User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 829 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 37 out of 829

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. salmonpc
    Aug 27, 2005
    8
    everyone who has ever picked up a musical instument(or not in the case of most modern "musicians", is superior to Sufjan Stevens. Seriously.
  2. ChristopherK
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    What if Kanye West and Sufjan Stevens did an album? Oh my God, that would be beautiful. I think this is one of the greatest hip-hop albums of all time and well deserving of many many great scores. Crack Music!!! listen and purchase this milestone in rap/music history! But don't forget Sufjan.
  3. davet
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Best hip-hop album of the year, right next to Common's BE. Chicago is on FIRE!! Best songs are Hey Mama and Heard 'em Say.
  4. SlimJin.
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Gets better with every listen and a vast improvement on College Dropout as far as the depth of the album. Kanye has come back stronger than anybody could have expected. No sophomore slump for the college dropout.
  5. BigAL
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable production. So imaginative, just plain ... good. Some may overlook this wondering where the club bangers and gangsta vibe are ... but, to those true *music* lovers, this is a masterpiece.
  6. petes
    Aug 29, 2005
    9
    Kanye has certainly transcended the label of being purely a "hip-hop" artist. This album is certainly more poetical and mature than The College Dropout; however, I'm not sure that, for everyone, this album is as original sounding as it could have been. Overall, it's great album, and alot of work went into its production.
  7. jonr
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    wow.....crack music. dont worry all, sufjen and kanye can exist in the same universe.
  8. tony
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    incredible!
  9. AaronS
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    The best rap album of the year. In fact, one of the best records of the year period.
  10. BrandonC
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    Maybe the lyrics aren't a ten but this has to be one of the well-produced, most listenable, complete albums in modern hip-hop. There's little filler, if any, and repeat listens are rewarding.
  11. KanyeEast
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    read the rolling stone review, it basiclaly sums up how genius this album really is
  12. RobE
    Aug 31, 2005
    9
    I'm so sick of the claims of Kanye's arrogance and poor MC skills. He is so arrogant that he devotes songs to his family in the hospital, his mother and his struggles with addictions. Few of the best MCs in the game could keep our ears glued and our guts bustin with this type of material. Kanye does it with ease. Ye has made an album that does not contain the so-called "fun I'm so sick of the claims of Kanye's arrogance and poor MC skills. He is so arrogant that he devotes songs to his family in the hospital, his mother and his struggles with addictions. Few of the best MCs in the game could keep our ears glued and our guts bustin with this type of material. Kanye does it with ease. Ye has made an album that does not contain the so-called "fun tracks" that we heard on Dropout, but one that's possibly even more entertaining to listen to. The only reason that I would not give the album a 10 is because I honestly don't think we've seen the best of West yet. Expand
  13. JimW
    Aug 31, 2005
    8
    This CD is not as great as COLLEGE DROPOUT, but Kanye still delivers with humor and wit. His lines are fresher, but he has lost some from his first CD. As for Gnarles, Kanye is not at all overrated. Late Regis. might have been a bit overhyped, but College Dropout was a legend, one of the few quality Hip-hop cd's to come out in the pas 3 or 4 years.
  14. Tricky
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    the best
  15. JimmieP
    Aug 31, 2005
    9
    A brilliant follow up to he College Dropout, it shows growth and unparalled originality. Once again, a breath of fresh air for hip hop!
