Late Registration

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 805 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 805

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mrs.West
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    I give Late Registration a 10!!! There is not a single bad song on this CD, it includes original beats, ill rhymes, and creative concepts, what more is needed? He is the only hip hop artist who is not talking about how many ho's he f**ked, and how many brothas he killed, Kan' deserves many props for such a album. He even talks about stuff that people need to hear and stuff that I give Late Registration a 10!!! There is not a single bad song on this CD, it includes original beats, ill rhymes, and creative concepts, what more is needed? He is the only hip hop artist who is not talking about how many ho's he f**ked, and how many brothas he killed, Kan' deserves many props for such a album. He even talks about stuff that people need to hear and stuff that other artists are to afraid to approach, scared for their reputation, such as in the song "Roses", Kan' says " You know the best medicine go to people thats paid, If Magic Johnson got a cure for A.I.D.'s And all the broke muthafu**as past away You tellin me if my grandma was in the N.B.A. Right now she'd be ok? But since she was just a secretary Working for the church For thirty five years Things sposed to stop right here." Do you know of any other artists who would sing about that? I think not.....Kanye gets a well deserved 10! Expand
  2. LDot
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Brilliant.
  3. SLatrelle
    Dec 18, 2005
    10
    Man you've got to be either stupid or the un-informed percentage of people who don't understand hip hop. Man I've strived my entire life to write, record, and perform music; and I am very good. This guy, Kanye West, is a genius and a living legend in our midst and all people can say is that he's ARROGANT!!!!!! Ever heard of Mozart; I'm sure you have...and by the Man you've got to be either stupid or the un-informed percentage of people who don't understand hip hop. Man I've strived my entire life to write, record, and perform music; and I am very good. This guy, Kanye West, is a genius and a living legend in our midst and all people can say is that he's ARROGANT!!!!!! Ever heard of Mozart; I'm sure you have...and by the way....he was stubborn and arrogant. But guess what....it doesn't negate the fact that he was a d_mn genius. If you want to know what hip hop really is BUY THIS ALBUM!!!!! This gentleman, West, has lyrics that are street and conscious but hip and still clever--Amazing! And Honestly, I don't know if his beats are better than his lyrics....and you KNOW he's a hip hop beat guru. I'll say this and put every thing on it......Right now this man represents the highest level of evolution for Rap Music. He single handedly changed the SOUND of Hip Hop. He managed to muscle in that so so familiar college-boy dress code. Dude got a mascot. Again, lyrics are premium. Plus he's got persiverence like no other....remember THROUGH THE WIRE. People......if you ain't gon' give this album a 10, don't bother to vote. Go review some plain Rap like Baby a.k.a. Birdman, or Master P, or some other shallow-content music. Finally, let me say this. I'm growing as a Christian day after day. So, I don't agree with everything West says in his music. But I believe that his music is shaping and foreshadowing music to come; and not just Rap. Music will become more positive and conscious and and at the same time it'll be hip. Or at least I'm hoping. God Bless everyone. P.S. If you're reviewing an album DON'T say that a song is not good b/c of a chorus or a particular melody; that's being presumptuous. These songs are works of art so you just have to listen an learn to enjoy them for what they are. That's like looking at a van Gogh and saying...."Huh, its a pity that he didn't use more green in this picture." An artist can do what he wants to do its his art, you just have to appreciate his artistic expression. Artists aren't interested in making songs the way you like to hear them, they're expressing THEIR gifts not yours. Peace!!! For real this time. Expand
  4. James>>>
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    It is just great
  5. MarshallM
    Oct 22, 2005
    8
    some reallly good songs, but not better then his other album. " bush doesn't care about black people!" pshh, idiot.
