Late Registration - Kanye West
Late Registration Image
Metascore
85

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 543 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Grammy-winner returns with a highly-anticpated follow-up to 'The College Dropout,' marking the second installment in a planned four-part series of albums. Jon Brion co-produced, and Brandy, Common, Nas, The Game, Jamie Foxx and Maroon 5's Adam Levine guest.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 31
  2. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. [An] even more ambitious, superbly crafted follow-up. [28 Aug 2005]
  2. A masterful sophomore disc on which every weak rhyme, guest and beat has been ironed out through months of hard work and several blown deadlines. [Oct/Nov 2005, p.120]
  3. Jan 3, 2011
    90
    Each of these songs offers more exquisite details than I could earmark in twice this space, many of them literary, which the English prof's dropout son rightly claims as his calling. But secret brilliance is more likely to emerge from the sops to his hip-hop base.
  4. 80
    There are still too many touchy-feely songs. [Oct 2005, p.161]
  5. 80
    Is it uneven? Yes. Self-indulgent? Unbearably, at times. But that's what makes West one of hip-hop's most exciting, funny, and human stars. He's unafraid to make a big, fat mess. [Sep 2005, p.130]
  6. Late Registration really wants to be an album album, which makes all the more frustrating and undermining the fact that it mirrors the flaws of its predecessor: the glut and the stilted sequencing.
  7. Not a dud, certainly not a work of cosmic art. It’s meekly above-average.

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 237
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    Wake up Mr. West cause you gave a an incredible album to enjoy for days to come. The amount of effort that was put into this album shines inWake up Mr. West cause you gave a an incredible album to enjoy for days to come. The amount of effort that was put into this album shines in the best tracks of the LP.
    Best Tracks:
    Heard 'Em Say (Feat. Adam Levine)
    Gold Digger (Feat. Jamie Foxx)
    Hey Mama
    Drive Slow (Feat. Paul Wall & GLC)
    We Major (Feat Nas & Really Doe)
    Diamonds From Sierra Leone (Feat Jay-Z)
    And all the Skits.
    Expand
  2. jono
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    This cd is his best work ever since it shows his own on the cd
  3. davet
    Aug 28, 2005
    10
    Best hip-hop album of the year, right next to Common's BE. Chicago is on FIRE!! Best songs are Hey Mama and Heard 'em Say.
  4. JDWilliams
    Jan 25, 2006
    10
    A RAP CLASSIC. im not a rap fan at all but i loved college dropout. but late registration is a art rap album that makes his debut sound like A RAP CLASSIC. im not a rap fan at all but i loved college dropout. but late registration is a art rap album that makes his debut sound like a demo sometimes. its a classic and goes good with a rock fan(like me) CD collection. BUT IT Expand
  5. ColinT
    Aug 28, 2005
    9
    Considering all the buzz about this album, there would be much to be disappointed from. But like any reasonably good album, you just need to Considering all the buzz about this album, there would be much to be disappointed from. But like any reasonably good album, you just need to hear it for what it is, which is a rather good follow up to an excellent (if not flawed) album. Its clear that Kanye has noticed the criticism about his rapping ability and anyone that has heard one of his freestyles as of late knows this cat can rap. As for production its refreshing to see sampling on such a mainstream record. Perhaps its the confidence he justifiable has after Collage Dropout, but Kanye's beats have become much more simplified then the often overly produced songs on the previous (See: We Don't Care). Also refreshing is the absence of boring Rims and Ice rap, though it has been replaced with a more Pop attitude. The only truly disappointing tracks are Bring Me Down, where the washed up diva Brandy sings over 2/3rds of the song, and the orginal Diamonds which is easily surpassed by the remix. Overall this might just be the best billboard rap cd of the year, and yes thats an empty compliment, but with acts like Dangerdoom coming up its one worth accepting. Expand
  6. LeifS
    Jan 8, 2006
    9
    I am not a big fan of rap music, but i do like this album. I have a lot of respect for Kanye West. This album does not beat college dropout, I am not a big fan of rap music, but i do like this album. I have a lot of respect for Kanye West. This album does not beat college dropout, but it is very close. Expand
  7. BradyD
    Aug 31, 2005
    0
    weak corny rap. the fact that this trendy crap is considered rap album of the year makes me sick. ya'll ain't lookin in the right weak corny rap. the fact that this trendy crap is considered rap album of the year makes me sick. ya'll ain't lookin in the right place. peep edan, one be lo, or dangerdoom for best album. peace Expand

See all 237 User Reviews