  16. DwayneW
    Sep 11, 2005
    9
    Kanye is definately 1 of the most ambitious& talented artistes to have emerged in recent memory, and Late Registration cements that fact! Jon Brion brings texture & depth to an otherwise overlong (can you honestly name 1 rap album except for Common's BE, that isn't overlong & self-indulgent?), though interesting album. The album also showcases West's growth as an MC in Kanye is definately 1 of the most ambitious& talented artistes to have emerged in recent memory, and Late Registration cements that fact! Jon Brion brings texture & depth to an otherwise overlong (can you honestly name 1 rap album except for Common's BE, that isn't overlong & self-indulgent?), though interesting album. The album also showcases West's growth as an MC in songs like Diamonds Are Forever & We Major. A very memorable album, though even I must admit that it has nothing on the instant classicism of last year's College Dropout (the album, in my opinion, that should have won the Album of the Year Grammy!). I'm very disappointed in popmatters w/a rating of 7, & very surprised w/Rolling Stone & pitchfork w/ratings of 5stars & 9.5 respectively! M.I.A.'s Arular aside, Late Registration may very well be the album of the year ( though i'm yet to hear Sleater-Kinney's The Woods, Sufjan Stevens Illinoise &The New Pornographers' Twin Cinema)! The string instrumentations are lush & vivid! Touch the Sky is definately the opus' highlight (how ironic, the song was produced by Just Blaze!). Other great tracks- Heard 'Em Say, Gold Digger, Drive Slow, Crack Music, Roses, Celebration & Gone! Kudos for Kanye for again raising the bar on what rap and MUSIC should sound like! Expand
  17. RicardoL
    Sep 11, 2005
    10
    The only albums this album doesn't compare 2 are Only Built 4 Cuban Linx,De La Soul is Dead,and The Low End Theory,otherwise its 1 of the greatest albums made.don't hate
  18. DaveB
    Sep 22, 2005
    9
    Not as good as the College Dropout, but only because Kanye set the bar so high with his debut. A solid album. Interestingly, it seems all the people who gave it bad scores are people who don't really like rap and only bought it because of the hype. Obviously if you don't appreciate the genre, you won't like the album, no matter how good it is, bitches.
  19. JC
    Sep 26, 2005
    8
    First I'd like to say that I'd give this an 8.5 if I could, but I can't... Secondly...you must realize that this album takes some listening to get used to. You probably won't like it the first time you play it through. All of you that give this album less than a 7 either need to stop hating or give the album a few more chances. I'll admit it, my first go-around, I First I'd like to say that I'd give this an 8.5 if I could, but I can't... Secondly...you must realize that this album takes some listening to get used to. You probably won't like it the first time you play it through. All of you that give this album less than a 7 either need to stop hating or give the album a few more chances. I'll admit it, my first go-around, I was very disappointed. I only liked "Gold Digger" and "Diamonds from Sierra Leone (Remix)". But after a few more listens, a few more songs grew on me..."Heard 'Em Say" is probably my favorite song on the album. "Touch the Sky", "Hey Mama", "Roses", "Bring Me Down", "Gone", "Addiction", and "Crack Music" also grew on me. "We Major" is a major letdown, its really two songs rolled into one...I mean come on, it has 2 choruses, he's not fooling anyone. "My Way Home" is half a song and I really wish Kanye dropped a verse on that. I'm starting to like "Drive Slow" too. The only songs I skip are "Late" and "Celebration". Be patient people...give the album a second, third, fourth chance if you need to...it really is a great album. Expand
  20. TyeN.
    Aug 13, 2006
    10
    This album is my second favorite of 2005. Who would have thought that getting Jon Brion to produce would turn out to be such a great move? I love Jon Brion and Kanye, but it just didn't seem like a good match. That is, until I heard it. The production is amazing, and the album is filled with wonderful songs. My favorites are "Gone", "Diamonds (From Sierra Leone)", "Hey Mama", "Crack This album is my second favorite of 2005. Who would have thought that getting Jon Brion to produce would turn out to be such a great move? I love Jon Brion and Kanye, but it just didn't seem like a good match. That is, until I heard it. The production is amazing, and the album is filled with wonderful songs. My favorites are "Gone", "Diamonds (From Sierra Leone)", "Hey Mama", "Crack Music", "Addiction", "Heard 'Em Say", "Roses", and "Touch The Sky". The entire album is amazing though. Kanye West has become one of the few artist who's albums I always look forward to. I hope the rumors are true that he and Chris Martin did a song together for his third album...that would be amazing. Expand
  21. JimbrowskiI.
    Nov 20, 2007
    9
    What is the purpose of skits on rap albums again? Illmatic doesn't have single skit, which is probably why it's so short, but it's also why I love it so much (I've noticed that also with many rap artists in the Eighties, I like them to). Anyways, minus the skits, fantastic rap album. I was glad Graduation didn't have any skits.
