User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 99 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 99
  2. Negative: 16 out of 99

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 15, 2013
    6
    Admittedly, to return after a short hiatus and having to follow-up one of the greatest hip hop albums of all time is not an easy task. And sadly, Jay-Z didn’t succeed in that with Kingdom Come. It’s not as bad as some insult it to be, but Carter only shows his ingenuity at few moments and also disappoints with almost everyone of his featured artists safe John Legend who additionallyAdmittedly, to return after a short hiatus and having to follow-up one of the greatest hip hop albums of all time is not an easy task. And sadly, Jay-Z didn’t succeed in that with Kingdom Come. It’s not as bad as some insult it to be, but Carter only shows his ingenuity at few moments and also disappoints with almost everyone of his featured artists safe John Legend who additionally spices up one of the album’s finest moments, an emotional message to an imprisoned friend of Jay-Z. The only bad moments of the record are Anything and Hollywood, two consecutive disappointments merely focused on creating a radio-friendly tune without substance. The rest of Kingdom Come is mostly a forgettably unspectacular assemblage of the same old topics and the New York hip hop old hand exercising himself in mediocrity. Double entendres and stunning rhyme schemes are present, yet only in a handful of outstanding songs, namely Lost One, Trouble, Minority Report, and Beach Chair. All in all, this makes for an album better than Jay-Z’s Vol. series as well as The Dynasty, but simply not enough for what he already proved to be capable of. Expand
  2. Aug 22, 2011
    8
    When i first heard the album i was not impressed but going back to it years later makes this album good. jay Z was ahead of the pack with this album. Classic club songs like "hollywood" and lyrically great songs like "lost ones" and "beach chair" make this album.
  3. MusicLover
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Jay-Z definitely gets a little more experimental on this album. He's got those casino-type beats & a cool collaboration with Chris Martin. Lyrically, he ranges from topics like Hurricane Katrina & his nephew to Hollywood & getting older. This album really brings Jay-Z back into the game after his "retirement". I don't know if American Gangster will be this good, but I hope so.
  4. 305Dade
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    This album was ahead of his time. I agree that he didn't use much energy but the overall skill on this album was amazing. I was tired of everyone sounding the same. This album wasn't all about drugs, snapping fingers, and/or being gangsta. It was what we needed.
  5. J-MAN
    May 4, 2007
    9
    Rap album of the year! Not the Black Album, but definitely tighter than ANYTHING else ANYONE else is doing in hip hop. Great Album.
  6. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    I Think this is an awesome album.Yeah, he's done better ie The Black Album but this is still a great album. Best Tracks: Lost One, Hollywood, Anything, Dig A Hole
  7. ThomasJefferson
    Feb 25, 2007
    0
    This album puts me to sleep. It is such a disappointment after the CLASSIC black album.
  8. MahmoudR
    Feb 25, 2007
    0
    More of the usual overrated garbage from Jay. The track with Beyonce just might be the worst track in the history of hip hop
  9. [Anonymous]
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    This album is hot....i loved it....for all you haters...you guys dont know that this is the new beginning for jay....and all these wack ass new rappers are going down...cause the king is BACK!
  10. matthewl
    Jan 30, 2007
    7
    not his best work, but atleast it's jay-z
  11. TUNES
    Jan 20, 2007
    10
    it was a great album loved it
  12. CGraham
    Jan 19, 2007
    5
    Ugh. I regret to say that Jay-Z (one of my personal favorite MC's) has released a forgettable album. We know Jay, you're more mature now. We know, you make a lot of money. If you want to be so mature, then why don't you write more rhymes like Minority Report? Get socially concious and involved in improving this terrible culture. Use your voice to stimulate change. Because Ugh. I regret to say that Jay-Z (one of my personal favorite MC's) has released a forgettable album. We know Jay, you're more mature now. We know, you make a lot of money. If you want to be so mature, then why don't you write more rhymes like Minority Report? Get socially concious and involved in improving this terrible culture. Use your voice to stimulate change. Because bragging rhymes just don't come off as relevant from older MC's. Expand
  13. RamzeezeBlujay
    Jan 15, 2007
    0
    garbage. pure garbage. band instruments in rap is horrible and a disaster. i can stand to listen to it. i listened to it for 10 seconds and my ears were about to bleed. horrible.
