Late Registration

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 723 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 723

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mikes
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    this is incredible!!
  2. pepef
    Apr 16, 2008
    10
    a classic!
  3. JakobH
    Oct 5, 2005
    10
    Theres not a single track on this cd that you just skip by... All tracks are superb!
  4. JoeBlowJob
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    HOW CAN YOU ANYONE GIVE THIS LOWER THAN A NINE!!!!!! this is sure to be a classic album like his first album college dropout!!!! Can't wait for the next one
  5. GregM
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Unbelievable Hip Hop Album. A new standard in Hip Hop excellence.
  6. JJTeda
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    "Kanye is killing the game very bad" Excellence, brilliance and genius are some words that come to mind when listening to Late Registration. Production, top class and lyrics shaped perfectly to the tracks with meaning to spar. Whether you want to "Touch The Sky" or just call you mom and say "Hey Mama" Late Registration has it all, and does it well.
  7. antonl
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    amazing. musical genious
  8. pepef
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    a classic!
  9. GLENDAM
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    In a class by himself!
  10. daniels
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    listen to this now, because once it hits the radio it will be played so much you might get tired of it.
  11. seanb
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    almost better than the first wich is about a 15 on my scale but sitl no one can touch him.
  12. pepef
    May 20, 2007
    10
    a classic!
  13. GregB
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    The production alone makes this the best album of 2005. Definitely better than College Dropout, and a lot more fun. Can't wait for Graduation!
  14. onelove
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    Is Kanye West arrogant?--Yes. But, it Late Registration a classic?---Hell, emphatically yes! Although, he is arrogant Ii applaud and respect him as a musician because Kanye is extremely creative and fearless--when it comes to expressing his thoughts in his music. Jesus Walks!!!! Come on, how many rappers would have the courage and aptitude to express themselves about such a sensitive Is Kanye West arrogant?--Yes. But, it Late Registration a classic?---Hell, emphatically yes! Although, he is arrogant Ii applaud and respect him as a musician because Kanye is extremely creative and fearless--when it comes to expressing his thoughts in his music. Jesus Walks!!!! Come on, how many rappers would have the courage and aptitude to express themselves about such a sensitive topic. We Major (featuring Nas) is absolutely flawless! H Expand
  15. M.Adames
    Oct 4, 2005
    10
    This is hottness at it's best! Kay Dub is on FIRE!!!!
  16. jaym
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    C L A S S I C
  17. JohnK
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    Sufjan = good, but rehashed, purposely trendy, and obviously gimmicky (50 states, 50 albums, my ass! At the current rate, it'll take him 80 years) Kanye = relevant, different, possibly the most important mainstream rapper yet Don't let genre influence you. Free your mind; this album's better.
  18. obiokpo
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    most musically advanced cd to come out in a while..blows any other Cd that came out in the past 5 years out the water..including common's be! can i say album of the year!!
  19. KanyeFan
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    This amount of effort deserves as much praise as possible. This is a perfect album.
  20. kmoney
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    kanye delivers with this album.
  21. TheLove
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    great album...so more sublime and mature then the first one and well thats what hip-hop needs instead of club bangers and talking about beefs between artist and drugs.
  22. DannyV
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    This album is so much more then I expected it to be. It was so literally life-affirming listening to the first couple of tracks on my headphones walking home from the CD store I took a detour so I could take it all in while I strolled around my town. Holland may have had a terrible summer but damn did the sunshine that Friday afternoon...
  23. stephenl
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    simply amazing
  24. ryant
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    Pure genous. I dont get why people dont like his lyrics, they are still so much better than a lot of other rappers. Not to mention the production,which is amazing.Great album
  25. JayB
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    WOW, Simply Amazing !
