Lasers

  • Record Label: Atlantic
  • Release Date: Mar 8, 2011
User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 139 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 139
  2. Negative: 31 out of 139
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 15, 2012
    8
    Not his best album by far, but still a relatively good album compared to everything else out there. Words I Never Said and All Black Everything are the best songs; The Show Goes On is good for a chart-topper. MDMA is horrid, however; he messes up every song he is on.
  2. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    The album isn't as good as Lupe's previous efforts The Cool or Food and Liquor, that doesn't mean it isn't a good album, i think this is easily the best and most inspired rap album put out this decade, and is the best I have heard in 4 years, despite some of the production the album is top notch and the lyrically Lupe should be in everyone's top 5 after hearing his 3 major record label releases
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    Sure, it's a bit more "mainstream" than Lupe's usual works of art but is this really a bad thing? Every song on the album still has Lupe's lyrical genius and silky smooth flow, People overreact like Lupe never had pop choruses in his songs before. Critics seem to be afraid to say that they like the album simply because people already labeled it mainstream and they're just afraid they'llSure, it's a bit more "mainstream" than Lupe's usual works of art but is this really a bad thing? Every song on the album still has Lupe's lyrical genius and silky smooth flow, People overreact like Lupe never had pop choruses in his songs before. Critics seem to be afraid to say that they like the album simply because people already labeled it mainstream and they're just afraid they'll lose their credibility, The highlights are Letting Go and Beautiful Lasers which are incredibly emotional ballads. Even the low point, I dont wanna care right now, although lacking substance, is very catchy and addictive. Even Lupe's worst songs are better and more intelligent than any other song released in the rap market. People, stop being so narrow-minded. You gave Kanye's new album a 90 and all did was autotune how much he wanted to have sex with a bird. - ash Expand
  4. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    Honestly, I can't understand all the negativity around this album. This is seriously the best album I've heard in a long time. Yeah it's obviously not as good as Lupe's first two, but I'm pretty sure that would be close to impossible to achieve! Still a fantastic album and definitely worth a listen. My personal favorites are "Words I Never Said" and "Out Of My Head".
  5. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    The only reason people are saying the album is bad is because Lupe didnt get to pick all the songs that were on here. I kno atlantic records screwed him over. But the truth of the matter is that all the songs on the Album are made by Lupe. And they are all great. There are about 4 or 5 tracks that are extremely exceptional. Words I Never Said, The Show Goes On, All Black Everything, andThe only reason people are saying the album is bad is because Lupe didnt get to pick all the songs that were on here. I kno atlantic records screwed him over. But the truth of the matter is that all the songs on the Album are made by Lupe. And they are all great. There are about 4 or 5 tracks that are extremely exceptional. Words I Never Said, The Show Goes On, All Black Everything, and Beutiful Lasers. All i am saying is that this is a very good album and i dont get how Kanyes newest album is getting better ratings then Lasers. Buy Lasers if u r a true Lupe fan support him its great!! Collapse
  6. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    Lasers is an excellent album, but for a Lupe Fiasco album, it may disappoint some loyal fans. This album is mostly being criticized because of it's more mainstream sound; the production and the pop-ish, autotuned hooks is the source. Yeah, I miss the genius production of Soundtrakk from his previous albums (Food & Liquor and The Cool) too, however that doesn't mean this albums productionLasers is an excellent album, but for a Lupe Fiasco album, it may disappoint some loyal fans. This album is mostly being criticized because of it's more mainstream sound; the production and the pop-ish, autotuned hooks is the source. Yeah, I miss the genius production of Soundtrakk from his previous albums (Food & Liquor and The Cool) too, however that doesn't mean this albums production is horrible which is just as good in my opinion ("Coming Up" might have my favorite production on the album). Some of the hooks are pretty bad, especially the generic Trey Songz hook on "Out of My Head" and the unnecessary auto-tune on some of 'em. The lyrics, are another story. The lyrics are still very intelligent, very Lupe, and overshadow the faults on most of the tracks. So, this is still an amazing album but some long time Lupe fans may be disappointed in the albums new sound. Expand
  7. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    This is a great album. This album has something from every music listener. It might not be as lyrical as his previous album but the lyrics are still top notch. This is a must buy.
  8. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Yes the vehicle is more commercial than the previous efforts but listen to the message. Lupe's message is one of hope and despair. If you're not feelin' it you're not listening.
