Lasers

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 8, 2011
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 135
  2. Negative: 31 out of 135
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. NJR
    Mar 8, 2011
    5
    Anything above 60 is just too high for this awful piece of work. The production sounds like it would be more suited to Kesha or Flo Rida, Lupe is really un focused for the majority of the LP, All Black Everything & Words I Never Said being the only two exeptions and the later was completely destroyed by awful production! Lupe can blame Atlantic all he wants but nobody forced him to releaseAnything above 60 is just too high for this awful piece of work. The production sounds like it would be more suited to Kesha or Flo Rida, Lupe is really un focused for the majority of the LP, All Black Everything & Words I Never Said being the only two exeptions and the later was completely destroyed by awful production! Lupe can blame Atlantic all he wants but nobody forced him to release this and it's his name on the cover at the end of the day, this has seriously tarnished his otherwise brilliant career. Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    5
    Disappointed after only recently becoming a Lupe Fiasco fan and buying his first two records. I really like The Show Goes On and Words I Never Said, but apart from these there really aren't any other standout tracks to ride home about. And by the sounds of Lupe Fiasco's attitude towards this album, it doesn't sound like his heart was in it.
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    6
    Stuck in record label limbo for over a year, Lupe Fiasco's third album, Lasers, has finally been released. Lupe himself doesn't particularly like Lasers, but I was excited to finally be able to hear a new full-length release from him. Unfortunately, the album fails to live up to his previous two albums. Lasers starts well enough with the first three tracks being some of the album's best.Stuck in record label limbo for over a year, Lupe Fiasco's third album, Lasers, has finally been released. Lupe himself doesn't particularly like Lasers, but I was excited to finally be able to hear a new full-length release from him. Unfortunately, the album fails to live up to his previous two albums. Lasers starts well enough with the first three tracks being some of the album's best. The music goes downhill from there, though. The middle block of songs just sound way overproduced with auto-tune and synth noises in abundance. In some ways, this release reminds me of B.o.B.'s The Adventures of Bobby Ray in that it pairs a talented MC with a bunch of pop music and flavor-of-month featured artists in order to make it more accessible. Luckily, the album rebounds slightly towards the end with "All Black Everything" and "Never Forget You". Three and half years and countless delays later, Lasers is an okay album but is a complete letdown mostly because we know that Lupe is capable of so much more. http://www.neato-music.com Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2011
    6
    Some excellent songs like ABE and Letting Go. But the production is too harsh such as in TSGO and State Run Radio, and the hooks are very hit and miss. Lyrically Lupe is still very good, but not on par to F&L, and at times he seems very bored. Still some like-able tracks keep it above average.
  5. Mar 12, 2011
    5
    I am disappointed of Lupe. His did not deliver his best on this album. The production was horrible and the guest stars was boring. I know that he can do better than is. "Food & Liquor" and "The Cool" was awesome, but this album, no! The only track that was good was "All Black Everything". I hope he takes his time on his next album and focuses.
  6. Mar 8, 2011
    5
    Lupe Fiasco's "Lasers" has been on the delay for three years due to problems concerning the music distributor. Judging by Lupe Fiasco's live performances, mixtapes, and past studio albums the hype behind this album is high; this is because Lupe Fiasco is a conscious rapper in the 21st Century who is so versatile, original, and intellectually gifted. I was moderately disappointed when I gotLupe Fiasco's "Lasers" has been on the delay for three years due to problems concerning the music distributor. Judging by Lupe Fiasco's live performances, mixtapes, and past studio albums the hype behind this album is high; this is because Lupe Fiasco is a conscious rapper in the 21st Century who is so versatile, original, and intellectually gifted. I was moderately disappointed when I got a chance to listen to this album after I preordered. It all seems this album released due to bare compromise how there were only three to four songs that kept the original theme that Lupe shared with the fans years ago. "State Run Radio", "Words I Never Said", "All Black Everything", and "Letting Go" are those tracks that share the theme the fans were looking for. The rest of the album is plain ole' mainline POP which serve no purpose to listen to if you're wanting to listen to Lupe, period. Let's hope that Lupe Fiasco gets out of his contract with Atlantic Records and finally go independent because they screwed him over big time. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2011
    5
    This album reminds me of how Eminem released Relapse, it was rushed and it showed. Well, Lasers may have been rushed since the album was finished way before release. The Auto-tune used in this album is so unnecessary and the beats drown out most thought that Lupe's lyrics usually leave you with. I feel like I could listen to Lupe's 2 Previous Studio albums and recognize a clear purpose,This album reminds me of how Eminem released Relapse, it was rushed and it showed. Well, Lasers may have been rushed since the album was finished way before release. The Auto-tune used in this album is so unnecessary and the beats drown out most thought that Lupe's lyrics usually leave you with. I feel like I could listen to Lupe's 2 Previous Studio albums and recognize a clear purpose, I'm not sure this album has one. The Manifesto and this ALBUM are like polar opposites and the few breaks between horrible choruses are the only time Lupe stands out for better (All Black Everything) and for worse (Til I Get There). I bought this album and after listening I realized why it was on sale. I will support this album cause I would have paid for Enemy Of the State: A Love Story or if SLR was on iTunes. Every artist in this era seems to have an auto-tuned covered album bleeding with murdered creativity and oozing conformity, I see this as Lupe's. Hopefully he can bounce back like Em did on Recovery. This Album isn't L.ove A.lways S.hines E.very time R.emember 2 S.mile.... its just Lasers. Expand
  8. Mar 24, 2011
    6
    Lupe Fiasco had the hip-hop world in his grasp with the release of his first two albums, the ecstatic "Food & Liquor" and the lyrically monumental "The Cool". After years of silence, album changes, and teasers, the much anticipated "Lasers" finally came out. Has he created a triangle or immaculate records? Well, no. "Lasers" does not live up to (incredibly overblown) expectations. However,Lupe Fiasco had the hip-hop world in his grasp with the release of his first two albums, the ecstatic "Food & Liquor" and the lyrically monumental "The Cool". After years of silence, album changes, and teasers, the much anticipated "Lasers" finally came out. Has he created a triangle or immaculate records? Well, no. "Lasers" does not live up to (incredibly overblown) expectations. However, it's still an enjoyable album. Lyrically, Lu's dumbed it down (oh irony!), but his message is still clear and straight-forward, easily enough for mainstream audiences to grasp. Some gems on the album, "Till I Get There" or "Coming Up", are very old-skool Lupe; reassuring lyrics laid over a wavy beat. To keep the anarchy-theme in order, "Words I Never Said" and "All Black Everything" may be the most politically charged songs on here, the former screaming profinity at the state of the world while the latter viewed from the perspective of a racially-profiled dream. It's all very compelling, really. However, the weak spots on the album make their way up too often. "Out Of My Head", "State Run Radio" and "I Don't Wanna Care Right Now", thanks to some particularly distracting choruses, are very hard to get into, while "Break The Chain" or "Beautiful Lasers" could've been amazing if not worked on a bit more. Overall, it's a decent effort. However, Lupe seriously needs to reconsider ditching Atlantic and getting back to his roots. You can accept "Lasers" for it's good points (great messages) or let the bad overpower it (production isn't well suited, and featured artists take the spotlight). Right now, you either love this album or hate it. Only time will tell if "Lasers" beams, or flickers into black. Expand
  9. Sep 22, 2011
    5
    This album is no comparison with either of his previous albums. It has been destroyed by electro-beats designed for radio listeners, and lupe's weak lyrics. In fact the only reason this album scored 5 is because of a few amazing tracks hidden in the album, Namely Words I Never Said, and All Black Everything. the fact lupe stated he hated his own album, and that atlantic records made itThis album is no comparison with either of his previous albums. It has been destroyed by electro-beats designed for radio listeners, and lupe's weak lyrics. In fact the only reason this album scored 5 is because of a few amazing tracks hidden in the album, Namely Words I Never Said, and All Black Everything. the fact lupe stated he hated his own album, and that atlantic records made it hard for him to release it redeems this half-baked project a little. However this is not lupe's best work and much of what made him great is very absent.

