Kris Allen

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Nov 17, 2009
User Score
6.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 55
  2. Negative: 17 out of 55

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JerB
    Dec 2, 2009
    0
    Honestly it's trash, I try so hard to like it, but I just can't.
  2. MasonG
    Nov 21, 2009
    2
    Subway platform lite-rock. But sorta nice subway platform lite-rock. Alas. Kinda sad. What is it about some of these male 'Idols'? Reuben ??? Bo ?? Taylor ??
  3. KarenD
    Nov 23, 2009
    2
    I've really tried to like this album, but it all sounds the same to me.
  4. Melissa
    Nov 24, 2009
    1
    It's not artistry when he sounds like Mraz and all his sound-alikes. He may be nice, but he doesn't have an interesting or artistic bone in his body. He's going to have to man up to make it in this business.
  5. dsds
    Dec 1, 2009
    1
    Horrible album.
  6. EMax
    Dec 2, 2009
    0
    On the show, Kris was good. What happened? I wish it was a better album.
  7. SusanG
    Dec 6, 2009
    1
    Disappointing, depressing, boring album -- total downer.
Metascore
52

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8
  1. It’s a polite mix of soft rock with hints of boundary jumping that, unfortunately, never truly come. There’s really nothing wrong with the set; it’s sweetly executed and produced.
  2. Despite scoring writing credits on an impressive nine of these 13 tracks, Allen gets himself stylistically lost somewhere between Fly White Guy Avenue ('Can't Stay Away') and Bleeding Heart Boulevard ('The Truth'), while rarely visiting original territory.
  3. Most of the material, though, tends toward a flavorless pop-rock sound that doesn't even do much to flatter Allen's appealingly rumpled vocals.