  22. hiphoplover
    Mar 26, 2008
    9
    Until i heard "stronger", i never really liked Kanye West's music,but i herd stronger and i loved it. Plus my mate recommended Late Registration to me so i asked for it for my birthday. i got it and listened to it, and i thought it was brilliant! Not exactly what id call proper Hip-Hop, but still a pretty good album! I can listen to every track all the way through without getting Until i heard "stronger", i never really liked Kanye West's music,but i herd stronger and i loved it. Plus my mate recommended Late Registration to me so i asked for it for my birthday. i got it and listened to it, and i thought it was brilliant! Not exactly what id call proper Hip-Hop, but still a pretty good album! I can listen to every track all the way through without getting bored of it (except for "late," which is why the album gets a 9) and every track is on my ipod! (which is rare coz normally no more than 5 songs on average from an album make it onto your ipod, and most of the time its the albums singles...) Definitely fits into the top 10 albums i own. Shame some people still don't like it, but i suppose everyone has a different taste in music. anyways still a decent album in my opinion which i recommend to anyone... Expand
  23. AndyW
    Nov 15, 2005
    10
    "I think I died in an accident cuz this must be heaven!!" As well as a good line that fits perfectly well in a great song, it also states what this album is like. Kanye has soul in his music, and he knows it. He tries to show it through every song he makes. Whether it's his past releases such as "Jesus Walks", or some of the new songs he's written, including the mini monologue "I think I died in an accident cuz this must be heaven!!" As well as a good line that fits perfectly well in a great song, it also states what this album is like. Kanye has soul in his music, and he knows it. He tries to show it through every song he makes. Whether it's his past releases such as "Jesus Walks", or some of the new songs he's written, including the mini monologue at the end of "Crack Music", this guy just keeps on hammering away one perfect song after the next. If you tried to put West in the middle of the field with sheep, in matter of seconds, you'd probably see them wooless, because he's made a pimp jacket out of all of the wool. He'd probably have em dancing too! The point I'm trying to get at, is that Kanye West is a master of his domain, and he should stay that way for a while, until it comes to a time where he needs to change. Even then, he'll bust out some rhymes that are so amazing, YOU'D think you died and went to heaven (hence the topic sentence!) Late Registration is the greatest rap album ever. Period! Expand
  24. MattB
    Nov 17, 2005
    8
    There's only one thing more entertaining than listening to a bunch of "true heads" write off Kanye while playing up mediocre stuff like Blackalicious or Sage Francis, and that's listening to his work. Maybe not the unabashed genius of his debut, but there's a ton to like here, and with "Gone," he turns in his most accompished verse to date. Hate on him all you want: this is There's only one thing more entertaining than listening to a bunch of "true heads" write off Kanye while playing up mediocre stuff like Blackalicious or Sage Francis, and that's listening to his work. Maybe not the unabashed genius of his debut, but there's a ton to like here, and with "Gone," he turns in his most accompished verse to date. Hate on him all you want: this is the best Sophomore Slump in years. Expand
  25. LINDAG
    Nov 28, 2005
    10
    I'm 56 and a mother of a 21/31 daughters who luv rap. They played this for me and I stole the CD from them. Takes me back in the day. Luv this generation, however, you can't make music like we did back when--so sweeties just embrace as Kanye has--let it flow. CD is Awesome--HipHop for the older folks--Can he do it again?
  26. KEvinA
    Dec 16, 2005
    10
    This CD is spectacular... from every track to every verse, Kanye did it again.