  6. RichardJ
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    First up I'm old school. But my kids are big hip hop fans. And when something is good it does get my attention too. I try to relate to them to have a good ear and develop good tastes in every aspect of their lives. I remind them of the disco age and how some of that music is so ignorable now, (they wonder how could you have listened to THAT) but the same the is true for so much of First up I'm old school. But my kids are big hip hop fans. And when something is good it does get my attention too. I try to relate to them to have a good ear and develop good tastes in every aspect of their lives. I remind them of the disco age and how some of that music is so ignorable now, (they wonder how could you have listened to THAT) but the same the is true for so much of the music that's rammed down their throats today. Toxic waste ain't good for the body or the mind. Industies have profitted off people for generations by dumping pure trash on people. And such is the state of the entertainment industry also. As long as I'm getting paid, is the motto, I guess. Sooner or later, in time I knew a great musician would come along for thier generation and have something to offer them, that wasn't destrucion of them (body & soul) for profit. Upon first listening of first John Legend's first CD, then later Kanye's own Late Registration, over and over..... and over. I just got around to listening to the College Dropout CD, so I'm definitely not comparing one to the other.I think that the musician and the next wave of conscious and creative thought provoking and concerned musicians may have arrived. I think sometimes music critics, like movie critics have subjected themselves to far too much of inferior product to know the real thing when they see it sometime. Yeah, I been waiting for "THE ONE". Expand
  7. TomYeC
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    Yes..."what more could you ask for?...the international a**hole..."....Kanye West backed up College Dropout with a BANG!!!! 10.5/10 A must in any CD collection....Definitely a classic....Kanye the best thing that ever happened to Soul/Hip Hop since Baby Face...
  8. ChristopherA
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Great. Fantastic beats, and brilliant production/string arrangements from Jon Brion. Kanye deserves all the acclaim he receives. "Gone" shines as a daring accomplishment.
  9. adriano
    Oct 5, 2005
    8
    Top Stuff, so laid back and what real hip hop is about. Rather than hearing about artists continously blabbering on about cars, bitches, and money Kanye adreeses some real issues Even with a mainstream tune like Golddigger man still gets his word across. 'My way home' could have been such a better tune if common and kanye himself had done another 2 verses, such a tease!
  10. AndreW
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    I have a masters in music (majoring in popular music) and I have listening to hip-hop for over 15 years, so I am more than qualified to review this album. To say it is the best album this year is an understatment.
  11. RaulJ
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    Awesome
  12. RossA
    Aug 26, 2005
    8
    Kanye doesn't belong above Sufjan Stevens. Seriously.
  13. mizzod
    Aug 26, 2005
    6
    ok, a little dissapointed considering college dropout was so good and common's BE was so sonically sublime, an overated rapper kanye is! enough with the sampling already!
  14. [Anonymous]
    Aug 26, 2005
    8
    not as good as the college dropout, but still sits above most hip-hop records, a slower record than the colege dropout, not as fun or as gripping, but very thoughtful, I hope the next one is more lively and fun
  15. JoeL
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    Kanye you did it again!!!Album of the year.Jay-Z handed the torch to Kanye and he is running away with it!!!!
  16. phill
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    I don't understand how anyone can say this album is not as good as his debut. The production is crisper and the samples are better. In the first album, the guest stars often seemed out of place (i.e. Never let me Down, Breathe In, Breathe Out), where as now Kanye can even take the bland vocals of Levine and make them fit into his style. Kanye is doing things with rap music that have I don't understand how anyone can say this album is not as good as his debut. The production is crisper and the samples are better. In the first album, the guest stars often seemed out of place (i.e. Never let me Down, Breathe In, Breathe Out), where as now Kanye can even take the bland vocals of Levine and make them fit into his style. Kanye is doing things with rap music that have never been done before. Listen to the piano and strings breakdown around 3:30 in Gone (when was the last time a rap song had a piano and string breakdown). All in all, this is one of the best albums of the year, up there with Arular and yes, Sufjan Stevens' Illinois. Expand
  17. SamL
    Aug 27, 2005
    7
    Solid album, but nowhere near being a classic.
  18. TomK
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    Best Rap album of the year
  19. NickH
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    Brilliant. It could have done without all those skits, however... maybe one, but not five.
