Lasers - Lupe Fiasco
User Score
6.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 71 out of 104
  2. Negative: 21 out of 104

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    The only reason people are saying the album is bad is because Lupe didnt get to pick all the songs that were on here. I kno atlantic records screwed him over. But the truth of the matter is that all the songs on the Album are made by Lupe. And they are all great. There are about 4 or 5 tracks that are extremely exceptional. Words I Never Said, The Show Goes On, All Black Everything, and Beutiful Lasers. All i am saying is that this is a very good album and i dont get how Kanyes newest album is getting better ratings then Lasers. Buy Lasers if u r a true Lupe fan support him its great!! Expand
  2. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    Sure, it's a bit more "mainstream" than Lupe's usual works of art but is this really a bad thing? Every song on the album still has Lupe's lyrical genius and silky smooth flow, People overreact like Lupe never had pop choruses in his songs before. Critics seem to be afraid to say that they like the album simply because people already labeled it mainstream and they're just afraid they'll lose their credibility, The highlights are Letting Go and Beautiful Lasers which are incredibly emotional ballads. Even the low point, I dont wanna care right now, although lacking substance, is very catchy and addictive. Even Lupe's worst songs are better and more intelligent than any other song released in the rap market. People, stop being so narrow-minded. You gave Kanye's new album a 90 and all did was autotune how much he wanted to have sex with a bird. - ash Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2011
    9
    The album isn't as good as Lupe's previous efforts The Cool or Food and Liquor, that doesn't mean it isn't a good album, i think this is easily the best and most inspired rap album put out this decade, and is the best I have heard in 4 years, despite some of the production the album is top notch and the lyrically Lupe should be in everyone's top 5 after hearing his 3 major record label releases
  4. Jun 14, 2011
    9
    Honestly, I can't understand all the negativity around this album. This is seriously the best album I've heard in a long time. Yeah it's obviously not as good as Lupe's first two, but I'm pretty sure that would be close to impossible to achieve! Still a fantastic album and definitely worth a listen. My personal favorites are "Words I Never Said" and "Out Of My Head".
  5. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    This is a great album. This album has something from every music listener. It might not be as lyrical as his previous album but the lyrics are still top notch. This is a must buy.
  6. Mar 8, 2011
    9
    Lasers is an excellent album, but for a Lupe Fiasco album, it may disappoint some loyal fans. This album is mostly being criticized because of it's more mainstream sound; the production and the pop-ish, autotuned hooks is the source. Yeah, I miss the genius production of Soundtrakk from his previous albums (Food & Liquor and The Cool) too, however that doesn't mean this albums production is horrible which is just as good in my opinion ("Coming Up" might have my favorite production on the album). Some of the hooks are pretty bad, especially the generic Trey Songz hook on "Out of My Head" and the unnecessary auto-tune on some of 'em. The lyrics, are another story. The lyrics are still very intelligent, very Lupe, and overshadow the faults on most of the tracks. So, this is still an amazing album but some long time Lupe fans may be disappointed in the albums new sound. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2011
    10
    Yes the vehicle is more commercial than the previous efforts but listen to the message. Lupe's message is one of hope and despair. If you're not feelin' it you're not listening.
  8. Mar 8, 2011
    10
    People are completely overreacting to this album. Every single song, regardless of how "poppy or mainstream" people claim they sound, the lyrics are still more relevant, intelligent, and smoother than any rap song I've heard any other artist produce. If we didnt know who Lupe was or give him such high standards, this album would win the Grammys. Sure, its the weakest of the three but people shouldnt blast it just to feel more accepted by the "underground indie kids" Expand
  9. Jul 7, 2011
    10
    food & liquor > lasers > the cool.

    No idea why people are hating this album, took a couple of listens to get into, but now its in my regular playlist.
  10. Dec 24, 2013
    9
    Some don't like this album, and I can see why. Lasers does try to delve into mainstream. However, it doesn't go to far and retains Lupe's trademark lyricism. Second to food and liquor 2
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Aug 4, 2011
    70
    Lupe seems to have accepted that Lasers is not the masterpiece he originally set out to make and is prepared to move on. Maybe we should follow his lead.
  2. 40
    Save for the brief reprieves of the barbed, anti-everything 'Words I Never Said' and the historical rewrite of 'All Black Everything', Lasers walks a fine line between conscious hip-hop and sleepwalking.
  3. Mar 23, 2011
    60
    So the political nails are hidden deeply enough in the candy that sometimes it's hard to tell whether the juxtaposition is truly bracingly subversive or oddly self-defeating. Depending on your mood or disposition, maybe it's neither, either or both. A musical Rorschach test if there ever was one.