  27. Jun 12, 2011
    9
    Terrific album, not perfect, but geniunely enjoyable, some tracks need work, but the rest works. BEST SONG ON THIS TRACK IS: TOUCH THE SKY FT. LUPE FIASCO. Kanye knows how to please, and does with this album.
  28. Nov 9, 2010
    10
    absolutely amazing its in my top fave albums i love it to death. not my favorite kanye album but it is amazing Diamonds From Sierra Leon is one of my favorite songs i could listen to that for years and years doesnt get old. very amazing one of the best raps ever
  29. Nov 11, 2013
    9
    Late Registration is nothing short of ambitious, self-assured, and an instant mile-stone. Mr. West was no victim to the sophomore slump, pushing himself even further to stardom with each hit. Every track holds something distinct and worthwhile, while also showing off Kanye as the great MC he is. The production is bombastic in this record, sometimes going very minimal as well, like he doesLate Registration is nothing short of ambitious, self-assured, and an instant mile-stone. Mr. West was no victim to the sophomore slump, pushing himself even further to stardom with each hit. Every track holds something distinct and worthwhile, while also showing off Kanye as the great MC he is. The production is bombastic in this record, sometimes going very minimal as well, like he does in "Drive Slow".

    All In All, Late Registration is a brilliant follow up to "College Dropout" A-
    Expand
  30. May 8, 2011
    10
    THIS IS THE BEST ALBUM OF THE DECADE. This album was amazing i loved every song on this album. its my favorite kanye west album. its perfect. it deserves 5 stars. this album shows people how talented kanye west is. great album!!!!!!!! 10/10 pure genius
  31. Jul 19, 2011
    10
    This Album is brilliant, influential and has to be one of the best Albums of 2005 and also of all time. I thought it would be impossible for him to do an Album which is either better than College Dropout or on same level.
  32. j30
    Sep 28, 2011
    9
    Really an excellent album. It gives me hope in Hip-Hop again. This album builds off it's predecessor, like the rest of his albums that follows (with an exception of 808's and Heartbreak).
  33. Aug 22, 2011
    10
    With this album Kanye made it known that he'll be around for a while. Great album my favorite from mr. West. Kanye West showed his lyricall greatness, his **** expressed his feelings all on one album.
  34. Nov 23, 2012
    8
    Another top album from Mr West, one of the few hip hop/rap artists where I can listen to an entire album. This has got some great singles and has the fantastic "Gold digger". Production is flawless, only thing that I don't like are the "skit" tracks which ruin the flow of the record for me. If your not a fan of the genre (and in general, I'm not) this guy is still worth checking out.Another top album from Mr West, one of the few hip hop/rap artists where I can listen to an entire album. This has got some great singles and has the fantastic "Gold digger". Production is flawless, only thing that I don't like are the "skit" tracks which ruin the flow of the record for me. If your not a fan of the genre (and in general, I'm not) this guy is still worth checking out. Really find myself enjoying his records. Expand
  35. Feb 20, 2012
    6
    Meh...I never quite connected with this album, sure the singles from this were great stompers but overall it all feels like an extension of the first album and without the impact due to the massive influx of stars invading his work.
  36. Nov 14, 2012
    9
    Kanye established his skill in College Dropout, but Late Registration is when he truly shines. The beats are expanded to new horizons and his lyrics are just as good. He does a great job of sampling songs and there's several guest appearances that amplify his own ability as well. Great album, I really do believe it's an instant classic. I think about it this way: Kanye always has thatKanye established his skill in College Dropout, but Late Registration is when he truly shines. The beats are expanded to new horizons and his lyrics are just as good. He does a great job of sampling songs and there's several guest appearances that amplify his own ability as well. Great album, I really do believe it's an instant classic. I think about it this way: Kanye always has that arrogant "I'm one of the greatest ever" kind of attitute, but after I listened to all of Late Registration, I caught myself starting to think that he may not be completely wrong. Favorites: Heard Em' Say, Gold Digger, Gone. Least Favorite: Bring Me Down. Expand
  37. Feb 4, 2014
    9
    This album is a near-perfect mix of braggadocio, raw emotion, and socially conscious lyrics. Also, the features work beautifully and contribute to the impact of this album. There's 2 or 3 songs that could have been left out, but Late Registration is without a doubt an elite LP. ~ 8.5/10

    Best track: "Touch The Sky" Other notable tracks: "Gold Digger", "Crack Music", "Roses", "We Major",
    This album is a near-perfect mix of braggadocio, raw emotion, and socially conscious lyrics. Also, the features work beautifully and contribute to the impact of this album. There's 2 or 3 songs that could have been left out, but Late Registration is without a doubt an elite LP. ~ 8.5/10

    Best track: "Touch The Sky"
    Other notable tracks: "Gold Digger", "Crack Music", "Roses", "We Major", "Hey Mama", & "Diamonds From Sierra Leone" (remix and original)
    Expand
  38. Mar 22, 2015
    8
    8.5/10................................................................................................................................................