  20. KateL
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Yeah, Kanye samples a lot. So do a lot of hip-hop producers. What I find so brilliant about this album is how much the way he uses his samples has changed. On College Dropout, he built a collage with samples; on Late Registration, they are instruments in his orchestra. And come on, previous commenters. As if it even makes sense to compare Sufjan and Kanye on a linear integer scale!
  21. ColinT
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    Considering all the buzz about this album, there would be much to be disappointed from. But like any reasonably good album, you just need to hear it for what it is, which is a rather good follow up to an excellent (if not flawed) album. Its clear that Kanye has noticed the criticism about his rapping ability and anyone that has heard one of his freestyles as of late knows this cat can Considering all the buzz about this album, there would be much to be disappointed from. But like any reasonably good album, you just need to hear it for what it is, which is a rather good follow up to an excellent (if not flawed) album. Its clear that Kanye has noticed the criticism about his rapping ability and anyone that has heard one of his freestyles as of late knows this cat can rap. As for production its refreshing to see sampling on such a mainstream record. Perhaps its the confidence he justifiable has after Collage Dropout, but Kanye's beats have become much more simplified then the often overly produced songs on the previous (See: We Don't Care). Also refreshing is the absence of boring Rims and Ice rap, though it has been replaced with a more Pop attitude. The only truly disappointing tracks are Bring Me Down, where the washed up diva Brandy sings over 2/3rds of the song, and the orginal Diamonds which is easily surpassed by the remix. Overall this might just be the best billboard rap cd of the year, and yes thats an empty compliment, but with acts like Dangerdoom coming up its one worth accepting. Expand
  22. Scooby
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    gave it a 10...this album is musically light years ahead of CD. Lyrically kanye will NEVER be able to match his production talent, but the latter half makes up for the former. And as for "Ross", please tell me why Kanye cant be higher than Sufjen...do hint a bit of bias?
  23. ss
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    this album flows smoothly from start 2 finish kanyes juss killin the rap game right now Best tracks:diamonds, crack music, touch the sky
  24. StuT
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    This is way better than Sufjan could ever hope to be, unless Kanye produces their next album. The hype is not doing the album justice. It is the best album of the year bar none.
  25. ByronM
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    Well if 10=100. Well I have to give this album a 9 which is a 90 on metacritic which is still AMAZING for an hip-hop album out now. This album is AMAZING. I think its slightly better than The College Dropout. His lyrical content has gotten a lot better and I think he uses his samples better with this album. I do agree though by next week...the album will probably drop to like an 88 but Well if 10=100. Well I have to give this album a 9 which is a 90 on metacritic which is still AMAZING for an hip-hop album out now. This album is AMAZING. I think its slightly better than The College Dropout. His lyrical content has gotten a lot better and I think he uses his samples better with this album. I do agree though by next week...the album will probably drop to like an 88 but like I said...still AMAZING for an hip-hop album. Kanye is a legend in the making. Expand
  26. whb
    Aug 29, 2005
    7
    This generation's Bob Dylan? Is someone smoking Crack Music? Jon Brion's production is great, but Kanye's is all over the place. One minute he's socially conscious in "Diamonds" and the next minute he lets Jay-Z come on to rap about how great he is. Kanye is way to pretentious and arrogant. But he makes a good record.
  27. bobd
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    this is the best album of this year ! the man is amazing and i cant wait til the next 1 !
  28. MikeB
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    Kanye West is a brilliant new talent and with this album proves that he is not only evolving hip-hop but also giving it class and sophistication that is sadly missing from other rap acts. A pioneer in every respect and a powerful album that has fantastic music, every track is great. Standouts include the funky 'Gold Digger', the emotional 'Hey Mama', the epic 'We Kanye West is a brilliant new talent and with this album proves that he is not only evolving hip-hop but also giving it class and sophistication that is sadly missing from other rap acts. A pioneer in every respect and a powerful album that has fantastic music, every track is great. Standouts include the funky 'Gold Digger', the emotional 'Hey Mama', the epic 'We Major' and the beautiful 'Gone'. Something here for everyone and by far and away this years best album that'll mark as a highlight of this decade. This generations Bob Dylan has arrived. Expand
  29. TripleL
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    WOW, I can't stop listening to this album. I don't know how anyone can give this less than a 10. It's an 11!!! All tracks are potential singles, incredible!
