La Foret

User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 26
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 26
  3. Negative: 3 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DonaldH
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    I've been a giant Xiu Xiu fan, and what I've come to expect from them with each album is a sense of surprise, and I have to admit, I was -very- surprised by this album. It's subdued, to say the least. If Fabulous Muscles showed off his influence from bands such as the Smiths and Joy Division, this album shows off his classical art music bent, displaying a serious knowledge I've been a giant Xiu Xiu fan, and what I've come to expect from them with each album is a sense of surprise, and I have to admit, I was -very- surprised by this album. It's subdued, to say the least. If Fabulous Muscles showed off his influence from bands such as the Smiths and Joy Division, this album shows off his classical art music bent, displaying a serious knowledge of John Cage and George Crumb. It's an amazing disc, and just like each of their other discs, it a charm and character that is uniquely its own. Give it quite a few listens, though. I doubt many people will truly digest it for the true quality it is at first. Expand
  2. Matt
    Oct 25, 2005
    3
    Ugh, I can't get into this. I'm sure some people will like it, but I just can't do it. I can listen to a lot, and I usually like the "weirder" music, but I can't sit through it here. And by the way, I don't listen to commercial radio or watch music videos.
  3. RobertD.
    Jul 14, 2005
    1
    xiu xiu is garbage. just cus it sounds different doesn't make it good. awful music, stop listening to it
  4. AramisG
    Jul 14, 2005
    8
    Jamie, if you read reviews, I just want to say I love Xiu Xiu. It is a testament to your devotion to music that you put out an LP once a year. That is the way all the great old bands did it and I think that totally rocks. Your live shows are pretty awesome too, but I would add a live percussionist (3rd person) because the constant sequencing gets a little old. La Foret is pretty awesome Jamie, if you read reviews, I just want to say I love Xiu Xiu. It is a testament to your devotion to music that you put out an LP once a year. That is the way all the great old bands did it and I think that totally rocks. Your live shows are pretty awesome too, but I would add a live percussionist (3rd person) because the constant sequencing gets a little old. La Foret is pretty awesome and I love the way it is recorded. Overall it has a crispness that was missing on your previous efforts. However, with all the praise I could and should heap on Xiu Xiu, I am completely done with the whisper/ mumble type songs. Maybe it was Expand
  5. markh
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    good work xiu xiu. brave + original.
  6. benjik
    Sep 13, 2005
    8
    scary and beautiful at the same time... "muppet face" is possibly one of the best songs ever written
  7. AlexEiffel
    Sep 13, 2005
    0
    Xiu Xiu is contrived shit. Listening to this kind of music will not make you a more intelligent person.
  8. MichaelS
    Sep 18, 2005
    8
    Just as good as Fabulous Muscles. Xiu Xiu haven't disappointed me yet, and I doubt they ever will. Good stuff! And to the naysayers: don't bash Xiu Xiu just because you can't comprehend music that's not forcefed to you by ClearChannel and MTV.
  9. Aug 6, 2014
    10
    "La Foret" is perhaps my favorite Xiu Xiu album. These songs are brilliant, subversive, confessional gems, constantly hurtling over the edge into uncomfortable, brutal truth in the best possible way. "Muppet Face" remains my favorite Xiu Xiu song. The range of styles, the turns from soft to abrasive, and Jamie's gorgeous, wavering voice--it's just so good.
Metascore
82

Universal acclaim - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. By bringing in more musical variation into the mix, Stewart has managed to keep things interesting enough again, the arrangements making his frantic outbursts more palatable than ever.
  2. In the best possible way, the album is a painful listening experience, forcing the listener into immediate and excruciating catharsis: you look into the eyes of a cold stranger, and see nothing but ugliness and painful regret.
  3. It's business as usual, but there is not a damn thing wrong with that when it comes to this group.