  26. AshleyP
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    I LoVe KanYE's new CD its just as good as College Drop out and the instumentals are even better and if u dont think so then u nuthin but a true hatter !! halla
  27. CaitM
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    This album continues to revolutionize the hip-hop world. the instrumental aspect is amazing and includes instruments that have never been found on a hip-hop album. and with kanye's lyrics... easily the best hip-hop album of this year and probably for a real long time. multiple grammy winner? i believe so
  28. John
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    Only people who are not true fans of music will consider this to be a poor album. Influenced by what others consider popular, they can't appreciate the talent portrayed on Late registration. Analyzing one aspect you may find flaws, but listening to again you will find overall this is a great CD. It's uniqueness is what "rap" fans don't like. In my opinion it's a Only people who are not true fans of music will consider this to be a poor album. Influenced by what others consider popular, they can't appreciate the talent portrayed on Late registration. Analyzing one aspect you may find flaws, but listening to again you will find overall this is a great CD. It's uniqueness is what "rap" fans don't like. In my opinion it's a classic and probably best album of the year. Expand
  29. tonyr
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    The best album of the year!!!
  30. Ta-KuanF
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Kanye has pushed the boundaries of hip hop again with "Late Registration." It's brilliant top to bottom, with only the skits being skippable. The sounds are so much different than what you hear in rap nowadays, hooking up with Jon Brion was definitely a smart move. Roses, Diamonds remix, Touch The Sky, Bring Me Down, Hey Mama are the standout tracks from this album. Just brilliant.
  31. TJRodriguez
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    One of my most favorite albums of all time! Kanye West improves on every aspect of his first album. The only thing wrong with this album are the skits. By taking the skits out, you probably have one of the best hip hop albums ever made.
  32. CaptainRob
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Another classic? Hell yes.
  33. Martin
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Kanye West joins Common as one of the best hip hop cds of the year. whoever gives it lower than a 10 doesn't know what they are talking about. this isn't just good rap, this is good music.
  34. DJWhoa
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    Kanye is the scarily cool.
  35. adamd
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    Outstanding!
  36. BrianD
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    This is probably one of the best albums of 2005. It expands West's ear for socially concious hip-hop and powerful instrumentals. "Gone," "Heard 'Em Say" and "Roses" are three of the most powerful songs I've ever heard and the rest of the album holds true to West's excessive bravado. Again, if you haven't heard Late Registration yet, you're missing out on This is probably one of the best albums of 2005. It expands West's ear for socially concious hip-hop and powerful instrumentals. "Gone," "Heard 'Em Say" and "Roses" are three of the most powerful songs I've ever heard and the rest of the album holds true to West's excessive bravado. Again, if you haven't heard Late Registration yet, you're missing out on something huge. Expand
  37. GSJ
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    Kanye west is what hip hop needs on both and MC and producer
  38. TomM
    Sep 5, 2005
    10
    Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant other great album from kanye west. Every song is different but great
  39. ChrisW
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    What can be said other than...excellent album. Best rap/hip hop/album of the year by far. Definate must listen.
  40. jesuso
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    it is the best rap album in years
  41. kennyp
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    this Cd is off tha hooK!!! i LikE tha messages he sends out to tha listnerz his is tha SiKest Rapper.
  42. SeanC
    Sep 8, 2005
    10
    Lets be realistic here. Kanye West is RIGHT when he says he is carrying all of hip hop. He is RIGHT when he says that he is the best thing rap has right now. You can tell how his sophistication quintuples that of the guests on his album (Paul Wall). Who cares if he's cocky? How many times has he threatened to kill someone? Sufjan Stevens's mindless droning doesn't even compare.
