Late Registration

Late Registration Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 711 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Grammy-winner returns with a highly-anticpated follow-up to 'The College Dropout,' marking the second installment in a planned four-part series of albums. Jon Brion co-produced, and Brandy, Common, Nas, The Game, Jamie Foxx and Maroon 5's Adam Levine guest.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Late Registration is an undeniable triumph, packed front to back, so expansive it makes the debut sound like a rough draft.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    90
    Each of these songs offers more exquisite details than I could earmark in twice this space, many of them literary, which the English prof's dropout son rightly claims as his calling. But secret brilliance is more likely to emerge from the sops to his hip-hop base.
  3. Vibe
    80
    There are still too many touchy-feely songs. [Oct 2005, p.161]
  4. By freshening up his style without entirely abandoning it, West still has the rest of the rap world playing catch-up.
  5. Late Registration really wants to be an album album, which makes all the more frustrating and undermining the fact that it mirrors the flaws of its predecessor: the glut and the stilted sequencing.
  6. Not a dud, certainly not a work of cosmic art. It’s meekly above-average.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 243
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    Wake up Mr. West cause you gave a an incredible album to enjoy for days to come. The amount of effort that was put into this album shines inWake up Mr. West cause you gave a an incredible album to enjoy for days to come. The amount of effort that was put into this album shines in the best tracks of the LP.
    Best Tracks:
    Heard 'Em Say (Feat. Adam Levine)
    Gold Digger (Feat. Jamie Foxx)
    Hey Mama
    Drive Slow (Feat. Paul Wall & GLC)
    We Major (Feat Nas & Really Doe)
    Diamonds From Sierra Leone (Feat Jay-Z)
    And all the Skits.
    Expand
  2. GLENDAM
    Sep 20, 2005
    10
    In a class by himself!
  3. davet
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Best hip-hop album of the year, right next to Common's BE. Chicago is on FIRE!! Best songs are Hey Mama and Heard 'em Say.
  4. RaymondU
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    Another classic by kanye west. All his songs always have a meaning deep inside. I couldn't give it less than a 10.
  5. phill
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    I don't understand how anyone can say this album is not as good as his debut. The production is crisper and the samples are better. In I don't understand how anyone can say this album is not as good as his debut. The production is crisper and the samples are better. In the first album, the guest stars often seemed out of place (i.e. Never let me Down, Breathe In, Breathe Out), where as now Kanye can even take the bland vocals of Levine and make them fit into his style. Kanye is doing things with rap music that have never been done before. Listen to the piano and strings breakdown around 3:30 in Gone (when was the last time a rap song had a piano and string breakdown). All in all, this is one of the best albums of the year, up there with Arular and yes, Sufjan Stevens' Illinois. Expand
  6. bobbobson
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    This album is excellent. Definitely one of the very best albums of the year. Every song is excellent (except for the bonus track you get in This album is excellent. Definitely one of the very best albums of the year. Every song is excellent (except for the bonus track you get in the UK version WE CAN MAKE IT BETTER. that track has such an awful chorus it just totally ruins the song). The best track on the album is ROSES. I have listened to it about 30 times and counting. It also fixes some of the flaws of The College Dropout because he cuts the skits. TCD had far too many skits. you couldn't go a few tracks without a skit. But in this album the skits suck but there are only 4 of them. This album is really well produced and the lyrics are excellent. This album is a bit more matured and darker than TCD. THis is one of the few albums I actually continue to listen to over and over again. An essential. One of the very best of 2005. Expand
  7. BradyD
    Aug 31, 2005
    0
    weak corny rap. the fact that this trendy crap is considered rap album of the year makes me sick. ya'll ain't lookin in the right weak corny rap. the fact that this trendy crap is considered rap album of the year makes me sick. ya'll ain't lookin in the right place. peep edan, one be lo, or dangerdoom for best album. peace Expand

See all 243 User Reviews