Koloss

Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Metal Hammer (UK)
    Mar 26, 2012
    90
    Koloss is truly phenomenal. [Apr 2012, p.100]
  2. Mar 26, 2012
    90
    This unpredictability -the 25-year-old band's trademark attraction--is what keeps them at the forefront of metal's vanguard, and what makes Koloss, for all its "normalcy" (joke quotes intended), the first real contender for the genre's album of the year.
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    83
    The good news is, it's another predictably fantastic Meshuggah album. The bad news is, it's another predictably fantastic Meshuggah album.
  4. The Wire
    Apr 18, 2012
    80
    They're wise enough to leave breathing space, such as the final minute of "The Hurt That Finds You First," which codas into a swishing corridor of guitar licks, or "The Last vigil," which brings the album wordlessly to rest on a pall of interleaved, echoing guitar chimes. [Mar 2012, p.56]
  5. Apr 2, 2012
    80
    It assures us all that Meshuggah can still bury their copyists while leading the way when it comes to intelligent, thoughtful and undeniably brutal heavy metal.
  6. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    Koloss runs the gamut of Meshuggah's craft and technical prowess.
  7. Mar 29, 2012
    80
    Meshuggah have easily proven to listeners time and time again that they know their way around their instruments better than most, so even though Koloss isn't the band's most daring or experimental work to date, it's definitely worth any metal fan's time.
  8. Mar 27, 2012
    80
    Although their sound has been copied Ad infinitum, with Koloss, Meshuggah prove that they still do it best.
  9. Mar 26, 2012
    80
    By making precise tweaks and adjustments to their sound by approaching Koloss with a new attitude, all the while holding fast to their core strengths, Meshuggah have given us the first truly engaging metal album of 2012.
  10. Mar 26, 2012
    80
    Koloss, however, is a real triumph of its genre: inventive, surprising, pleasingly punchy, unashamedly aggressive with just enough shade, tone and melody to balance the raucous but impressive production.
  11. Q Magazine
    Apr 2, 2012
    60
    Leaving no room for nuance,it's a relentlessly dark wall of sonic aggression. [Apr 2012, p.101]
  12. Mar 26, 2012
    60
    The trouble is, not much sets this new album apart from their career benchmarks, like 2002's Nothing or 1998's Chaosphere.
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    My first few listens didn't make how I felt about it clear. It was not an instant hit with me. But, I am glad to say that after multiple timesMy first few listens didn't make how I felt about it clear. It was not an instant hit with me. But, I am glad to say that after multiple times through the album it's really starting to grow on me. Some tracks are a bit monotonous, including the introductory track (which is a shame). But most of the tracks are top notch. There is a lot more variation in style this time around, including intro's to a lot of songs, which is unusual for Meshuggah, but I dig it. I give it a solid 9 out of ten. Full Review »
  2. Jan 4, 2015
    6
    This album has some great tracks on it like Deimurge, break those bones and do not look down, and the songs are very diverse from one another.This album has some great tracks on it like Deimurge, break those bones and do not look down, and the songs are very diverse from one another. However some tracks just aren't that great like swarm and I am Kolossos (apart from the second half of it is pretty cool). The last song is alright for what it does but feels pretty plain either way for even a quite ambient song. Vocals are good and some very nice runs on guitar, along with typically great polygrythmic drumming. A good album but i think it lacks the power that obZen had. Full Review »
  3. Jun 21, 2014
    9
    Meshuggah were my first true extreme metal experience and i will hold them until my day of death. Koloss to me was a mind melting albumMeshuggah were my first true extreme metal experience and i will hold them until my day of death. Koloss to me was a mind melting album combining brutal djent riffs, blast beats and growls from Hell. However, after the 4th track, the album sounds quite repetitive and monotonous, unlike ObZen. Despite this, it is a cracking album with a rating of 9. Full Review »