Late Registration

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 817 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 817

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    Wake up Mr. West cause you gave a an incredible album to enjoy for days to come. The amount of effort that was put into this album shines in the best tracks of the LP.
    Best Tracks:
    Heard 'Em Say (Feat. Adam Levine)
    Gold Digger (Feat. Jamie Foxx)
    Hey Mama
    Drive Slow (Feat. Paul Wall & GLC)
    We Major (Feat Nas & Really Doe)
    Diamonds From Sierra Leone (Feat Jay-Z)
    And all the Skits.
  2. JJTeda
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    "Kanye is killing the game very bad" Excellence, brilliance and genius are some words that come to mind when listening to Late Registration. Production, top class and lyrics shaped perfectly to the tracks with meaning to spar. Whether you want to "Touch The Sky" or just call you mom and say "Hey Mama" Late Registration has it all, and does it well.
  3. onelove
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Is Kanye West arrogant?--Yes. But, it Late Registration a classic?---Hell, emphatically yes! Although, he is arrogant Ii applaud and respect him as a musician because Kanye is extremely creative and fearless--when it comes to expressing his thoughts in his music. Jesus Walks!!!! Come on, how many rappers would have the courage and aptitude to express themselves about such a sensitive Is Kanye West arrogant?--Yes. But, it Late Registration a classic?---Hell, emphatically yes! Although, he is arrogant Ii applaud and respect him as a musician because Kanye is extremely creative and fearless--when it comes to expressing his thoughts in his music. Jesus Walks!!!! Come on, how many rappers would have the courage and aptitude to express themselves about such a sensitive topic. We Major (featuring Nas) is absolutely flawless! H Expand
  4. Kev
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    College Dropout was probably better, but this is more listenable in the long run. Selected tracks: Heard Em Say, Touch The Sky, Drive Slow, Addiction, Diamonds (remix and bonus), and Gone.
  5. KanyeFan
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    This amount of effort deserves as much praise as possible. This is a perfect album.
  6. TheLove
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    great album...so more sublime and mature then the first one and well thats what hip-hop needs instead of club bangers and talking about beefs between artist and drugs.
  7. ryant
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    Pure genous. I dont get why people dont like his lyrics, they are still so much better than a lot of other rappers. Not to mention the production,which is amazing.Great album
  8. CaitM
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    This album continues to revolutionize the hip-hop world. the instrumental aspect is amazing and includes instruments that have never been found on a hip-hop album. and with kanye's lyrics... easily the best hip-hop album of this year and probably for a real long time. multiple grammy winner? i believe so
  9. delond
    Sep 12, 2005
    9
    I like this album for the different beats and lyrics. Kanyes delivery in roses and celebration show that he has gotten better as an artist. I love the beats for there uniqueness and originality. The instruments in heard em say and touch the sky are great and slow down and we major are two of the best songs ive heard this year...Kanye may have got passed the sophmore jinx and made a better I like this album for the different beats and lyrics. Kanyes delivery in roses and celebration show that he has gotten better as an artist. I love the beats for there uniqueness and originality. The instruments in heard em say and touch the sky are great and slow down and we major are two of the best songs ive heard this year...Kanye may have got passed the sophmore jinx and made a better album then his first Expand
  10. MBerner
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    "10" doesn't even put into perspective the quality of the album...The best album of the year and one of the best over the past decade in any genre...A true album that you can pop in the cd player and just let it play through without having to keep hitting skip after every other song...The best production possibly ever on a hip-hop cd and the lyrical content isn't far "10" doesn't even put into perspective the quality of the album...The best album of the year and one of the best over the past decade in any genre...A true album that you can pop in the cd player and just let it play through without having to keep hitting skip after every other song...The best production possibly ever on a hip-hop cd and the lyrical content isn't far behind...The first time i heard it i almost couldn't believe this music was created for rap because it almost sounds like a piece of classical music...Each song flows from one to the next but has its own identity as well as they each touch on a different topic...The only small piece i didn't feel on this album i did on College Dropout was the pure originality as this seemed more carefully crafted and in some ways almost too good if that's possible...Nevertheless definitly deserves all the hype and a grammy for album of the year!!! A piece of work that you will be able to play 20 years from now and still appreciate the music...Cant wait for "Graduation" and the song with John Mayer "Bittersweet"...A true gift of art that i will cherish for ever...God Bless Expand