  43. JDWilliams
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    A RAP CLASSIC. im not a rap fan at all but i loved college dropout. but late registration is a art rap album that makes his debut sound like a demo sometimes. its a classic and goes good with a rock fan(like me) CD collection. BUT IT
  44. aa
    Jan 7, 2006
    10
    Its simply the best
  45. ThomasFromCompton
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Like what S Latrelle said, don't bother to vote if you aren't givin it 10 because that is the only score it deserves. Marvelous, Brilliant, Fabulous, 10/10
  46. MBerner
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    "10" doesn't even put into perspective the quality of the album...The best album of the year and one of the best over the past decade in any genre...A true album that you can pop in the cd player and just let it play through without having to keep hitting skip after every other song...The best production possibly ever on a hip-hop cd and the lyrical content isn't far "10" doesn't even put into perspective the quality of the album...The best album of the year and one of the best over the past decade in any genre...A true album that you can pop in the cd player and just let it play through without having to keep hitting skip after every other song...The best production possibly ever on a hip-hop cd and the lyrical content isn't far behind...The first time i heard it i almost couldn't believe this music was created for rap because it almost sounds like a piece of classical music...Each song flows from one to the next but has its own identity as well as they each touch on a different topic...The only small piece i didn't feel on this album i did on College Dropout was the pure originality as this seemed more carefully crafted and in some ways almost too good if that's possible...Nevertheless definitly deserves all the hype and a grammy for album of the year!!! A piece of work that you will be able to play 20 years from now and still appreciate the music...Cant wait for "Graduation" and the song with John Mayer "Bittersweet"...A true gift of art that i will cherish for ever...God Bless Expand
  47. Anon-ymous
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    This albums non hits are not really that good but the hits are superb. I would recommend this to friends (if I had any) !
  48. JeremyE
    Apr 27, 2006
    10
    This album is amazing!!!!! There isn't even one bad song! Best Hip-hop album ever made. You can tell he put a lot of work into his songs
  49. SeanP
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    Excellent album, and even though it's great artistically and lyrically, and all that high stuff, what puts this album over into "classic" is how purely ENJOYABLE it is. It's a cd i don't just have to listen to with headphones and all my close attention, but also one i can pop into my car. As good as College Dropout was, and after two great albums, kanye's rep should be Excellent album, and even though it's great artistically and lyrically, and all that high stuff, what puts this album over into "classic" is how purely ENJOYABLE it is. It's a cd i don't just have to listen to with headphones and all my close attention, but also one i can pop into my car. As good as College Dropout was, and after two great albums, kanye's rep should be established for now, regardless of his "ego". ALSO, i don't know why, but my favorite song on the album is Gone, a track which doesnt seem to get much attention. I personally think that song is genius, especially production-wise. Anyone else think Gone is one of the best songs? Expand
  50. mikejoe
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    Yeah this off the heeeezeeey!
  51. XV
    Oct 11, 2005
    10
    The ROC is still alive!
  52. Mrs.West
    Oct 21, 2005
    10
    I give Late Registration a 10!!! There is not a single bad song on this CD, it includes original beats, ill rhymes, and creative concepts, what more is needed? He is the only hip hop artist who is not talking about how many ho's he f**ked, and how many brothas he killed, Kan' deserves many props for such a album. He even talks about stuff that people need to hear and stuff that I give Late Registration a 10!!! There is not a single bad song on this CD, it includes original beats, ill rhymes, and creative concepts, what more is needed? He is the only hip hop artist who is not talking about how many ho's he f**ked, and how many brothas he killed, Kan' deserves many props for such a album. He even talks about stuff that people need to hear and stuff that other artists are to afraid to approach, scared for their reputation, such as in the song "Roses", Kan' says " You know the best medicine go to people thats paid, If Magic Johnson got a cure for A.I.D.'s And all the broke muthafu**as past away You tellin me if my grandma was in the N.B.A. Right now she'd be ok? But since she was just a secretary Working for the church For thirty five years Things sposed to stop right here." Do you know of any other artists who would sing about that? I think not.....Kanye gets a well deserved 10! Expand
  53. LDot
    Dec 17, 2005
    10
    Brilliant.
