Kiss - Carly Rae Jepsen
User Score
6.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 114 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 114
  2. Negative: 36 out of 114

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    5
    The album is an okay album. Some of the songs are a bit repetitive. some of the production is not as clean and finesse as I initially wanted it to be. I like the album but not enough to give it a 6 or higher score. Some of the best tracks are "This Kiss", "Beautiful" and "Guitar String/Wedding Ring"
  2. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    pure **** unoriginal, one of the worst pop albums of the year! she's 26 trying to look like 16 years old, pathetic! the successful of Call Me Maybe is misunderstood, 0/10
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    Kiss is a very sweet pop album. Almost too sweet to handle. And that's perfect. Kiss contains catchy hooks and pretty, sugar-coated beats. No fillers here. It's all pure, fun pop. Jepsen's lyrics are very clever and surprisingly interesting, but her best attribute: her voice. Carly's best and most memorable vocal moment is 'Tonight I'm Getting Over You', where Carly shows some intense vulnerability. 'More Than A Memory' is also a great vocal highlight with less vulnerability than 'Tonight I'm Getting Over You', but with some very girly and hard power. Production-wise, it's very good. Disney-fied, it may be, but who cares? It's pretty pop from a rising star trying to attract younger listeners, because, after all, the young audience are the ones listening to the radio and buying records. The beats are all very cute and well..sweet as hell. There are no bad songs here, unless you really just don't like 'Good Time' and 'Turn Me Up' could be considered a bit dumb. Carly Rae is a 26-year old woman and the fact that she made such a bubblegum teen pop album is a bit weird. But, Carly can just pull the teen look very, very well. It almost feels like this is what Carly was meant to do: make music for teens. Kiss will not disappoint , unless of course, you are a grouch who won't smile at a rainbow or even a puppy then Kiss is NOT the album for you. HIGHLIGHTS: More Than A Memory, This Kiss, Tonight I'm Getting Over You, Guitar String/Wedding Ring, Your Heart Is A Muscle SONGS THAT ARE MEANT TO BE SKIPPED: Turn Me Up, Good Time (only if you absolutely hate it) Expand
  4. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Best pop album of 2012 easily, and personally my favourite album ever. Money is well spent buying it! :) Tonight I'm Getting Over You is a future #1 hit. And basically all the songs are single material, no filler at all.
  5. Sep 20, 2012
    1
    The album's theme is so sweet, it makes me puke. I'm surprised because I've never imagined that such an album would come out of a 26 year old female singer. The album is uninspiring, meaningless and reductive.
  6. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kiss represents the true worldwide debut of Carly Rae Jepsen.

    The album features a consistent and predominant 80s style pop, which is a throwback to the times and influences of Cyndi Lauper, Kylie Minogue and Madonna. But Kiss doesn't feel old and dated - it was reenginereed and adapted to the modern day and age, with tracks like Call Me Maybe, Tonight I'm Getting Over You and Good Time.

    Some downsides are present, however. At times, Carly's delivery feels tired and unoriginal. This is notorious in Beautiful, which despite being a cute ballad, is not enough to keep up with the high standards of the rest of the album. The overuse of background elements in some songs are also detrimental to her vocals.

    With the knack to grow on you rapidly, many will end up being her fans after a couple of playthroughs. Call Me Maybe alone is not enough to condense this album into a single song, and she must be given a chance to impress. There are about 7 huge, catchy and potential singles that could net Carly a huge amount of sales and recognition.

    Make no doubt about it, Carly is here to stay.
    Expand
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    This album is very good. With beats and dance breaks that take one back to the 80s. Carly Rae is taking pop to a new level, with this, the best debut album of 2012. After her triumphant first single, Call Me Maybe, her new album carries over similar themes of innocent pop music just to dance to. While most of the album is sugary pop, there are a few tracks that are heartfelt and true. On such tracks as Your Heart is a Muscle the piano and her voice resonate to your own heart. On Tonight I'm Getting Over You she portrays a certain vulnerability. This is easily one of the best debut albums of the 2010's. Expand
  8. Sep 24, 2012
    6
    "Now, let me say, this album is far from bad. It has the cute-cheesy fun-themes with "Call Me Maybe", "Good Time" and "Hurt So Good", and that's pretty cool. But, with Carly being a 27-year-old (yes... 27-year-old), I believe she's being flying with the fairies to much. It drives repetition and general pop music off the rails with her debut. Its not a great release, but... ehh not near a bad release either, just another teen-pop album." Expand
  9. Sep 22, 2012
    9
    A lot of artists nowadays release an album comprising of 2-3 singles and the rest being just boring, bland album tracks.
    This album, however, is different in the fact that each song has received equal commitment in the making which is what makes this album so great.
  10. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    Eu vou ser direto: eu gostei do álbum da Carly Rae Jepsen. Não que Kiss seja uma obra de arte pop ou vai mudar algo no mundo da música, mas no meio de tanta massificação do pop ver algo simples é até bom.