  11. johnniem
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    This cd is hot but it's not better than his first cd
  12. alice
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    amazin album
  13. lewanl
    Nov 16, 2005
    9
    these songs were really god maybe because im a big fan lol so yeh its pretty good hope you get it its good
  14. dave
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    HADDOOOOOOOOGET
  15. Jun 18, 2013
    10
    From one of rap's best debuts to one of it's greatest follow-ups, not to mention, one of the best albums to ever spawn from the genre. Stylistically and sonically a step-up from it's predecessor, undoubtedly from the help of "Jon Brion on the keys". "Touch The Sky", "Celebration", "We Major", "Gone", an album all about showing off and livin' it up, in all it's glory and in all it's folly,From one of rap's best debuts to one of it's greatest follow-ups, not to mention, one of the best albums to ever spawn from the genre. Stylistically and sonically a step-up from it's predecessor, undoubtedly from the help of "Jon Brion on the keys". "Touch The Sky", "Celebration", "We Major", "Gone", an album all about showing off and livin' it up, in all it's glory and in all it's folly, it's jealously and it's unintended victims, "Gold Digger", "Addiction", "Bring Me Down", "Diamonds From Sierra Leone". From "putting those hazard lights on" picking up girls with "Drive Slow", to realizing and understanding that "Nothing lasts forever" and even though "it hurts", that "it may be the only way" on the street-poet-spilling-his-heart "Heard Em Say", to the soft, sweet, love-filled ode to his Mom "Hey Mama", this album found me really appreciating all the tracks not just for them in themselves, but what they added to the whole. Classic Album. 9.5/10 Expand
  16. Oct 11, 2013
    10
    Late Reg is Kanye's greatest work.
    Best songs:
    Heard Em Say
    Touch the Sky
    Drive Slow
    Roses
    Addiction
    We Major
    Hey Mama
    GONE
    Diamonds from Sierra Leone
    But the whole album is incredible.
  17. Matt
    Oct 23, 2005
    7
    Overall it's good, but disappointing and somewhat boring. It's the best mainstream hip-hop you can get.
  18. CabeM
    Jan 20, 2006
    7
    For the most part it's a good album until you get to Crack Music. What the hell is that it's the worst song i've ever heard in my life. This should not be a Universal Acclaim.
  19. Kenny
    Sep 3, 2005
    7
    Kanye's back! When listening, I thought a lot of the beats were really great: new and not overdone. But, compared to his first album, The College Dropout, Kanye West fails to deliver the same lyrical impact and the 'all-star cast' that make appearances on Late Registration only lowers the album. Still it's a great album... and Rolling Stone is really messed up. Kanye's back! When listening, I thought a lot of the beats were really great: new and not overdone. But, compared to his first album, The College Dropout, Kanye West fails to deliver the same lyrical impact and the 'all-star cast' that make appearances on Late Registration only lowers the album. Still it's a great album... and Rolling Stone is really messed up. (College Dropout 3 1/2 stars; Late Registration 5 stars!!) They can't recognize true talent and rely completely on hype. Expand
  20. mikes
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    this is incredible!!
  21. pepef
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    a classic!
  22. JakobH
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Theres not a single track on this cd that you just skip by... All tracks are superb!
  23. JoeBlowJob
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    HOW CAN YOU ANYONE GIVE THIS LOWER THAN A NINE!!!!!! this is sure to be a classic album like his first album college dropout!!!! Can't wait for the next one
  24. GregM
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable Hip Hop Album. A new standard in Hip Hop excellence.
  25. antonl
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    amazing. musical genious
  26. FHarris
    Aug 30, 2005
    8
    Kanye gives a solid approach at greatness but falls short. Many of the tracks are great, but a few too many are just blah.
  27. pepef
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    a classic!
  28. GLENDAM
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    In a class by himself!
  29. daniels
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    listen to this now, because once it hits the radio it will be played so much you might get tired of it.
  30. seanb
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    almost better than the first wich is about a 15 on my scale but sitl no one can touch him.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Late Registration's salvation (and, undoubtedly, Kanye's own) are when it basks in the sunshine after the rain.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    90
    Each of these songs offers more exquisite details than I could earmark in twice this space, many of them literary, which the English prof's dropout son rightly claims as his calling. But secret brilliance is more likely to emerge from the sops to his hip-hop base.
  3. Late Registration can't replicate the novelty of last year's College Dropout, but otherwise, this is an impressively more mature and labored-over album.