Kisses on the Bottom

  • Record Label: Mercury
  • Release Date: Feb 7, 2012
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 24 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 4, 2014
    8
    Sir Paul's passion for these ancient love tunes is the driving force in his vocal performance on this album, which is an admiral trait that makes it difficult to anyone to criticize the dragged-down pace and tone.
  2. Jul 27, 2012
    9
    I, being a huge Beatles and Paul McCartney fan, naturally showed curiosity for this album. I was shocked to hear that it was all jazz style songs. At first I was disappointed but I got used to these songs and have learned to like them. All in all, it was pretty good.
  3. Apr 26, 2012
    8
    The Beatles is history, the world's rushing forward and so does Paul McCartney, who decided to release an album in the strictly jazz style, covering such hits as " It's Only a Paper Moon" originally performed by Ella Fitzgerald and Nat King Cole, or "Always" by Frank Sinatra. McCartney wanted with this album to return to the country of his childhood and you have to admit - he succeed. ItThe Beatles is history, the world's rushing forward and so does Paul McCartney, who decided to release an album in the strictly jazz style, covering such hits as " It's Only a Paper Moon" originally performed by Ella Fitzgerald and Nat King Cole, or "Always" by Frank Sinatra. McCartney wanted with this album to return to the country of his childhood and you have to admit - he succeed. It is true - the artist does not have a voice that could compete with the original performers, but in this case it works in favor for the album. Nothing is done by force - McCartney casually and gently leads the melodic line, which with the stirring accompaniment of artists like Diana Krall, Eric Clapton or Stevie Wonder speaks for itself. Collapse
  4. Mar 11, 2012
    4
    Please choose 3: Somnolent. Insipid. Tedious. Uninspired. Inexplicable. Interminable. Colorless. Pedestrian. Monotonous. Disappointing. Save the other 7 for later. You may need them.

    The hour spent listening to Sir Paul's latest seemed to last a week. The songs are fine, the arrangements tasteful to a fault. An album of "standards"? Everybody is entitled to one. But why sing these in his sleep?
  5. Feb 10, 2012
    8
    This is a really strong album from McCartney. O.K, it's not going to pull up any trees for originality and, yes, this road has been trodden before, but the treatment given to the songs is minimal yet warm and the whole thing comes across as a really strong collection.

    The significance might be perhaps for McCartney himself as this feels like an acceptance of age and style in a way that
    This is a really strong album from McCartney. O.K, it's not going to pull up any trees for originality and, yes, this road has been trodden before, but the treatment given to the songs is minimal yet warm and the whole thing comes across as a really strong collection.

    The significance might be perhaps for McCartney himself as this feels like an acceptance of age and style in a way that he hasn't done for a while. Put simply, it doesn't seem as if Paul is trying too hard and, because of this, he is able to deliver a really strong performance throughout.

    I would say that this looks to be his most enjoyable and re-playable album for some time (and that is saying something as he has been undergoing a late-career renaissance.)

    I would love him to record in this style in the future, but with new, self-penned compositions. The style suits him, as it always has done. He no-longer needs to deny the fact that he does this sort of thing very, very well.
    Expand
  6. Feb 8, 2012
    8
    This album is something very special for me, and I didn't know it would be until I listened to it. It made me remember my early years spent running around my grandparentsâ
Metascore
62

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Mar 21, 2012
    30
    Sir Paul McCartney has made an utterly forgettable, featherweight record designed primarily to appeal to Sir Paul McCartney.
  2. Mojo
    Feb 27, 2012
    60
    The album works because McCartney treats the material with respect, exuding charm by the bucket-load. [Mar 2012, p.94]
  3. Feb 15, 2012
    70
    Throughout the tunes, you can hear that McCartney loves the language of the old songs. He enjoys the phraseology, tickles and teases each lyrical phrase. You can hear that he's waited forever to do as much such as this.