Koi No Yokan - Deftones
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 145 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 145

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    The consistent kings of alt-metal return after only a two year absence with their usual sound, redefined, textured and ultimately perfected. Diamond Eyes proved that the bands creativity and consistency were indeed not behind them through tracks such as 'Sextape', and with their 7th here they push their mixture of melody and heaviness in all the right directions. More of a spiritual successor to the less than cohesive mess of Saturday Night Wrist, Koi No Yokan for the first time since White Pony captures the emotional abstractness that Chino so often croons over. Opening track Swerve City to a greater extent realigns the band with a signature sound of the late 90's but with modern, moody and spacey textures to give it a contemporary edge and it works a charm. Following on there is Romantic Dreams, arguably the best of the punch yet not the most experimental. The shifting tones and THAT mind blowing chorus will have even the hardened Deftones fan quiver with delight, and as the consistency and the flow continue through with promotional single Leathers and tight riff heavy Poltergeist there is no disguising that this is a band reborn, and every bit as relevant as they were. Detractors of the album will be quick to point that there isn't really a single direction with this album that they have not explored before, but having said that, they've never explored these angles so well. The dream-pop loud ambiance of Rosemary, and a surely new fan favourite Goon Squad reignite those memorable intros and outros we all miss from White Pony. All in all the biggest problem here is in the albums comparison to that aforementioned masterpiece of post-grunge and nu-metal which the band was lumped with, and currently it would be stupid of me to choose a favourite. After all if understanding the Japanese title correctly, love at first sight is yet to begin, but it will. An essential purchase for anyone who has ever dabbled in the bands sound since their commercial ventures in the early 2000's.

    Current Standings (personally)