    Kiss é basicamente um álbum de pop/teen/chiclete conduzido de maneira leve. Falando basicamente de amor de maneira bem
    fofa, leve e até bobinha. São canções feitas para embalar amores platônicos de meninas de doze anos que se apaixonam pela primeira vez. Se não são grandes obras, as canções fazem o que se propõem de maneira primorosa com um litro de água com açúcar em cada uma e refrões grudentos. Admito que é estranho ver uma MULHER de VINTE E SEIS ANOS soar como se estivesse quinze anos em um mundo ainda de inocência, mas Carly não é das piores cantoras. Ela consegue segurar a onda dentro do nicho dela. Sem produtores de destaque Kiss termina de maneira positiva mesmo preso dentro das normas de pop que fez de Call Me Maybe sucesso mundial sem nenhuma ousadia na construção das canções. A melhor canção do álbum fica para Tonight I Expand
  11. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This album honestly surprised me. I wasn't sure if I was going to get it. But WOW! Best pop album of the past decade! This is a MUST buy! Call Me Maybe and Good Time are one of my least favourite from the album. That's how amazing "Kiss" IS
  12. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    Here's the deal: This album is FANTASTIC.

    I'm a 27yo dude, and when I first heard "Call Me Maybe" I thought, oh it's catchy and not bad but just another bubblegum-pop girl. Decided to go out on a limb and check out this CD, and it's absolutely amazing! "This Kiss" is one of the best pop songs this year - right up there with Call Me Maybe and Gangnam Style. "Turn Me Up" and "Hurt So
    Good" are also terrific. Check it out. Expand
  13. Sep 30, 2012
    5
    Carly Rae Jepsen New Album , should focus on her voice more than catchy hooks. She sounds very good with her voice , but not using it for her album. Also most of her album just sounds like Good Time.
  14. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    This is one of the laziest albums ever made. Im still in shock of her success from call me maybe, The only song that doesn't make you hate her (even more than most already do) Is tonight im getting over you. The rest of the songs are just pure pop trash
  15. Sep 28, 2012
    4
    Carly Rae Jepsen seems to dominate the chart these days, and while her single 'Call Me Maybe' is infectious, the rest of the album is a repetitive mess. Missing the attitude or distinct pop 'persona' of her contemporaries such as Ke$ha or Katy Perry, or the talent of 'artists' such as Adele, I'm not really sure whey Americans like her very much. The songs sounded the same, her vocal range limited; buy the album if you really need to hear 'Call Me Maybe' again and again. Expand
  16. Sep 12, 2013
    1
    The whole album is crafted with formulaic pop melodies and old tricks. So very, very boring and uninspired. I don't even know what to say, it's just bad.
  17. Oct 18, 2012
    4
    Does Carly Rae Jepsen really have superstar potential? Yes, she does. Multi-platinum hit single "Call Me Maybe" was an oh so simple yet oh so catchy and slyly clever pop song that's still poisoning the radio, and Jepsen's soft, often scratchy vocals are delightful at times. But for fans that were looking for a singer-songwriter-esque album might as well wait. Kiss is one of the most overly produced, overly polished, and overwhelmingly formulaic pop albums of the year. Aside from "This Kiss", a lovely 1980's-esque electro-rock song about forbidden love, everything on Kiss takes away from Jepsen's natural charisma and turns it into wannabe dance-pop singles. Whoever opined to remix "Curiosity", an already catchy dance-pop song that had a heartwrenching story behind it, into a underwhelming dance-pop song wrongfully stacked with Auto Tune, Vocoders, and more "Call Me Maybe"-esque synth strings should be fired from production. Kiss is also way behind Jepsen's years (the ballad with teen heart throb Justin Bieber is cheesy tween-pop fare). It'd have been lovely to hear a more natural side to Jepsen, while still hearing those catchy bubblegum pop moments that surrounded her number-one single. And maybe we'll see that one day, AFTER Jepsen earns her already deserved creative control. Expand
  18. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    By listen the songs, i just have one thing to say about it: "awwww she's so cute...but...wait, she's 27 ! I saw it ten years ago when Avril Lavigne arrives on the scene and don't liked it. So Carly just have to put shame on her face and come back with a mature album. Give blowjobs is the best thing she can do, because in music she turns into a disaster.
  19. Apr 26, 2013
    6
    Carly Rae Jepsen's album Kiss is not the worst i've heard but is also not the best I believe she as a lot of skills to be a great artist. The album is the tipical teen sweet pop kind with catchy dancing songs althought i was very surprised with her nominations for the 13' Grammy Awards i just don't think she did a job that was worth Grammy nominations
  20. May 27, 2013
    8
    A purely unabashed pop album that is completely unfazed by its own sweetness, never stopping to forgive anyone for being so. Hook laden production that sits within its own slice of 80's bubblegum fun, Jepsen has created her very own girl-next-door sound which is immediately recognisable. Only the ill-advised Bieber collaboration weakens the deal.
  21. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Carly Rae Jepsen's second studio album is bubblegum pop perfection. The production and lyrics are all seamless, full of emotion, and explore many different feelings. From party songs like "This Kiss", to heartbreaking ballads "Your Heart Is A Muscle", Carly makes you fall in love with her. It's sweet pop music that's not trying to be anything it's not. I love all 19 tracks and I can't wait for her third album. Expand
  22. Aug 14, 2013
    5
    "Kiss" is just average. There are no really good songs, or no really bad songs. But Carly Rae Jepsen has a lot of potential that will probably show on her next album.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    40
    Perhaps the global impact of the massive Call Me Maybe is what makes the album as a whole feel like a damp squib, but with or without US Marine parody videos, the rest of the album fizzles out into synth-pop oblivion.
  2. 67
    On Kiss, her U.S. debut, Jepsen makes a mad dash for good-enoughness.
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    40
    On this album, her voice is still her Achilles heel; she's a 26-year-old who sounds 16, and a colourless 16 at that.