  54. SLatrelle
    Dec 18, 2005
    10
    Man you've got to be either stupid or the un-informed percentage of people who don't understand hip hop. Man I've strived my entire life to write, record, and perform music; and I am very good. This guy, Kanye West, is a genius and a living legend in our midst and all people can say is that he's ARROGANT!!!!!! Ever heard of Mozart; I'm sure you have...and by the Man you've got to be either stupid or the un-informed percentage of people who don't understand hip hop. Man I've strived my entire life to write, record, and perform music; and I am very good. This guy, Kanye West, is a genius and a living legend in our midst and all people can say is that he's ARROGANT!!!!!! Ever heard of Mozart; I'm sure you have...and by the way....he was stubborn and arrogant. But guess what....it doesn't negate the fact that he was a d_mn genius. If you want to know what hip hop really is BUY THIS ALBUM!!!!! This gentleman, West, has lyrics that are street and conscious but hip and still clever--Amazing! And Honestly, I don't know if his beats are better than his lyrics....and you KNOW he's a hip hop beat guru. I'll say this and put every thing on it......Right now this man represents the highest level of evolution for Rap Music. He single handedly changed the SOUND of Hip Hop. He managed to muscle in that so so familiar college-boy dress code. Dude got a mascot. Again, lyrics are premium. Plus he's got persiverence like no other....remember THROUGH THE WIRE. People......if you ain't gon' give this album a 10, don't bother to vote. Go review some plain Rap like Baby a.k.a. Birdman, or Master P, or some other shallow-content music. Finally, let me say this. I'm growing as a Christian day after day. So, I don't agree with everything West says in his music. But I believe that his music is shaping and foreshadowing music to come; and not just Rap. Music will become more positive and conscious and and at the same time it'll be hip. Or at least I'm hoping. God Bless everyone. P.S. If you're reviewing an album DON'T say that a song is not good b/c of a chorus or a particular melody; that's being presumptuous. These songs are works of art so you just have to listen an learn to enjoy them for what they are. That's like looking at a van Gogh and saying...."Huh, its a pity that he didn't use more green in this picture." An artist can do what he wants to do its his art, you just have to appreciate his artistic expression. Artists aren't interested in making songs the way you like to hear them, they're expressing THEIR gifts not yours. Peace!!! For real this time. Expand
  55. James>>>
    Dec 27, 2005
    10
    It is just great
  56. RichardJ
    Dec 31, 2005
    10
    First up I'm old school. But my kids are big hip hop fans. And when something is good it does get my attention too. I try to relate to them to have a good ear and develop good tastes in every aspect of their lives. I remind them of the disco age and how some of that music is so ignorable now, (they wonder how could you have listened to THAT) but the same the is true for so much of First up I'm old school. But my kids are big hip hop fans. And when something is good it does get my attention too. I try to relate to them to have a good ear and develop good tastes in every aspect of their lives. I remind them of the disco age and how some of that music is so ignorable now, (they wonder how could you have listened to THAT) but the same the is true for so much of the music that's rammed down their throats today. Toxic waste ain't good for the body or the mind. Industies have profitted off people for generations by dumping pure trash on people. And such is the state of the entertainment industry also. As long as I'm getting paid, is the motto, I guess. Sooner or later, in time I knew a great musician would come along for thier generation and have something to offer them, that wasn't destrucion of them (body & soul) for profit. Upon first listening of first John Legend's first CD, then later Kanye's own Late Registration, over and over..... and over. I just got around to listening to the College Dropout CD, so I'm definitely not comparing one to the other.I think that the musician and the next wave of conscious and creative thought provoking and concerned musicians may have arrived. I think sometimes music critics, like movie critics have subjected themselves to far too much of inferior product to know the real thing when they see it sometime. Yeah, I been waiting for "THE ONE". Expand
  57. TomYeC
    Dec 6, 2005
    10
    Yes..."what more could you ask for?...the international a**hole..."....Kanye West backed up College Dropout with a BANG!!!! 10.5/10 A must in any CD collection....Definitely a classic....Kanye the best thing that ever happened to Soul/Hip Hop since Baby Face...
  58. ChristopherA
    Oct 27, 2005
    10
    Great. Fantastic beats, and brilliant production/string arrangements from Jon Brion. Kanye deserves all the acclaim he receives. "Gone" shines as a daring accomplishment.
  59. AndreW
    Oct 9, 2005
    10
    I have a masters in music (majoring in popular music) and I have listening to hip-hop for over 15 years, so I am more than qualified to review this album. To say it is the best album this year is an understatment.
  60. RaulJ
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    Awesome
  61. JoeL
    Aug 26, 2005
    10
    Kanye you did it again!!!Album of the year.Jay-Z handed the torch to Kanye and he is running away with it!!!!
