Kiss Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 133 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second studio album from the Canadian vocalist features Justin Bieber and Owl City.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    80
    The Owl City duet is a bit of a misstep, as is the Justin Bieber collaboration, but two just okay songs and 14 great ones is better than most acts can manage on their greatest hits packages, let alone their second album.
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    There's something to be said for Jepsen's girl-next-door persona, which helps make Kiss one of 2012's best, and sweetest, pop albums.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    76
    The result is an album that comes on a bit strong, but has the pop pedigree to avoid any major missteps.
  4. 67
    On Kiss, her U.S. debut, Jepsen makes a mad dash for good-enoughness.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    60
    Pleasant, sung well, and firmly in the middle of the road.
  6. Sep 18, 2012
    50
    Carly Rae Jespen's strengths, which have been roundly declared adequate by the immense popularity of her single "Call Me Maybe," are her simplicity and directness.
  7. The rest of Kiss is like opening a tweenager's diary (titles include "Tonight I'm Getting Over You") and setting it to synthy, house beats, but nothing has the crossover appeal of that debut single.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 27
  2. Negative: 4 out of 27
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Best pop album of 2012 easily, and personally my favourite album ever. Money is well spent buying it! :) Tonight I'm Getting Over You is aBest pop album of 2012 easily, and personally my favourite album ever. Money is well spent buying it! :) Tonight I'm Getting Over You is a future #1 hit. And basically all the songs are single material, no filler at all. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2012
    10
    This album is very good. With beats and dance breaks that take one back to the 80s. Carly Rae is taking pop to a new level, with this, theThis album is very good. With beats and dance breaks that take one back to the 80s. Carly Rae is taking pop to a new level, with this, the best debut album of 2012. After her triumphant first single, Call Me Maybe, her new album carries over similar themes of innocent pop music just to dance to. While most of the album is sugary pop, there are a few tracks that are heartfelt and true. On such tracks as Your Heart is a Muscle the piano and her voice resonate to your own heart. On Tonight I'm Getting Over You she portrays a certain vulnerability. This is easily one of the best debut albums of the 2010's. Expand
  3. Oct 10, 2012
    9
    Kiss is a very sweet pop album. Almost too sweet to handle. And that's perfect. Kiss contains catchy hooks and pretty, sugar-coated beats. NoKiss is a very sweet pop album. Almost too sweet to handle. And that's perfect. Kiss contains catchy hooks and pretty, sugar-coated beats. No fillers here. It's all pure, fun pop. Jepsen's lyrics are very clever and surprisingly interesting, but her best attribute: her voice. Carly's best and most memorable vocal moment is 'Tonight I'm Getting Over You', where Carly shows some intense vulnerability. 'More Than A Memory' is also a great vocal highlight with less vulnerability than 'Tonight I'm Getting Over You', but with some very girly and hard power. Production-wise, it's very good. Disney-fied, it may be, but who cares? It's pretty pop from a rising star trying to attract younger listeners, because, after all, the young audience are the ones listening to the radio and buying records. The beats are all very cute and well..sweet as hell. There are no bad songs here, unless you really just don't like 'Good Time' and 'Turn Me Up' could be considered a bit dumb. Carly Rae is a 26-year old woman and the fact that she made such a bubblegum teen pop album is a bit weird. But, Carly can just pull the teen look very, very well. It almost feels like this is what Carly was meant to do: make music for teens. Kiss will not disappoint , unless of course, you are a grouch who won't smile at a rainbow or even a puppy then Kiss is NOT the album for you. HIGHLIGHTS: More Than A Memory, This Kiss, Tonight I'm Getting Over You, Guitar String/Wedding Ring, Your Heart Is A Muscle SONGS THAT ARE MEANT TO BE SKIPPED: Turn Me Up, Good Time (only if you absolutely hate it) Expand
  4. Nov 4, 2012
    7
    Eu vou ser direto: eu gostei do álbum da Carly Rae Jepsen. Não que Kiss seja uma obra de arte pop ou vai mudar algo no mundo daEu vou ser direto: eu gostei do álbum da Carly Rae Jepsen. Não que Kiss seja uma obra de arte pop ou vai mudar algo no mundo da música, mas no meio de tanta massificação do pop ver algo simples é até bom.

    Kiss é basicamente um álbum de pop/teen/chiclete conduzido de maneira leve. Falando basicamente de amor de maneira bem fofa, leve e até bobinha. São canções feitas para embalar amores platônicos de meninas de doze anos que se apaixonam pela primeira vez. Se não são grandes obras, as canções fazem o que se propõem de maneira primorosa com um litro de água com açúcar em cada uma e refrões grudentos. Admito que é estranho ver uma MULHER de VINTE E SEIS ANOS soar como se estivesse quinze anos em um mundo ainda de inocência, mas Carly não é das piores cantoras. Ela consegue segurar a onda dentro do nicho dela. Sem produtores de destaque Kiss termina de maneira positiva mesmo preso dentro das normas de pop que fez de Call Me Maybe sucesso mundial sem nenhuma ousadia na construção das canções. A melhor canção do álbum fica para Tonight I
    Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    5
    The album is an okay album. Some of the songs are a bit repetitive. some of the production is not as clean and finesse as I initially wantedThe album is an okay album. Some of the songs are a bit repetitive. some of the production is not as clean and finesse as I initially wanted it to be. I like the album but not enough to give it a 6 or higher score. Some of the best tracks are "This Kiss", "Beautiful" and "Guitar String/Wedding Ring" Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    By listen the songs, i just have one thing to say about it: "awwww she's so cute...but...wait, she's 27 ! I saw it ten years ago when AvrilBy listen the songs, i just have one thing to say about it: "awwww she's so cute...but...wait, she's 27 ! I saw it ten years ago when Avril Lavigne arrives on the scene and don't liked it. So Carly just have to put shame on her face and come back with a mature album. Give blowjobs is the best thing she can do, because in music she turns into a disaster. Expand
  7. Nov 7, 2012
    0
    This is one of the laziest albums ever made. Im still in shock of her success from call me maybe, The only song that doesn't make you hate herThis is one of the laziest albums ever made. Im still in shock of her success from call me maybe, The only song that doesn't make you hate her (even more than most already do) Is tonight im getting over you. The rest of the songs are just pure pop trash Expand

See all 27 User Reviews