  30. JoshN
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    kanye is a musical genius. he uses other artists and different types of sound to create an album for the ages. this album is the epitamy of brilliance and kanye is just beginning to show that he is "pop." If you dont believe me, just listen to the cd and its brilliance.
  31. drep
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    best hip hop cd of the year!
  32. jyotirmayad
    Aug 31, 2005
    2
    Contrived and boring -- can't seem to decided if he wants to do rap music or other kinds of music.
  33. APB
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    18 songs. just about everyone is great. how could you not like this album?
  34. Kingcosmos
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    with the quality of rap nowadays slowly reducing( g-unit being its main garbage contributors)..here comes a man with more than good lyrics and beats, Kanye west.... a Musical Genious. You can hear the class and quality(jon brion) in this one. If you are not a big rap fan( and I cat blame you) i wud strongly advice you to pick up this kanye album! not because its good rap! because it is with the quality of rap nowadays slowly reducing( g-unit being its main garbage contributors)..here comes a man with more than good lyrics and beats, Kanye west.... a Musical Genious. You can hear the class and quality(jon brion) in this one. If you are not a big rap fan( and I cat blame you) i wud strongly advice you to pick up this kanye album! not because its good rap! because it is good music! Expand
  35. edfromtoronto
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    kanye has just dropped the album of the year. amazing
  36. CoreyC
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    "Heard Em' Say" is one of the best hip-hop tracks i've ever heard.
  37. JimmyH
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Everytime an album is applauded, people gotta say, "It's not the great." This is commonly know as "hatin."' Late Registration is worth every single dollar you spend on it. Most artists can't produce one entire album of good songs - Kanye has done it twice.
  38. Lavaluca
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    you probably have heard this already, but this album is definatly worth a 10. Rap is not just about cussing and sex, and this album shows that there is more. its somthin that most albums fail in greatly. this album like he said in Diamonds From Sierra Leone, "You got to love somebody still speaks from his soul"
  39. mikeb
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    best rapper out right now! and also exceptional album!
  40. yuyuiy
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    everythin in this album is perfect except for the beat of hey mamma but little defect is over shined by everything else
  41. JohnW
    Aug 30, 2005
    9
    To start, "Heard 'Em Say" is the hip-hop track of the year. This CD is almost perfect, with the exclusion of the tracks "Drive Slow" and "Crack Music" being slightly mediocre because they're just not Kanye. Everything else is gold. Highlights are Heard 'Em Say, Diamonds, Roses, Bring Me Down and Hey Mama. Buy this album.
  42. RODNEYS
    Sep 1, 2005
    6
    Ok, so we have the following hot songs: #1 Golddigger #2 Diamonds Remix w/Jay Z #3 Um... #4 Hmmm...? #5 I guess track #2 is ok... you know, what's it called? Well, the point is that other than the tracks featuring help from Jamie Foxx and Jay Z, this album IS overrated and forgettable.
  43. Reignstorm_UK
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    Best Hip Hop Album out right now>>>>>Scratch that best album for 2005. Talk your noise Kanye, you are a genius. This is not just an album, it's a soundscape....better yet a soundtrack for life......Thanks for making great music Ye!
  44. EricE
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    This is the best rap album I've heard in a few years. Doing something hip hop dosen't do anymore, experiment. Kanye takes rap to another level on this album. And anyone who thinks otherwise must be hip hop impared. Heard'em Say wakes not only Mr. West but also all the ne-sayers who said that he couldn't do it again. With the help of Jon Brion, who backs Kanye with live This is the best rap album I've heard in a few years. Doing something hip hop dosen't do anymore, experiment. Kanye takes rap to another level on this album. And anyone who thinks otherwise must be hip hop impared. Heard'em Say wakes not only Mr. West but also all the ne-sayers who said that he couldn't do it again. With the help of Jon Brion, who backs Kanye with live instruments, Kanye has become that legend in the making. It's the Roc. Expand
  45. AlexC
    Sep 11, 2005
    9
    KW has redefined rap music with this killer album. I don't appreciate much rap music, especially modern rap, but for some reason this album just hits me like a freight train. His lyrics are self-reflective rather than self-assured, and the music is simply magnificent (particularly his use of brass instruments).
