Kiss

Kiss Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 176 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second studio album from the Canadian vocalist features Justin Bieber and Owl City.
Buy On

Top Track

Call Me Maybe
I threw a wish in the well Don't ask me I'll never tell I looked at you as it fell And now you're in my way I trade my soul for a wish Pennies and... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    80
    The Owl City duet is a bit of a misstep, as is the Justin Bieber collaboration, but two just okay songs and 14 great ones is better than most acts can manage on their greatest hits packages, let alone their second album.
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    There's something to be said for Jepsen's girl-next-door persona, which helps make Kiss one of 2012's best, and sweetest, pop albums.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    76
    The result is an album that comes on a bit strong, but has the pop pedigree to avoid any major missteps.
  4. 67
    On Kiss, her U.S. debut, Jepsen makes a mad dash for good-enoughness.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    60
    Pleasant, sung well, and firmly in the middle of the road.
  6. Sep 18, 2012
    50
    Carly Rae Jespen's strengths, which have been roundly declared adequate by the immense popularity of her single "Call Me Maybe," are her simplicity and directness.
  7. The rest of Kiss is like opening a tweenager's diary (titles include "Tonight I'm Getting Over You") and setting it to synthy, house beats, but nothing has the crossover appeal of that debut single.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 33
  2. Negative: 5 out of 33
  1. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    Carly Rae Jepsen's second studio album is bubblegum pop perfection. The production and lyrics are all seamless, full of emotion, and exploreCarly Rae Jepsen's second studio album is bubblegum pop perfection. The production and lyrics are all seamless, full of emotion, and explore many different feelings. From party songs like "This Kiss", to heartbreaking ballads "Your Heart Is A Muscle", Carly makes you fall in love with her. It's sweet pop music that's not trying to be anything it's not. I love all 19 tracks and I can't wait for her third album. Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2012
    10
    This album honestly surprised me. I wasn't sure if I was going to get it. But WOW! Best pop album of the past decade! This is a MUST buy! CallThis album honestly surprised me. I wasn't sure if I was going to get it. But WOW! Best pop album of the past decade! This is a MUST buy! Call Me Maybe and Good Time are one of my least favourite from the album. That's how amazing "Kiss" IS Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Best pop album of 2012 easily, and personally my favourite album ever. Money is well spent buying it! :) Tonight I'm Getting Over You is aBest pop album of 2012 easily, and personally my favourite album ever. Money is well spent buying it! :) Tonight I'm Getting Over You is a future #1 hit. And basically all the songs are single material, no filler at all. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2015
    7
    Carly Rae Jepsen's 2012 album, "Kiss", is as sweet as pop gets. While it's success may have been overshadowed by the release of theCarly Rae Jepsen's 2012 album, "Kiss", is as sweet as pop gets. While it's success may have been overshadowed by the release of the world-dominating single, "Call Me Maybe", her international debut is far from a terrible record. Each song sounds like it was ripped straight out of a 13-year-olds diary, and in that respect, may be a bit inappropriate for this (at the time) 26-year-old, but that doesn't mean they're bad. In fact, every song that permeates this perfect pop album could be an instant mega-hit. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    5
    The album is an okay album. Some of the songs are a bit repetitive. some of the production is not as clean and finesse as I initially wantedThe album is an okay album. Some of the songs are a bit repetitive. some of the production is not as clean and finesse as I initially wanted it to be. I like the album but not enough to give it a 6 or higher score. Some of the best tracks are "This Kiss", "Beautiful" and "Guitar String/Wedding Ring" Expand
  6. Sep 30, 2012
    5
    Carly Rae Jepsen New Album , should focus on her voice more than catchy hooks. She sounds very good with her voice , but not using it forCarly Rae Jepsen New Album , should focus on her voice more than catchy hooks. She sounds very good with her voice , but not using it for her album. Also most of her album just sounds like Good Time. Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2016
    0
    A true bore of an album it is a real snooze fest of an album the songs are all pure cheese and not the fun type one I would never listen toA true bore of an album it is a real snooze fest of an album the songs are all pure cheese and not the fun type one I would never listen to again even if you paid me. A Miss. Expand

See all 33 User Reviews