  14. AlexH
    Jan 13, 2007
    0
    Typical garbage from the most overrated rapper of all time. This album seems so rushed it aint even funny
  15. johnb
    Jan 3, 2007
    0
    purely sucked the toe jam from between my toes. i cant believe how bad he got. i never liked him that much but i did respect his music, but now the whole package is missing.
  16. NelsonP
    Dec 23, 2006
    6
    Nas' Hip Hop is Dead got delayed for this??? Please.........
  17. TantoI
    Dec 22, 2006
    5
    You know how Chris Rock said he used debate who was better, Prince or Michael Jackson...well the same debate could be made as to who the best emcee is, Nas or Jay-z. Looks like Nas takes the "comeback" round.
  18. VeeL
    Dec 21, 2006
    8
    The Bomb!
  19. MrK
    Dec 21, 2006
    4
    What is up with all these artist putting out two albums. Like one with the studio release then the double disc package? Most of them just seem to sit around in the record store, but Man, Jay Z fans bought in to that like no tomorrow! I sold out by mid day. Anyway, I found it lacking and the music seemed rushed, or the artist in the studio seemed bored. Nothing really stuck out for me. But What is up with all these artist putting out two albums. Like one with the studio release then the double disc package? Most of them just seem to sit around in the record store, but Man, Jay Z fans bought in to that like no tomorrow! I sold out by mid day. Anyway, I found it lacking and the music seemed rushed, or the artist in the studio seemed bored. Nothing really stuck out for me. But after listen to it a few times I started to find things in the music to enjoy. Expand
  20. StephenP.
    Dec 17, 2006
    8
    Great return for Jigga. Beach Chair is one of the best songs of 2006.
  21. PassionA
    Dec 11, 2006
    8
    I like the album. It's grown and mature. I never really listen to Jay Z before but I diggin this album.
  22. TiffanyP
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I thought this was a great album. From beginning to end I love it. I a song just has to have a great beat then I reccommend that you listen to Lil Jon all day. He music is not always about the beat you have to listen to the words, which is what most people don't do.
  23. NikaO
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    I really enjoyed Jay's new album. It shows how much he has grown and matured. I like the fact how he brought back the past when he used to be like those "young thugs" in the streets, but he is on a whole other level, doing big things. People need to respect that and stop hating becase he's not reapping about sex, money, and drugs!!
  24. Spongeee
    Dec 5, 2006
    1
    ZzzzZZzzzZZzzZzzz....huh? what? Did some say something?
  25. PhuongH
    Dec 4, 2006
    6
    Well-done just 'cause there are many stars on his album
  26. TiffanyC
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    I bet it takes alot of energy to be a hater!
  27. ariek
    Nov 29, 2006
    10
    i love hova aka jay aka shawn carter he is the best that hip-hop has to offer us right now.
