Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
Buy On
  1. Jan 26, 2011
    60
    Kiss Each Other Clean might have a sexy title, but it's just a little too effete to be the great pop record that it really should be.
  2. Mojo
    Apr 20, 2011
    40
    Fourth outing for the hirsute folk/pop alchemist. [Feb. 2011, p. 107]
  3. Jan 25, 2011
    60
    Credit to Beam, of course, for challenging himself rather than continuing to remake The Creek Drank the Cradle over and over again, but Kiss Each Other Clean is unlikely to count among his best work.
  4. Jan 27, 2011
    40
    In between erupts the album's clash of will and reality into a messy, ill-defined awkwardness of transition, which might have captivated in the complex shades of ambiguity that Beam expertly builds, except for a complete want of direction or purpose.
  5. Feb 15, 2011
    60
    Kiss Each Other Clean recalls Scritti Politti, or Sufjan Stevens--perhaps not what his folky fans were hoping for, but it's an impressive makeover.
User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 39 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Mar 11, 2011
    5
    Not sure what Sam's doing with this. His immaculate track record to date gives hope but this is just an experimental 'blip'. The outstandingNot sure what Sam's doing with this. His immaculate track record to date gives hope but this is just an experimental 'blip'. The outstanding opener 'Walking Far From Home' apart, there is little here that moves or inspires in the same way as a Trapeze Swinger or Boy with a Coin. That fantastic voice wanders dangerously close to Fleetwood Mac territory at times. The recent live show in Birmingham (UK) was also a strange affair. The new songs were received with nothing more than polite applause and the old classics were barely recognisable in some cases with severe case of self indulgent instrumentation. The band for the most part looked bored and devoid of enthusiasm.

    Love Iron & Wine, but this is weak. Needs a rethink and quick - get back to the strengths which made SHepherds Dog an instant classic.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 26, 2011
    8
    Who is Chad Taylor? HE is the drummer in the group. Samuel Beam is the main guy. The group should be called IRON & WINE

    Got this at Borders
    Who is Chad Taylor? HE is the drummer in the group. Samuel Beam is the main guy. The group should be called IRON & WINE

    Got this at Borders a week early - oops! I like all IRON & WINE's stuff. More blues / country than I usually like, but this guy always puts out winners in my book. My main point was to correct the mistaken identity of the musician / group - not to write a review.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 1, 2015
    9
    Never understood what people didn't like about this album. It's beautiful and moving and feels so passionate. I for one loved it! It's notNever understood what people didn't like about this album. It's beautiful and moving and feels so passionate. I for one loved it! It's not quite on par with Our Endless Numbered Days, but it is certainly one of my favorites from Iron & Wine. Don't listen to negatives. Listen for yourself. Full Review »