Last Night on Earth

  • Record Label: Mercury
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2011
Metascore
67

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
Buy On
  1. Under The Radar
    Mar 22, 2011
    60
    To wit, Last Night is tailor made to be a guilty pleasure album. And, in this case, that is not a bad thing. [Feb 2011, p.66]
  2. Apr 6, 2011
    50
    Noah And The Whale would have done better to focus on the more organic sound they became quite good at than become just another forgettable crossover act.
  3. Mar 14, 2011
    50
    Even at their best, though, Noah and the Whale struggle to overcome a trying-too-hard odor that permeates everything they do right down to that ill-advised band name.
  4. Apr 4, 2011
    40
    Noah and the Whale have yet to find their way. Maybe by album number four, they will cease emulating and start evoking.
  5. 40
    Noah and the Whale are a fine band, but they seem to have lost their direction.
  6. Uncut
    Mar 29, 2011
    40
    The musicianship is slick enough, but if you thought their salt-of-the-earth fiddly folkie pose was a bit iffy, this is a whole new level of phoney. [Apr 2011, p.89]
  7. 40
    What this album is lacking is excitement and conflict, originality and surprise.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 11 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Nov 3, 2011
    8
    this is an album that grew on me overtime at first i was extremely disappointed as it went away from NatW earlier sounds but after a couple ofthis is an album that grew on me overtime at first i was extremely disappointed as it went away from NatW earlier sounds but after a couple of listens it turned into a personal favorite of mine Full Review »
  2. May 1, 2011
    8
    I don't get it. At all. I should hate this. But for some reason I can't stop listening to it. It's like taking a stroll through my ownI don't get it. At all. I should hate this. But for some reason I can't stop listening to it. It's like taking a stroll through my own childhood. I liked NATW's first album. The second I haven't given enough time but it seems too self indulgent to bother with. This is a complete departure. But it's weirdly good. I laughed openly the first time I heard it. But now I kind of crave it. Musically there's nothing new but that's part of the charm. It'll be interesting to see where Noah and the Whale go next. Full Review »
  3. Mar 28, 2011
    10
    No it's not like their previous efforts and yes this may scare off some fans but it has some amazing lyrics and is the best albums of the yearNo it's not like their previous efforts and yes this may scare off some fans but it has some amazing lyrics and is the best albums of the year so far in my opinion. Tom Petty lives on and Charlie Fink is an excellent custodian. Full Review »