Koi No Yokan - Deftones
Koi No Yokan Image
Metascore
86

Universal acclaim - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 140 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The seventh studio release for the Sacramento alternative metal group was produced by Nick Raskulinecz.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Dec 10, 2012
    100
    They still deliver their challenging music with effortless ease. [[10 Nov 2012, p.54]
  2. Nov 12, 2012
    90
    It transcends the boundaries and expectations of its genre--even those previously set by the very band that made it.
  3. At the end of the day, I don't know exactly where I'd rank Koi No Yokan--somewhere in the top three, but really it's not important. What's important is that this is a f***ing great album.
  4. 80
    It's a shotgun blast of cranked guitars, bruising hardcore and canyon-sized choruses, and it's mesmerising.
  5. Nov 20, 2012
    80
    Taken as both a culmination and a sign of more good things to come, it further solidifies the band's status as far and away the most long-lasting and consistent act of the maligned subgenre from which they came.
  6. Nov 14, 2012
    80
    While a lot of bands out there have been tinkering with the loud/quiet dynamic for decades now, what makes Deftones so special is their ability to do both at the same time, effectively blending the calm and the storm into a single sound.
  7. Nov 21, 2012
    50
    Koi No Yokan is a passable alt-rock/metal album by a band that is capable of much more.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 34
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 34
  3. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. koj
    Nov 16, 2012
    10
    Expectations were high for Koi No Yokan. It is Deftones seventh album in a row which simply does not disappoint. Each output got compared to 2000s masterpiece White Pony. Lucky enough Deftones never tried to create a White Pony 2, they wrote Albums which obviously fitted in their current status, always covered in a more (Selftitled) or less (Diamond Eyes) dark atmosphere.
    Each output since WP had its problems. The Selftitled was too dark (for me), SNW had great songs, but did not succeed with its experiments (Mein with Serj, Pink Cellphone). Diamond Eyes did not have this weak points but lacked in depth, atmosphere and textures.

    Koi No Yokan takes out the strengths of each of these albums since White Pony and leaves out the above criticized points. It´s pretty dark, flows really good as a whole album (nearly every song connects with the next) and adds a huge amount of atmosphere to it. Also, the production seems to be improved regarding Diamond Eyes. There is not one song which doesn´t fit into the album, each song has its place and is loveable from start to finish.
    Starting with Swerve City as a bouncy, poppy opener, Koi No Yokan beautifully delivers Deftones signature move: the dynamics. Leathers verses is one of the heaviest in Deftones history, fighting with the dreamy chorus created by Chinos beautiful voice. The man simply can create moods with his organ.
    Poltergeist, starting with odd handclaps leading into a heavy Carpenter Riff, drives the heavy vs soft game on. Next song, Entombed is simply beautiful and perfect material for a single. Graphic Nature could easily be featured one White Pony. Tempest, the single, connects southern rockesque guitars (straight from the 90s) with a lovely chorus and is one of the highlights. Gauzes beginning brings back Deftones heavy moments and is nothing less than Deftones high standard.
    Rosemary is the heart of Koi No Yokan, one of Deftones highlights of their whole career. A melody which stays in your head forever. Goon Squad with its dynamics lets you headbang before What happened to you? closes the album with a trippy dreampoppy sound. Reminds directly of Chi, who still suffers from the accident 4 yours ago.

    KNY is a perfect album for walks through the winter air and can be experienced best as a whole. Listen to this if you are a fan of intelligent alternative rock albums.
    It connects fans of heavy metal (Meshuggah riffing) with the ones of The Cure or The Smiths.

    Standout tracks are Leathers, Entombed and Rosemary.
    Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2013
    10
    Best album since White Pony.
    This album has all the thrills and melodic tones you would expect from Deftones. Except this album takes it to a
    new level. Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2012
    10
    Koi No Yokan is a beautiful album. I listen to a variety of music and this album is probably the best this year by far. The songs hit a range of emotion and are executed beautifully. I feel like this album is worthy of a Grammy and will be very disappointed if they don't get at least nominated. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2012
    9
    It's pretty rare for me to not only like every song on an album, but to also like them all on first listen like I did with this album. My biggest complaint with the album is that I wish there was more songs. Having said that it's one of their best albums maybe even their best in terms of consistency, I've only been able to listen to it three or four times but it's fast becoming my favourite.] from them. It may also be their easiest album for non/new fans to listen to as well. Expand
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    Hearing Leathers and Tempest just whet my appetite for an album that I had very high expectations for, and these guys have succeeded in beating every single one of them. It is so heavy at times, so dreamy at times. Extremely solid effort gents. Expand
  6. Dec 18, 2012
    9
    Possibly my favorite metal album this year. The riffs hit hard and Chinos vocals are as great as ever. There musicianship leaves me in awe throughout many of the songs on this album. Possibly this is the best i heard them play. Expand
  7. Jan 5, 2013
    6
    Koi No Yokan is a good "sounding" album that is hard to consume because lead singer Chino's vocals are too soft at times and are hard to make out what he is singing. It's a decent album, but they tread in the same waters musically. Almost all of the songs overstay their welcome around the 2-minute mark and you pretty much know what the expect with the remaining 2-minutes. However, I can still highly recommend people to see Deftones live, they have improved drastically over the years from a drunk, slop sounding band to a veteran, professional, and amazing sounding live band. Sadly, there is only 2 songs that stand out on this album and you can pretty much throw away the rest. Collapse

See all 34 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Albums of 2012

    The Best Albums of 2012 Image
    Published: December 21, 2012
    Sure, it's no surprise that Frank Ocean had the best-reviewed album of 2012. But which other releases filled out our top 40? Get the full list inside ... and check out the year's worst-reviewed albums, too.