    9
    Rap album of the year! Not the Black Album, but definitely tighter than ANYTHING else ANYONE else is doing in hip hop. Great Album.
  3. Ek-oD
    Nov 22, 2006
    7
    He has alot of wack beats on this album. I don't understand how he can goto "Blueprint" beats, to settling for the junk beats on this album.
  4. lizzies
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    HOVA has done it again, with a more mature, adult, feel. I agree with some of the critics, but honestly he does carry a strong message, including a powerful song about hurricane katrina.
  5. PhuongH
    Dec 4, 2006
    6
    Well-done just 'cause there are many stars on his album
  6. ThomasJefferson
    Feb 25, 2007
    0
    This album puts me to sleep. It is such a disappointment after the CLASSIC black album.
  7. Jimmy
    Nov 15, 2006
    8
    While the album is great, it's not the classic that I hoped to hear...three songs i didn't like total, but overall i still jam the majority of the album..Welcome back Jay...
  8. ImanL
    Nov 21, 2006
    6
    Jay Z has made some of the best CDs in the past ten years and this aint one of them. Always happy to hear him rap but still immensely disappointed...
  9. Spongeee
    Dec 5, 2006
    1
    ZzzzZZzzzZZzzZzzz....huh? what? Did some say something?
  10. TiffanyP
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I thought this was a great album. From beginning to end I love it. I a song just has to have a great beat then I reccommend that you listen to Lil Jon all day. He music is not always about the beat you have to listen to the words, which is what most people don't do.
  11. NikaO
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I really enjoyed Jay's new album. It shows how much he has grown and matured. I like the fact how he brought back the past when he used to be like those "young thugs" in the streets, but he is on a whole other level, doing big things. People need to respect that and stop hating becase he's not reapping about sex, money, and drugs!!
  12. AlexH
    Jan 13, 2007
    0
    Typical garbage from the most overrated rapper of all time. This album seems so rushed it aint even funny
  13. RamzeezeBlujay
    Jan 15, 2007
    0
    garbage. pure garbage. band instruments in rap is horrible and a disaster. i can stand to listen to it. i listened to it for 10 seconds and my ears were about to bleed. horrible.
  14. MusicLover
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Jay-Z definitely gets a little more experimental on this album. He's got those casino-type beats & a cool collaboration with Chris Martin. Lyrically, he ranges from topics like Hurricane Katrina & his nephew to Hollywood & getting older. This album really brings Jay-Z back into the game after his "retirement". I don't know if American Gangster will be this good, but I hope so.
  15. TUNES
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    it was a great album loved it
  16. johnb
    Jan 3, 2007
    0
    purely sucked the toe jam from between my toes. i cant believe how bad he got. i never liked him that much but i did respect his music, but now the whole package is missing.
  17. [Anonymous]
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    This album is hot....i loved it....for all you haters...you guys dont know that this is the new beginning for jay....and all these wack ass new rappers are going down...cause the king is BACK!
  18. MahmoudR
    Feb 25, 2007
    0
    More of the usual overrated garbage from Jay. The track with Beyonce just might be the worst track in the history of hip hop
  19. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    I Think this is an awesome album.Yeah, he's done better ie The Black Album but this is still a great album. Best Tracks: Lost One, Hollywood, Anything, Dig A Hole
  20. jorgem
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    i think at this time, hip-hop isn't in his best moment, so i gotta enjoy this album, yeah is not a classic...but still
  21. diayc
    Nov 21, 2006
    8
    i damn love it
  22. richardj
    Nov 21, 2006
    6
    The first single didn't set the world on fire for me,so for a Jay-Z album it's okay not that special and certainly it ain't The Blueprint or Reasonable Doubt. To be honest buy The Game Theory by the Roots far more interesting album ( boh production and lyrical), for start it ain;t bragadcious like Kingdom Come howeverThe Game Theory album not promoted well as Jay-Z made The first single didn't set the world on fire for me,so for a Jay-Z album it's okay not that special and certainly it ain't The Blueprint or Reasonable Doubt. To be honest buy The Game Theory by the Roots far more interesting album ( boh production and lyrical), for start it ain;t bragadcious like Kingdom Come howeverThe Game Theory album not promoted well as Jay-Z made sure he had all the def-jam marketing budget for this pile of average sh*T and Ludacris and the yet to be heard NAS album ( which i fear will be like this okay!) howevr ANs's album is out two weeks after this, so Mr Carter sure planned this out well to hurt his once venomous rival NAS? Expand
  23. eric
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    this is so different from jay yet really cool... it hits u as kinda off during your first listen but after a couple u really grrove to it
  24. ZackD
    Nov 22, 2006
    8
    It isn't Reasonable Doubt or Blueprint but who really expected that anyway. What it is though is a good CD especially given today's current state of Hip Hop. The four Dr.Dre produced tracks are highlights. Dre and Hova? For that alone it's worth the $10.