  39. Mar 2, 2015
    10
    Ten years on Late Registration has aged brilliantly compared to Kanye West's other critically acclaimed work. The production is still the best Kanye contribution to date, and is arguably one of the finest to ever in it's genre. The guest verses are unconventional, especially at the time, yet they work in perfect harmony with Mr West. Such crisp production and light on the ear rhymes areTen years on Late Registration has aged brilliantly compared to Kanye West's other critically acclaimed work. The production is still the best Kanye contribution to date, and is arguably one of the finest to ever in it's genre. The guest verses are unconventional, especially at the time, yet they work in perfect harmony with Mr West. Such crisp production and light on the ear rhymes are what continue to make Late Registration a timeless classic. Expand
  40. Apr 12, 2015
    10
    WAKE UP MR. WEST!! The second album of Kanye's career proves to be another masterpiece. Never one to overuse a style, West noticed almost instantly after College Dropout that his sped-up soul sample was starting to become an industry cliche, so he shook it up a little. This resulting album's instrumentation is still pretty ahead of it's time. West cleverly uses the other side of theWAKE UP MR. WEST!! The second album of Kanye's career proves to be another masterpiece. Never one to overuse a style, West noticed almost instantly after College Dropout that his sped-up soul sample was starting to become an industry cliche, so he shook it up a little. This resulting album's instrumentation is still pretty ahead of it's time. West cleverly uses the other side of the 60s/70s songs he so loves to give them pop appeal. For example, the blaring horns on "Touch the Sky", the daunting keys on "Drive Slow" and Jamie Foxx's humorous interpretation of a random Ray Charles line on "Gold Digger." He also mixes the type of dramatic orchestral instrumentation usually found in movie soundtracks, courtesy of Jon Brion. Lyrically, the album doesn't showcase West's ability any more than "College Dropout" he can still tell a good story and has plenty of clever, if not a little immature, punchlines ("If you're a stripper named Porsche and you get tips from many men, then your fat friend her nickname is Mini-Van.") That type of self-aware ego is common on this album, with several skits featuring Kanye in a penniless fraternity called "Phi-broke." There's still time for serious messages however, creating goosebumps worthy songs in "My Way Home", where Common laments over a Gil Scott-Heron sample, "Crack Music", a stark look at hip-hop's place in white America, "Roses", which looks at his grandmother's hospital stay and the medical industry as a whole and a "Diamonds from Sierra Leone" Remix that more directly tackles the title. This is the album that showcases Kanye's star quality and it's a hard one to dislike, no matter how obnoxious he can get. Expand
  41. Apr 28, 2015
    10
    A really great second album from Kanye who shows he can be consistent in his work, staying true to his ambitions while refreshing a bit his style. Like the previous one, a sharp production from the guy who brought you most of the beats on Jay-Z's Blueprint and a Chicago sound sure to please any fan of Chicago's hip-hop.
  42. Jan 8, 2016
    8
    'Late Registration' by Kanye West is great album. My favourite tracks: 'Drive Slow', 'Gold Digger', and absolutely amazing 'Diamonds From Sierra Leone'.