  9. Mar 14, 2011
    8
    Lasers isn't a horrible as some are making it seem. It's actually good but definitely not Lupe Fiasco's style. As Lupe said on multiple occasions Atlantic kept putting there hands in the mix forcing him to switch up songs and choruses. Which lead to an album that isn't very Lupe. But there are some songs that you can tell are all Lupe such All Black Everything,The Show Goes On, & Words ILasers isn't a horrible as some are making it seem. It's actually good but definitely not Lupe Fiasco's style. As Lupe said on multiple occasions Atlantic kept putting there hands in the mix forcing him to switch up songs and choruses. Which lead to an album that isn't very Lupe. But there are some songs that you can tell are all Lupe such All Black Everything,The Show Goes On, & Words I Should Have Never Said.It sucks because when you hear these songs they give a glimpse on what what Lasers could have been.Like I said the rest of the album isn't horrible but it's not this artist. So before you blame Lupe or call him a sell out, look up the details on the long & tedious road Lupe went down to get this album out. Lasers started off as the next awesome album for Lupe but ended up a road block. So for all the Lupe fans that are saying he sold out or didn't care that false. It's like if you create something but for the next couple of years people keep altering your work and adding their own details, of course it's going to look like your heart was not in it. Mostly because your true work was diminished. Atlantic basically made the album for him. But the good thing is Lasers is finally out and Lupe can work on his next project. Which hopefully is all him. Expand
  10. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    People are completely overreacting to this album. Every single song, regardless of how "poppy or mainstream" people claim they sound, the lyrics are still more relevant, intelligent, and smoother than any rap song I've heard any other artist produce. If we didnt know who Lupe was or give him such high standards, this album would win the Grammys. Sure, its the weakest of the three butPeople are completely overreacting to this album. Every single song, regardless of how "poppy or mainstream" people claim they sound, the lyrics are still more relevant, intelligent, and smoother than any rap song I've heard any other artist produce. If we didnt know who Lupe was or give him such high standards, this album would win the Grammys. Sure, its the weakest of the three but people shouldnt blast it just to feel more accepted by the "underground indie kids" Expand
  11. Mar 26, 2011
    8
    Great album. I haven't heard his older stuff but this album got me into him and i like it a lot. It is a bit mainstream but is has a great feel to the music and the lyrics has meaning unlike crappy lil wayne
  12. Mar 18, 2011
    8
    Although the production is for the most part bad, the album still has amazing lyrics, so if you can look past the poor production its a great album, just focus on the lyrics instead of the beats. Truly a great album
  13. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    food & liquor > lasers > the cool.

    No idea why people are hating this album, took a couple of listens to get into, but now its in my regular playlist.
  14. Jul 2, 2011
    7
    Unfortunately, Lupe didn't seem to have as much creative control over this album, and it definitely showed. Compared to his previous albums, Lasers maintains the same lyricist we all know as Lupe Fiasco, but the songs, beats, featured artist, and hooks for the most part felt... forced. Most fans of Fiasco have stuck with him throughout his entire career, considering the fact that it hasUnfortunately, Lupe didn't seem to have as much creative control over this album, and it definitely showed. Compared to his previous albums, Lasers maintains the same lyricist we all know as Lupe Fiasco, but the songs, beats, featured artist, and hooks for the most part felt... forced. Most fans of Fiasco have stuck with him throughout his entire career, considering the fact that it has only spanned 3 albums. While Lasers isn't horrible, it isn't what most expected of him. With the constant "mainstream sounding" beats and hooks, the album didn't seem like the same Lupe we've all grown to know and love. While this album isn't bad... it could be better. And that "better" album most likely will be his next album: Food & Liquor 2. Expand
  15. Feb 23, 2012
    8
    I hate when rappers rap about Politics. But Lupe made a great point on what the U.S. is doing today. This album is good but I dont wanna care right now i didnt like. But the overall the album is good
  16. Mar 31, 2013
    7
    it's not horrible. some songs are actually good, especially the singles. all black everything could be the best song lupe every did. while some songs are just blah
  17. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    Some don't like this album, and I can see why. Lasers does try to delve into mainstream. However, it doesn't go to far and retains Lupe's trademark lyricism. Second to food and liquor 2
  18. Mar 22, 2015
    9
    9/10 .................................................................................................................................................
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    70
    Lupe seems to have accepted that Lasers is not the masterpiece he originally set out to make and is prepared to move on. Maybe we should follow his lead.
  2. 40
    Save for the brief reprieves of the barbed, anti-everything 'Words I Never Said' and the historical rewrite of 'All Black Everything', Lasers walks a fine line between conscious hip-hop and sleepwalking.
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    60
    So the political nails are hidden deeply enough in the candy that sometimes it's hard to tell whether the juxtaposition is truly bracingly subversive or oddly self-defeating. Depending on your mood or disposition, maybe it's neither, either or both. A musical Rorschach test if there ever was one.