  46. Al.
    Sep 11, 2005
    9
    I really have no idea why anyone wouldn't like this album honestly,unless they are having problems with their hearing.its way better than 95 percent of the major release this year or i could say these few years.Someone just can't bear to witness good things happening to others so they just have to induced some negativity,Yeah like those who gave this album less than an 8.
  47. RyanF
    Sep 1, 2005
    9
    This is a great album! So many rap and hip-hop albums are full of filler. Not this one. Every track is an excellent tune (except the skits, but even those are hilarious). I can't get that "Gold Digger" song out of my head! "We Major" is also great, with super cool brassy horn samples, and Nas (who would have guessed it?) dropping some great lyrics. Get this album!
  48. carlt
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    mas-ter-piece. don't bother with those indie reviewers who know nothing about hip hop, or those silly enough to complain about kanye's rapping. this isn't rap, it's pop. brilliant pop.
  49. SlaqishaB
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    Yo yo yo yo, this record is slammin know what I'm sayin? I axed my sista if she buyed this record yet and she said no and I said giiiiiiiiiiiirl you best be goin to WallMart to get this right quick, know what I'm sayin? And whoever this "Gnarles" is he don't know jack about music. Who is "Gnarles" anyway? Is he some Nebraska white boy, know what I'm saying? When my Yo yo yo yo, this record is slammin know what I'm sayin? I axed my sista if she buyed this record yet and she said no and I said giiiiiiiiiiiirl you best be goin to WallMart to get this right quick, know what I'm sayin? And whoever this "Gnarles" is he don't know jack about music. Who is "Gnarles" anyway? Is he some Nebraska white boy, know what I'm saying? When my babys daddy comes home I can't wait for him to listen with me, straight up. PEACE Expand
  50. chris`V.
    Sep 10, 2005
    9
    it is a good cd
  51. Mattc
    Sep 12, 2005
    9
    This cd works because its not like his first. He changes it up and makes a completely different record which is essential to great hip-hop and music.
  52. BryanM
    Sep 12, 2005
    9
    This is one of the best cds this year. I love just about every song on this cd. No doubt, some may say it didn't pass up the orginal (College Dropout) But know this, it's not very far behind at all. A great cd overall.
  53. Kayla
    Sep 1, 2005
    9
    I absolutly love this CD i just got it today and i cant keep the music out of my headphones!! I havent bout an album as good as this in years because i havent found any oustanding artist as Kanye! The instrumentals are like no other. He goes where many..if not ALL rapper choose not to go. he wears and presents himself in ways that many people feel is out of the ordinary.That is what I absolutly love this CD i just got it today and i cant keep the music out of my headphones!! I havent bout an album as good as this in years because i havent found any oustanding artist as Kanye! The instrumentals are like no other. He goes where many..if not ALL rapper choose not to go. he wears and presents himself in ways that many people feel is out of the ordinary.That is what attracts me to him as a person as well as an artist. I respect all his work. Expand
  54. ColageEdukatid
    Sep 1, 2005
    9
    Hip-hop album of the year? I'm not quite ready to say yes - since MF Doom and DangerMouse's collaboration drops in October, and let
  55. JamieA
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    No immediate sellers like Dropout has but balanced quality through tracks, hit again Kanye!