  43. Jan 5, 2016
    6
    The album isn't bad, it has the power of a real rap album, but not all the songs are good. The best songs are surely "Heard 'Em Say", a perfect example of melodic rap, and "Gold Digger", maybe one of the best rap songs ever, the flow and the vocal performance of Jamie Foxx are unique. but songs like "Diamonds from Sierra Leone" and "Crack Music" are not too much good, and a little boring.The album isn't bad, it has the power of a real rap album, but not all the songs are good. The best songs are surely "Heard 'Em Say", a perfect example of melodic rap, and "Gold Digger", maybe one of the best rap songs ever, the flow and the vocal performance of Jamie Foxx are unique. but songs like "Diamonds from Sierra Leone" and "Crack Music" are not too much good, and a little boring. The album has a few of masterpieces and a lot of boring rap songs, but generally it's a medium/good album Expand
  44. Oct 28, 2016
    9
    This album embodies Ye's incredible ability to fuse hip-hop ballads with foot-tappers and head-nodders. Tracks like "Gone" and "Touch the Sky" make you want to learn all the words and forget where you are. They are nicely contrasted by "Addiction" and "Roses", which still have engrossing beats but lyrics that reflect his side that contradicts the impression of an egotistic pseudo-manic.This album embodies Ye's incredible ability to fuse hip-hop ballads with foot-tappers and head-nodders. Tracks like "Gone" and "Touch the Sky" make you want to learn all the words and forget where you are. They are nicely contrasted by "Addiction" and "Roses", which still have engrossing beats but lyrics that reflect his side that contradicts the impression of an egotistic pseudo-manic. Overlaid by skits that show the hardship of living in poverty, partially due to the color of one's skin, the album flows nicely, cementing Ye's career as a producer and an intense lyricist. This is an album that will be remembered for decades to come. Expand
  45. Nov 29, 2016
    9
    what an album... the variation on this project was just perfect. there were heartfelt songs like roses and hey mama, but there were also more upbeat songs like touch the sky and we major. the jazzy production was very fitting to the theme and vocals of this LP. my only complaint is that the skits were a little unnecessary. i liked the input of them, but they didn't seem to fit what waswhat an album... the variation on this project was just perfect. there were heartfelt songs like roses and hey mama, but there were also more upbeat songs like touch the sky and we major. the jazzy production was very fitting to the theme and vocals of this LP. my only complaint is that the skits were a little unnecessary. i liked the input of them, but they didn't seem to fit what was being said in the tracks before and after them. a really really enjoyable listen.
    fav tracks: touch the sky, gold digger, crack music, roses, bring me down, diamonds from sierra leone[remix w jay z], we major, gone
    Expand
  46. Jan 27, 2017
    9
    An excellent follow-up to College Dropout and it pretty much follows the same concept of his debut. Solid album, another classic from Mr. West, best album of 2005
  47. Jul 14, 2017
    8
    A great follow up to one of the greatest debuts albums ever, which is pretty impressive. With this album Kanye proved that he was not just a one hit wonder and that he was in fact here to stay.
  48. Jul 17, 2017
    7
    good album............................................................................................................................................................
  49. Oct 4, 2017
    10
    I didn't like Kanye West. The first album I ever heard from him was Yeezus, and that album was awful. But then a friend convinced me to listen to Late Registration. This is incredible. With so much soulful production, some of the most honest lyrics I've ever heard, Mr. West has scored my 15th favorite album of all time. 10/10
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Late Registration's salvation (and, undoubtedly, Kanye's own) are when it basks in the sunshine after the rain.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    90
    Each of these songs offers more exquisite details than I could earmark in twice this space, many of them literary, which the English prof's dropout son rightly claims as his calling. But secret brilliance is more likely to emerge from the sops to his hip-hop base.
  3. Late Registration can't replicate the novelty of last year's College Dropout, but otherwise, this is an impressively more mature and labored-over album.