Last Exit

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 46
  2. Negative: 5 out of 46

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ReubenF
    Nov 8, 2006
    3
    Being very introspective music, it is important to like the soul that is communicating to u - I don't. He sounds depressed, weak, timid, cold, pathetic and alienated from humanity. As for the music, it might be beautiful if they would only build the tempo up into an uplifting chorus, but they never do. Maybe I just lack an appreciation for minimalist synth-pop?
  2. maddy
    Jul 26, 2004
    10
    took a few listens before I got it, but it's not left the stereo since
  3. LawrenceP
    Aug 1, 2004
    9
    One of the year's best. Makes me proud to be canadian. My 9 is not bias in any way......well maybe just a little bit.
  4. me
    Aug 2, 2004
    5
    This album is just way too spank!
  5. IvoC
    Feb 7, 2005
    9
    This album is a beauty. The Junior Boys fuse electro with rnb and hints of timbaland-esque beats to concot a sound so melodic that it almost brigs tears to your eyes...or in other cases, sets your pants on fire...
  6. Laura
    May 5, 2005
    9
    Awesome, just saw them at the Bowery Ballroom!!
  7. Dr.Incognito
    Oct 29, 2004
    8
    I've only listened to it a few times, but it's definitely a slice of unique and tasty synth-pop -- in places a bit like an electroclash update of the Blue Nile. One quibble -- the vocals are mixed too low for my tastes on several tracks. Or maybe I'm just going deaf?
  8. PaulK
    Jun 22, 2004
    9
    instantly enticing sound but also a real grower - the emptiness is a strength
  9. Meekayia
    Jul 24, 2004
    9
    I feel bubbly...engulf in a whirlwind of serenity...this is an amazing cd
  10. chadb
    Jul 27, 2004
    3
    Mediocre, really. No way as interesting as The Rapture or The Earlies.
  11. fm
    Aug 16, 2004
    9
    Very good.
  12. du&sku
    Sep 19, 2004
    10
    This is the best record of the year so far; well, at least if would be Loretta Lynn hadn't released her masterpiece this year, but it's definitely #2. Wonderful beatgazing that gets better every time you hear it, should mark an era in a similar way that DJ Shadow's Endtroducing did.
  13. matta
    Aug 29, 2006
    9
    S. Gold can drink my liquid gold. Sorry, that was cheesy. But still, you are a fool. This isn't Joe Pernice dude. Lyrics are not what makes the song in this case; it's all about the smoothness and chilled-out danceablilty of the production. Definitely one of the ten best albums of 2004 and still souds amazing two years later.
  14. MycroftW.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    Absolutely fantastic and I liked the follow-up even better.
  15. [Anonymous]
    Sep 9, 2007
    9
    Overall it's great. The minimal production adds much-needed sheen and elegance to the tired synth-pop formula, and parts, like the beautiful sighs of the title track, take your breath away. But the juxtaposition of quiet, breathy vocals and almost dancefloor-oriented beats sometimes creates an uncomfortable juxtaposition; it's almost as if there's no perfect place to listen Overall it's great. The minimal production adds much-needed sheen and elegance to the tired synth-pop formula, and parts, like the beautiful sighs of the title track, take your breath away. But the juxtaposition of quiet, breathy vocals and almost dancefloor-oriented beats sometimes creates an uncomfortable juxtaposition; it's almost as if there's no perfect place to listen to this record. I'd love for this to be a record to listen to quietly with headphones in the dark, but the sudden stabs of synth often jar me out of the state of total relaxation I feel the album is trying to create. However, the second disc from the US version is absolutely sublime: Unbirthday clears away layers from the original birthday, stripping it down to its beautiful core, and the two remixes are the finest songs I've heard in 2004. So that's an 8 for the first disc and a 10 for the second. Expand
  16. HugoT.
    Apr 1, 2008
    9
    It does sound bit cold but its more of dark ambient atmosphere...I dont see anything wrong on that! That's the way they told their story, I accepted and found this CD totally admirable! Everyone should spent more time with this one. Start with 'Teach me how to fight'!