  56. jono
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    This cd is his best work ever since it shows his own on the cd
  57. AlbertP
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    Finally I can hear hip hop with style. Yeah for 'Ye
  58. KatieP.
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    To Rick: Kanye has made beats that are classics (Izzo, Heart of the City, Takeover), so he doesn't "kind of" know how to make beats. No one's comparing him to 50 Cent... most of the people that like him put him up there with Nas, Jay-Z, Eminem, and other greats in the rap industry. They aren't comparing him to 50 cent. Anyways, the CD is great. I like College Dropout To Rick: Kanye has made beats that are classics (Izzo, Heart of the City, Takeover), so he doesn't "kind of" know how to make beats. No one's comparing him to 50 Cent... most of the people that like him put him up there with Nas, Jay-Z, Eminem, and other greats in the rap industry. They aren't comparing him to 50 cent. Anyways, the CD is great. I like College Dropout better, but this CD is still pure genius. Expand
  59. vivay
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    just classic fire music
  60. craigh
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    A album, full of top 5 hits. The only problem is the stupid skits but for example the 1st skit extends onto the song with heard em'say, the way Kanye brought them together sounds perfect with the bass and drums just starting while the the skit is finishing. There are different aspect songs, such as "roses" talking about his grandmother being ill while pointing out some flaws in life A album, full of top 5 hits. The only problem is the stupid skits but for example the 1st skit extends onto the song with heard em'say, the way Kanye brought them together sounds perfect with the bass and drums just starting while the the skit is finishing. There are different aspect songs, such as "roses" talking about his grandmother being ill while pointing out some flaws in life saying about "magic johnson having a cure for aids, so all the broke muthaf***rs past away". West also has some fast tempo stuff in touch the sky as well as "Gone" which just continues to grow on me. The diamonds remix with Jay Z is also amazing, maybe should of been brought out instead of the orginal as it hits home the problems tith trade etc as long as having one of the best rappers ever apperaing on the track. Drive Slow is another example of Common's solid album. The hit which is gonna propel the album is of course "Goldigger" the problem with this song is people don't understand the concept, west is saying not that women are goldiggers just that if you look at sum1's history it could show you what type of the person she is, i would of guessed this was wrote with Kanye speaking about his problems he now has with teh vast fortune he has gained. Celebration and Late are tracks which I don't find that good, but this still doesnt deter from giving this album full marks, just for the fact Kanye west can rap and makes beats about songs that can hit home and effect you. Expand
  61. antonioc
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    Undeniably the best album in stores right now. tme late registration tops the college dropout with tracks like Addiction, Hey Mama, and Crack Music Kanye's in a class by himself
  62. GeorgeBushJr.
    Sep 27, 2005
    9
    I'm GW Bush and I approve this album! --
  63. AdamC
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    This album is absolutely an amazing sophomore album. Its beats and vibe are awesome and Kanye West can talk his shit again.
  64. Zach
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    I'm not a fan of most rap, but this C.D. is amazing. Kanye West is by far the best rapper out there these days
  65. Coniseuer
    Sep 3, 2005
    1
    In a word...boring. In two words...highly overated. In three words...don't bother buying.
  66. Billy
    Sep 4, 2005
    0
    just garbage. rascist mother ****er
  67. TimS
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    The first time i listened to this cd, i thought it was good, but not as good as College Dropout, but after the 2nd, 3rd, and 20th time listening to it, i realized that this album is much better, Kanye found a way to better himself from his already great first album, which is rare today. And i happen to like all those skits.
  68. BenV.
    Sep 4, 2005
    2
    An undeniable failure of an album. The only redeeming factor I can find is that Kanye's arrogance hasn't matched other so-called rappers of this decade, but it's getting close.
  69. NavdeepA
    Sep 4, 2005
    9
    Yeah, Kanye West is wicked!!
  70. XavierB
    Sep 6, 2005
    1
    Not worth it if you like music.
  71. JonD
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    Kanye does it again. Masterpiece of an album. No one does it better that kon the louis vuitton don
  72. BobR
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    The album is a musical masterpiece. Celebration and Late are probably the only average tracks. The rest are supurb. And surprisingly, the skits are more entertaining than cumbersome this time around. Overall a fantastic album.