    1. White Pony
    2. Koi No Yokan
    3. Around The Fur
    4. Diamond Eyes
    5. Adrenaline
    6. Deftones
    7. Saturday Night Wrist
    Expand
  2. Feb 3, 2013
    10
    the ability for letters of Chino Moreno and the magic of instruments for the entire group of instruments come to a new level, bringing as a result: the most beautiful and powerful Deftones album and the best album of 2012
    Deftones has evolved over the years and have created a work well above white pony and diamond eyes.
    not only in letters but in their evolutionary sound
    such
    exampleas: swerve city, leathers, entombed and tempest are a great example of this.
    what I liked most noted of this album its the cover, is more beautiful than I have seen in my youth, it is difficult for someone to overcome.
    and the best songs for me are:
    swerve city
    Leathers
    poltergeist
    entombed
    tempest and what happed to you?
    are the best of this great album. that no one would ever think that justin bieber and one direction are better than deftones, that's a great offense to the best of the best, they never reached their level and less with this beautiful album KOI NO YOKAN, Please girls, this is much better
    Expand
  3. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Hearing Leathers and Tempest just whet my appetite for an album that I had very high expectations for, and these guys have succeeded in beating every single one of them. It is so heavy at times, so dreamy at times. Extremely solid effort gents.
  4. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Heavier than Diamond Eyes but just as melodic and ethereal, Deftones have once again put out an outstanding record of atmospheric, cryptic, blistering alternative metal. Standout tracks include "Tempest" and "Swerve City."
  5. Sep 12, 2014
    10
    Incredible!! If I could describe this album in one word, it would be "Incredible". This album does not disappoint. Deftones sticks to their signature "White Pony" sound and manages to make it sound fresh. This album does not sound like a White Pony rehash. There are also some elements here from Chino's side project Crosses. There is not a single weak track on this album. The best songs on this album are Rosemary and Graphic Nature. Deftones has yet to make a bad album. Every album from them is a masterpiece. Expand
  6. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    I had very high expectations for this album before running to the store on opening day to buy this album, and I obviously knew that they were going to be met. But, I did not know that it was going to completely shatter them to pieces. Diamond Eyes was a masterpiece, and will always be a masterpiece, but Koi No Yokan might just be one of the defining records of music in general. It's that amazing. It's impossible to put into words how ecstatic I am about this album. There is a reason why this album has gotten more positive reaction towards than most of the albums that have come out this year. The band improves on every level on tracks such as the heavy "Poltergeist", the catchy "Graphic Nature", and the best song of 2012, and quite possibly one of the best songs I've ever heard, "Rosemary", a 7-minute epic that is the definition of progression. This is the best album I have heard since I listened to 5FDP's album, "American Capitalist". There are no filler tracks, bad moments, or cringeworthy lyrics to be found at all during this album. It's not only the best album of 2012, and the best of the Deftones. This is a work of pure art. An album that will define the decade, if not the entire century of music, and will be the album that every person will remember for years to come. You just HAVE to own this album. If the album is sold at a high price, it will be worth every cent. Expand
  7. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Deftones may very well be one of the most consistent and dependable bands of the past 20 years. Each new release sees the band further their musical scope while still retaining that immediately identifiable sound. I personally got hooked into the band with White Pony, specifically the songs
  8. Nov 17, 2012
    9
    Every new Deftones album release is a BIG event. To be hones I'd like this album to be the continuation of Diamond Eyes in the way of heaviness. But actually it sounds a lot lighter and it has more romantic/lyrical/tender mood. Very atmospheric and soft. The vocal melodies catch you and follow you through all the 51 minutes of the album. Every new spin gives you an ability to find some new features of this records. Once again, Bravo, Deftones! Expand
  9. May 20, 2014
    10
    its still the deftones i know and love but is it my favourite album of theres no is it in the top 3 of deftones albums no, was it the best album of 2012 heck yeah it was
  10. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    This is a very solid album. Typical Deftones sound with some really awesome songs. The album has a great feel to it and is perfectly produced. Make sure to listen to it at least once with some decent over-the-ear headphones. The two singles "Leathers" and "Tempest" had already sold me on the record but I was afraid those might be the only two great songs on this record. Not so..."Poltergeist" is a beast of a song and just kicks you right in the teeth. "Gauze" has that great mid-tempo Deftones feel to it. Chinos vocals on this whole record are just amazing. He is such a fantastic singer!! If you haven yet listen to this record, stop reading this review and get the album and enjoy!!! Expand
  11. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    Granted this is the Chi-less incarnation of the Deftones, this album feels like the Deftones at their best. It's spacey hums and melodies flow beautifully together and just as you're being lulled to sleep in some ethereal drones, a crushingly heavy attack comes into wake you right up. This album has the versatility of White Pony and the pure metal fury of Around the Fur, already a classic Deftones album. Very well done boys. Expand
  12. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    It's pretty rare for me to not only like every song on an album, but to also like them all on first listen like I did with this album. My biggest complaint with the album is that I wish there was more songs. Having said that it's one of their best albums maybe even their best in terms of consistency, I've only been able to listen to it three or four times but it's fast becoming my favourite.] from them. It may also be their easiest album for non/new fans to listen to as well. Expand
  13. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    Possibly my favorite metal album this year. The riffs hit hard and Chinos vocals are as great as ever. There musicianship leaves me in awe throughout many of the songs on this album. Possibly this is the best i heard them play.
  14. Nov 19, 2012
    9
    What can you say? They did it again. They have not strayed from who they are and yet have made albums that keep up with the times. Koi No Yokan is instantly recognizable as the Deftones. What I like is that they have the perfect blend of soft and hard. And the soft has gotten softer while the hard is much harder. It's almost as if Chino and Stephan are Yin and Yang. Chino has the ghostly sound while Stephan's guitar work here almost sounds like Meshuggah. My favorite tracks are "Goon Squad", "Tempest", "Rosemary", "Gauze", "Leathers", and probably my favorite track on the album "Poltergeist". Expand
  15. Nov 15, 2012
    10
    Beautiful album, even blissful at times. They have carved out their own sound and perfected it, amazing. Album of the year and in my opinion, the best they have ever released.
  16. Nov 19, 2012
    10
    back to their best at last! always a massive fan - everything after white pony up until diamond eyes was a bit average but still the odd good track. every song on this album is wholeheartedly deftones, stand outs include 'Leathers,' 'Tempest' and 'Gauze.' not so hot on 'goon squad'
  17. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Best album since White Pony.
    This album has all the thrills and melodic tones you would expect from Deftones. Except this album takes it to a new level.
  18. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    You should never compare deftones albums. Every one has it's own unique sound. After their successful relaunching into the industry with diamond eyes their back on track. A blissful and sometimes even sexy(entombed and romantic dreams) this is a hardcore album. Much heavier sounding guitar and a lot more space and feeling to the songs. The lyrics are also some of their most literal and open minded than most of their other albums. Definitely one of my favourites under around the fur Expand
  19. Mar 6, 2013
    9
    TL;DR Another great album, if you enjoyed Diamond Eyes and other previous ventures then it'll be hard for you to dislike this.