  62. TomK
    Aug 27, 2005
    10
    Best Rap album of the year
  63. KateL
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Yeah, Kanye samples a lot. So do a lot of hip-hop producers. What I find so brilliant about this album is how much the way he uses his samples has changed. On College Dropout, he built a collage with samples; on Late Registration, they are instruments in his orchestra. And come on, previous commenters. As if it even makes sense to compare Sufjan and Kanye on a linear integer scale!
  64. Scooby
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    gave it a 10...this album is musically light years ahead of CD. Lyrically kanye will NEVER be able to match his production talent, but the latter half makes up for the former. And as for "Ross", please tell me why Kanye cant be higher than Sufjen...do hint a bit of bias?
  65. ss
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    this album flows smoothly from start 2 finish kanyes juss killin the rap game right now Best tracks:diamonds, crack music, touch the sky
  66. StuT
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    This is way better than Sufjan could ever hope to be, unless Kanye produces their next album. The hype is not doing the album justice. It is the best album of the year bar none.
  67. bobd
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    this is the best album of this year ! the man is amazing and i cant wait til the next 1 !
  68. MikeB
    Aug 29, 2005
    10
    Kanye West is a brilliant new talent and with this album proves that he is not only evolving hip-hop but also giving it class and sophistication that is sadly missing from other rap acts. A pioneer in every respect and a powerful album that has fantastic music, every track is great. Standouts include the funky 'Gold Digger', the emotional 'Hey Mama', the epic 'We Kanye West is a brilliant new talent and with this album proves that he is not only evolving hip-hop but also giving it class and sophistication that is sadly missing from other rap acts. A pioneer in every respect and a powerful album that has fantastic music, every track is great. Standouts include the funky 'Gold Digger', the emotional 'Hey Mama', the epic 'We Major' and the beautiful 'Gone'. Something here for everyone and by far and away this years best album that'll mark as a highlight of this decade. This generations Bob Dylan has arrived. Expand
  69. TripleL
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    WOW, I can't stop listening to this album. I don't know how anyone can give this less than a 10. It's an 11!!! All tracks are potential singles, incredible!
  70. JoshN
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    kanye is a musical genius. he uses other artists and different types of sound to create an album for the ages. this album is the epitamy of brilliance and kanye is just beginning to show that he is "pop." If you dont believe me, just listen to the cd and its brilliance.
  71. drep
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    best hip hop cd of the year!
  72. APB
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    18 songs. just about everyone is great. how could you not like this album?
  73. Kingcosmos
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    with the quality of rap nowadays slowly reducing( g-unit being its main garbage contributors)..here comes a man with more than good lyrics and beats, Kanye west.... a Musical Genious. You can hear the class and quality(jon brion) in this one. If you are not a big rap fan( and I cat blame you) i wud strongly advice you to pick up this kanye album! not because its good rap! because it is with the quality of rap nowadays slowly reducing( g-unit being its main garbage contributors)..here comes a man with more than good lyrics and beats, Kanye west.... a Musical Genious. You can hear the class and quality(jon brion) in this one. If you are not a big rap fan( and I cat blame you) i wud strongly advice you to pick up this kanye album! not because its good rap! because it is good music! Expand
  74. edfromtoronto
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    kanye has just dropped the album of the year. amazing
  75. CoreyC
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    "Heard Em' Say" is one of the best hip-hop tracks i've ever heard.
  76. JimmyH
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    Everytime an album is applauded, people gotta say, "It's not the great." This is commonly know as "hatin."' Late Registration is worth every single dollar you spend on it. Most artists can't produce one entire album of good songs - Kanye has done it twice.
  77. Lavaluca
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    you probably have heard this already, but this album is definatly worth a 10. Rap is not just about cussing and sex, and this album shows that there is more. its somthin that most albums fail in greatly. this album like he said in Diamonds From Sierra Leone, "You got to love somebody still speaks from his soul"
  78. mikeb
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    best rapper out right now! and also exceptional album!
  79. yuyuiy
    Aug 31, 2005
    10
    everythin in this album is perfect except for the beat of hey mamma but little defect is over shined by everything else
  80. Reignstorm_UK
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    Best Hip Hop Album out right now>>>>>Scratch that best album for 2005. Talk your noise Kanye, you are a genius. This is not just an album, it's a soundscape....better yet a soundtrack for life......Thanks for making great music Ye!