  25. kevin
    Nov 22, 2006
    3
    This album is a mess. Jay tried to do some different things here but they just fell flat. He sounds weak and old.
  26. TamekiaM
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    I love Jay Z he cant do anything wrong!!! I read that his collaboration with Beyonce was the worst...I love it...What is wrong with the critics. (Jay Z haters) I love you HOV!!
  27. TonyT
    Nov 23, 2006
    6
    hmm i must admit too i was left with a questionmark after i heard the first single, and now that i know Lost Ones is the second... im a bigger question mark! There is nothing really strong here, the dre tracks didnt inpress me. damn...
  28. AntonN
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    Another excepitonal album provided by Hov. Just slightly off the mark from being a classic. But yet it is still a noteworthy Album. The king is definately back. Jay Z really shows growth and stands out above all of the repetitive mucic hitting the airwaves on the regular. From addressing the enemies and naysayers, to speaking about his relationships with fake friends, and even speaking on Another excepitonal album provided by Hov. Just slightly off the mark from being a classic. But yet it is still a noteworthy Album. The king is definately back. Jay Z really shows growth and stands out above all of the repetitive mucic hitting the airwaves on the regular. From addressing the enemies and naysayers, to speaking about his relationships with fake friends, and even speaking on personal relationships( girlfriend Beyonce), Hov stays interesting. A must buy! Expand
  29. TinoM
    Nov 26, 2006
    9
    This is a grown up Jay-Z. No talkin bout hoes, guns. Just the future. Kids, money and being the best rapper alive next to Nas. I liked it. No_loved it.
  30. ToddW
    Nov 27, 2006
    3
    If this guy is supposed to be some sort of savant to rappers, I'd rather listen to Dustin Hoffman's rain man mumble at me. The beats are always interesting on these offerings, but most of these guys just don't have much to say. His choice of arm candy is commendable; I mean, who wouldn't want to be seen with Beyonce? But Cristal cocktails means he's a long way If this guy is supposed to be some sort of savant to rappers, I'd rather listen to Dustin Hoffman's rain man mumble at me. The beats are always interesting on these offerings, but most of these guys just don't have much to say. His choice of arm candy is commendable; I mean, who wouldn't want to be seen with Beyonce? But Cristal cocktails means he's a long way from the street and the cred that he's wasting, along with his brain cells. The askew Yankee cap also bothers me. Say what you want about Steinbrenner, but the Yankee symbol represents class and distinction. These wardrobe challenged town criers have spawned a whole generation of bad dressers, to say nothing of the pathetic sight of suburban sports swells and rural rednecks with no conception of where this music comes from somehow thinking it speaks to and for them. It alternately makes me laugh and gives me the creeps. Expand
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. While many will no doubt have set the bar of their expectations too high, Jay-Z has pulled out all of the stops on Kingdom Come.
  2. Jay proves that, yes, he really has nothing more to say except to state the fact that he's back.
  3. At 37, he's still at the top of his game.