    The awesome new album that I had high hopes for, it has definitely lived up to them. Its easily in my top albums for 2012 chart, and actually just one of my new favorites period. Although there are no slow melodies like "Teenager" or "Digital Bath", they are
    instead inserted as slow melodies in the transition of different songs. However, the heavy chugging and riffs that hit you like a shockwave are back and still as great as ever. On a personal note, my top 3 for the album are Entombed, Rosemary, and Gauze. Expand
  20. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    A sound quite genuine, rock metal / experimental, with a dominant personality. Deftones explores with hypnotizing atmospheres, some dramatic melodies, dark, aggressive, in contrast to the enigmatic bass notes. The powerful voice of Chino Moreno is exposed in all its facets brilliantly. "Poltergeist" and "Tempest" highlighted in the concept album well done, highly addictive and perfectly structured. Expand
  21. Nov 25, 2012
    10
    Deftones have been making music for 24 years, and unlike most bands they haven't made a bad album yet! The biggest band on this planet. Koi No Yokan instantly had me hooked, an instant classic in my books.
  22. Nov 13, 2012
    10
    It's a shame there is only 11 tracks on the album i want more musics like this to listen all the day and chill out .
    Intense, deep ,profound to the bones.
  23. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    I discovered Deftones a while ago back on one of the soundtracks to the Matrix. Many good tracks here, definitely worth a listen. Tempest and Polterheist bring the heat!
  24. Nov 14, 2012
    10
    I was sure that it couldn´t get any better than Diamond Eyes, but they sure proved the opposite. They are extremely talented and Chino´s (vocal) voice gives you goosebumps. They combine the softness and hardness so perfectly that I was on the edge of crying several times. I really recommend the album and all the previous albums.
  25. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    This album is great from beginning to end. The first track "Swerve City" immediately draws you in. What I love most about the Deftones, is they have the perfect blend of aggression and melody. They're heavy but very calming at the same time. The Deftones deliver again with an album that is powerful and full of emotion.
  26. koj
    Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Expectations were high for Koi No Yokan. It is Deftones seventh album in a row which simply does not disappoint. Each output got compared to 2000s masterpiece White Pony. Lucky enough Deftones never tried to create a White Pony 2, they wrote Albums which obviously fitted in their current status, always covered in a more (Selftitled) or less (Diamond Eyes) dark atmosphere.
    Each output
    since WP had its problems. The Selftitled was too dark (for me), SNW had great songs, but did not succeed with its experiments (Mein with Serj, Pink Cellphone). Diamond Eyes did not have this weak points but lacked in depth, atmosphere and textures.

    Koi No Yokan takes out the strengths of each of these albums since White Pony and leaves out the above criticized points. It´s pretty dark, flows really good as a whole album (nearly every song connects with the next) and adds a huge amount of atmosphere to it. Also, the production seems to be improved regarding Diamond Eyes. There is not one song which doesn´t fit into the album, each song has its place and is loveable from start to finish.
    Starting with Swerve City as a bouncy, poppy opener, Koi No Yokan beautifully delivers Deftones signature move: the dynamics. Leathers verses is one of the heaviest in Deftones history, fighting with the dreamy chorus created by Chinos beautiful voice. The man simply can create moods with his organ.
    Poltergeist, starting with odd handclaps leading into a heavy Carpenter Riff, drives the heavy vs soft game on. Next song, Entombed is simply beautiful and perfect material for a single. Graphic Nature could easily be featured one White Pony. Tempest, the single, connects southern rockesque guitars (straight from the 90s) with a lovely chorus and is one of the highlights. Gauzes beginning brings back Deftones heavy moments and is nothing less than Deftones high standard.
    Rosemary is the heart of Koi No Yokan, one of Deftones highlights of their whole career. A melody which stays in your head forever. Goon Squad with its dynamics lets you headbang before What happened to you? closes the album with a trippy dreampoppy sound. Reminds directly of Chi, who still suffers from the accident 4 yours ago.

    KNY is a perfect album for walks through the winter air and can be experienced best as a whole. Listen to this if you are a fan of intelligent alternative rock albums.
    It connects fans of heavy metal (Meshuggah riffing) with the ones of The Cure or The Smiths.

