Last Night on Earth - Noah and the Whale
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Mar 15, 2011
    83
    The Last Night On Earth might leave some of Noah & The Whale's old audience behind, but the band appears to be headed in the right direction.
  2. 83
    Fink's still a thoughtful guy with angst to spare but his new tunes inch happily toward pop.
  3. May 2, 2011
    80
    A high-risk strategy, then, but one that largely succeeds thanks to Fink's languid delivery. [Apr 2011, p.103]
  4. Apr 22, 2011
    80
    It's a near-total reinvention, and a triumph. [Apr 2011, p.98]
  5. Mar 11, 2011
    80
    It won't be everyone's cup of tea but this could well be a guilty pop pleasure for many.
  6. 80
    Overall, a confident, clear-headed quantum leap beyond their previous work.
  7. Mar 11, 2011
    80
    Heartfelt, spirited, lyrical, moody and mostly magnificent pop rock.
  8. Mar 11, 2011
    80
    This one bristles with a sense of hope and possibility.
  9. Mar 11, 2011
    80
    One might have feared the results of this latest iteration, but Last Night on Earth is a sparkling piece of work.
  10. Mar 11, 2011
    80
    With Last Days on Earth, the persistently-versatile Noah continue to set to music those picturebooks of get-togethers, easy plateaus and break-ups that we've all got stored in our heads and add to year-on-year – and, in the process, they've managed to forge some great big tunes. More or less irresistible.
  11. 80
    They've made a sincere, unironic record about how great life can be if you want it to be.
  12. Mar 16, 2011
    76
    Once again British indie-folksters Noah and the Whale have outdone themselves and created a beautiful, inspiring album that differs from their previous two releases while at the same time maintaining classic, familiar characteristics.
  13. While fans of the band's previous albums might find fault in Last Night on Earth's less cluttered, electronica-tinged songwriting, it is Fink's simple songs and flexible voice that carry the most enjoyment.
  14. Mar 15, 2011
    70
    At times, the band appears single-minded in its determination to turn over a new rock, and the album suffers whenever Last Night on Earth focuses on presentation -- the polished production, the overdubbed handclaps -- instead of content.
  15. Mar 14, 2011
    70
    Far from Noah & The Whale lagging behind their popular folk peers, with Last Night On Earth the band are finally punching above their weight to create a sound that's altogether new and wholly theirs.
  16. Mar 11, 2011
    70
    Essentially this is an album about escapism, whether it's from a city (as in Tonight's The Kind Of Night) or the place in life that these characters find themselves.
  17. Mar 11, 2011
    70
    Pairing dreamy synths and tight riffs, the result is confident and exhilarating.
  18. 70
    The record sounds tailored for mass consumption, which means every song packs a melodic doozie and indomitably contrived storylines about soldiering on while our world threatens to spin off its axis.
  19. Mar 22, 2011
    60
    To wit, Last Night is tailor made to be a guilty pleasure album. And, in this case, that is not a bad thing. [Feb 2011, p.66]
  20. Apr 6, 2011
    50
    Noah And The Whale would have done better to focus on the more organic sound they became quite good at than become just another forgettable crossover act.
  21. Mar 14, 2011
    50
    Even at their best, though, Noah and the Whale struggle to overcome a trying-too-hard odor that permeates everything they do right down to that ill-advised band name.
  22. Apr 4, 2011
    40
    Noah and the Whale have yet to find their way. Maybe by album number four, they will cease emulating and start evoking.
  23. 40
    Noah and the Whale are a fine band, but they seem to have lost their direction.
  24. Mar 29, 2011
    40
    The musicianship is slick enough, but if you thought their salt-of-the-earth fiddly folkie pose was a bit iffy, this is a whole new level of phoney. [Apr 2011, p.89]
  25. 40
    What this album is lacking is excitement and conflict, originality and surprise.
  26. Even if it's a joke, it's a joke you don't wanna hear.
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    this is an album that grew on me overtime at first i was extremely disappointed as it went away from NatW earlier sounds but after a couple of listens it turned into a personal favorite of mine Full Review »
  2. May 1, 2011
    8
    I don't get it. At all. I should hate this. But for some reason I can't stop listening to it. It's like taking a stroll through my own childhood. I liked NATW's first album. The second I haven't given enough time but it seems too self indulgent to bother with. This is a complete departure. But it's weirdly good. I laughed openly the first time I heard it. But now I kind of crave it. Musically there's nothing new but that's part of the charm. It'll be interesting to see where Noah and the Whale go next. Full Review »
  3. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    No it's not like their previous efforts and yes this may scare off some fans but it has some amazing lyrics and is the best albums of the year so far in my opinion. Tom Petty lives on and Charlie Fink is an excellent custodian. Full Review »