  73. JaredB
    Sep 8, 2005
    9
    OutKast tried, but this is Rap's Sgt. Pepper. Experiments and breaks barriers while still sounding polished
  74. richardk
    Sep 9, 2005
    6
    the beats were hot but the album lacked integrity and the personal drive the other album had. it feels more hollywood than hood
  75. johna
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    its fuckin awsume
  76. marqusn
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    This album has the edge of Eminem, the hugeness of U2, and the soul of Ray Charles. The best track is either Roses, or Celebration, or Hey Mama. They're out of this world. It's cool to note how he has moved from being an inferior to the big-guns like Jay-z and 50 cent, to now; where he should become the driving force in the industry. No matter what people say, you can't This album has the edge of Eminem, the hugeness of U2, and the soul of Ray Charles. The best track is either Roses, or Celebration, or Hey Mama. They're out of this world. It's cool to note how he has moved from being an inferior to the big-guns like Jay-z and 50 cent, to now; where he should become the driving force in the industry. No matter what people say, you can't deny that rap is promoting gun culture. My evidence being that pretty much every 50 cent song has a gunshot in it. Kanye speaks with positivity, even his arrogance is purely forward thinking. Noel Gallagher said that "every figure in the current hip-hop scene is an idiot, bar none." I agreed with him, until West came along. This CD takes me back to the days of Public Enemy and Run DMC, where rap actually meant something- but it's superior to that. He's as radical, but he has the talent to outshine any of his peers. His comments about Bush on NBC will be remembered fondly in the future, whether the corperations like it or not. College Dropout was a breath of fresh air, in the same way Oasis' Definately Maybe was. Late registration is, in essence, his Morning glory. Expand
  77. TylerH
    Jan 22, 2006
    9
    Nice now that you showed us you can rap you can go back to producing and bring hip hop out of this "southern era" before i kill myself.
  78. DanA
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    Musically this album has far better production than The College Dropout. But some of the lyrics are hardly passable on some tracks. But this is still a near perfect album. Kanye is easily the best artist of the hip hop genre today.
  79. LeifS
    Jan 8, 2006
    9
    I am not a big fan of rap music, but i do like this album. I have a lot of respect for Kanye West. This album does not beat college dropout, but it is very close.
  80. KyleighH
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    This is a very good album. Kanye West does absolutely excellent with this album. I love the songs "Gold Digger" and "Heard 'Em Say". They are both really, really, extremely good songs. Congrats to Kanye West at the Grammys. You go, Kanye! Keep on making the music that we all love!
  81. RaymondU
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    Another classic by kanye west. All his songs always have a meaning deep inside. I couldn't give it less than a 10.
  82. LucaA
    Apr 2, 2006
    10
    Kanye West is my life.Late Registration is the best album of the hystory.From Italy
  83. irvinc
    Jul 26, 2007
    10
    late registration is brilliant, a superb triumph of hard labor of 'Ye and Jon Brion's behalf
  84. jaym
    Sep 4, 2009
    10
    C L A S S I C
  85. staciew.
    Nov 25, 2005
    10
    Amazing album, great beats, outstanding lyrics, go see him live too if you get a chance!
  86. JosephS
    Nov 26, 2005
    0
    People say this is better than the first album because they're out of touch and they need to pretend to like at least one rap artist to compensate.
  87. kizza
    Dec 11, 2005
    10
    This album just makes you feel good. The originality is inspiring and his rap's just flow.This is my new IT album, and will always be a classic.
  88. alexandertthegreat
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    perfect
  89. bobbobson
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    This album is excellent. Definitely one of the very best albums of the year. Every song is excellent (except for the bonus track you get in the UK version WE CAN MAKE IT BETTER. that track has such an awful chorus it just totally ruins the song). The best track on the album is ROSES. I have listened to it about 30 times and counting. It also fixes some of the flaws of The College Dropout This album is excellent. Definitely one of the very best albums of the year. Every song is excellent (except for the bonus track you get in the UK version WE CAN MAKE IT BETTER. that track has such an awful chorus it just totally ruins the song). The best track on the album is ROSES. I have listened to it about 30 times and counting. It also fixes some of the flaws of The College Dropout because he cuts the skits. TCD had far too many skits. you couldn't go a few tracks without a skit. But in this album the skits suck but there are only 4 of them. This album is really well produced and the lyrics are excellent. This album is a bit more matured and darker than TCD. THis is one of the few albums I actually continue to listen to over and over again. An essential. One of the very best of 2005. Expand
  90. Hervin........
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    I think that Kanye West is one of the few artists that puts her all into albums.Heis rhymes is so amazing and it is the truth .