    Standout tracks are Leathers, Entombed and Rosemary.
    Expand
  27. Nov 16, 2012
    9
    "Love at first sight" fits Koi No Yokan very well. You can never compare Deftones to any other band, and they continue to prove they can easily amaze with their unbelievable euphoria-causing audio. But like typical Deftones, you get the hard-pounding sounds like "Swerve City" but are later served with an unbelievable "Entombed" that would calm even the meanest part of us all. There are so many amazing songs that even naming a "single" would belittle the rest of the album; the same can be said for recommending songs to anyone. It's a wonder how the band can be around for almost 20 years yet many people fail to recognize the name. Expand
  28. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Amazing album. Have been a fan since mid 90s & they continue to bring it every album. This is def one of their best to date. Have had it in my car CD player since I bought it.
  29. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    First off, THE Deftones are the best band in the world. I already know this review will be long and probably drawn out. I just get so excited every time the Tones put out new material, so I do apologize. This is actually my first review, I thought about reviewing Diamond Eyes but I'm glad I waited for the "premonition of love." I'm now fourty years old which I believe is the same age as the best vocalist in rock Mr. Moreno. There is a lyric in the last track "What Happened to You" which reads for fourty years I've played with you. I want to start out saying that when the Deftones came out in '94, Korn, Limp Biskit, and other Nu-Metal bands were coming out and I'll admit that I liked Korn and Limp's first two records. The Deftones Adrenalize massacred everthing I felt so much in there music. Korn and Limp had the anger, but the Deftones had so much more! This is how I describe there 7 cd's. Adrenalize groove-laden, we all know every album Abe kicks ass on the drums, but song after song kicked. Around the Fur seemed to me a little darker-and then I know White Pony is a lot of people's favorite which i completely understand. When I got that record we hadn't heard a Digital Bath, Knife Party, Maynard and Chino on Passenger, so I get it! That's when I started worrying how they are going to top themselves. Well, self-titled came out and I swear the first three songs were to me amazing! the songs after weren't bad but I didn't feel them like I did on the highly acclaimed White POny. Then we have the Saturday Night Wrist which had a little bit of everthing but to me and I know a lot of people will disagree with me but is my least favorite album I think Hole in the Earth, Cherry Waves, Beware were highlights but album as a whole least favorite. I wasn't to excited about Diamond Eyes until I heard Rocket Skates and then Diamond Eyes. I bought tickets to a concert at the House of Blues in New Orleans and words cannot explain the goose-bumps that I got seeing 6 albums worth of the best songs ever. To hard back to soft groove to scream back to sensitive chino's vocals was the best show I've ever seen. The only thing that compares is a Tool show or a laid back Radiohead back in the KId A days. Now let me say as I drag on Koi No Yokan is the best record front to back no filler the first three tracks are like a barometer i heard someone say about the rest of the album. The first track Swerve City is a Positive, bouncy, awesome guitar solo which we don't get a lot of and even some oh oh oh not heard from deftones just as in Romantic Dreams one of my favorite tracks on the record- this song has so much emotion and the lyrics are phenomenal then of course Leathers in your face and wow that scream kicks ass. Poltergeist I'm sure is a favorite reaching back into the Deftones heyday Entombed got to be the most beautiful song in the Tones discography. None of these songs remind me of any other record except gauze and graphic nature sound like they could have been recorded during the white pony time, maybe i'm crazy I like these two songs the vocals and the way the band draws out instrumentally on gauze as well as the way the tracks seem to be sequenced in a way that they just melt together. My favorite song on this record is Rosemary completely love perfect makes me feel high when i'm completely sober **** amazin. Tempest is another favorite loved it the first time i heard it can't wait to see it live the bass is kickin like chicken. I miss Cheng but Vega is filling the void impeccably. Goon Squad is going to be a great song live i can already imagin singin along "designed for you by me"! reminds me of the Around the Fur days. The last track What happened to you makes me feel so good like a summer day driving with the top down without a care in the world. A lot of people compare the Deftones to the Cure I feel it in certain songs which is a good thing I was a average fan of the in high school this song reminds me of them, Depeche Mode which is awkward to say because the Deftones to me are the best "hard rock" band in the world but this album gets a 10 barely edging out Diamond Eyes only because I feel the lyrics more and I thing the album sounds "bigger" like a improvement of the same sound but musically harder but with a lot of emotion in the lyrics. My favorite Koi No Yokan, Diamond Eyes, White Pony, Adrenaline, Deftones, Saturday Night Wrist. Sorry I went on and on but i have been a fan for almost 20 years and they completely get me if u know what i mean. Expand
  30. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    Koi No Yokan is a beautiful album. I listen to a variety of music and this album is probably the best this year by far. The songs hit a range of emotion and are executed beautifully. I feel like this album is worthy of a Grammy and will be very disappointed if they don't get at least nominated.
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Dec 20, 2012
    80
    It's an adventurous, seductive and plush exploration of the depths of progressive and popular metal.
  2. Dec 11, 2012
    80
    A band with swagger once again. [Jan 2013, p.109]
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    100
    They still deliver their challenging music with effortless ease. [[10 Nov 2012, p.54]