• Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Landing Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fourth album for the rock band includes the Wire's Colin Newman, Scanner's Robin Rimbaud, and former members of Minimal Compact, Malka Spigel and Max Franken.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. Mojo
    But whereas their 2004 debut EP Headgit was intriguing if slightly stiff, they have developed into a propulsive unit with good tunes and a panoramic, near-psychedelic guitar sound. [Jan 2010, p. 90]
  2. Almost nothing on Landing is relevant to the music scene or the world at large in 2009. Still, there’s something appealing about the way Githead adheres to the big beats and soft grind of songs.
  3. Filter
    Githead cohesively blends the sounds of each of the foursome's past experiences. [Holiday 2009, p.95]
  4. Q Magazine
    It's the sinuous, propulsive bass of Malka Spigel (Newman's wife and co-founder of the Swim~label) that takes centre stage, never more so than on instrumental opener Faster, the first of several tracks to invoke the ghost of New order. [Jan 2010, p. 119]
  5. Landing is a well-made bit of fun, but it’s no more than that.
  6. Alternative Press
    While there are moments of buzzing, high-flying bliss on Githead's third LP, one can't escape the sensation of horizon-hugging deja vu. [Jan 2010, p.94]
  7. Under The Radar
    They rarely let loose with their old 4AD/post-punk strafing runs. [Holiday 2009, p.80]

See all 11 Critic Reviews