Kiss

Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
Buy On
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    60
    Pleasant, sung well, and firmly in the middle of the road.
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    50
    Carly Rae Jespen's strengths, which have been roundly declared adequate by the immense popularity of her single "Call Me Maybe," are her simplicity and directness.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    50
    Kiss too often defaults to mediocre dance pop like the Owl City collaboration "Good Time" – heavy on Disney-fied thump, light on memorable hooks that might highlight her unassuming adorableness.
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    40
    Perhaps the global impact of the massive Call Me Maybe is what makes the album as a whole feel like a damp squib, but with or without US Marine parody videos, the rest of the album fizzles out into synth-pop oblivion.
  5. Sep 20, 2012
    40
    On this album, her voice is still her Achilles heel; she's a 26-year-old who sounds 16, and a colourless 16 at that.
  6. The rest of Kiss is like opening a tweenager's diary (titles include "Tonight I'm Getting Over You") and setting it to synthy, house beats, but nothing has the crossover appeal of that debut single.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 167 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    5
    The album is an okay album. Some of the songs are a bit repetitive. some of the production is not as clean and finesse as I initially wantedThe album is an okay album. Some of the songs are a bit repetitive. some of the production is not as clean and finesse as I initially wanted it to be. I like the album but not enough to give it a 6 or higher score. Some of the best tracks are "This Kiss", "Beautiful" and "Guitar String/Wedding Ring" Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    pure **** unoriginal, one of the worst pop albums of the year! she's 26 trying to look like 16 years old, pathetic! the successful of Call Mepure **** unoriginal, one of the worst pop albums of the year! she's 26 trying to look like 16 years old, pathetic! the successful of Call Me Maybe is misunderstood, 0/10 Full Review »
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Best pop album of 2012 easily, and personally my favourite album ever. Money is well spent buying it! :) Tonight I'm Getting Over You is aBest pop album of 2012 easily, and personally my favourite album ever. Money is well spent buying it! :) Tonight I'm Getting Over You is a future #1 hit. And basically all the songs are single material, no filler at all. Full Review »