  17. ronnym
    Nov 14, 2004
    10
    the songwriting and production single this out as one of the most important albums of the decade. people won't realise this for years
  18. waih
    Oct 29, 2004
    2
    I'm with chad b on this - it's some bloke singing along to a drum machine right?
  19. RalphK
    Jun 23, 2004
    9
    A wonderful pastiche of 80s synth-pop, r'n'b, and garage, but not sounding like simply a copy of it's influences, Last Exit is the best album of 2004 so far.
  20. paulm
    Jun 28, 2004
    10
    best album I've heard in years
  21. MIKEN
    Jan 10, 2005
    10
    The best since colder mathew dear goldfrapp better
  22. KjellK
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    Best album I have heard this year!
  23. EricL
    Mar 5, 2005
    10
    The best album I've heard in years
  24. jacobm
    May 20, 2005
    7
    Alltogether it is good music
  25. S.Gold
    Jan 3, 2006
    1
    I tried to like the album, but it sucks not even a good song. Have they even heard of songwriting? It's so sloppy the song lyrics not sexy but terrible, it's an embaresment for IDM or techno or electronica or whatever you call. Beats aren't good or interesting in the least.
  26. JereW
    Jul 18, 2006
    10
    Perfect
  27. BobbyK.
    Sep 7, 2007
    10
    Fantastic. Minimal, electronic with depth and emotion.
  28. jonniec
    Nov 16, 2004
    6
    This cd is a bit spank(to steal from another reviewer), but it is kinda good. The depth is a bit shallow but it is listenable. I am not a big dance music fan as i find it too patronizing for the sake of beats as opposed to intellect. I bought it but am not too excited about the follow up. What am i missing here. Why does this rate so damn high???
  29. MartijnV.
    Dec 26, 2004
    7
    A good production, but I find it to cold, to boring sometimes.
  30. axl
    Aug 24, 2004
    9
    a classic not of it's time
  31. onefellswoop
    Jan 23, 2005
    9
    Great surprise--no doubts about the talent in this band. Evocative of so many others (Sea&Cake, Human League, etc.) yet entirely its own sound. Intelligent lyrics (missed by some...?) and funky grooves...looking forward to more!!!
  32. JohanL
    May 29, 2006
    10
    fantatic
  33. BenC
    Mar 11, 2007
    3
    just really, really really dull - can't understand why it got such good reviews when there is so much more interesting (electronic) music out there.
  34. JamesN
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Gorgeous album. The stark, sorrowful style is one of the most original things to happen in dance music and all of music this year.
  35. Mar 18, 2016
    10
    A truly amazing album, one of my all-time favorites in fact. I really love the sound that Junior Boys have crafted here. It's so unique and interesting, but at the same time so entrancing that I could listen to this for hours on end. The electronic production is amazing, and Jeremy Greenspan's smooth voice compliments it well. Last Exit has a nice dark atmosphere that's so easy to get lostA truly amazing album, one of my all-time favorites in fact. I really love the sound that Junior Boys have crafted here. It's so unique and interesting, but at the same time so entrancing that I could listen to this for hours on end. The electronic production is amazing, and Jeremy Greenspan's smooth voice compliments it well. Last Exit has a nice dark atmosphere that's so easy to get lost in, and it flows from song to song effortlessly. Even 12 years after its release it still sounds wonderful and fresh.

    Standout tracks: Teach Me How To Fight!!!, Birthday, More Than Real
    Expand
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Last Exit is a monumental debut... on par with It’s My Life or Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret.
  2. Entertainment Weekly
    83
    Supple, stylish electro-pop so cool it makes glaciers jealous. [24 Sep 2004, p.106]
  3. Q Magazine
    80
    It's '80s synth-pop in spirit rather than form, miles away from the make-up clad silliness of electroclash and much more interested in muching about with present day technology than simply recreating the past. [Jun 2004, p.98]