Late Registration Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 829 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Grammy-winner returns with a highly-anticpated follow-up to 'The College Dropout,' marking the second installment in a planned four-part series of albums. Jon Brion co-produced, and Brandy, Common, Nas, The Game, Jamie Foxx and Maroon 5's Adam Levine guest.

Top Track

Bittersweet
(Intro Music) (John Mayer) Bittersweet, You're gonna be the death of me. I dont want you, but I need you. I love you and hate you at the very same... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Late Registration is an undeniable triumph, packed front to back, so expansive it makes the debut sound like a rough draft.
  2. Jan 3, 2011
    90
    Each of these songs offers more exquisite details than I could earmark in twice this space, many of them literary, which the English prof's dropout son rightly claims as his calling. But secret brilliance is more likely to emerge from the sops to his hip-hop base.
  3. Vibe
    80
    There are still too many touchy-feely songs. [Oct 2005, p.161]
  4. By freshening up his style without entirely abandoning it, West still has the rest of the rap world playing catch-up.
  5. Late Registration really wants to be an album album, which makes all the more frustrating and undermining the fact that it mirrors the flaws of its predecessor: the glut and the stilted sequencing.
  6. Not a dud, certainly not a work of cosmic art. It’s meekly above-average.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 249
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    Wake up Mr. West cause you gave a an incredible album to enjoy for days to come. The amount of effort that was put into this album shines inWake up Mr. West cause you gave a an incredible album to enjoy for days to come. The amount of effort that was put into this album shines in the best tracks of the LP.
    Best Tracks:
    Heard 'Em Say (Feat. Adam Levine)
    Gold Digger (Feat. Jamie Foxx)
    Hey Mama
    Drive Slow (Feat. Paul Wall & GLC)
    We Major (Feat Nas & Really Doe)
    Diamonds From Sierra Leone (Feat Jay-Z)
    And all the Skits.
    Expand
  2. jono
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    This cd is his best work ever since it shows his own on the cd
  3. Scooby
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    gave it a 10...this album is musically light years ahead of CD. Lyrically kanye will NEVER be able to match his production talent, but the gave it a 10...this album is musically light years ahead of CD. Lyrically kanye will NEVER be able to match his production talent, but the latter half makes up for the former. And as for "Ross", please tell me why Kanye cant be higher than Sufjen...do hint a bit of bias? Expand
  4. RaymondU
    Feb 13, 2006
    10
    Another classic by kanye west. All his songs always have a meaning deep inside. I couldn't give it less than a 10.
  5. Ben
    Aug 27, 2005
    9
    Yeah, this won't stay at 9.5 Quasimoto was at 9.5 after like 7 reviews and look at it now 7.8 :(
  6. bobbobson
    Dec 16, 2005
    9
    This album is excellent. Definitely one of the very best albums of the year. Every song is excellent (except for the bonus track you get in This album is excellent. Definitely one of the very best albums of the year. Every song is excellent (except for the bonus track you get in the UK version WE CAN MAKE IT BETTER. that track has such an awful chorus it just totally ruins the song). The best track on the album is ROSES. I have listened to it about 30 times and counting. It also fixes some of the flaws of The College Dropout because he cuts the skits. TCD had far too many skits. you couldn't go a few tracks without a skit. But in this album the skits suck but there are only 4 of them. This album is really well produced and the lyrics are excellent. This album is a bit more matured and darker than TCD. THis is one of the few albums I actually continue to listen to over and over again. An essential. One of the very best of 2005. Expand
  7. BradyD
    Aug 31, 2005
    0
    weak corny rap. the fact that this trendy crap is considered rap album of the year makes me sick. ya'll ain't lookin in the right weak corny rap. the fact that this trendy crap is considered rap album of the year makes me sick. ya'll ain't lookin in the right place. peep edan, one be lo, or dangerdoom for best album. peace Expand

See all 249 User Reviews