Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    There's something to be said for Jepsen's girl-next-door persona, which helps make Kiss one of 2012's best, and sweetest, pop albums.
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    70
    Jepsen proves she has more talent than half of the stars out there, managing to not only sell virtually every word on the album but also managing to make it all sound off-the-cuff and effortless, ultimately creating a bubbly pop playground that is both catchy and endearing without having to turn base or crude to get there.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    50
    Kiss too often defaults to mediocre dance pop like the Owl City collaboration "Good Time" – heavy on Disney-fied thump, light on memorable hooks that might highlight her unassuming adorableness.
  4. Dec 3, 2012
    40
    Perhaps the global impact of the massive Call Me Maybe is what makes the album as a whole feel like a damp squib, but with or without US Marine parody videos, the rest of the album fizzles out into synth-pop oblivion.
  5. Sep 20, 2012
    40
    On this album, her voice is still her Achilles heel; she's a 26-year-old who sounds 16, and a colourless 16 at that.
  6. 67
    On Kiss, her U.S. debut, Jepsen makes a mad dash for good-enoughness.
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    80
    The Owl City duet is a bit of a misstep, as is the Justin Bieber collaboration, but two just okay songs and 14 great ones is better than most acts can manage on their greatest hits packages, let alone their second album.
  8. Sep 18, 2012
    50
    Carly Rae Jespen's strengths, which have been roundly declared adequate by the immense popularity of her single "Call Me Maybe," are her simplicity and directness.
  9. Sep 18, 2012
    70
    There are no excursions into dubstep, no guest rappers and no raunchiness, just good clean wholesome party (as in jelly and ice-cream) fun.
  10. Sep 18, 2012
    60
    Pleasant, sung well, and firmly in the middle of the road.
  11. Sep 18, 2012
    75
    Jepsen's strong new album, "Kiss," feels like a successful attempt to invest pheromone-rush dance pop with a bit of old-soul wisdom.
  12. The rest of Kiss is like opening a tweenager's diary (titles include "Tonight I'm Getting Over You") and setting it to synthy, house beats, but nothing has the crossover appeal of that debut single.
  13. Sep 18, 2012
    76
    The result is an album that comes on a bit strong, but has the pop pedigree to avoid any major missteps.
User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    5
    The album is an okay album. Some of the songs are a bit repetitive. some of the production is not as clean and finesse as I initially wantedThe album is an okay album. Some of the songs are a bit repetitive. some of the production is not as clean and finesse as I initially wanted it to be. I like the album but not enough to give it a 6 or higher score. Some of the best tracks are "This Kiss", "Beautiful" and "Guitar String/Wedding Ring" Full Review »
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    pure **** unoriginal, one of the worst pop albums of the year! she's 26 trying to look like 16 years old, pathetic! the successful of Call Mepure **** unoriginal, one of the worst pop albums of the year! she's 26 trying to look like 16 years old, pathetic! the successful of Call Me Maybe is misunderstood, 0/10 Full Review »
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    Kiss is a very sweet pop album. Almost too sweet to handle. And that's perfect. Kiss contains catchy hooks and pretty, sugar-coated beats. NoKiss is a very sweet pop album. Almost too sweet to handle. And that's perfect. Kiss contains catchy hooks and pretty, sugar-coated beats. No fillers here. It's all pure, fun pop. Jepsen's lyrics are very clever and surprisingly interesting, but her best attribute: her voice. Carly's best and most memorable vocal moment is 'Tonight I'm Getting Over You', where Carly shows some intense vulnerability. 'More Than A Memory' is also a great vocal highlight with less vulnerability than 'Tonight I'm Getting Over You', but with some very girly and hard power. Production-wise, it's very good. Disney-fied, it may be, but who cares? It's pretty pop from a rising star trying to attract younger listeners, because, after all, the young audience are the ones listening to the radio and buying records. The beats are all very cute and well..sweet as hell. There are no bad songs here, unless you really just don't like 'Good Time' and 'Turn Me Up' could be considered a bit dumb. Carly Rae is a 26-year old woman and the fact that she made such a bubblegum teen pop album is a bit weird. But, Carly can just pull the teen look very, very well. It almost feels like this is what Carly was meant to do: make music for teens. Kiss will not disappoint , unless of course, you are a grouch who won't smile at a rainbow or even a puppy then Kiss is NOT the album for you. HIGHLIGHTS: More Than A Memory, This Kiss, Tonight I'm Getting Over You, Guitar String/Wedding Ring, Your Heart Is A Muscle SONGS THAT ARE MEANT TO BE SKIPPED: Turn Me Up, Good Time (only if you absolutely hate it) Full Review »