  28. ToddW
    Nov 27, 2006
    3
    If this guy is supposed to be some sort of savant to rappers, I'd rather listen to Dustin Hoffman's rain man mumble at me. The beats are always interesting on these offerings, but most of these guys just don't have much to say. His choice of arm candy is commendable; I mean, who wouldn't want to be seen with Beyonce? But Cristal cocktails means he's a long way If this guy is supposed to be some sort of savant to rappers, I'd rather listen to Dustin Hoffman's rain man mumble at me. The beats are always interesting on these offerings, but most of these guys just don't have much to say. His choice of arm candy is commendable; I mean, who wouldn't want to be seen with Beyonce? But Cristal cocktails means he's a long way from the street and the cred that he's wasting, along with his brain cells. The askew Yankee cap also bothers me. Say what you want about Steinbrenner, but the Yankee symbol represents class and distinction. These wardrobe challenged town criers have spawned a whole generation of bad dressers, to say nothing of the pathetic sight of suburban sports swells and rural rednecks with no conception of where this music comes from somehow thinking it speaks to and for them. It alternately makes me laugh and gives me the creeps. Expand
  29. PeterM.p
    Nov 27, 2006
    8
    I dont understand why people don't like this album! Except for one or tor minor flops I LOVED IT! My favorite songs are SMWYG, Anything, 30 Something, and Lost One.
  30. TinoM
    Nov 26, 2006
    9
    This is a grown up Jay-Z. No talkin bout hoes, guns. Just the future. Kids, money and being the best rapper alive next to Nas. I liked it. No_loved it.
  31. Teejman
    Nov 24, 2006
    5
    The first single, "Show Me What You Got," was atrocious, possibly one of the worst songs Jay has ever made. Just Blaze, a producer often better than his more-hyped peers, should be ashamed of that song. But I figured the album would be better. It's not. It's exactly like the single: Jay-Z is obviously still sharp-minded and impressive, but the production is terrible and poorly The first single, "Show Me What You Got," was atrocious, possibly one of the worst songs Jay has ever made. Just Blaze, a producer often better than his more-hyped peers, should be ashamed of that song. But I figured the album would be better. It's not. It's exactly like the single: Jay-Z is obviously still sharp-minded and impressive, but the production is terrible and poorly thought out. I think it's safe to say this is his worst album. Expand
  32. JasonC
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    this is a great album...honeslty if you bump this in your car and dont listen to it off your laptop or sumthin you will realize just how maginificently simple and beatiful dres production on this album is. 30 something is an amazing track. tracks like the prelude are just lyrical fire, vintage jayz. people seem to have a problem with him not raping about drugs. i think its a sign ofhis this is a great album...honeslty if you bump this in your car and dont listen to it off your laptop or sumthin you will realize just how maginificently simple and beatiful dres production on this album is. 30 something is an amazing track. tracks like the prelude are just lyrical fire, vintage jayz. people seem to have a problem with him not raping about drugs. i think its a sign ofhis maturity and his realness and it should be appreciated. i love the album. only two mistakes were having beyonces horrible chorus on hollywood and pharrells weak production on anything Expand
  33. TamekiaM
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    I love Jay Z he cant do anything wrong!!! I read that his collaboration with Beyonce was the worst...I love it...What is wrong with the critics. (Jay Z haters) I love you HOV!!
  34. AntonN
    Nov 23, 2006
    9
    Another excepitonal album provided by Hov. Just slightly off the mark from being a classic. But yet it is still a noteworthy Album. The king is definately back. Jay Z really shows growth and stands out above all of the repetitive mucic hitting the airwaves on the regular. From addressing the enemies and naysayers, to speaking about his relationships with fake friends, and even speaking on Another excepitonal album provided by Hov. Just slightly off the mark from being a classic. But yet it is still a noteworthy Album. The king is definately back. Jay Z really shows growth and stands out above all of the repetitive mucic hitting the airwaves on the regular. From addressing the enemies and naysayers, to speaking about his relationships with fake friends, and even speaking on personal relationships( girlfriend Beyonce), Hov stays interesting. A must buy! Expand
  35. TonyT
    Nov 23, 2006
    6
    hmm i must admit too i was left with a questionmark after i heard the first single, and now that i know Lost Ones is the second... im a bigger question mark! There is nothing really strong here, the dre tracks didnt inpress me. damn...
  36. lizzies
    Nov 23, 2006
    10
    HOVA has done it again, with a more mature, adult, feel. I agree with some of the critics, but honestly he does carry a strong message, including a powerful song about hurricane katrina.
