Kiss

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 161 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 93 out of 161
  2. Negative: 44 out of 161
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    Eu vou ser direto: eu gostei do álbum da Carly Rae Jepsen. Não que Kiss seja uma obra de arte pop ou vai mudar algo no mundo da música, mas no meio de tanta massificação do pop ver algo simples é até bom.

    Kiss é basicamente um álbum de pop/teen/chiclete conduzido de maneira leve. Falando basicamente de amor de maneira bem
    Eu vou ser direto: eu gostei do álbum da Carly Rae Jepsen. Não que Kiss seja uma obra de arte pop ou vai mudar algo no mundo da música, mas no meio de tanta massificação do pop ver algo simples é até bom.

    Kiss é basicamente um álbum de pop/teen/chiclete conduzido de maneira leve. Falando basicamente de amor de maneira bem fofa, leve e até bobinha. São canções feitas para embalar amores platônicos de meninas de doze anos que se apaixonam pela primeira vez. Se não são grandes obras, as canções fazem o que se propõem de maneira primorosa com um litro de água com açúcar em cada uma e refrões grudentos. Admito que é estranho ver uma MULHER de VINTE E SEIS ANOS soar como se estivesse quinze anos em um mundo ainda de inocência, mas Carly não é das piores cantoras. Ela consegue segurar a onda dentro do nicho dela. Sem produtores de destaque Kiss termina de maneira positiva mesmo preso dentro das normas de pop que fez de Call Me Maybe sucesso mundial sem nenhuma ousadia na construção das canções. A melhor canção do álbum fica para Tonight I
    Expand
  2. Dec 16, 2014
    7
    Very nice album, so sad Carly don't make sucess
    Pontos altos: Tonight I'm Getting Over You and Guitar String / Wedding Ring
    Pontos baixos: Almost Said It and Sweetie
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    This album is very good. With beats and dance breaks that take one back to the 80s. Carly Rae is taking pop to a new level, with this, the best debut album of 2012. After her triumphant first single, Call Me Maybe, her new album carries over similar themes of innocent pop music just to dance to. While most of the album is sugary pop, there are a few tracks that are heartfelt and true. OnThis album is very good. With beats and dance breaks that take one back to the 80s. Carly Rae is taking pop to a new level, with this, the best debut album of 2012. After her triumphant first single, Call Me Maybe, her new album carries over similar themes of innocent pop music just to dance to. While most of the album is sugary pop, there are a few tracks that are heartfelt and true. On such tracks as Your Heart is a Muscle the piano and her voice resonate to your own heart. On Tonight I'm Getting Over You she portrays a certain vulnerability. This is easily one of the best debut albums of the 2010's. Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    Kiss is a very sweet pop album. Almost too sweet to handle. And that's perfect. Kiss contains catchy hooks and pretty, sugar-coated beats. No fillers here. It's all pure, fun pop. Jepsen's lyrics are very clever and surprisingly interesting, but her best attribute: her voice. Carly's best and most memorable vocal moment is 'Tonight I'm Getting Over You', where Carly shows some intenseKiss is a very sweet pop album. Almost too sweet to handle. And that's perfect. Kiss contains catchy hooks and pretty, sugar-coated beats. No fillers here. It's all pure, fun pop. Jepsen's lyrics are very clever and surprisingly interesting, but her best attribute: her voice. Carly's best and most memorable vocal moment is 'Tonight I'm Getting Over You', where Carly shows some intense vulnerability. 'More Than A Memory' is also a great vocal highlight with less vulnerability than 'Tonight I'm Getting Over You', but with some very girly and hard power. Production-wise, it's very good. Disney-fied, it may be, but who cares? It's pretty pop from a rising star trying to attract younger listeners, because, after all, the young audience are the ones listening to the radio and buying records. The beats are all very cute and well..sweet as hell. There are no bad songs here, unless you really just don't like 'Good Time' and 'Turn Me Up' could be considered a bit dumb. Carly Rae is a 26-year old woman and the fact that she made such a bubblegum teen pop album is a bit weird. But, Carly can just pull the teen look very, very well. It almost feels like this is what Carly was meant to do: make music for teens. Kiss will not disappoint , unless of course, you are a grouch who won't smile at a rainbow or even a puppy then Kiss is NOT the album for you. HIGHLIGHTS: More Than A Memory, This Kiss, Tonight I'm Getting Over You, Guitar String/Wedding Ring, Your Heart Is A Muscle SONGS THAT ARE MEANT TO BE SKIPPED: Turn Me Up, Good Time (only if you absolutely hate it) Expand
  5. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    Here's the deal: This album is FANTASTIC.

    I'm a 27yo dude, and when I first heard "Call Me Maybe" I thought, oh it's catchy and not bad but just another bubblegum-pop girl. Decided to go out on a limb and check out this CD, and it's absolutely amazing! "This Kiss" is one of the best pop songs this year - right up there with Call Me Maybe and Gangnam Style. "Turn Me Up" and "Hurt So
    Here's the deal: This album is FANTASTIC.

    I'm a 27yo dude, and when I first heard "Call Me Maybe" I thought, oh it's catchy and not bad but just another bubblegum-pop girl. Decided to go out on a limb and check out this CD, and it's absolutely amazing! "This Kiss" is one of the best pop songs this year - right up there with Call Me Maybe and Gangnam Style. "Turn Me Up" and "Hurt So Good" are also terrific. Check it out.
    Expand
  6. Sep 22, 2012
    9
    A lot of artists nowadays release an album comprising of 2-3 singles and the rest being just boring, bland album tracks.
    This album, however, is different in the fact that each song has received equal commitment in the making which is what makes this album so great.
  7. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Kiss represents the true worldwide debut of Carly Rae Jepsen.