    Lupe's Comments on Lasers:
    http://www.hiphopdx.com/index/news/id.14228/title.lupe-fiasco-explains-how-compromise-affected-lasers

    http://www.complex.com/music/2011/02/interview-lupe-fiasco-hates-lasers
    Expand
  10. Jun 4, 2011
    5
    First of all a big **** you to Atlantic Records for controlling this record. This is what happens when a Corporate Company controls an Album and this is why the skill of Mainstream Hip Hop is declining. Hip Hop used to be about expression now all these Executives are ruining it. Words I never said, All Black Everything were decent, but I want to imagine what would of happened if AtlanticFirst of all a big **** you to Atlantic Records for controlling this record. This is what happens when a Corporate Company controls an Album and this is why the skill of Mainstream Hip Hop is declining. Hip Hop used to be about expression now all these Executives are ruining it. Words I never said, All Black Everything were decent, but I want to imagine what would of happened if Atlantic Records DIDN'T interfere. Collapse
  11. Jul 1, 2011
    6
    Yes, it's disappointing but people need to stop and accept the album for what it is: a solid pop album. The limited background that I have on the process that went into making this album makes it that much more interesting. I must say that the album drags a little bit in the middle, though. Download "Words I Never Said" and "All Black Everything."
  12. Jun 20, 2013
    4
    Lasers is a weak album from such a talented artist as Lupe. His messages are still here, so his lyrics are great, but the beats just do not work at all. They sound like beats that you will hear on a Kidz Bop CD. "Letting Go", "Words I Never Said", "The Show Goes On", and "All Black Everything" are the few songs that you need.
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    70
    Lupe seems to have accepted that Lasers is not the masterpiece he originally set out to make and is prepared to move on. Maybe we should follow his lead.
  2. 40
    Save for the brief reprieves of the barbed, anti-everything 'Words I Never Said' and the historical rewrite of 'All Black Everything', Lasers walks a fine line between conscious hip-hop and sleepwalking.
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    60
    So the political nails are hidden deeply enough in the candy that sometimes it's hard to tell whether the juxtaposition is truly bracingly subversive or oddly self-defeating. Depending on your mood or disposition, maybe it's neither, either or both. A musical Rorschach test if there ever was one.