  37. ZackD
    Nov 22, 2006
    8
    It isn't Reasonable Doubt or Blueprint but who really expected that anyway. What it is though is a good CD especially given today's current state of Hip Hop. The four Dr.Dre produced tracks are highlights. Dre and Hova? For that alone it's worth the $10.
  38. Zedd
    Nov 22, 2006
    1
    Garbage.
  39. eric
    Nov 22, 2006
    9
    this is so different from jay yet really cool... it hits u as kinda off during your first listen but after a couple u really grrove to it
  40. kevin
    Nov 22, 2006
    3
    This album is a mess. Jay tried to do some different things here but they just fell flat. He sounds weak and old.
  41. Ek-oD
    Nov 22, 2006
    7
    He has alot of wack beats on this album. I don't understand how he can goto "Blueprint" beats, to settling for the junk beats on this album.
  42. Mike
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    If you asked me to give it a grade after the first listen i would agree with the low scores, however i have been listening to the album for 2 weeks now nonstop and it truly grows on you. In typical Jay fashion his slick and clever wordplay takes a while to undersatand. the more you listen to the album the more you will pick up on things. As far as being boring and having nothing left to If you asked me to give it a grade after the first listen i would agree with the low scores, however i have been listening to the album for 2 weeks now nonstop and it truly grows on you. In typical Jay fashion his slick and clever wordplay takes a while to undersatand. the more you listen to the album the more you will pick up on things. As far as being boring and having nothing left to say, Jay is rapping about very personal issues on the cd inclusing his relationship with beyonce, his nephew that died, his incarcerated friend, and his ups and downs in this life. The album has by far more good track s than bad. Any fan of rap music should buy this cd asap. Expand
  43. CDH
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    FiRE!!!
  44. diayc
    Nov 21, 2006
    8
    i damn love it
  45. jorgem
    Nov 21, 2006
    10
    i think at this time, hip-hop isn't in his best moment, so i gotta enjoy this album, yeah is not a classic...but still
  46. JohnB
    Nov 21, 2006
    3
    I tried so hard to like this album. It just falls flat. Boring, uninspired raps about nothing. If this is all you've got you should have left us with The Black Album as a final thought. I've got 99 reasons why I don't like Kingdom Come.
  47. ImanL
    Nov 21, 2006
    6
    Jay Z has made some of the best CDs in the past ten years and this aint one of them. Always happy to hear him rap but still immensely disappointed...
  48. richardj
    Nov 21, 2006
    6
    The first single didn't set the world on fire for me,so for a Jay-Z album it's okay not that special and certainly it ain't The Blueprint or Reasonable Doubt. To be honest buy The Game Theory by the Roots far more interesting album ( boh production and lyrical), for start it ain;t bragadcious like Kingdom Come howeverThe Game Theory album not promoted well as Jay-Z made The first single didn't set the world on fire for me,so for a Jay-Z album it's okay not that special and certainly it ain't The Blueprint or Reasonable Doubt. To be honest buy The Game Theory by the Roots far more interesting album ( boh production and lyrical), for start it ain;t bragadcious like Kingdom Come howeverThe Game Theory album not promoted well as Jay-Z made sure he had all the def-jam marketing budget for this pile of average sh*T and Ludacris and the yet to be heard NAS album ( which i fear will be like this okay!) howevr ANs's album is out two weeks after this, so Mr Carter sure planned this out well to hurt his once venomous rival NAS? Expand
  49. Jimmy
    Nov 15, 2006
    8
    While the album is great, it's not the classic that I hoped to hear...three songs i didn't like total, but overall i still jam the majority of the album..Welcome back Jay...
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. While many will no doubt have set the bar of their expectations too high, Jay-Z has pulled out all of the stops on Kingdom Come.
  2. Jay proves that, yes, he really has nothing more to say except to state the fact that he's back.
  3. At 37, he's still at the top of his game.