  91. DanielC
    Dec 29, 2005
    10
    Great Album. Much better than "College Droput."
  92. JustinD
    Dec 4, 2005
    9
    All of the tracks on this album are good. he should of gotten 5 mics.
  93. EdgarM
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    I don't care what anyody else says, this cd is the best album i have ever heard. which just goes to prove rap is still alive!
  94. daveg
    Aug 26, 2005
    8
    not quite up to par with college dropout, but a very solid sophmore album.
  95. douglasm
    Aug 26, 2005
    8
    it's better than almost every hip-hop release this year, even though it's not mind-blowing. more of the same from kanye. and ross, don't worry about it getting a higher score than sufjan. i'm sure there will be more sites to review it and bring down the average. don't be so naive.
  96. Vasco
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    melhor disco de sempre
  97. TimT
    Aug 26, 2005
    9
    It is better than College Dropout. More cohesive, skits suck, but all of the tracks are above average. BE is better, but this is almost as good, would be deserving of the 5 star Rolling Stone review if it was 5-6 tracks shorter.
  98. J.M.Sarabia
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    Kanye West outdoes himself lyrcialy from his freshman debut. A much better rounded album. A new CLASSIC for the world of hip-hop. 01. Wake Up Mr. West (ft.Bernie Mac) 02. Heard 'Em Say (ft.Adam Levine Of Maroon 5) 9.5/10 03. Touch The Sky (ft.Lupe Fiasco) 9.5/10 04. Gold Digger (ft.Jamie Foxx) 10/10 05. Skit #1 06. Drive Slow (ft.Paul Wall & Glc) 10/10 07. My Way Home (ft.Common) Kanye West outdoes himself lyrcialy from his freshman debut. A much better rounded album. A new CLASSIC for the world of hip-hop. 01. Wake Up Mr. West (ft.Bernie Mac) 02. Heard 'Em Say (ft.Adam Levine Of Maroon 5) 9.5/10 03. Touch The Sky (ft.Lupe Fiasco) 9.5/10 04. Gold Digger (ft.Jamie Foxx) 10/10 05. Skit #1 06. Drive Slow (ft.Paul Wall & Glc) 10/10 07. My Way Home (ft.Common) 10/10 08. Crack Music (ft.The Game) 8.5/10 09. Roses 10/10 10. Bring Me Down (ft.Brandy) 8/10 11. Addiction 10/10 12. Skit #2 13. Diamonds (Remix) (ft.Jay-Z) 10/10 14. We Major (ft.Nas & Really Doe) 10/10 15. Skit $3 16. Hey Mama 10/10 17. Celebration 10/10 18. Skit #4 19. Gone (ft.Consequence & Cam'Ron) 10/10 20. Diamonds From Sierra Leone (Bonus Track) 10/10 21. Late (Hidden Track) 10/10 Expand
  99. JayN
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    Heard 'Em Say, Touch the Sky, Roses, Bring Me Down, Hey Mama, Celebration, and Gone could be their own album, and I'd give that 10 as well. And for the review that said this album wasn't as "lively" as College Dropout quite OBVIOUSLY hasn't even listened to Late Registration.
  100. Ben
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    Yeah, this won't stay at 9.5 Quasimoto was at 9.5 after like 7 reviews and look at it now 7.8 :(
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Late Registration's salvation (and, undoubtedly, Kanye's own) are when it basks in the sunshine after the rain.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    90
    Each of these songs offers more exquisite details than I could earmark in twice this space, many of them literary, which the English prof's dropout son rightly claims as his calling. But secret brilliance is more likely to emerge from the sops to his hip-hop base.
  3. Late Registration can't replicate the novelty of last year's College Dropout, but otherwise, this is an impressively more mature and labored-over album.