User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 43
  2. Negative: 4 out of 43

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarianaL.
    Apr 17, 2008
    great album, LOVE IT. they are better live though.
  2. Jason
    Apr 20, 2008
    Sure they're playing it a little safe but the songs are catchy enough. And while there might not be some of the great standout tracks that Inside In/Inside Out had, there are also fewer weak tracks.
  3. RafaelF.
    Apr 17, 2008
    I don't know why this "bad critics". Konk (i don't like this album name, but is ok) is awesome. New Musical Express are crazy. They like to create and the destroy the hype in question of seconds.
  4. CJ
    Apr 17, 2008
    Giving me the same buzz when I first gave Inside In/Inside Out a spin. Pritchard's delivery separates The Kooks from so many bands. There is a great rock and roll vibe to this album, maintaining that youthful recklessness that their debut obsessed over. Their third album will need a new direction, but for now, hell, it's pure enjoyment on my part!
  5. RonL.
    Jun 17, 2008
    I have listened to the album over 10 times and it just gets better and better. Looking at the critics reviews at the bottom of the spectrum, you guys are nuts. This is a magical album. It is better than Brit pop and I think it stands as a marker for a change in pop sound. Buy it and enjoy. I give it my highest recommendation.
  6. R.
    Apr 18, 2008
    I do not understand where some of the critics are coming from. This album is superb. Especially like "Gap," "See the Sun," "Love it All," "Sway," and "One Last Time." I enjoy listening to the entire album over and over again. A great British album.
  7. MatthewP.
    Apr 19, 2008
    A Great great album! I agree, NME chip and change every week what they like!
  8. RB
    Apr 19, 2008
    An excellent album from start to finish. The critics seem to be more concerned with how the band became successful rather than the music itself. Why in the world would someone rate an album on that criteria??? It is supposed to be judged the quality of the music, which is easily a 10.
  9. RobertI.
    Apr 20, 2008
    Most beautiful album of the year.
  10. EllieL.
    Apr 28, 2008
    The kooks always find the perfect medium between rock and pop. i love every song on this album. it's definitely a mature step forward from their debut album Inside In/Inside Out.

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. The Kooks aren't exactly redefining the sound of British pop/rock on their sophomore album, but they certainly aren't giving it a bad name either.
  2. It will no doubt be the soundtrack of the summer for many people, but the lack of originality, warmth and soul may well leave some feeling rather underwhelmed.
  3. Konk is the sound of a band in disarray, unsuccessfully attempting to hold things together.