Kiss

Kiss Image
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 166 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The second studio album from the Canadian vocalist features Justin Bieber and Owl City.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 20, 2012
    80
    The Owl City duet is a bit of a misstep, as is the Justin Bieber collaboration, but two just okay songs and 14 great ones is better than most acts can manage on their greatest hits packages, let alone their second album.
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    80
    There's something to be said for Jepsen's girl-next-door persona, which helps make Kiss one of 2012's best, and sweetest, pop albums.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    76
    The result is an album that comes on a bit strong, but has the pop pedigree to avoid any major missteps.
  4. 67
    On Kiss, her U.S. debut, Jepsen makes a mad dash for good-enoughness.
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    60
    Pleasant, sung well, and firmly in the middle of the road.
  6. Sep 18, 2012
    50
    Carly Rae Jespen's strengths, which have been roundly declared adequate by the immense popularity of her single "Call Me Maybe," are her simplicity and directness.
  7. The rest of Kiss is like opening a tweenager's diary (titles include "Tonight I'm Getting Over You") and setting it to synthy, house beats, but nothing has the crossover appeal of that debut single.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 30
  2. Negative: 5 out of 30
  1. Oct 11, 2015
    10
    incredible and magistrar album please buy this album, I promise that you will have the best music we hear every day as this album is veryincredible and magistrar album please buy this album, I promise that you will have the best music we hear every day as this album is very cheerful the album of year of pop Expand
  2. Sep 21, 2012
    10
    Here's the deal: This album is FANTASTIC.

    I'm a 27yo dude, and when I first heard "Call Me Maybe" I thought, oh it's catchy and not bad but
    Here's the deal: This album is FANTASTIC.

    I'm a 27yo dude, and when I first heard "Call Me Maybe" I thought, oh it's catchy and not bad but just another bubblegum-pop girl. Decided to go out on a limb and check out this CD, and it's absolutely amazing! "This Kiss" is one of the best pop songs this year - right up there with Call Me Maybe and Gangnam Style. "Turn Me Up" and "Hurt So Good" are also terrific. Check it out.
    Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    10
    Best pop album of 2012 easily, and personally my favourite album ever. Money is well spent buying it! :) Tonight I'm Getting Over You is aBest pop album of 2012 easily, and personally my favourite album ever. Money is well spent buying it! :) Tonight I'm Getting Over You is a future #1 hit. And basically all the songs are single material, no filler at all. Expand
  4. Mar 6, 2015
    7
    Carly Rae Jepsen's 2012 album, "Kiss", is as sweet as pop gets. While it's success may have been overshadowed by the release of theCarly Rae Jepsen's 2012 album, "Kiss", is as sweet as pop gets. While it's success may have been overshadowed by the release of the world-dominating single, "Call Me Maybe", her international debut is far from a terrible record. Each song sounds like it was ripped straight out of a 13-year-olds diary, and in that respect, may be a bit inappropriate for this (at the time) 26-year-old, but that doesn't mean they're bad. In fact, every song that permeates this perfect pop album could be an instant mega-hit. Expand
  5. Sep 18, 2012
    5
    The album is an okay album. Some of the songs are a bit repetitive. some of the production is not as clean and finesse as I initially wantedThe album is an okay album. Some of the songs are a bit repetitive. some of the production is not as clean and finesse as I initially wanted it to be. I like the album but not enough to give it a 6 or higher score. Some of the best tracks are "This Kiss", "Beautiful" and "Guitar String/Wedding Ring" Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2012
    5
    By listen the songs, i just have one thing to say about it: "awwww she's so cute...but...wait, she's 27 ! I saw it ten years ago when AvrilBy listen the songs, i just have one thing to say about it: "awwww she's so cute...but...wait, she's 27 ! I saw it ten years ago when Avril Lavigne arrives on the scene and don't liked it. So Carly just have to put shame on her face and come back with a mature album. Give blowjobs is the best thing she can do, because in music she turns into a disaster. Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2016
    0
    A true bore of an album it is a real snooze fest of an album the songs are all pure cheese and not the fun type one I would never listen toA true bore of an album it is a real snooze fest of an album the songs are all pure cheese and not the fun type one I would never listen to again even if you paid me. A Miss. Expand

See all 30 User Reviews