  81. EricE
    Sep 10, 2005
    10
    This is the best rap album I've heard in a few years. Doing something hip hop dosen't do anymore, experiment. Kanye takes rap to another level on this album. And anyone who thinks otherwise must be hip hop impared. Heard'em Say wakes not only Mr. West but also all the ne-sayers who said that he couldn't do it again. With the help of Jon Brion, who backs Kanye with live This is the best rap album I've heard in a few years. Doing something hip hop dosen't do anymore, experiment. Kanye takes rap to another level on this album. And anyone who thinks otherwise must be hip hop impared. Heard'em Say wakes not only Mr. West but also all the ne-sayers who said that he couldn't do it again. With the help of Jon Brion, who backs Kanye with live instruments, Kanye has become that legend in the making. It's the Roc. Expand
  82. carlt
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    mas-ter-piece. don't bother with those indie reviewers who know nothing about hip hop, or those silly enough to complain about kanye's rapping. this isn't rap, it's pop. brilliant pop.
  83. SlaqishaB
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    Yo yo yo yo, this record is slammin know what I'm sayin? I axed my sista if she buyed this record yet and she said no and I said giiiiiiiiiiiirl you best be goin to WallMart to get this right quick, know what I'm sayin? And whoever this "Gnarles" is he don't know jack about music. Who is "Gnarles" anyway? Is he some Nebraska white boy, know what I'm saying? When my Yo yo yo yo, this record is slammin know what I'm sayin? I axed my sista if she buyed this record yet and she said no and I said giiiiiiiiiiiirl you best be goin to WallMart to get this right quick, know what I'm sayin? And whoever this "Gnarles" is he don't know jack about music. Who is "Gnarles" anyway? Is he some Nebraska white boy, know what I'm saying? When my babys daddy comes home I can't wait for him to listen with me, straight up. PEACE Expand
  84. alice
    Sep 13, 2005
    10
    amazin album
  85. JamieA
    Sep 14, 2005
    10
    No immediate sellers like Dropout has but balanced quality through tracks, hit again Kanye!
  86. jono
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    This cd is his best work ever since it shows his own on the cd
  87. AlbertP
    Sep 21, 2005
    10
    Finally I can hear hip hop with style. Yeah for 'Ye
  88. KatieP.
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    To Rick: Kanye has made beats that are classics (Izzo, Heart of the City, Takeover), so he doesn't "kind of" know how to make beats. No one's comparing him to 50 Cent... most of the people that like him put him up there with Nas, Jay-Z, Eminem, and other greats in the rap industry. They aren't comparing him to 50 cent. Anyways, the CD is great. I like College Dropout To Rick: Kanye has made beats that are classics (Izzo, Heart of the City, Takeover), so he doesn't "kind of" know how to make beats. No one's comparing him to 50 Cent... most of the people that like him put him up there with Nas, Jay-Z, Eminem, and other greats in the rap industry. They aren't comparing him to 50 cent. Anyways, the CD is great. I like College Dropout better, but this CD is still pure genius. Expand
  89. vivay
    Sep 2, 2005
    10
    just classic fire music
  90. craigh
    Sep 22, 2005
    10
    A album, full of top 5 hits. The only problem is the stupid skits but for example the 1st skit extends onto the song with heard em'say, the way Kanye brought them together sounds perfect with the bass and drums just starting while the the skit is finishing. There are different aspect songs, such as "roses" talking about his grandmother being ill while pointing out some flaws in life A album, full of top 5 hits. The only problem is the stupid skits but for example the 1st skit extends onto the song with heard em'say, the way Kanye brought them together sounds perfect with the bass and drums just starting while the the skit is finishing. There are different aspect songs, such as "roses" talking about his grandmother being ill while pointing out some flaws in life saying about "magic johnson having a cure for aids, so all the broke muthaf***rs past away". West also has some fast tempo stuff in touch the sky as well as "Gone" which just continues to grow on me. The diamonds remix with Jay Z is also amazing, maybe should of been brought out instead of the orginal as it hits home the problems tith trade etc as long as having one of the best rappers ever apperaing on the track. Drive Slow is another example of Common's solid album. The hit which is gonna propel the album is of course "Goldigger" the problem with this song is people don't understand the concept, west is saying not that women are goldiggers just that if you look at sum1's history it could show you what type of the person she is, i would of guessed this was wrote with Kanye speaking about his problems he now has with teh vast fortune he has gained. Celebration and Late are tracks which I don't find that good, but this still doesnt deter from giving this album full marks, just for the fact Kanye west can rap and makes beats about songs that can hit home and effect you. Expand
  91. antonioc
    Sep 24, 2005
    10
    Undeniably the best album in stores right now. tme late registration tops the college dropout with tracks like Addiction, Hey Mama, and Crack Music Kanye's in a class by himself
  92. AdamC
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    This album is absolutely an amazing sophomore album. Its beats and vibe are awesome and Kanye West can talk his shit again.
