Last Exit

Last Exit Image
Metascore
89

Universal acclaim - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is the first full-length release from the hard-to-pin down Canadian synth-pop trio led by Jeremy Greenspan.

Top Track

Teach Me How To Fight
There's some things I forget And if it's wrong, I keep it in check 'Cause what could I do And if we go out tonight With that blood on your shirt And... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Uncut
    100
    It's hard to believe there will be a better record than Last Exit released this year. [Jul 2004, p.102]
  2. Blender
    90
    Presents a rarity--a genuinely new sound. [Nov 2004, p.136]
  3. Last Exit is a monumental debut... on par with It’s My Life or Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret.
  4. It is indeed a soaring achievement, one seemingly without missteps.... In fact, the only drawback of an album this expertly executed is its smoothness.
  5. Q Magazine
    80
    It's '80s synth-pop in spirit rather than form, miles away from the make-up clad silliness of electroclash and much more interested in muching about with present day technology than simply recreating the past. [Jun 2004, p.98]
  6. Last Exit is noteworthy for taking on a sound that's easy to screw up (emoting over synthetic beats) and actually making it work.
  7. What worries me about the obviously talented Junior Boys is their tendency to round their corners. The music is so safe, so pleasant; it's not hard to imagine it in the Starbucks CD rotation without raising an eyebrow.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
  1. Mar 18, 2016
    10
    A truly amazing album, one of my all-time favorites in fact. I really love the sound that Junior Boys have crafted here. It's so unique andA truly amazing album, one of my all-time favorites in fact. I really love the sound that Junior Boys have crafted here. It's so unique and interesting, but at the same time so entrancing that I could listen to this for hours on end. The electronic production is amazing, and Jeremy Greenspan's smooth voice compliments it well. Last Exit has a nice dark atmosphere that's so easy to get lost in, and it flows from song to song effortlessly. Even 12 years after its release it still sounds wonderful and fresh.

    Standout tracks: Teach Me How To Fight!!!, Birthday, More Than Real
    Expand
  2. JamesN
    Dec 26, 2004
    10
    Gorgeous album. The stark, sorrowful style is one of the most original things to happen in dance music and all of music this year.
  3. JohanL
    May 29, 2006
    10
    fantatic
  4. LawrenceP
    Aug 1, 2004
    9
    One of the year's best. Makes me proud to be canadian. My 9 is not bias in any way......well maybe just a little bit.
  5. IvoC
    Feb 7, 2005
    9
    This album is a beauty. The Junior Boys fuse electro with rnb and hints of timbaland-esque beats to concot a sound so melodic that it almost This album is a beauty. The Junior Boys fuse electro with rnb and hints of timbaland-esque beats to concot a sound so melodic that it almost brigs tears to your eyes...or in other cases, sets your pants on fire... Expand
  6. Dr.Incognito
    Oct 29, 2004
    8
    I've only listened to it a few times, but it's definitely a slice of unique and tasty synth-pop -- in places a bit like an I've only listened to it a few times, but it's definitely a slice of unique and tasty synth-pop -- in places a bit like an electroclash update of the Blue Nile. One quibble -- the vocals are mixed too low for my tastes on several tracks. Or maybe I'm just going deaf? Collapse
  7. S.Gold
    Jan 3, 2006
    1
    I tried to like the album, but it sucks not even a good song. Have they even heard of songwriting? It's so sloppy the song lyrics not I tried to like the album, but it sucks not even a good song. Have they even heard of songwriting? It's so sloppy the song lyrics not sexy but terrible, it's an embaresment for IDM or techno or electronica or whatever you call. Beats aren't good or interesting in the least. Expand

See all 35 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.