Knuckle Down - Ani DiFranco
Knuckle Down Image
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 32 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DiFranco breaks from her usual DIY practice by enlisting Joe Henry to co-produce this latest release.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. 91
    She's become masterful at painting in the blues and grays of everyday emotion. [Feb 2005, p.92]
  2. While Knuckle Down doesn’t wow with new musical directions, the album undeniably satisfies by being familiar and stunning.
  3. The results are a selection of high quality that veers between brightly spirited ("Manhole," "Lag Time") and somber ("Callous").
  4. Ms. DiFranco is still self-sufficient, but an extra pair of producer's ears gives her some new dimensions. [31 Jan 2005]
  5. 70
    More honed and richly-textured than former offerings. [Apr 2005, p.101]
  6. 70
    DiFranco seems less the compulsive confessor here, more the storyteller. [Mar 2005, p.139]
  7. Deliberately sparse and bare. [Mar 2005, p.99]

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. AaronD
    Apr 30, 2006
    10
    It's just exellent all the way through. It's as good as anything she's ever done.
  2. ShannonH
    Feb 12, 2005
    10
    Not since Little Plastic Castles have I felt that wonderful chest pain and when the hair on your arms stands on end because her voice just penetrates you like that. I am in love with the music once again and it brings me back to Not So Soft and Dilate when I thought all I would ever want to listen to again was Ani discs over and over. I think Knuckle Down is wonderful and emotional and teeth gritting. Thankyou Ani once again Expand
  3. michael
    Jan 25, 2005
    10
    great cd!! i'm a very casual ani fan and this one floored me over.
  4. NaomiC
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    It's her best album in years!!!!!!!!
  5. ColeF
    Feb 7, 2005
    9
    Joe Henry's co-production helps shape Difranco's gritty, realistic lyrics and wildly-tuned melodies into a near-perfect concept album. Difranco shows maturity and a growing amount of tasteful restraint. Several songs, including Callous and the title track, are some of the best Difranco has written in her insanely prolific career. Expand
  6. Nov 21, 2010
    9
    A very good album from one of our most innovative modern musicians and poets. While her strongest work was from 1995-2001, this album represents a powerful return to form. The songs Studying Stones, Sunday Morning, Manhole, and Paradigm are all absolutely perfect works of art, lyrically AND musically, and they make this album a must have. Expand
  7. artw
    Jan 25, 2005
    1
    Gosh, it's been almost 10 years since Ani put out a good album. This is the same crap as the last handful of albums with different, but equally lame lyrics. Collapse

See all 21 User Reviews