  93. Zach
    Sep 3, 2005
    10
    I'm not a fan of most rap, but this C.D. is amazing. Kanye West is by far the best rapper out there these days
  94. TimS
    Sep 4, 2005
    10
    The first time i listened to this cd, i thought it was good, but not as good as College Dropout, but after the 2nd, 3rd, and 20th time listening to it, i realized that this album is much better, Kanye found a way to better himself from his already great first album, which is rare today. And i happen to like all those skits.
  95. JonD
    Sep 6, 2005
    10
    Kanye does it again. Masterpiece of an album. No one does it better that kon the louis vuitton don
  96. johna
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    its fuckin awsume
  97. marqusn
    Jan 11, 2006
    10
    This album has the edge of Eminem, the hugeness of U2, and the soul of Ray Charles. The best track is either Roses, or Celebration, or Hey Mama. They're out of this world. It's cool to note how he has moved from being an inferior to the big-guns like Jay-z and 50 cent, to now; where he should become the driving force in the industry. No matter what people say, you can't This album has the edge of Eminem, the hugeness of U2, and the soul of Ray Charles. The best track is either Roses, or Celebration, or Hey Mama. They're out of this world. It's cool to note how he has moved from being an inferior to the big-guns like Jay-z and 50 cent, to now; where he should become the driving force in the industry. No matter what people say, you can't deny that rap is promoting gun culture. My evidence being that pretty much every 50 cent song has a gunshot in it. Kanye speaks with positivity, even his arrogance is purely forward thinking. Noel Gallagher said that "every figure in the current hip-hop scene is an idiot, bar none." I agreed with him, until West came along. This CD takes me back to the days of Public Enemy and Run DMC, where rap actually meant something- but it's superior to that. He's as radical, but he has the talent to outshine any of his peers. His comments about Bush on NBC will be remembered fondly in the future, whether the corperations like it or not. College Dropout was a breath of fresh air, in the same way Oasis' Definately Maybe was. Late registration is, in essence, his Morning glory. Expand
  98. DanA
    Dec 5, 2006
    10
    Musically this album has far better production than The College Dropout. But some of the lyrics are hardly passable on some tracks. But this is still a near perfect album. Kanye is easily the best artist of the hip hop genre today.
  99. KyleighH
    Feb 11, 2006
    10
    This is a very good album. Kanye West does absolutely excellent with this album. I love the songs "Gold Digger" and "Heard 'Em Say". They are both really, really, extremely good songs. Congrats to Kanye West at the Grammys. You go, Kanye! Keep on making the music that we all love!
  100. RaymondU
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    Another classic by kanye west. All his songs always have a meaning deep inside. I couldn't give it less than a 10.
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Feb 17, 2011
    70
    Late Registration's salvation (and, undoubtedly, Kanye's own) are when it basks in the sunshine after the rain.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    90
    Each of these songs offers more exquisite details than I could earmark in twice this space, many of them literary, which the English prof's dropout son rightly claims as his calling. But secret brilliance is more likely to emerge from the sops to his hip-hop base.
  3. Late Registration can't replicate the novelty of last year's College Dropout, but otherwise, this is an impressively more mature and labored-over album.