    The album features a consistent and predominant 80s style pop, which is a throwback to the times and influences of Cyndi Lauper, Kylie Minogue and Madonna. But Kiss doesn't feel old and dated - it was reenginereed and adapted to the modern day and age, with tracks like Call Me Maybe, Tonight I'm Getting Over You and Good Time.

    Some downsides are present, however. At times, Carly's delivery feels tired and unoriginal. This is notorious in Beautiful, which despite being a cute ballad, is not enough to keep up with the high standards of the rest of the album. The overuse of background elements in some songs are also detrimental to her vocals.

    With the knack to grow on you rapidly, many will end up being her fans after a couple of playthroughs. Call Me Maybe alone is not enough to condense this album into a single song, and she must be given a chance to impress. There are about 7 huge, catchy and potential singles that could net Carly a huge amount of sales and recognition.

    Make no doubt about it, Carly is here to stay.
    Expand
  8. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Best pop album of 2012 easily, and personally my favourite album ever. Money is well spent buying it! :) Tonight I'm Getting Over You is a future #1 hit. And basically all the songs are single material, no filler at all.
  9. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This album honestly surprised me. I wasn't sure if I was going to get it. But WOW! Best pop album of the past decade! This is a MUST buy! Call Me Maybe and Good Time are one of my least favourite from the album. That's how amazing "Kiss" IS
  10. Mar 29, 2015
    8
    Refreshingly attitude free pop album in the early 2000s girl pop style with a little Kylie and house gently mixed in. But the stylistic references are never in the way of the delectable melodies; the backbone is solid pop writing. There is none of the shopworn and tired, not to mention sad, overly sexualized postering; no references to Ds and buts and other dehumanizing ever-present tropesRefreshingly attitude free pop album in the early 2000s girl pop style with a little Kylie and house gently mixed in. But the stylistic references are never in the way of the delectable melodies; the backbone is solid pop writing. There is none of the shopworn and tired, not to mention sad, overly sexualized postering; no references to Ds and buts and other dehumanizing ever-present tropes of crudeness- I know you can provide your own examples. Instead, Carly is allowed to be a normal, decent person singing simple romantic songs. So straight.

    There is also something to be said for the summery production; sure on some songs it's uses all the cheapest techno/house gimmicks -the accelerating snare drums and the rest, in particular in "Tonight I'm Getting Over..." (Max Martin)- but it's all so much in fun, so unpretentious, that it's forgivable.

    It is not a groundbreaking or particularly interesting album, but it succeeds in being a solid pop album.
    Expand
  11. May 27, 2013
    8
    A purely unabashed pop album that is completely unfazed by its own sweetness, never stopping to forgive anyone for being so. Hook laden production that sits within its own slice of 80's bubblegum fun, Jepsen has created her very own girl-next-door sound which is immediately recognisable. Only the ill-advised Bieber collaboration weakens the deal.
  12. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Carly Rae Jepsen's second studio album is bubblegum pop perfection. The production and lyrics are all seamless, full of emotion, and explore many different feelings. From party songs like "This Kiss", to heartbreaking ballads "Your Heart Is A Muscle", Carly makes you fall in love with her. It's sweet pop music that's not trying to be anything it's not. I love all 19 tracks and I can't waitCarly Rae Jepsen's second studio album is bubblegum pop perfection. The production and lyrics are all seamless, full of emotion, and explore many different feelings. From party songs like "This Kiss", to heartbreaking ballads "Your Heart Is A Muscle", Carly makes you fall in love with her. It's sweet pop music that's not trying to be anything it's not. I love all 19 tracks and I can't wait for her third album. Expand
  13. Apr 22, 2014
    9
    Kiss isn't so bad. I liked all of the songs except for Beautiful (ft. Justin Bieber) and Guitar String/Wedding Ring. Beautiful was boring, and Guitar/Wedding Ring was a bit awkward. But catchy songs like Tiny Little Bows and Curiosity save it from being boring - keep it up, Carly!
  14. Mar 6, 2015
    7
    Carly Rae Jepsen's 2012 album, "Kiss", is as sweet as pop gets. While it's success may have been overshadowed by the release of the world-dominating single, "Call Me Maybe", her international debut is far from a terrible record. Each song sounds like it was ripped straight out of a 13-year-olds diary, and in that respect, may be a bit inappropriate for this (at the time) 26-year-old, butCarly Rae Jepsen's 2012 album, "Kiss", is as sweet as pop gets. While it's success may have been overshadowed by the release of the world-dominating single, "Call Me Maybe", her international debut is far from a terrible record. Each song sounds like it was ripped straight out of a 13-year-olds diary, and in that respect, may be a bit inappropriate for this (at the time) 26-year-old, but that doesn't mean they're bad. In fact, every song that permeates this perfect pop album could be an instant mega-hit. Expand
  15. Oct 11, 2015
    10
    incredible and magistrar album please buy this album, I promise that you will have the best music we hear every day as this album is very cheerful the album of year of pop
  16. Dec 12, 2015
    10
    Amazing album, you should definitely check it out as its a great sophomore (first) album. It has pure bubblegum pop tracks all the way to sweet ballads.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    40
    Perhaps the global impact of the massive Call Me Maybe is what makes the album as a whole feel like a damp squib, but with or without US Marine parody videos, the rest of the album fizzles out into synth-pop oblivion.
  2. 67
    On Kiss, her U.S. debut, Jepsen makes a mad dash for good-enoughness.
  3. Sep 20, 2012
    40
    On this album, her voice is still her Achilles heel; she's a 26-year-old who sounds 16, and a colourless 16 at that.